DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the application filed on 3/26/2024.
Claims 1-15, 19-21, 27, and 46 are pending in the case. Claims 1, 19, and 27 are independent claims.
This application claims benefit of Foreign Priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a-d) from China Patent Application No. CN202210476497.9, filed on 4/29/2022.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 2-3 and 20-21 recite the limitation “in a case that”. Each of the “in a case that” clauses indicates that the associated limitations occur only when the criteria of these clauses are met. However, the present claims never affirmatively require such events to occur. The broadest reasonable interpretation of these limitations does not require these conditional steps to be performed. See Ex parte Schulhauser, 2013-007847 (PTAB 2016) (precedential) (MPEP 2111.04 II) where the board held that when method steps are to be carried out only upon the occurrence of a condition precedent, the broadest reasonable interpretation holds that those steps are not required to be performed. As such, the limitations followed by “in case” clauses do not appear to have patentable weight since they are contingent upon a condition occurring.
Examiner suggests, for example, for claim 2 “determining that the trigger signaling comprises the first trigger signaling, in response to determining that the trigger signaling comprises the first trigger signaling,” or similar.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15, 19-21, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Independent claim 1 is as follows:
1. (Original) A positioning method, performed by a first terminal, comprising: sending a trigger signaling to at least one first device, wherein the trigger signaling comprises one or more of followings: a first trigger signaling, used to instruct the first terminal to send a first Sidelink Positioning Reference Signal (SL-PRS), and/or used to instruct the at least one first device to receive the first SL-PRS and report first measurement information corresponding to the first SL-PRS; a second trigger signaling, used to instruct the at least one first device to send a second SL- PRS; performing measurement positioning according to the sent trigger signaling.
It is unclear whether “one or more of the followings” mean “one or more” of “first trigger signaling..; second trigger signaling …; or performing measurement…” or “one or more” of “first trigger signaling…, and/or used to instruct the at least… and report…” given that claim 2 which depend on claim 2 recites “in the case that the trigger signaling comprises the first trigger signaling” and claim 3 which depends on claim 1 recites “in the case that the trigger signaling comprises second trigger signal…”.
Independent claim 19 is as follows:
19. (Original) A positioning method, performed by a first device, comprising: receiving a trigger signaling sent by a first terminal, wherein the trigger signaling comprises one or more of followings: a first trigger signaling, used to instruct the first terminal to send a first Sidelink Positioning Reference Signal (SL-PRS), and/or used to instruct at least one first device to receive the first SL- PRS and report first measurement information of the first SL-PRS; a second trigger signaling, used to instruct the at least one first device to send a second SL- PRS.
It is unclear whether “one or more of the followings” mean “one or more” of “first trigger signaling..; or second trigger signaling…; or “one or more” of “first trigger signaling…, and/or used to instruct the at least… and report…” given that claim 20 which depend on claim 19 recites “in the case that the trigger signaling comprises the first trigger signaling” and claim 21 which depends on claim 19 recites “in the case that the trigger signaling comprises second trigger signal…”.
Independent claim 27 is as follows:
27. (Original) A terminal, wherein the terminal is a first terminal, and comprises a memory, a transceiver, and a processor; wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program; the transceiver is configured to receive and send data under the control of the processor; the processor is configured to read the computer program in the memory to: send a trigger signaling to at least one first device, wherein the trigger signaling comprises one or more of followings: a first trigger signaling, used to instruct the first terminal to send a first Sidelink Positioning Reference Signal (SL-PRS), and/or used to instruct the at least one first device to receive the first SL-PRS and report first measurement information of the first SL-PRS; a second trigger signaling, used to instruct the at least one first device to send a second SL- PRS; perform measurement positioning according to the sent trigger signaling.
It is unclear whether “one or more of the followings” mean “one or more” of “first trigger signaling...; second trigger signaling…or perform measurement…” or “one or more” of “first trigger signaling…, and/or used to instruct the at least… and report…”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15, 19-21, 27, and 46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Duan et al., US Patent Publication No 20230384443, effectively filed on 12/30/2021 (hereinafter Duan).
As for independent claim 1, Duan discloses a positioning method, performed by a first terminal (the first UE), comprising:
sending a trigger signaling (a reference signal) to at least one first device (sidelink UEs), wherein the trigger signaling comprises one or more of followings:
a first trigger signaling (a first reference signal), used to instruct the first terminal (the first UE) to send a first Sidelink Positioning Reference Signal (SL-PRS) (sending one or more sidelink reference signals to a plurality of sidelink UEs), and/or used to instruct the at least one first device (sidelink UEs) to receive the first SL-PRS (receiving the sidelink reference signal from the first UE) and report first measurement information corresponding to the first SL-PRS (determining a receive-transmit (Rx-Tx) time difference associated with each sidelink UE);
(Duan paragraph [0005] discloses “In one implementation, a method performed by a first user equipment (UE) for determining a position of the first UE, the method includes receiving a first reference signal from a network entity; sending one or more sidelink reference signals to a plurality of sidelink UEs; determining a receive-transmit (Rx-Tx) time difference associated with each sidelink UE, wherein the Rx-Tx time difference associated with each sidelink UE is a time difference between receiving the first reference signal from the network entity and sending the sidelink reference signal to a respective sidelink UE;”
a second trigger signaling (second reference signal from the network entity), used to instruct the at least one first device to send a second SL-PRS (differential range-sum is a difference between a range-sum for a reference sidelink UE from the plurality of sidelink UEs);
(Duan paragraph [0005] discloses “and processing the Rx-Tx time difference associated with each sidelink UE for generating differential range-sums for the plurality of sidelink UEs based on the Rx-Tx time differences associated with each sidelink UE and a time difference measured by each sidelink UE, wherein the time difference measured by each sidelink UE is the time difference between receiving the sidelink reference signal from the first UE and receiving a second reference signal from the network entity, each differential range-sum is a difference between a range-sum for a reference sidelink UE from the plurality of sidelink UEs and a range-sum for another sidelink UE from the plurality of sidelink UEs, and wherein the range-sum for each sidelink UE is a sum of a first range between the first UE and the network entity and a second range between the first UE and the respective sidelink UE, wherein the position of the first UE is determined based at least in part on the differential range-sums for the plurality of sidelink UEs.”)
performing measurement positioning (the position of the first UE is determined based at least in part on the differential range-sums for the plurality of sidelink UEs.) according to the sent trigger signaling.
(Duan paragraph [0005] discloses “wherein the position of the first UE is determined based at least in part on the differential range-sums for the plurality of sidelink UEs.”)
