The amendments to the claims, filed on 04/28/2026, have been entered and made of record.
Claims 1-21 are pending with claim 9 being amended and claim 21 being newly added.
Response to Arguments
Arguments presented in the Remarks (“Remarks") filed on 04/28/2026 have been fully considered but are held unpersuasive. Examiner’s response to the presented arguments is below.
Summary of Arguments (Emphasis Added):
A. Regarding the arguments in the section “Claim Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. § l03”, the Applicant believed that “the rejections of the cited references have been overcome” based on the requirements under 35 U.S.C § l02. See Remarks, p. 6-7 out of 11.
B. Regarding the arguments in the sections “The Claimed Invention”, “The Trail Reference”, and “The Kim Reference”, the Applicant argued that the references don’t disclose an optical element “worn on or embedded in an eyeball”, “an aperture having a center of transmission portion that is at different positions within a plane”, and “varying an aperture position or a center of a transmission portion of an aperture in response to a line of sight of the eyeball of the user”. See Remarks, p. 7-8 out of 11.
C. Regarding the arguments in the sections “The Schnitzler Reference”, and “The Futter Reference”, the Applicant argued that the references don’t disclose various claim elements mentioned above in section B. See Remarks, p. 9-10 out of 11.
D. Regarding the arguments in the section “Comments on Dependent Claims”, the Applicant argued that the references don’t disclose the features in claims 4, 9, 17 and 21. See Remarks, p. 10 out of 11.
Examiner’s Response (Emphasis Added):
A. Regarding the arguments in the section “Claim Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. § l03”, the arguments render moot because the claim rejections are not under 35 U.S.C § l02. The requirements under 35 U.S.C § l02 is not applicable to the rationale for the 35 U.S.C. § l03 rejections.
B. Regarding the arguments in the sections “The Claimed Invention”, “The Trail Reference”, and “The Kim Reference”, the arguments are not persuasive for the following reasons:
1. No specific structure or configuration of the claim limitation “an optical element” is included in the representative claim 1. All figures provided in the Specification don’t explicitly disclose the optical element position “on an eyeball”. Both Trail (Fig. 2 disclosing the “Optical Assembly 220” substantially close to the “Exit Pupil”) and Kim (Fig. 2B disclosing the “main optics lens 40” substantially close to the “exit pupil 50”), disclose the claim limitation “an optical element worn on an eyeball of a user”. See rejection of claim 1 below.
2. Trail (Fig. 2 and 3) discloses “an aperture having a center of transmission portion that is at different positions within a plane”. Also, Kim (Fig. 2B and 2B: aperture Adl at different position C2 and C3) discloses “varying an aperture position or a center of a transmission portion of an aperture in response to a line of sight of the eyeball of the user”. See rejection of claim 1 below.
C. Regarding the arguments in the sections “The Schnitzler Reference”, and “The Futter Reference”, the arguments are not persuasive based on the claim rejections below.
D. Regarding the arguments in the section “Comments on Dependent Claims”, the arguments are not persuasive based on rejections of claims 4, 9, 17 and 21 below.
.
Therefore, all claims 1-20 stand rejected. See the rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8-9, 11, 17 and 19-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trail (“Trail”) [U.S Patent Application Pub. 2018/0205943 A1] in view of Kim (“Kim”) [U.S Patent Application Pub. 2023/0048195 A1]
Regarding claim 1, Trail meets the claim limitations as follows:
A light projection device (i.e. ‘the HMD 100’) [Fig. 1,2; para. 0017-0021 disclose a HMD structure], comprising:
an image light generation system that generates image light (i.e. ‘an electronic display 210’) [Fig. 2, para. 0018: ‘The electronic display 210 generates image light’]; and
a projection system (i.e. ‘optical assembly 220’) [Fig. 2; para. 0017-0020: ‘an electronic display 210 an optical assembly 220 that together provide image light to an exit pupil 225’; ‘The optical assembly 220 magnifies received light from the electronic display 210’] that projects (i.e. ‘magnifies’) the image light generated by the image light generation system onto an optical element worn on or embedded in an eyeball of a user (e.g. ‘the HMD 100’) [Fig. 1; para. 0017-0020: ‘the corrected image light is presented to a user of the HMD 100’],
wherein the projection system includes an aperture (i.e. ‘an aperture’) [Fig. 2; para. 0017-0020: ‘At least one optical element of the optical assembly 220 may be an aperture’; ‘the optical assembly 220 is designed so its effective focal length is larger than the spacing to the electronic display 210’] that is disposed on an optical path of the image light from the image light generation system and that is variable in at least an aperture position [Fig. 2; para. 0017-0020: ‘The varifocal module … to change the focal plane by adjusting a location of one more optical elements of the optical assembly 220’],
