DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 10 is dependent from claim 8 which is a cancelled claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al., US Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0181669 (hereinafter referred to as Lin) in view of Fathi et al., US Patent No. 11,219,639 (hereinafter referred to as Fathi).
Regarding claim 1, Lin discloses a composition comprising a hydrogel, the hydrogel comprising a polymer of formula I (Para. [0420]; Figure 17, PAM-ran-PAAPBA) wherein Y comprises one or more repeating units of formula (3), wherein R1 is H or OH (Para. [0420], "N-hydroxyethyl acrylamide PHEAA-ran-PAAPBA"); and moiety similar to Z of formula (4) wherein each of R1 to R6 is H and at least one unit of Z comprises BO2H2 (Para. [0420], "acrylamidophenylboronic acid PHEAA-ran-PAAPBA") and similar polymers to a block X related to formula (2) (Para. [0149], "PEGMA" and Figure 17, “PAM-ran-PAAPBA”); and n, I, j and k are at least one (Para. [0149]-[0420] and Figure 17, PAM-ran-PAAPBA).
Lin does not, however, disclose an acrylate of formula 2; a methacrylamide of formula 4; or a specific embodiment of a triblock polymer of formula I comprising X, Y and Z wherein n, i, j, and k, are each independently an integer from 1 to 4000 as recited in claim 1.
Fathi discloses a polymer comprising at least one antiseptic/analgesic/anti-inflammatory monomeric unit in conjunction with at least three further monomeric units, said three further monomeric units eliciting properties selected from the group consisting of: temperature activation, water solubility, mechanical strength, protein/polysaccharide bonding capacity, and combinations thereof (motivation to combine the references). The polymer has a water-soluble monomeric unit is a hydrophilic ethylene glycol (OEGMA) moiety; the mechanical strength-conferring monomeric unit is polylactide-co-2-hydroxy-ethyl-methyl acrylate (PLA/HEMA); the protein-reactive monomeric unit is an N-acryloxysuccinimide (NAS) moiety; and the thermosetting monomeric unit is an N-isopropyl acrylamide (NIPAAm) moiety. The anti-septic/analgesic/anti-inflammatory monomeric unit comprises a methacrylic ester derivative of salicylic acid (5-HMA or 4-HMA, or a combination thereof). It wold have been obvious to use the monomeric units reading on formula 2 and formula 4 of claim 1 from Fathi as monomeric units in the polymer of Lin for the reasons discussed above.
Regarding claim 17, Lin discloses a method, for making a composition comprising a hydrogel, the method comprises forming a polymer of formula I via a radial process (Para. [0246], "RAFT polymerization"), where X comprises one or more repeating units of a polyethylene methacrylate related to formula (2) (Para. [0149], "PEGMA" and Figure 17, PAM-ran-PAAPBA); Y comprises one or more repeating units of formula (3), wherein R1 is H or OH (Para. [0420], "PHEAA-ran-PAAPBA"); Z comprises one or more repeating units of formula (4) wherein each of R1 to R6 is H and at least one unit of Z comprises BO2H2 (Para. [0420], "PHEAA-ran-PAAPBA") and n, I, j and k are at least one (Para. [0149]-[0420] and Figure 17, PAM-ran-PAAPBA).
Lin does not, however, disclose the exact acrylamide of formula 2 used in the hydrogel polymer and the conjugation of formula.5 to at least one repeating unit of Y to produce a norbenene-functionalized polymer of formula I as recited in claim 17.
See discussion above regarding the Fathi reference.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1-5, 10-22 and 26 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of application No. 19/120,512. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The co-pending '512 application discloses the same limitations as does the instant application and would therefore be obvious sin light of the disclosures discussed above and incorporated herein by reference.
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Conclusion
/VISHAL V VASISTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771