As for claim 2, the limitations of parent claim 1 has been discussed above, Duan discloses
the positioning method according to claim 1, wherein
in the case that the trigger signaling comprises the first trigger signaling (a first reference signal), the method further comprises:
sending the first SL-PRS (sending one or more sidelink reference signals) to the at least one first device (to a plurality of sidelink UEs) according to the first trigger signaling (a first reference signal);
(Duan paragraph [0005] discloses “In one implementation, a method performed by a first user equipment (UE) for determining a position of the first UE, the method includes receiving a first reference signal from a network entity; sending one or more sidelink reference signals to a plurality of sidelink UEs; determining a receive-transmit (Rx-Tx) time difference associated with each sidelink UE, wherein the Rx-Tx time difference associated with each sidelink UE is a time difference between receiving the first reference signal from the network entity and sending the sidelink reference signal to a respective sidelink UE;”)
receiving the first measurement information reported (the target UE 810 reports the Rx-Tx time differences (e.g., T.sub.UE_Rx.fwdarw.Tx_i) and each sidelink UE 820 reports the time differences (T.sub.Rx_sidelink_i−T.sub.Rx_RS_i) to the location server ) by the at least one first device after measuring the first SL-PRS (determining a receive-transmit (Rx-Tx) time difference associated with each sidelink UE, wherein the Rx-Tx time difference associated with each sidelink UE is a time difference between receiving the first reference signal from the network entity and sending the sidelink reference signal to a respective sidelink UE).
(Duan paragraph [0005] discloses “In one implementation, a method performed by a first user equipment (UE) for determining a position of the first UE, the method includes receiving a first reference signal from a network entity; sending one or more sidelink reference signals to a plurality of sidelink UEs; determining a receive-transmit (Rx-Tx) time difference associated with each sidelink UE, wherein the Rx-Tx time difference associated with each sidelink UE is a time difference between receiving the first reference signal from the network entity and sending the sidelink reference signal to a respective sidelink UE;”
Paragraph [0109] discloses “In one implementation, each range-sum R.sub.sum_i can be determined by the location server 804, e.g., where the target UE 810 reports the Rx-Tx time differences (e.g., T.sub.UE_Rx.fwdarw.Tx_i) and each sidelink UE 820 reports the time differences (T.sub.Rx_sidelink_i−T.sub.Rx_RS_i) to the location server 804. In another implementation, each range-sum R.sub.sum_i can be determined by the target UE 810, e.g., each sidelink UE 820 reports the time differences (T.sub.Rx_sidelink_i−T.sub.Rx_RS_i) either to the target UE 810 through sidelink communications or to the target UE 810 via a network node, such as the base station 802 or the location server 804.”)
As for claim 3, the limitations of parent claim 1 has been discussed above, Duan discloses
the positioning method according to claim 1, wherein
in the case that the trigger signaling comprises the second trigger signaling (second reference signal from the network entity), the method further comprises:
receiving the second SL-PRS (receiving the sidelink reference signal from the first UE) sent by the at least one first device (from the first UE);
(Duan paragraph [0005] discloses “and processing the Rx-Tx time difference associated with each sidelink UE for generating differential range-sums for the plurality of sidelink UEs based on the Rx-Tx time differences associated with each sidelink UE and a time difference measured by each sidelink UE, wherein the time difference measured by each sidelink UE is the time difference between receiving the sidelink reference signal from the first UE and receiving a second reference signal from the network entity, each differential range-sum is a difference between a range-sum for a reference sidelink UE from the plurality of sidelink UEs and a range-sum for another sidelink UE from the plurality of sidelink UEs, and wherein the range-sum for each sidelink UE is a sum of a first range between the first UE and the network entity and a second range between the first UE and the respective sidelink UE, wherein the position of the first UE is determined based at least in part on the differential range-sums for the plurality of sidelink UEs.”)
obtaining second measurement information by measuring the second SL-PRS (processing the Rx-Tx time difference associated with each sidelink UE for generating differential range-sums for the plurality of sidelink UEs based on the Rx-Tx time differences associated with each sidelink UE and a time difference measured by each sidelink UE, wherein the time difference measured by each sidelink UE is the time difference between receiving the sidelink reference signal from the first UE and receiving a second reference signal from the network entity).
(Duan paragraph [0005] discloses “and processing the Rx-Tx time difference associated with each sidelink UE for generating differential range-sums for the plurality of sidelink UEs based on the Rx-Tx time differences associated with each sidelink UE and a time difference measured by each sidelink UE, wherein the time difference measured by each sidelink UE is the time difference between receiving the sidelink reference signal from the first UE and receiving a second reference signal from the network entity, each differential range-sum is a difference between a range-sum for a reference sidelink UE from the plurality of sidelink UEs and a range-sum for another sidelink UE from the plurality of sidelink UEs, and wherein the range-sum for each sidelink UE is a sum of a first range between the first UE and the network entity and a second range between the first UE and the respective sidelink UE, wherein the position of the first UE is determined based at least in part on the differential range-sums for the plurality of sidelink UEs.”)
As for claim 4, the limitations of parent claim 1 has been discussed above, Duan discloses
the positioning method according to claim 1, wherein
the performing the measurement positioning (determining a position of the first UE) according to the sent trigger signaling comprises: performing the measurement positioning according to one or more of following information obtained after sending the trigger signaling (a first reference signal): the first measurement information that is reported by the at least one first device after the first terminal sends the first SL-PRS (sending one or more sidelink reference signals to a plurality of sidelink UEs) to the at least one first device and the at least one first device measures the first SL-PRS (determining a receive-transmit (Rx-Tx) time difference associated with each sidelink UE);
(Duan paragraph [0005] discloses “In one implementation, a method performed by a first user equipment (UE) for determining a position of the first UE, the method includes receiving a first reference signal from a network entity; sending one or more sidelink reference signals to a plurality of sidelink UEs; determining a receive-transmit (Rx-Tx) time difference associated with each sidelink UE, wherein the Rx-Tx time difference associated with each sidelink UE is a time difference between receiving the first reference signal from the network entity and sending the sidelink reference signal to a respective sidelink UE;”)
the second measurement (second reference signal from the network entity) information obtained by measuring the second SL-PRS after receiving the second SL-PRS sent by the at least one first device (processing the Rx-Tx time difference associated with each sidelink UE for generating differential range-sums for the plurality of sidelink UEs based on the Rx-Tx time differences associated with each sidelink UE and a time difference measured by each sidelink UE, wherein the time difference measured by each sidelink UE is the time difference between receiving the sidelink reference signal from the first UE and receiving a second reference signal from the network entity).
(Duan paragraph [0005] discloses “and processing the Rx-Tx time difference associated with each sidelink UE for generating differential range-sums for the plurality of sidelink UEs based on the Rx-Tx time differences associated with each sidelink UE and a time difference measured by each sidelink UE, wherein the time difference measured by each sidelink UE is the time difference between receiving the sidelink reference signal from the first UE and receiving a second reference signal from the network entity, each differential range-sum is a difference between a range-sum for a reference sidelink UE from the plurality of sidelink UEs and a range-sum for another sidelink UE from the plurality of sidelink UEs, and wherein the range-sum for each sidelink UE is a sum of a first range between the first UE and the network entity and a second range between the first UE and the respective sidelink UE, wherein the position of the first UE is determined based at least in part on the differential range-sums for the plurality of sidelink UEs.”)