wherein, in response to the eyeball of the user (i.e. ‘information about the position and orientation of the user’s eye’) [para. 0042] being aligned along a first line of sight, a center of a transmission portion of the aperture within a plane that is perpendicular to an optical axis of the optical path of the image light is (i.e. ‘adjust’) at a first position [Fig. 2, 3: ‘The electronic display 210 may also include an aperture’; para. 0018, 0021, 0042: disclosing ‘information about the position and orientation of the user’s eye … to adjust where objects are displayed’; ‘Based on the determined and tracked position and orientation of the user’s eye 230 (i.e., eye-gaze), the HMD 100 may adjust presentation of an image displayed on the eye tracking information’; ‘displaying an image on the electronic display 210 can be provided only in … the determined eye-gaze’] and
wherein, in response to the eyeball of the user being aligned along a second line of sight (i.e. another line of sight), the center of a transmission portion of the aperture within a plane that is perpendicular to an optical axis of the optical path of the image light is (i.e. ‘adjust’) at a second position [See rejection of “wherein, in response a first line of sight of the eyeball of the user”].
Trail does not disclose explicitly the following claim limitations (emphasis added):
wherein, in response to the eyeball of the user being aligned along a first line of sight, a center of a transmission portion of the aperture within a plane that is perpendicular to an optical axis of the optical path of the image light is at a first position and
wherein, in response to the eyeball of the user being aligned along a second line of sight, the center of a transmission portion of the aperture within a plane that is perpendicular to an optical axis of the optical path of the image light is at a second position.
However in the same field of endeavor Kim discloses the deficient claim as follows:
wherein, in response to the eyeball of the user being aligned along a first line of sight [Fig. 2B shows the eyeball below the optical axis], a center of a transmission portion of the aperture within a plane that is perpendicular to an optical axis of the optical path of the image light is at a first position (i.e. the aperture Adl at C2) [Fig. 2B shows the eyeball below the optical axis; Fig. 6A], and
wherein, in response to the eyeball of the user being aligned along a second line of sight [Fig. 2C shows the eyeball above the optical axis], the center of a transmission portion of the aperture within a plane that is perpendicular to an optical axis of the optical path of the image light is at a second position (i.e. the aperture Adl at C3) [Fig. 2B shows the eyeball above the optical axis; Fig. 6B].
Trail and Kim are combinable because they are from the same field of HMD systems.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Trail and Kim as motivation to dynamically control the aperture size and the aperture adjustment element so as to solve the technical problem [Kim: para. 0009-0010].
Regarding claim 8, Trail meets the claim limitations as follows:
The light projection device according to claim 1, wherein the projection system includes: an eyeball information detecting unit (i.e. ‘Eye Tracking System 130’ or Position Sensors 140’) [Figs. 1-3] that detects eyeball information that is information regarding the eyeball [para. 0002, 0013, 0016: ‘detecting the location of the eye … the current focal distance of the eye’; ‘estimates a position and angular orientation of an eye of a user wearing the HMD 100’]; and a control unit (i.e. ‘The varifocal module’) [Fig. 5: ’550’] that controls a position of a transmission portion of the aperture on a basis of a detection result from the eyeball information detecting unit [Fig. 2; para. 0017-0020, 0031: ‘The varifocal module … to change the focal plane by adjusting a location of one more optical elements of the optical assembly 220’; ‘The change of location of the one or more optical elements of the optical assembly 220 and/or the change of location of the electronic display 210 is based on the information about eye position/orientation’].
Trail does not disclose explicitly the following claim limitations (emphasis added):
a control unit that controls a position of a transmission portion of the aperture on a basis of a detection result from the eyeball information detecting unit.
However in the same field of endeavor Kim discloses the deficient claim as follows:
a control unit that controls a position of a transmission portion of the aperture [Fig. 2B, 2C; 6A, 6B:control position, first dynamic aperture position and second dynamic aperture position] on a basis of a detection result from the eyeball information detecting unit.
