DETAILED ACTION
1. This communication is response to the application filed 07/01/2026 havingclaims 1-17, 28, 30, 32 pending and presented for examination, 18-27, 29, 31, 33-38 are cancelled..
Priority
2. Application filed on 09/27/2024 is a is a 371 of PCT/CN2023/083700 03/24/2023
FOREIGN APPLICATIONS CHINA 202210325973.7 03/29/2022 are acknowledged.
Drawings
3. The drawings were received on 09/27/2024 and these drawings are accepted.
4. Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Oath/Declaration
4. The Oath/Declaration filed on 09/27/2024 is accepted by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6, 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by US Publication US 20240187303 A1 YAO et al. (Hereinafter “YAO ").
As per claim 1, YAO teaches a method for sending information, comprising: during a Home-Routed roaming Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session establishment procedure or modification procedure, a Session Management Function in Home Public Land Mobile Network (H-SMF) sending to a Session Management Function in Visited Public Land Mobile Network (V-SMF) one or a combination of the following information (para 0322-0323], Home Public Land Mobile Network (H-SMF) sending to a Session Management Function in Visited Public Land Mobile Network (V-SMF) one or a combination of the following information in home routed roaming protocol data unit): Edge Application Server (EAS) information of the Visited Public Land Mobile Network (V-PLMN), an Edge Configuration Server (ECS) address of the V-PLMN, relevant information of an application function (AF) of the V-PLMN, information of authorization of local session breakout performed by V-SMF, and a session breakout policy (para 0322-0323], one or a combination of the following information in home routed roaming protocol data unit relevant information of an application function (AF) of the V-PLMN ). 20240187303
As per claim 2, YAO teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the EAS information of the V-PLMN in the information is used by the V-SMF to configure an Edge Application Server Discovery Function (EASDF) of the V-PLMN (para 0352], the information received is used for an Edge Application Server Discovery Function (EASDF) of the V-PLMN).
As per claim 6, YAO teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising: H-SMF obtaining sixth information from a unified data management (UDM) of the H-PLMN, where the sixth information indicates to perform a local session breakout (para 0313-0314], H-SMF obtaining sixth information from a unified data management (UDM) of the H-PLMN, where the sixth information indicates to perform a local session breakout).
As per claim 28, YAO teaches a Session Management Function in Visited Public Land Mobile Network (V-SMF), comprising: a processor configure to read a program in a memory to perform the method for sending information according to claim 1. ((para 0322-0323], perform the method for sending information for Session Management Function in Visited Public Land Mobile Network (V-SMF),)
Claims 7-13, 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by US Publication US 20220248318 A1 Qiao et al. (Hereinafter “Qiao ").
As per claim 7, Qiao teaches a session breakout method, comprising: a Session Management Function in Visited Public Land Mobile Network (V-SMF) receiving first information sent by a network function (NF) of a Home Public Land Mobile Network (H-PLMN) and performing a local session breakout (para 0399], session management function of the V-SMF receives from the Home Public Land Mobile Network (H-PLMN) a message related to the network function wherein once the message is received performs a local session breakout based on the message). 20220248318
As per claim 8, Qiao teaches method according to claim 7, wherein the NF of the H-PLMN is an SMF, or a policy control function (PCF), or a unified data management (UDM) ((para 0399], wherein the NF of the H-PLMN is an SMF).
As per claim 9, Qiao teaches the method according to claim 7, further comprising: the V-SMF sending a session breakout policy to the user plane function (UPF) of the Visited Public Land Mobile Network (V-PLMN) (para 0392], V-SMF sending a session breakout policy to the user plane function (UPF) of the Visited Public Land Mobile Network (V-PLMN) ).
As per claim 10, Qiao teaches the method according to claim 7, wherein the performing local session breakout comprises: the V-SMF inserting or updating an uplink classifier (ULCL) according to first information, and selecting a local data network service (DNS) server according to the first information (para 0161], the V-SMF inserting or updating an uplink classifier (ULCL) according to first information, and selecting a local data network service (DNS) server according to the first information ).
As per claim 11, Qiao teaches the method according to claim 7, wherein the first information includes one or a combination of the following information: a data network access identifier (DNAI), application information, edge application server (EAS) information, application service identification information (para 0399], combination of the following information application information).
As per claim 12, Qiao teaches the method according to claim 7, wherein the V-SMF sends the EAS information to an edge application server discovery function (EASDF) of the V-PLMN (para 0399], V-SMF sends the EAS information to an edge application server discovery function (EASDF) of the V-PLMN).
As per claim 13, Qiao teaches the method according to claim 12, wherein the EAS information is obtained from H-SMF, or from a network exposure function (NEF) of the V-PLMN, or from other network functions (NFs) of the V-PLMN (para 0399], edge information is obtained from other network functions (NFs) of the V-PLMN).