As for claim 5, the limitations of parent claim 1 has been discussed above, Duan discloses
the positioning method according to claim 1, wherein
the first measurement information comprises one or more of following information:
Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) of the first SL-PRS
a first Reference Signal Received Power Path (RSRPP) of the first SL-PRS;
an Angle of Arrival (AOA) of the first SL-PRS;
an Angle of Departure (AOD) of the first SL-PRS;
Reference Signal Time Difference (RSTD) of the first SL-PRS;
time difference between time for sending the second SL-PRS (Time difference between the time (ToA) at which the light UE 510 receives the reference signal 550 (T.sub.UE_Rx_RS)) and time for receiving the first SL-PRS (the time at which the light UE 510 transmits (i.e., the time of departure (ToD) the sidelink signal 570 (T.sub.Tx_sidelink)).
(Duan paragraph [0096] discloses “where T.sub.Rx_sidelink is the time (ToA) at which the sidelink signal 570 is received by the premium UE, T.sub.Rx_RS is the time (ToA) at which the reference signal 560 is received by the premium UE, and T.sub.UE_Rx.fwdarw.Tx is the Time difference between the time (ToA) at which the light UE 510 receives the reference signal 550 (T.sub.UE_Rx_RS) and the time at which the light UE 510 transmits (i.e., the time of departure (ToD) the sidelink signal 570 (T.sub.Tx_sidelink). With the value of R.sub.sum, distance R.sub.T can be determined from equation 4 above, and the position of the light UE 510 can be determined based on distance R.sub.T, angle θ.sub.T, and the position of the base station 120. Because the value of R sum is based on a difference between times at which the light UE 510 and premium UE 520 receive the reference signals 550 and 560, no synchronization is required between the light UE 510, premium UE 520, or base station 120 to perform the positioning of the light UE 510 using the techniques described herein.”
The first measurement information comprises one or more of following information. Examiner chose to map “time difference between time for sending the second SL-PRS and time for receiving the first SL-PRS”.)
As for claim 6, the limitations of parent claim 3 has been discussed above, Duan discloses
the positioning method according to claim 3, wherein
the second measurement information comprises one or more of following information:
an AOA of the second SL-PRS;
time difference between times for receiving the second SL-PRS by respective different antenna panels;
time difference between time for sending the first SL-PRS (Time difference between the time (ToA) at which the light UE 510 receives the reference signal 550 (T.sub.UE_Rx_RS)) and time for receiving the second SL-PRS (the time at which the light UE 510 transmits (i.e., the time of departure (ToD) the sidelink signal 570 (T.sub.Tx_sidelink));
(Duan paragraph [0096] discloses “where T.sub.Rx_sidelink is the time (ToA) at which the sidelink signal 570 is received by the premium UE, T.sub.Rx_RS is the time (ToA) at which the reference signal 560 is received by the premium UE, and T.sub.UE_Rx.fwdarw.Tx is the Time difference between the time (ToA) at which the light UE 510 receives the reference signal 550 (T.sub.UE_Rx_RS) and the time at which the light UE 510 transmits (i.e., the time of departure (ToD) the sidelink signal 570 (T.sub.Tx_sidelink). With the value of R.sub.sum, distance R.sub.T can be determined from equation 4 above, and the position of the light UE 510 can be determined based on distance R.sub.T, angle θ.sub.T, and the position of the base station 120.”
The second measurement information comprises one or more of following information. Examiner chose to map “time difference between time for sending the first SL-PRS and time for receiving the second SL-PRS”.)
As for claim 7, the limitations of parent claim 1 has been discussed above, Duan discloses
the positioning method according to claim 1, wherein
before sending the trigger signaling (FIG. 9 is a call-flow diagram illustrating an embodiment of UE-based positioning procedure), the positioning method further comprises: sending a positioning request message to the at least one first device (block 905 and block 915 determine the location of target/sidelink UEs which is prior to stage 940 when reference signal trigger for SL-PRS procedure);
(Duan paragraph [0117] discloses “FIG. 9 is a call-flow diagram illustrating an embodiment of UE-based positioning procedure for determining the position of a target UE 810 using differential range-sums determined for a plurality of sidelink UEs 820a, 820b, and 820c (sometimes collectively referred to as sidelink UEs 820, or sidelink UE 820i, where i=a, b, and c), as illustrated in FIG. 8.”
Paragraph [0118] discloses “At block 905, the target UE 810 obtains a position request. This position request may come, for example, from an application (or app) executed by the target UE 810. This may be a result from user interaction with the target UE 810, based on a determined schedule, or based on other triggers. Additionally, or alternatively, a position request may come from a separate device (e.g., the sidelink UE 820, the location server 804, or another device in communication with the target UE 810) requesting the position of the target UE 810.”
Paragraph [0122] discloses “At block 915 and positioning session 920, the locations of the sidelink UEs 820 is determined by the location server 915, e.g., in a UE-assisted positioning procedure, or in some implementations by the each respective sidelink UE 820, e.g., in a UE-based positioning procedure. This can be performed in any of a variety of ways, including GNSS and/or other non-network means and the resulting locations may be reported to the location server 804.”
Paragraph [0124] discloses “As indicated by arrow 935, the location server can then schedule the transmission and receipt of PRS resources by the base station 802, sidelink UEs 820, and the target UE 810. According to embodiments, this may include the scheduling of PRS for measurement of ToA (at stage 945) by the target UE 810 and the sidelink UEs 820.”
Paragraph [0125] discloses “At stage 940, the base station 802 sends PRS, which is received by the sidelink UEs 820 and target UE 810 as previously described and illustrated as signals 850 and 860 in FIG. 8. The sidelink UEs 820 measure the ToA of the PRS and the target UE 810 measures the ToA of the PRS. In some implementations, as illustrate by the dotted lines, the base station 802 may send one or more different PRS (e.g., a PRS resource using a different beam) for ToA measurement by the sidelink UEs 820 than the PRS received by the target UE 810.”)
receiving a positioning response message sent by the at least one first device (a communication session between the location server 804 and the target UE, to determine of the position of the target UE).
(Duan paragraph [0134] discloses “In response to the position request at 1005, the location server 804 may generate a position request notification. The location server 804 may send the position request notification to the target UE 810 at stage 1010 and (optionally) to the sidelink UEs 820. In some embodiments, this may comprise initiating a communication session between the location server 804 and the target UE 810, and/or between the location server 804 and one or more of the sidelink UEs 820, to coordinate the functionality of the various components illustrated in FIG. 10 to determine of the position of the target UE.”)