Trail and Kim are combinable because they are from the same field of HMD systems.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Trail and Kim as motivation to dynamically control the aperture size and the aperture adjustment element so as to solve the technical problem [Kim: para. 0009-0010].
Regarding claim 9, Trail meets the claim limitations as follows:
The light projection device according to claim 8, wherein the control unit (i.e. ‘The varifocal module’) [Fig. 5: ’550’] adjusts the position of the transmission portion of the aperture [Fig. 2; para. 0017-0020, 0031: ‘The varifocal module … to change the focal plane by adjusting a location of one more optical elements of the optical assembly 220’; ‘The change of location of the one or more optical elements of the optical assembly 220 and/or the change of location of the electronic display 210 is based on the information about eye position/orientation’], an aperture size of the aperture, and at least one of a transmittance or reflectance of the aperture [para. 0026-0029: ‘The controller 310 may determine at least one phase difference between the temporally distorted illumination pattern reflected from at least one surface of the eye 230 captured by the detector of the imaging device 270 and the temporally varying irradiance pattern emitted from the illumination source 265’] on a basis of the detection result from the eyeball information detecting unit.
Trail does not disclose explicitly the following claim limitations (emphasis added):
an aperture size of the aperture, and at least one of a transmittance or reflectance of the aperture on a basis of the detection result from the eyeball information detecting unit.
However in the same field of endeavor Kim discloses the deficient claim as follows:
an aperture size of the aperture [para. 0011, 0044, 0054: ‘to dynamically control an aperture size’], and at least one of transmittance or reflectance of the aperture [Fig. 39; para. 0011, 0044, 0053, 0116, : ‘a reflective mirror’; ‘a trans-reflective concave mirror configured to reflect’; ‘an element of which transmittance is adjustable’] on a basis of the detection result from the eyeball information detecting unit.
Trail and Kim are combinable because they are from the same field of HMD systems.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Trail and Kim as motivation to dynamically control the aperture size and the aperture adjustment element so as to solve the technical problem [Kim: para. 0009-0010].
Regarding claim 11, Trail meets the claim limitations as follows:
The light projection device according to claim 1, the light projection device (i.e. ‘the HMD 100’) being disposed at a position outside a front visual field of the user [Fig. 1,2; para. 0017-0021 disclose a HMD structure].
Regarding claim 17, Trail meets the claim limitations as follows:
The light projection device according to claim 1, wherein the optical element is a diffractive optical element [para. 0018: ‘The electronic display 210 may also include … a diffractive element, …’].
Regarding claim 19, Trail meets the claim limitations as follows:
The light projection device according to claim 1, the light projection device being of a head-mounted type (i.e. ‘the HMD 100’) [Fig. 1,2; para. 0017-0021 disclose a HMD structure].
Regarding claim 20, Trail meets the claim limitations as follows:
A display devices comprising: the light projection device according to claim 1 (i.e. ‘the HMD 100’) [Fig. 1,2; para. 0017-0021 disclose a HMD structure]; and the optical element [Fig. 2: Optical Assembly 220].
Claims 2-4 and 12-14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trail in view of Kim in further view of Schnitzler et al. (“Schnitzler”) [US 2017/0299783 A1]
Regarding claim 2, Trail meets the claim limitations set forth in claim 1.
Trail does not disclose explicitly the following claim limitations (emphasis added):
The light projection device according to claim 1, wherein the aperture includes a plurality of pixels switchable between an on state for guiding a light beam included in the image light from the image light generation system to an optical path to the optical element and an off state for not guiding the light beam.
However in the same field of endeavor Schnitzler discloses the deficient claim as follows:
wherein the aperture includes a plurality of pixels switchable (i.e. ‘Aperture limiter 12’) [Figs. 1-3; para. 0067-0068: ‘the matrix elements, i.e. 14a to 14i’] between an on state for guiding a light beam included in the image light from the image light generation system to an optical path to the optical element and an off state for not guiding the light beam [Figs. 1-3; para. 0067-0068: ‘Transmittance can be locally switched on and off by controlling the matrix elements, i.e. electronically controllable segments 14a to 14i of aperture limiter 12’].
Trail, Kim and Schnitzler are combinable because they are from the same field of illumination systems.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Trail, Kim and Schnitzler as motivation to include ‘an aperture limiter arranged in the pupil plane of the beam path’ to enable generation of high image quality [Schnitzler : para. 0007, 0009] and somewhat longer optical path length [Schnitzler: para. 0068].
