This action is in response to the application filed on September 27, 2024
Claims 1- 20 is/are under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 09/27/2024 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered if signed and initialed by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1- 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li et al (USP: 2023/0268982 A1).
As per Claim 1 Li teaches a method of wireless communication of a wireless device, comprising:
receiving, by a mobile termination (MT) component of the wireless device while in a radio resource control (RRC) idle or inactive state, a control message via one of a paging early indication (PEI), paging downlink control information (DCI), or a paging message (Paragraph 0020, 0071, 0073, 0342, 0357 (See Table: 1.6-1) the network layer protocols include internet protocol (IP), IP security (IPsec), Internet Control Message Protocol (ICMP). The NCR-Fwd 130 is always expected to be “OFF” unless otherwise explicitly or implicitly indicated by the gNB. This applies regardless of the RRC state of NCR-MT 120. Indication (e.g., received when NCR-MT 120 in RRC-connected) or DRX state of NCR-MT 120 to control the ON-OFF behavior of NCR-Fwd 130 when the NCR-MT 120 is in RRC-idle/inactive is not precluded. PEI UE Indicates whether the UE supports receiving paging early indication in DCI format 2_7 as specified in TS38.304 [21] for a list of frequency band. The UE shall support UEID based subgrouping for a frequency band if it indicates supporting of paging early indication reception for the frequency band. The set of OFDM symbols within a slot where UE can monitor the PEI PDCCH. INACTIVE (e.g., 6-1 RRC INACTIVE); Mobility (e.g., 7-1 (1/2/6) if cell reselection is allowed for smart repeater when RLF happens); RRC (e.g., 9-1 supported with scaling factor );
determining an activation or deactivation operation for a forwarding component of the NCR according to the control message (Paragraph 0071, 0073, 0342 the network layer protocols include internet protocol (IP), IP security (IPsec), Internet Control Message Protocol (ICMP), the NCR 102 can also deactivate it's RRC, PDCP, and/or RLC protocol layers if semi-static side control information via RRC signaling is not supported. ); and
performing the activation or deactivation operation at the forwarding component (Paragraph 0017, 0019, 0153, 0273 the NCR-Fwd 130 will follow a new dynamic side control signaling of DL/UL forwarding over these symbols to NCR-Fwd 130. The same TDD UL/DL configuration is always assumed for backhaul link and access link. Beam correspondence is assumed for the DL/UL of the access link at NCR-Fwd 130, i.e., a DL beam and a UL beam on the access side which correspond to each other have the same beam index. The forwarding direction of an indicated beam in access link can be determined based on its corresponding time domain resource and the UL/DL TDD configuration. The forwarding behavior (or the forwarding direction) ).
As per Claim 2 Li teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the control message comprises an activation indication to activate the forwarding component (Paragraph 0017, 0019, 0342 the NCR-Fwd 130 will follow a new dynamic side control signaling of DL/UL forwarding over these symbols to NCR-Fwd 130. The same TDD UL/DL configuration is always assumed for backhaul link and access link, the network layer protocols include internet protocol (IP), IP security (IPsec), Internet Control Message Protocol (ICMP ).
As per Claim 3 Li teaches the method of claim 2, wherein activating the forwarding component comprises activating the forwarding component for a duration indicated in the control message (Paragraph 0051, 0054 After connection establishment, the NCR-MT 120 is only responsible for limited features that support side control information receipt and processing. For example, features supported at the NCR-MT 120 include the following MAC functionality ).
As per Claim 4 Li teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the activation indication specifies a time location and a frequency location for the forwarding component to operate on after activation (Paragraph 0184 example, signal strength measurements, signal quality measurements, and/or the like. Each measurement report is tagged with a timestamp and the location of the measurement (e.g., the UEs 2302 current location) ).
As per Claim 5 Li teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the control message comprises a deactivation indication to deactivate the forwarding component (Paragraph 0073, 0342 the network layer protocols include internet protocol (IP), IP security (IPsec), Internet Control Message Protocol (ICMP) FIG. 10 shows an example protocol stack according to the second option. In the second option, when the RRC setup is completed for the NCR 102, the NCR 102 can also deactivate it's RRC, PDCP, and/or RLC protocol layers if semi-static side control information via RRC signaling is not supported. ).
As per Claim 6 Li teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the activation or deactivation operation comprises at least one of: activating the forwarding component based on the control message; deactivating the forwarding component based on the control message; and deactivating the forwarding component after expiration of an activation duration without receiving an explicit deactivation indication (Paragraph 0073, 0152 FIG. 10 shows an example protocol stack according to the second option. In the second option, when the RRC setup is completed for the NCR 102, the NCR 102 can also deactivate it's RRC, PDCP, and/or RLC protocol layers if semi-static side control information via RRC signaling is not supported. RRC connection defined in TS re-establishment. 38.133 5) RRC connection 8) 5 ms reconfiguration with 10) 80 ms sync procedure 8) Initial security activation 10) UE capability transfer. The NCR Access Link Beam Indication MAC CE includes an activate.deactivate (A/D) field. If the value of the A/D field is set to 1, the forwarding resource list indicated in resource set (list) ID field is being activated. If the value of the A/D field is set to 0, the forwarding resource list indicated in the resource set (list) ID field is being deactivated. ).
As per Claim 7 Li teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the control message is received via the PEI, and wherein the control message is identified in one or more of: a repurposed paging indication field, a repurposed reference signal transmission availability indication field, a specific field of a DCI format carrying the PEI (Paragraph 0130, 0185 pei-SubgroupingSupportBandList-r17 UE No No No Indicates whether the UE supports receiving paging early indication in DCI format 2_7 as specified in for a list of frequency band. The UE shall support UEID based subgrouping for a frequency band if it indicates supporting of paging early indication reception for the frequency band. The set of OFDM symbols within a slot where UE can monitor the PEI PDCCH in Type 2A CSS is the same as the requirement for paging PDCCH in Type 2 CSS for IDLE and INACTIVE mode UEs. Measurements related to Network Slice Selection (NSS); measurements related to Paging (PAG) ).
As per Claim 8 Li teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the control message is received via the paging DCI, and wherein the control message is identified in one or more of: a short message indicator, a short message, a specific field in a DCI format carrying the paging DCI (Paragraph 0134, 0185 measurements related to Application Triggering (AT); measurements related to Short Message Service (SMS)UE uses fullI- RNTI and RRCResumeRequest1 if the field is present, or shortI-RNTI and RRCResumeRequest if the field is absent.).
As per Claim 9 Li teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the control message is received via the paging message, and wherein the control message is identified in a specific field in the paging message (Paragraph 0130, 0198 UE supports receiving paging early indication in DCI format 2_7 as specified in TS38.304 [21] for a list of frequency band. The UE shall support UEID based subgrouping for a frequency band if it indicates supporting of paging early indication reception for the frequency band. The set of OFDM symbols within a slot where UE can monitor the PEI PDCCH in Type 2A CSS is the same as the requirement for paging PDCCH in Type 2 CSS for IDLE and INACTIVE mode UEs. ).
Claims 10-20 methods and apparatus claims corresponding to a methods claims 1-9 that have been rejected above. Applicant attention is directed to the rejection of claims 1-9. Claims 10-20 are rejected under the same rational as claims 1-9.
Examiner’s Note
Examiner is open for discussion if the applicant’s representative need further clarifications.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. (See form 892).
Conclusion
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, ASAD NAWAZ can be reached on (571) 272-3988. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SYED ALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463