As for claim 8, the limitations of parent claim 1 has been discussed above, Duan discloses
the positioning method according to claim 1, wherein
the first trigger signaling comprises one or more of following information:
terminal information of the first terminal;
device information of the at least one first device;
measurement information that the at least one first device needs to report;
a reporting mode for the at least one first device to report the measurement information;
resource configuration information of the first SL-PRS; time for sending the first SL-PRS;
time when the at least one first device reports the measurement information (time of departure (ToD) the sidelink signal 570 (T.sub.Tx_sidelink)).
(Duan paragraph [0096] discloses “where T.sub.Rx_sidelink is the time (ToA) at which the sidelink signal 570 is received by the premium UE, T.sub.Rx_RS is the time (ToA) at which the reference signal 560 is received by the premium UE, and T.sub.UE_Rx.fwdarw.Tx is the Time difference between the time (ToA) at which the light UE 510 receives the reference signal 550 (T.sub.UE_Rx_RS) and the time at which the light UE 510 transmits (i.e., the time of departure (ToD) the sidelink signal 570 (T.sub.Tx_sidelink).”
The first trigger signaling comprises one or more of following information.
Examiner chose to map “time when the at least one first device reports the measurement information”.)
As for claim 9, the limitations of parent claim 1 has been discussed above, Duan discloses
the positioning method according to claim 1, wherein
the second trigger signaling comprises one or more of following information: terminal information of the first terminal;
device information of the at least one first device;
measurement information that the first terminal needs to report;
a reporting mode for the first terminal to report the measurement information;
resource configuration information of the second SL-PRS;
time when the first terminal reports (reporting Rx-Tx time difference measurements to a serving base station) the measurement information (the time (ToA) at which the light UE 510 receives the reference signal 550 (T.sub.UE_Rx_RS)).
(Duan paragraph [0096] discloses “where T.sub.Rx_sidelink is the time (ToA) at which the sidelink signal 570 is received by the premium UE, T.sub.Rx_RS is the time (ToA) at which the reference signal 560 is received by the premium UE, and T.sub.UE_Rx.fwdarw.Tx is the Time difference between the time (ToA) at which the light UE 510 receives the reference signal 550 (T.sub.UE_Rx_RS) and the time at which the light UE 510 transmits (i.e., the time of departure (ToD) the sidelink signal 570 (T.sub.Tx_sidelink).”
Paragraph [0083] discloses “Network-based positioning of a UE, such as RTT or differential RTT discussed above may often require the UE to communicate with a plurality of base stations. In RTT-based positioning, for example, RTT measurements can involve transmitting and receiving wireless reference signals with multiple base stations, and further reporting Rx-Tx time difference measurements to a serving base station. With many types of UEs, such as mobile phones, the power requirements of RTT-based positioning may not be an issue. However, with “light” UEs, which typically have a much tighter power budget, these types of communications can be problematic.”
The first trigger signaling comprises one or more of following information.
Examiner chose to map “time when the at least one first device reports the measurement information”.)
As for claim 10, the limitations of parent claim 7 has been discussed above, Duan discloses
the positioning method according to claim 7, wherein
the positioning request message comprises one or more of following information:
terminal information of the first terminal;
measurement information that the at least one first device needs to report;
resource configuration information of the first SL-PRS;
beam angle information of the first SL-PRS;
resource configuration information of the second SL-PRS;
beam angle information of the second SL-PRS;
a reporting mode for the at least one first device to report the measurement information;
a measurement capability of the first terminal;
a reporting request of a measurement information type supported by the first terminal (between the target UE 810 and location server 804 may occur to determine capabilities of the target UE 810).
(Duan paragraph [0119] discloses “According to some embodiments, additional communications between the target UE 810 and location server 804 may occur to determine capabilities of the target UE 810 (including, for example, the capability of the target UE 810 to communicate with the sidelink UEs 820), whether the target UE 810 is capable of or will use differential range-sums R.sub.sum_diff_j. The target UE 810, for example, may provide an indication of whether the UE group-delay is calibrated, e.g., by reporting whether it is calibrated or reporting calibration error statistics, such as the mean and variance of the calibration error.”
the positioning request message comprises one or more of following information.
Examiner chose to map “a reporting request of a measurement information type supported by the first terminal”.)
As for claim 11, the limitations of parent claim 7 has been discussed above, Duan discloses
the positioning method according to claim 7, wherein
the positioning response message comprises one or more of following information:
a resource set of the second SL-PRS;
resource configuration information of the second SL-PRS;
device information of the at least one first device;
beam angle information of the second SL-PRS;
a measurement capability of the at least one first device;
a measurement information type supported by the at least one first device (The target UE 810, for example, may provide an indication of whether the UE group-delay is calibrated, e.g., by reporting whether it is calibrated or reporting calibration error statistics, such as the mean and variance of the calibration error).
(Duan paragraph [0119] discloses “According to some embodiments, additional communications between the target UE 810 and location server 804 may occur to determine capabilities of the target UE 810 (including, for example, the capability of the target UE 810 to communicate with the sidelink UEs 820), whether the target UE 810 is capable of or will use differential range-sums R.sub.sum_diff_j. The target UE 810, for example, may provide an indication of whether the UE group-delay is calibrated, e.g., by reporting whether it is calibrated or reporting calibration error statistics, such as the mean and variance of the calibration error. The calibration status report from the target UE 810 to the location server 804 in some implementations may be periodic or aperiodic, which may be triggered by an event, such as a UE temperature change. In some embodiments, communication between the location server 804 and target UE 810 may occur via an LPP positioning session.”
the positioning request message comprises one or more of following information.
Examiner chose to map “a reporting request of a measurement information type supported by the first terminal”.)
As for claim 12, the limitations of parent claim 1 has been discussed above, Duan discloses
the positioning method according to claim 1, wherein
after performing the measurement positioning (FIG. 9 is a call-flow diagram illustrating an embodiment of UE-based positioning procedure, block 910 and block 915 determine the location of target/sidelink UEs which is prior to stage 940 when reference signal trigger for SL-PRS procedure), the positioning method further comprises: obtaining relative position information (Position determination for a target user equipment (UE)) between the first terminal (target user equipment) and the at least one first device (sidelink UEs with known locations relative);
(Duan paragraph [0004] discloses “Position determination for a target user equipment (UE) uses a single base station and a plurality of sidelink UEs with known locations relative to the base station. The base station sends a reference signal to the target UE and sidelink UEs, and the target UE sends sidelink signals to each sidelink UEs.”
Paragraph [0117] discloses “FIG. 9 is a call-flow diagram illustrating an embodiment of UE-based positioning procedure for determining the position of a target UE 810 using differential range-sums determined for a plurality of sidelink UEs 820a, 820b, and 820c (sometimes collectively referred to as sidelink UEs 820, or sidelink UE 820i, where i=a, b, and c), as illustrated in FIG. 8.”