Regarding claim 3, Trail meets the claim limitations as follows:
The light projection device according to claim 1, wherein the projection system includes a first optical system (i.e. ‘an aperture’) [Fig. 2; para. 0017-0020: ‘At least one optical element of the optical assembly 220 may be an aperture’] that guides the image light from the image light generation system to the aperture and a second optical system that guides the image light through the aperture to the optical element.
Trail does not disclose explicitly the following claim limitations (emphasis added):
wherein the projection system includes a first optical system that guides the image light from the image light generation system to the aperture and a second optical system that guides the image light through the aperture to the optical element.
However in the same field of endeavor Schnitzler discloses the deficient claim as follows:
wherein the projection system includes a first optical system that guides the image light (i.e. ‘the beam path 22’ and ‘the lens groups 36, 34a, 34b) from the image light generation system to the aperture (i.e. ‘Aperture limiter 12’) [Figs. 1-3; para. 0029-0030, 0067-0068: ‘the matrix elements, i.e. 14a to 14i’] and a second optical system [Figs. 1-3: the lens groups 34c, 34d, 34e] that guides the image light through the aperture to the optical element.
Trail and Schnitzler are combinable because they are from the same field of illumination systems.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Trail and Schnitzler as motivation to include ‘an aperture limiter arranged in the pupil plane of the beam path’ to enable generation of high image quality [Schnitzler : para. 0007, 0009] and somewhat longer optical path length [Schnitzler: para. 0068].
Regarding claim 4, Trail meets the claim limitations as follows:
The light projection device according to claim 3, wherein the image light generation system includes a display element (i.e. ‘Electronic Display ‘210’) [Fig. 2], the display element is disposed near a front focal position of the first optical system (i.e. ‘Optical Assembly 220’) [Fig. 2; para. 0017-0020: ‘At least one optical element of the optical assembly 220 may be an aperture’; ‘the optical assembly 220 is designed so its effective focal length is larger than the spacing to the electronic display 210’], and the aperture (i.e. ‘an aperture’) [Fig. 2; para. 0017-0020: ‘At least one optical element of the optical assembly 220 may be an aperture’] is disposed near a rear focal position of the first optical system.
Trail does not disclose explicitly the following claim limitations (emphasis added):
wherein the image light generation system includes a display element, the display element is disposed near a front focal position of the first optical system, and the aperture is disposed near a rear focal position of the first optical system.
However in the same field of endeavor Schnitzler discloses the deficient claim as follows:
wherein the image light generation system includes a display element, the display element is disposed near a front focal position of the first optical system (i.e. ‘the beam path 22’ and ‘the lens groups 36, 34a, 34b), and the aperture (i.e. ‘Aperture limiter 12’) [Figs. 1-3; para. 0029-0030, 0067-0068: ‘the matrix elements, i.e. 14a to 14i’] is disposed near a rear focal position of the first optical system [Figs. 1-3: the lens groups 36, 34a, 34b].
Trail and Schnitzler are combinable because they are from the same field of illumination systems.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Trail and Schnitzler as motivation to include ‘an aperture limiter arranged in the pupil plane of the beam path’ to enable generation of high image quality [Schnitzler : para. 0007, 0009] and somewhat longer optical path length [Schnitzler: para. 0068].
Regarding claim 12, Trail meets the claim limitations set forth in claim 2.
Trail does not disclose explicitly the following claim limitations (emphasis added):
The light projection device according to claim 2, wherein the pixels are of a transmissive type.
However in the same field of endeavor Kim discloses the deficient claim as follows:
wherein the pixels (i.e. ‘a micro display’) [Figs. 2A and 2B; para. 0032: ‘a transmissive or reflective liquid crystal’] are of a transmissive type.
Trail and Kim are combinable because they are from the same field of HMD systems.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Trail and Kim as motivation to restrict the aperture size so as to prevent unnecessary periphery light [Kim: para. 0039].
Regarding claim 13, Trail meets the claim limitations set forth in claim 2.
Trail does not disclose explicitly the following claim limitations (emphasis added):
The light projection device according to claim 2, wherein the pixels are of a reflective type.
However in the same field of endeavor Kim discloses the deficient claim as follows:
wherein the pixels (i.e. ‘a micro display’) [Figs. 2A and 2B; para. 0032: ‘a transmissive or reflective liquid crystal’] are of a reflective type.
