Status of Claims
2. This is a final action on the merits in response to the reply received 1/19/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Huang fails to disclose selecting a refinement mode based on a comparison of the first, second, and third minimized costs. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Huang discloses in [0203] selecting an adaptive bilateral matching mode and [0205] selecting a regular mode. Both of these are based on MVD. MVD are based on 3 different cost as disclosed in [0173-0175]. In fact, [0206] discloses refining based on minimizing cost. Therefore, rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20220417522 A1-Huang et al (Hereinafter referred to as “Huang”).
Regarding claim 1, Huang discloses a video coding method ([0006]) comprising:
receiving data for a block of pixels to be encoded or decoded as a current block of a current picture of a video ([0006]), the current block associated with a first motion vector referring a first initial predictor in a first reference picture and a second motion vector referring a second initial predictor in a second reference picture ([0132-0133]);
refining the first and second motion vectors to minimize first, second, and third costs according to first, second, and third refinement modes, respectively ([0134], wherein refining first and second motion vectors; [0203-0209]);
selecting a refinement mode based on a comparison of the first, second, and third minimized costs ([0203-0216]; 0203] selecting an adaptive bilateral matching mode and [0205] selecting a regular mode. Both of these are based on MVD. MVD are based on 3 different cost as disclosed in [0173-0175]. In fact, [0206] discloses refining based on minimizing cost.); and
encoding or decoding the current block by using the selected refinement mode to modify the first and second motion vectors for reconstructing the current block ([0034]).
Regarding claim 2, Huang discloses the video coding method of claim 1, wherein the first and second motion vectors are refined in one or more refinement passes ([0161-0164]), wherein the first, second, and third costs are computed after one refinement pass ([0161-0164]).
Regarding claim 3, Huang discloses the video coding method of claim 1, wherein the first and second motion vectors are refined in one or more refinement passes ([0161-0164]), wherein the first, second, and third costs are computed after two refinement passes([0161-0164]).
Regarding claim 4, Huang discloses the video coding method of claim 3, wherein during a second refinement pass, the first and second motion vectors are refined for each sub-block of a plurality of sub-blocks of the current block in ([0161-0164]), wherein during a third refinement pass, the first and second motion vectors are refined by applying bi-directional optical flow (BDOF) ([0161-0164]).
Regarding claim 5, Huang discloses the video coding method of claim 1, wherein the first, second, and third minimized costs are weighted before the comparison ([0123]).
Regarding claim 11, analyses are analogous to those presented for claim 1 and are applicable for claim 11, circuit ([0253])
Regarding claim 12, analyses are analogous to those presented for claim 1 and are applicable for claim 12, wherein decoder performs the opposite of the encoder (Fig 1).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
LERON . BECK
Examiner
Art Unit 2487
/LERON BECK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487