Paragraph [0118] discloses “At block 905, the target UE 810 obtains a position request. This position request may come, for example, from an application (or app) executed by the target UE 810. This may be a result from user interaction with the target UE 810, based on a determined schedule, or based on other triggers. Additionally, or alternatively, a position request may come from a separate device (e.g., the sidelink UE 820, the location server 804, or another device in communication with the target UE 810) requesting the position of the target UE 810.”
Paragraph [0122] discloses “At block 915 and positioning session 920, the locations of the sidelink UEs 820 is determined by the location server 915, e.g., in a UE-assisted positioning procedure, or in some implementations by the each respective sidelink UE 820, e.g., in a UE-based positioning procedure. This can be performed in any of a variety of ways, including GNSS and/or other non-network means and the resulting locations may be reported to the location server 804.”
Paragraph [0124] discloses “As indicated by arrow 935, the location server can then schedule the transmission and receipt of PRS resources by the base station 802, sidelink UEs 820, and the target UE 810. According to embodiments, this may include the scheduling of PRS for measurement of ToA (at stage 945) by the target UE 810 and the sidelink UEs 820.”
Paragraph [0125] discloses “At stage 940, the base station 802 sends PRS, which is received by the sidelink UEs 820 and target UE 810 as previously described and illustrated as signals 850 and 860 in FIG. 8. The sidelink UEs 820 measure the ToA of the PRS and the target UE 810 measures the ToA of the PRS. In some implementations, as illustrate by the dotted lines, the base station 802 may send one or more different PRS (e.g., a PRS resource using a different beam) for ToA measurement by the sidelink UEs 820 than the PRS received by the target UE 810.”)
reporting the relative position information (the target UE 810 reports the Rx-Tx time differences (e.g., T.sub.UE_Rx.fwdarw.Tx_i) and each sidelink UE 820 reports the time differences) to the at least one first device and/or a positioning server (location server).
(Duan paragraph [0109] discloses “In one implementation, each range-sum R.sub.sum_i can be determined by the location server 804, e.g., where the target UE 810 reports the Rx-Tx time differences (e.g., T.sub.UE_Rx.fwdarw.Tx_i) and each sidelink UE 820 reports the time differences (T.sub.Rx_sidelink_i−T.sub.Rx_RS_i) to the location server.”)
As for claim 13, the limitations of parent claim 4 has been discussed above, Duan discloses
the positioning method according to claim 4, further comprising:
performing Downlink Positioning Reference Signal (DL-PRS) measurement according to first indication information (transmits reference signals 550 and 560 (e.g., a DL-PRS)) sent by a positioning server (a base station), to obtain third measurement information (The different angles of reference signals 550 and 560 in FIG. 6 reflect the different paths of reference signals 550 and 560 in FIG. 5);
(Duan paragraph [0093] discloses “FIG. 6 is a time-distance diagram illustrating how timing can be used to determine R.sub.sum in the configuration shown in FIG. 5, according to an embodiment. Here, a base station 120 transmits reference signals 550 and 560 (e.g., a DL-PRS), which our received by both the light UE 510 (which receives reference signal 550 first) and the premium UE 520. The different angles of reference signals 550 and 560 in FIG. 6 reflect the different paths of reference signals 550 and 560 in FIG. 5.”)
reporting the third measurement information (the determined AoD (and/or an indication of the beam with which the light UE 410 is most closely aligned) can be sent to the base station 120 (as shown at arrow 765)) and the first measurement information to the positioning server (The target UE 810 may report the Rx-Tx time differences (e.g., T.sub.UE_Rx.fwdarw.Tx_i, where i=a, b, and c) to the location server); or
(Duan paragraph [0104] discloses “The target UE 810 measures multiple Rx-Tx time differences, e.g., T.sub.UE_Rx.fwdarw.Tx_a, T.sub.UE_Rx.fwdarw.Tx_b, T.sub.UE_Rx.fwdarw.Tx_c between the reception (i.e., the measured ToA) of the reference signal 850 and the transmission (i.e., the measured ToD) of each of the sidelink reference signals 870a, 870b, and 870c, respectively. The target UE 810 may report the Rx-Tx time differences (e.g., T.sub.UE_Rx.fwdarw.Tx_i, where i=a, b, and c) to the location server 804 or may retain the Rx-Tx time differences (T.sub.UE_Rx.fwdarw.Tx_i) for further processing. In each Rx-Tx time difference (T.sub.UE_Rx.fwdarw.Tx_i) report, the target UE 810 may include the TRP ID, reference signal ID (e.g., PRS ID), the sidelink reference signal ID (e.g., SL-PRS ID), the UE ID that transmitted the sidelink reference signal, and the UE ID that received the corresponding sidelink reference signal.”
Paragraph [0086] discloses “The determined AoD can then be sent to the premium UE 420, as indicated by arrow 760, to enable the premium UE 420 to subsequently calculate the position of the light UE 410. Optionally, the determined AoD (and/or an indication of the beam with which the light UE 410 is most closely aligned) can be sent to the base station 120 (as shown at arrow 765). This can be to indicate to the base station 120 which beam to subsequently use when sending PRS to the light UE 410 for ToA measurements.”)
reporting the third measurement information (the determined AoD (and/or an indication of the beam with which the light UE 410 is most closely aligned) can be sent to the base station 120 (as shown at arrow 765)) and the second measurement information to the positioning server (The sidelink UEs 820 may report the measured time differences (e.g., T.sub.Rx_sidelink_i−T.sub.Rx_RS_i, where i=a, b, and c) to the location server 804).
(Duan paragraph [0105] discloses “The sidelink UEs 820 receive the reference signals 860 from the base station 802 and the sidelink reference signals 870 from the target UE 810. Each sidelink UE 820a, 820b, 820c measures the time difference between the reception of the reference signal 860 and sidelink reference signal 870, e.g., T.sub.Rx_sidelink_a−T.sub.Rx_RS_a, T.sub.Rx_sidelink_b−T.sub.Rx_RS_b, T.sub.Rx_sidelink_c−T.sub.Rx_RS_c, respectively. The sidelink UEs 820 may report the measured time differences (e.g., T.sub.Rx_sidelink_i−T.sub.Rx_RS_i, where i=a, b, and c) to the location server 804 or to the target UE 810. In the measured time difference (e.g., T.sub.Rx_sidelink_i−T.sub.Rx_RS_i) report, each sidelink UEs 820 may include the TRP ID, reference signal ID (e.g., PRS ID), the sidelink reference signal ID (e.g., SL-PRS ID), the UE ID that transmitted the sidelink reference signal, and the UE ID that received the corresponding sidelink reference signal.”