Trail and Kim are combinable because they are from the same field of HMD systems.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Trail and Kim as motivation to restrict the aperture size so as to prevent unnecessary periphery light [Kim: para. 0039].
Regarding claim 14, Trail meets the claim limitations as follows:
The light projection device according to claim 2, wherein the aperture includes a pixel array having a plurality of the pixels [Figs. 1-3; para. 0021, 0049: ‘A maximum pixel density for displaying an image on the electronic display 210’; ‘displays two-dimensional or three-dimensional images’] that is one dimensionally arranged or two-dimensionally arranged.
Regarding claim 15, Trail meets the claim limitations set forth in claim 14.
Trail does not disclose explicitly the following claim limitations (emphasis added):
The light projection device according to claim 14, wherein the pixel array is a liquid crystal element.
However in the same field of endeavor Kim discloses the deficient claim as follows:
wherein the pixel array (i.e. ‘a micro display’) is a liquid crystal element [Figs. 2A and 2B; para. 0032: ‘a transmissive or reflective liquid crystal’].
Trail and Kim are combinable because they are from the same field of HMD systems.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Trail and Kim as motivation to restrict the aperture size so as to prevent unnecessary periphery light [Kim: para. 0039].
Regarding claim 16, Trail meets the claim limitations set forth in claim 14.
Trail does not disclose explicitly the following claim limitations (emphasis added):
The light projection device according to claim 14, wherein the pixel array is a digital mirror device.
However in the same field of endeavor Kim discloses the deficient claim as follows:
wherein the pixel array (i.e. ‘a micro display’) is a digital mirror device [Figs. 2A and 2B; para. 0032: ‘a digital mirror device (DMD)’].
Trail and Kim are combinable because they are from the same field of HMD systems.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Trail and Kim as motivation to restrict the aperture size so as to prevent unnecessary periphery light [Kim: para. 0039].
Claims 5-7 and 10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trail in view of Kim in further view of Schnitzler in further view of Futterer (“Futterer”) [US 2013/0222384 A1]
Regarding claim 5, Trail in view of Kim and Schnitzler meets the claim limitations set forth in claim 3.
Trail does not disclose explicitly the following claim limitations (emphasis added):
The light projection device according to claim 3, wherein the projection system forms an intermediate image of the image light between the second optical system and the optical element.
However in the same field of endeavor Futterer discloses the deficient claim as follows:
wherein the projection system forms an intermediate image of the image light (i.e. ‘an intermediate image 280’) [Fig. 3; para. 0190] between the second optical system and the optical element.
Trail, Kim, Schnitzler and Futterer are combinable because they are from the same field of illumination systems.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Trail, Kim, Schnitzler and Futterer as motivation to include ‘a 4f imaging system’ of two lens systems for generating a magnified virtual image [Futterer: para. 0190].
Regarding claim 6, Trail in view of Kim and Schnitzler meets the claim limitations set forth in claim 5.
Trail does not disclose explicitly the following claim limitations:
The light projection device according to claim 5, wherein the aperture is disposed near a front focal position of the second optical system, and the intermediate image is formed near a rear focal position of the second optical system.
However in the same field of endeavor Schnitzler discloses the deficient claim as follows:
wherein the aperture (i.e. ‘Aperture limiter 12’) [Figs. 1-3; para. 0029-0030, 0067-0068: ‘the matrix elements, i.e. 14a to 14i’] is disposed near a front focal position of the second optical system [Figs. 1-3: the lens groups 34c, 34d, 34e], and the intermediate image is formed near a rear focal position of the second optical system.
Trail, Kim, and Schnitzler are combinable because they are from the same field of illumination systems.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Trail, Kim, and Schnitzler as motivation to include ‘an aperture limiter arranged in the pupil plane of the beam path’ to enable generation of high image quality [Schnitzler : para. 0007, 0009] and somewhat longer optical path length [Schnitzler: para. 0068].
Trail does not disclose explicitly the following claim limitations (emphasis added):
wherein the aperture is disposed near a front focal position of the second optical system, and the intermediate image is formed near a rear focal position of the second optical system.
However in the same field of endeavor Futterer discloses the deficient claim as follows:
wherein the aperture is disposed near a front focal position of the second optical system, and the intermediate image (i.e. ‘an intermediate image 280’) [Fig. 3; para. 0190] is formed near a rear focal position of the second optical system.