As per claim 30, Qiao teaches the Session Management Function in Visited Public Land Mobile Network (V-SMF), comprising: a processor configure to read a program in a memory to perform the session breakout method according to claim 7 (para 0399], performing a message for Session Management Function in Visited Public Land Mobile Network (V-SMF)).
Claims 14-17, 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by US Publication US 20220110023 A1 Wu et al. (Hereinafter “Wu ").
As per claim 14, Wu teaches a method for processing service request, comprising: a user plane function (UPF) of a Visited Public Land Mobile Network (V-PLMN) receiving second information initiated by a user equipment (UE), and sending the second information to a session management function (SMF) of a Home Public Land Mobile Network (H-PLMN) (para 0198- 0200], fig 6, user plane function of the visitor network having Visited Public Land Mobile Network (V-PLMN) receiving second information initiated by a user equipment (UE), receives information when the user is at the visitor network and sends to information to a session management function (SMF) of a Home Public Land Mobile Network (H-PLMN). 20220110023
As per claim 15, Wu teaches the method according to claim 14, wherein the second information is sent to H-SMF via a Session Management Function in Visited Public Land Mobile Network (V-SMF) or a User Plane Function (UPF) of the H-PLMN ((para 0198- 0200], fig 6, is sent to H-SMF via a Session Management Function in Visited Public Land Mobile Network (V-SMF)).
As per claim 16, Wu teaches the method according to claim 14, wherein the second information is a data network service (DNS) query message for discovering an edge application server (para 0242], the second information is a data network service (DNS) query message for discovering an edge application server).
As per claim 17, Wu teaches the method according to claim 14, further comprising: the UPF of the V-PLMN sending second information to a DNS server of the V-PLMN for processing; wherein the method further comprises: after the UPF of the V-PLMN receives a DNS feedback, the UPF of the V-PLMN returning the feedback information to the UE through an uplink classifier (ULCL) of the V-PLMN (para 0198], the UPF of the V-PLMN sending second information to a DNS server of the V-PLMN for processing; wherein the method further comprises: after the UPF of the V-PLMN receives a DNS feedback, the UPF of the V-PLMN returning the feedback information to the UE through an uplink classifier (ULCL) of the V-PLMN ).
As per claim 32, Wu teaches a User Plane Function (UPF) of Visited Public Land Mobile Network (V-PLMN), comprising: a processor configure to read a program in a memory to perform the method for processing service request according to claim 14 ((para 0198- 0200], fig 6, perform the method for processing service request User Plane Function (UPF) of Visited Public Land Mobile Network (V-PLMN)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim(s) 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YAO further view of Qiao
As per claim 3, YAO teaches the method according to claim 1, Qiao teaches further comprising: H-SMF receiving fifth information sent by the V-SMF, wherein the fifth information comprises one or a combination of: authorization of local session breakout in the V-PLMN, indication of supporting EASDF capability, and indication of supporting local session breakout capability in the V-PLMN (para 0392], authorization of local session breakout in the V-PLMN, indication of supporting EASDF capability).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to modify the combination system of YAO by H-SMF receiving fifth information sent by the V-SMF, wherein the fifth information comprises one or a combination of: authorization of local session breakout in the V-PLMN, indication of supporting EASDF capability, and indication of supporting local session breakout capability in the V-PLMN as suggested by Qiao, this modification would benefit YAO for efficient data transfer process in mobile system moving from location to another location.
As per claim 4, YAO teaches the method according to claim 1, Qiao teaches wherein the EAS information of the V-PLMN received by the V-SMF is obtained by the H-SMF from a network exposure function (NEF) of the Home Public Land Mobile Network (H-PLMN) (para 0392], received by the V-SMF is obtained by the H-SMF from a network exposure function (NEF) of the Home Public Land Mobile Network (H-PLMN)).
Examiner supplies the same rational as supplied in claim 3.
As per claim 5, YAO teaches the method according to claim 1, Qiao teaches wherein the relevant information of the AF of the V-PLMN received by the V-SMF is obtained by H-SMF from a policy control function (PCF) of the H-PLMN (para 0392], relevant information of the AF of the V-PLMN received by the V-SMF is obtained by H-SMF from a policy control function (PCF) of the H-PLMN).
Examiner supplies the same rational as supplied in claim 3.
Conclusion
Prior arts made of record, not relied upon: US Patent Publication US 20220256439 A1; US Patent Publication US 20220369145 A1, US Patent Publication US 20220386100 A1
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ANEZ EBRAHIM whose telephone number is (571)270-7153. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F 8 AM to 5 PM If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Hassan Phillips can be reached on (571) 272-3940. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ANEZ C EBRAHIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467