Paragraph [0086] discloses “The determined AoD can then be sent to the premium UE 420, as indicated by arrow 760, to enable the premium UE 420 to subsequently calculate the position of the light UE 410. Optionally, the determined AoD (and/or an indication of the beam with which the light UE 410 is most closely aligned) can be sent to the base station 120 (as shown at arrow 765). This can be to indicate to the base station 120 which beam to subsequently use when sending PRS to the light UE 410 for ToA measurements.”)
As for claim 14, the limitations of parent claim 1 has been discussed above, Duan discloses
the positioning method according to claim 1, further comprising:
performing Downlink Positioning Reference Signal (transmits reference signals 550 and 560 (e.g., a DL-PRS)) measurement according to first indication information sent by a positioning server (base station), to obtain third measurement information (The different angles of reference signals 550 and 560 in FIG. 6 reflect the different paths of reference signals 550 and 560 in FIG. 5);
(Duan paragraph [0093] discloses “FIG. 6 is a time-distance diagram illustrating how timing can be used to determine R.sub.sum in the configuration shown in FIG. 5, according to an embodiment. Here, a base station 120 transmits reference signals 550 and 560 (e.g., a DL-PRS), which our received by both the light UE 510 (which receives reference signal 550 first) and the premium UE 520. The different angles of reference signals 550 and 560 in FIG. 6 reflect the different paths of reference signals 550 and 560 in FIG. 5.”)
obtaining an absolute position of the first terminal according to an absolute position of at least one network device and the third measurement information (of the positioning functionality (including determination of a UE's location) may be performed at the UE 105 (e.g., by processing downlink reference signals, such as DL positioning reference signals (DL-PRS) transmitted by wireless nodes such as gNBs.);
(Duan paragraph [0064] discloses “It is noted that in some embodiments, at least part of the positioning functionality (including determination of a UE's location) may be performed at the UE 105 (e.g., by processing downlink reference signals, such as DL positioning reference signals (DL-PRS) transmitted by wireless nodes such as gNBs 210, ng-eNB 214 and/or WLAN 216, and/or using assistance data provided to the UE 105, e.g., by LMF 220).”)
reporting the absolute position of the first terminal (receive the locations of the sidelink UEs) to the positioning server (location server).
(Duan paragraph [0014] discloses “In some implementations, the location server 804 may receive the time differences (e.g., T.sub.Rx_sidelink_i−T.sub.Rx_RS_i) from the sidelink UEs 820 and the measured Rx-Tx time differences (e.g., T.sub.UE_Rx.fwdarw.Tx_i) from the target UE 810. The location server 804, may further receive the locations of the sidelink UEs.”)
As for claim 15, the limitations of parent claim 1 has been discussed above, Duan discloses
the positioning method according to claim 1, further comprising:
sending a Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) according to a third trigger signaling of a network device (It should be understood that PRS, SRS, and CSI-RS are examples of reference signals that may be used for positioning);
(Duan paragraph [0064] discloses “It should be understood that PRS, SRS, and CSI-RS are examples of reference signals that may be used for positioning, but that other reference signals may be used if desired.”)
acquiring fourth measurement information, wherein the fourth measurement information (base stations 210 or 214 used for positioning, such as TDOA, AoA, and RTT) is obtained by the network device (by base stations 210 or 214 used for positioning) through measuring the SRS (transmit uplink reference signals, such as UL-SRS);
(Duan paragraph [0069] discloses “Additionally or alternatively, the UE 105 may transmit uplink reference signals, such as UL-SRS, which are received by base stations 210 or 214 used for positioning, such as TDOA, AoA, and RTT. The 5G native positioning technologies supported in 5G NR, for example, include DL-only, UL-only and a combination of DL and UL (DL+UL) positioning methods.”)
obtaining an absolute position of the first terminal (the UE 105 (e.g., by processing downlink reference signals, such as DL positioning reference signals (DL-PRS) transmitted by wireless nodes such as gNBs 210, ng-eNB 214 and/or WLAN 216 and may be referred to as uplink SRS (UL-SRS)) according to the fourth measurement information (uplink SRS (UL-SRS))(base stations 210 or 214 used for positioning, such as TDOA, AoA, and RTT) and an absolute position (PRS, SRS, and CSI-RS are examples of reference signals that may be used for positioning) of the network device (wireless nodes).
(Duan paragraph [0064] discloses “It is noted that in some embodiments, at least part of the positioning functionality (including determination of a UE's location) may be performed at the UE 105 (e.g., by processing downlink reference signals, such as DL positioning reference signals (DL-PRS) transmitted by wireless nodes such as gNBs 210, ng-eNB 214 and/or WLAN 216, and/or using assistance data provided to the UE 105, e.g., by LMF 220). The UE 105 may additionally transmit uplink reference signals, sometimes referred to as uplink PRS or UL sounding reference signals (SRS) for positioning, which may be received by wireless nodes such as gNBs 210, ng-eNB 214 and/or WLAN 216 and may be referred to as uplink SRS (UL-SRS) or UL-PRS. The UE 105 may additionally transmit sidelink reference signals that may be received by a sidelink UE 105a, such as SL PRS or SL Channel State Information Reference Signal (SL CSI-RS). It should be understood that PRS, SRS, and CSI-RS are examples of reference signals that may be used for positioning, but that other reference signals may be used if desired.”
Paragraph [0069] discloses “Additionally or alternatively, the UE 105 may transmit uplink reference signals, such as UL-SRS, which are received by base stations 210 or 214 used for positioning, such as TDOA, AoA, and RTT. The 5G native positioning technologies supported in 5G NR, for example, include DL-only, UL-only and a combination of DL and UL (DL+UL) positioning methods.”)