Trail, Kim, Schnitzler and Futterer are combinable because they are from the same field of illumination systems.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Trail, Kim, Schnitzler and Futterer as motivation to include ‘a 4f imaging system’ of two lens systems for generating a magnified virtual image [Futterer: para. 0190].
Regarding claim 7, Trail in view of Kim and Schnitzler meets the claim limitations set forth in claim 5.
Trail does not disclose explicitly the following claim limitations:
The light projection device according to claim 5, wherein the intermediate image is formed near a front focal position of the optical element.
However in the same field of endeavor Futterer discloses the deficient claim as follows:
wherein the intermediate image (i.e. ‘an intermediate image 280’) [Fig. 3; para. 0190] is formed near a front focal position of the optical element.
Trail, Kim, Schnitzler and Futterer are combinable because they are from the same field of illumination systems.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Trail, Kim, Schnitzler and Futterer as motivation to include ‘a 4f imaging system’ of two lens systems for generating a magnified virtual image [Futterer: para. 0190].
Regarding claim 10, Trail meets the claim limitations as follows:
The light projection device according to claim 3, wherein each of the first (i.e. ‘the electronic display 210’) [Fig. 1, 2; para. 0018: ‘a convex lens’] and second optical systems (i.e. ‘the optical assembly 220’) [Fig. 1, 2; para. 0050: ‘The optical assembly 530 includes …. Examples optical elements included … a convex lens’] includes an optical component having positive refractive power equivalent to refractive power of a convex lens or a plurality of optical components having positive refractive power in total equivalent to refractive power of a convex lens.
Trail does not disclose explicitly the following claim limitations:
wherein each of the first and second optical systems includes an optical component having positive refractive power equivalent to refractive power of a convex lens or a plurality of optical components having positive refractive power in total equivalent to refractive power of a convex lens.
However in the same field of endeavor Futterer discloses the deficient claim as follows:
wherein each of the first and second optical systems includes an optical component having positive refractive power equivalent to refractive power of a convex lens [para. 0046: ‘also possible for a real convex lens to be disposed near the SLM, …’] or a plurality of optical components having positive refractive power in total equivalent to refractive power of a convex lens.
Trail, Kim, Schnitzler and Futterer are combinable because they are from the same field of illumination systems.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Trail, Kim, Schnitzler and Futterer as motivation to include ‘a convex lens’ to magnify image light [Trail: para. 0050] or to achieve maximum brightness in the entrance pupil of the observer eye Futterer: para. 0046, 0190, 0372].
Claim 18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trail in view of Kim in further view of Futterer (“Futterer”) [US 2013/0222384 A1]
Regarding claim 18, Trail meets the claim limitations set forth in claim 1.
Trail does not disclose explicitly the following claim limitations (emphasis added):
The light projection device according to claim 1, wherein the optical element is a holographic optical element.
However in the same field of endeavor Futterer discloses the deficient claim as follows:
wherein the optical element (i.e. ‘HMD’) is a holographic optical element [para. 0022, 0035: ‘The object is to provide a holographic display which magnifies a spatial light modulator including a 3D scene encoded on it for use in a head-mounted display device’].
Trail, Kim and Futterer are combinable because they are from the same field of illumination systems.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Trail and Futterer as motivation to include a holographic HMD for the ‘space-bandwidth product (SBS) … to be reduced to a minimum’, to magnify a 3D scene or to be ‘a lightweight and compact design’ [Futterer: para. 0022, 0035, 0222, 0368].
Claim 21 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trail in view of Kim in further view of Yamamoto (“Yamamoto”) [US 2010/0045571 A1]
Regarding claim 21, Trail meets the claim limitations set forth in claim 1.
Trail does not disclose explicitly the following claim limitations (emphasis added):
The light projection device according to claim 1, wherein the optical element is a contact lens optical element worn on the eyeball of the user.
However in the same field of endeavor Yamamoto discloses the deficient claim as follows:
wherein the optical element is a contact lens optical element worn on the eyeball of the user [Figs. 1 and 2; para. 0012-0014, 0082-0083: ‘a contact lens’].
Trail, Kim and Yamamato are combinable because they are from the same field of an eyeglass-type HMD.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Trail, Kim and Yamamato as motivation to include a contact lens to avoid the problems with wearing eyeglasses [Yamamato: para. 0004, 0011-0012].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PETER D LE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488