Claims 16-18 (canceled)
As for independent claim 19. A positioning method, performed by a first device, comprising:
receiving a trigger signaling (the first UE, the method includes receiving a first reference signal) sent by a first terminal (first UE), wherein the trigger signaling (first reference signal) comprises one or more of followings:
(Duan paragraph [0005] discloses “In one implementation, a method performed by a first user equipment (UE) for determining a position of the first UE, the method includes receiving a first reference signal from a network entity; sending one or more sidelink reference signals to a plurality of sidelink UEs; determining a receive-transmit (Rx-Tx) time difference associated with each sidelink UE, wherein the Rx-Tx time difference associated with each sidelink UE is a time difference between receiving the first reference signal from the network entity and sending the sidelink reference signal to a respective sidelink UE;”)
a first trigger signaling (a first reference signal), used to instruct the first terminal (the first UE) to send a first Sidelink Positioning Reference Signal (SL-PRS) (sending one or more sidelink reference signals to a plurality of sidelink UE), and/or used to instruct at least one first device to receive the first SL-PRS (receiving the sidelink reference signal from the first UE) and report first measurement information (location server 804 may receive the time from the target UE) of the first SL-PRS (determining a receive-transmit (Rx-Tx) time difference associated with each sidelink UE);
(Duan paragraph [0005] discloses “In one implementation, a method performed by a first user equipment (UE) for determining a position of the first UE, the method includes receiving a first reference signal from a network entity; sending one or more sidelink reference signals to a plurality of sidelink UEs; determining a receive-transmit (Rx-Tx) time difference associated with each sidelink UE, wherein the Rx-Tx time difference associated with each sidelink UE is a time difference between receiving the first reference signal from the network entity and sending the sidelink reference signal to a respective sidelink UE; and processing the Rx-Tx time difference associated with each sidelink UE for generating differential range-sums for the plurality of sidelink UEs based on the Rx-Tx time differences associated with each sidelink UE and a time difference measured by each sidelink UE, wherein the time difference measured by each sidelink UE is the time difference between receiving the sidelink reference signal from the first UE and receiving a second reference signal from the network entity, each differential range-sum is a difference between a range-sum for a reference sidelink UE from the plurality of sidelink UEs and a range-sum for another sidelink UE from the plurality of sidelink UEs, and wherein the range-sum for each sidelink UE is a sum of a first range between the first UE and the network entity and a second range between the first UE and the respective sidelink UE, wherein the position of the first UE is determined based at least in part on the differential range-sums for the plurality of sidelink UEs.”
Paragraph [0014] discloses “In some implementations, the location server 804 may receive the time differences (e.g., T.sub.Rx_sidelink_i−T.sub.Rx_RS_i) from the sidelink UEs 820 and the measured Rx-Tx time differences (e.g., T.sub.UE_Rx.fwdarw.Tx_i) from the target UE 810. The location server 804, may further receive the locations of the sidelink UEs.”)
a second trigger signaling (second reference signal), used to instruct the at least one first device to send a second SL-PRS (each sidelink UE is the time difference between receiving the sidelink reference signal from the first UE).
(Duan paragraph [0005] discloses “and processing the Rx-Tx time difference associated with each sidelink UE for generating differential range-sums for the plurality of sidelink UEs based on the Rx-Tx time differences associated with each sidelink UE and a time difference measured by each sidelink UE, wherein the time difference measured by each sidelink UE is the time difference between receiving the sidelink reference signal from the first UE and receiving a second reference signal from the network entity, each differential range-sum is a difference between a range-sum for a reference sidelink UE from the plurality of sidelink UEs and a range-sum for another sidelink UE from the plurality of sidelink UEs, and wherein the range-sum for each sidelink UE is a sum of a first range between the first UE and the network entity and a second range between the first UE and the respective sidelink UE, wherein the position of the first UE is determined based at least in part on the differential range-sums for the plurality of sidelink UEs.”)
As for claim 20, the limitations of parent claim 19 has been discussed above, Duan discloses
the positioning method according to claim 19, wherein
in the case that the trigger signaling comprises the first trigger signaling (a first reference signal), the method further comprises: receiving the first SL-PRS sent by the first terminal (receiving the sidelink reference signal from the first UE);
(Duan paragraph [0005] discloses “In one implementation, a method performed by a first user equipment (UE) for determining a position of the first UE, the method includes receiving a first reference signal from a network entity; sending one or more sidelink reference signals to a plurality of sidelink UEs; determining a receive-transmit (Rx-Tx) time difference associated with each sidelink UE, wherein the Rx-Tx time difference associated with each sidelink UE is a time difference between receiving the first reference signal from the network entity and sending the sidelink reference signal to a respective sidelink UE; and processing the Rx-Tx time difference associated with each sidelink UE for generating differential range-sums for the plurality of sidelink UEs based on the Rx-Tx time differences associated with each sidelink UE and a time difference measured by each sidelink UE, wherein the time difference measured by each sidelink UE is the time difference between receiving the sidelink reference signal from the first UE and receiving a second reference signal from the network entity, each differential range-sum is a difference between a range-sum for a reference sidelink UE from the plurality of sidelink UEs and a range-sum for another sidelink UE from the plurality of sidelink UEs, and wherein the range-sum for each sidelink UE is a sum of a first range between the first UE and the network entity and a second range between the first UE and the respective sidelink UE, wherein the position of the first UE is determined based at least in part on the differential range-sums for the plurality of sidelink UEs.”)
reporting the first measurement information (location server 804 may receive the time differences (e.g., T.sub.Rx_sidelink_i−T.sub.Rx_RS_i) from the sidelink UEs 820 and the measured Rx-Tx time differences (e.g., T.sub.UE_Rx.fwdarw.Tx_i) from the target UE ) to the first terminal and/or a positioning server (location server) after measuring the first SL-PRS.
(Duan paragraph [0014] discloses “In some implementations, the location server 804 may receive the time differences (e.g., T.sub.Rx_sidelink_i−T.sub.Rx_RS_i) from the sidelink UEs 820 and the measured Rx-Tx time differences (e.g., T.sub.UE_Rx.fwdarw.Tx_i) from the target UE 810. The location server 804, may further receive the locations of the sidelink UEs.”)
As for claim 21, the limitations of parent claim 19 has been discussed above, Duan discloses the positioning method according to claim 19, wherein
in the case that the trigger signaling comprises the second trigger signaling (second reference signal), the method further comprises: sending the second SL-PRS to the first terminal (sending one or more sidelink reference signals to a plurality of sidelink UEs to a plurality of sidelink UEs) according to the second trigger signaling (a second reference signal).
(Duan paragraph [0005] discloses “In one implementation, a method performed by a first user equipment (UE) for determining a position of the first UE, the method includes receiving a first reference signal from a network entity; sending one or more sidelink reference signals to a plurality of sidelink UEs; determining a receive-transmit (Rx-Tx) time difference associated with each sidelink UE, wherein the Rx-Tx time difference associated with each sidelink UE is a time difference between receiving the first reference signal from the network entity and sending the sidelink reference signal to a respective sidelink UE; and processing the Rx-Tx time difference associated with each sidelink UE for generating differential range-sums for the plurality of sidelink UEs based on the Rx-Tx time differences associated with each sidelink UE and a time difference measured by each sidelink UE, wherein the time difference measured by each sidelink UE is the time difference between receiving the sidelink reference signal from the first UE and receiving a second reference signal from the network entity, each differential range-sum is a difference between a range-sum for a reference sidelink UE from the plurality of sidelink UEs and a range-sum for another sidelink UE from the plurality of sidelink UEs, and wherein the range-sum for each sidelink UE is a sum of a first range between the first UE and the network entity and a second range between the first UE and the respective sidelink UE, wherein the position of the first UE is determined based at least in part on the differential range-sums for the plurality of sidelink UEs.”)
Claim 22.-26. (canceled)
As for independent claim 27, A terminal, wherein
the terminal is a first terminal, and comprises a memory, a transceiver, and a processor; wherein
the memory is configured to store a computer program; the transceiver (via the wireless transceiver) is configured to receive and send data under the control of the processor (The medium 1120 and/or memory 1104 may include a report module 1128 that when implemented by the one or more processors 1102 configures the one or more processors 1102 to receive or send, e.g., via the wireless transceiver);
(Duan paragraph [0152] discloses “The medium 1120 and/or memory 1104 may include a report module 1128 that when implemented by the one or more processors 1102 configures the one or more processors 1102 to receive or send, e.g., via the wireless transceiver 1110, a report that includes one or more measured parameters, such as the Rx-Tx time difference (T.sub.UE_Rx.fwdarw.Tx_i), time difference (T.sub.Rx_sidelink_i−T.sub.Rx_RS_i), a determined range-sum, differential range-sums, etc.”)
the processor is configured to read the computer program in the memory (The medium 1120 and/or memory 1104 may include a report module 1128 that when implemented by the one or more processors 1102 configures the one or more processors 1102 to receive or send, e.g., via the wireless transceiver) to:
send a trigger signaling to at least one first device (the first UE)(plurality of sidelink UEs), wherein the trigger signaling comprises one or more of followings: a first trigger signaling (a first reference signal), used to instruct the first terminal (the first UE) to send a first Sidelink Positioning Reference Signal (SL-PRS) (sending one or more sidelink reference signals to a plurality of sidelink UEs), and/or used to instruct the at least one first device to receive the first SL-PRS (receiving the sidelink reference signal from the first UE) and report first measurement information of the first SL-PRS (a report that includes one or more measured parameters, such as the Rx-Tx time difference (T.sub.UE_Rx.fwdarw.Tx_i), time difference (T.sub.Rx_sidelink_i−T.sub.Rx_RS_i), a determined range-sum, differential range-sums, etc.);
(Duan paragraph [0152] discloses “The medium 1120 and/or memory 1104 may include a report module 1128 that when implemented by the one or more processors 1102 configures the one or more processors 1102 to receive or send, e.g., via the wireless transceiver 1110, a report that includes one or more measured parameters, such as the Rx-Tx time difference (T.sub.UE_Rx.fwdarw.Tx_i), time difference (T.sub.Rx_sidelink_i−T.sub.Rx_RS_i), a determined range-sum, differential range-sums, etc. “
Paragraph [0005] discloses “In one implementation, a method performed by a first user equipment (UE) for determining a position of the first UE, the method includes receiving a first reference signal from a network entity; sending one or more sidelink reference signals to a plurality of sidelink UEs; determining a receive-transmit (Rx-Tx) time difference associated with each sidelink UE, wherein the Rx-Tx time difference associated with each sidelink UE is a time difference between receiving the first reference signal from the network entity and sending the sidelink reference signal to a respective sidelink UE; and processing the Rx-Tx time difference associated with each sidelink UE for generating differential range-sums for the plurality of sidelink UEs based on the Rx-Tx time differences associated with each sidelink UE and a time difference measured by each sidelink UE, wherein the time difference measured by each sidelink UE is the time difference between receiving the sidelink reference signal from the first UE and receiving a second reference signal from the network entity, each differential range-sum is a difference between a range-sum for a reference sidelink UE from the plurality of sidelink UEs and a range-sum for another sidelink UE from the plurality of sidelink UEs, and wherein the range-sum for each sidelink UE is a sum of a first range between the first UE and the network entity and a second range between the first UE and the respective sidelink UE, wherein the position of the first UE is determined based at least in part on the differential range-sums for the plurality of sidelink UEs.”)
a second trigger signaling (second reference signal), used to instruct the at least one first device to send a second SL-PRS (sending one or more sidelink reference signals to a plurality of sidelink UEs).
(Duan paragraph [0005] discloses “In one implementation, a method performed by a first user equipment (UE) for determining a position of the first UE, the method includes receiving a first reference signal from a network entity; sending one or more sidelink reference signals to a plurality of sidelink UEs; determining a receive-transmit (Rx-Tx) time difference associated with each sidelink UE, wherein the Rx-Tx time difference associated with each sidelink UE is a time difference between receiving the first reference signal from the network entity and sending the sidelink reference signal to a respective sidelink UE; and processing the Rx-Tx time difference associated with each sidelink UE for generating differential range-sums for the plurality of sidelink UEs based on the Rx-Tx time differences associated with each sidelink UE and a time difference measured by each sidelink UE, wherein the time difference measured by each sidelink UE is the time difference between receiving the sidelink reference signal from the first UE and receiving a second reference signal from the network entity, each differential range-sum is a difference between a range-sum for a reference sidelink UE from the plurality of sidelink UEs and a range-sum for another sidelink UE from the plurality of sidelink UEs, and wherein the range-sum for each sidelink UE is a sum of a first range between the first UE and the network entity and a second range between the first UE and the respective sidelink UE, wherein the position of the first UE is determined based at least in part on the differential range-sums for the plurality of sidelink UEs.”)
perform measurement positioning (for determining a position of the first UE) according to the sent trigger signaling (determining a receive-transmit (Rx-Tx) time difference associated with each sidelink UE, wherein the Rx-Tx time difference associated with each sidelink UE is a time difference between receiving the first reference signal from the network entity and sending the sidelink reference signal to a respective sidelink UE).
(Duan paragraph [0005] discloses “In one implementation, a method performed by a first user equipment (UE) for determining a position of the first UE, the method includes receiving a first reference signal from a network entity; sending one or more sidelink reference signals to a plurality of sidelink UEs; determining a receive-transmit (Rx-Tx) time difference associated with each sidelink UE, wherein the Rx-Tx time difference associated with each sidelink UE is a time difference between receiving the first reference signal from the network entity and sending the sidelink reference signal to a respective sidelink UE;”)
As for claim 46, claim 46 reflects article of manufacture comprising computer executable instructions for implementing method in claim 19 and is rejected along the same rationale. Duan discloses a network device, wherein
the network device is a first device, and comprises a memory, a transceiver, and a processor;
wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program;
the transceiver (via the wireless transceiver) is configured to receive and send data under the control of the processor;
the processor is configured to read the computer program in the memory to implement the positioning method according to claim 19.
(Duan paragraph [0147] discloses “The medium 1120 and/or memory 1104 may store instructions or program code 1108 that contain executable code or software instructions that when executed by the one or more processors 1102 cause the one or more processors 1102 to operate as a special purpose computer programmed to perform the techniques disclosed herein. As illustrated in UE 1100, the medium 1120 and/or memory 1104 may include one or more components or modules that may be implemented by the one or more processors 1102 to perform the methodologies described herein. While the components or modules are illustrated as software in medium 1120 that is executable by the one or more processors 1102, it should be understood that the components or modules may be stored in memory 1104 or may be dedicated hardware either in the one or more processors 1102 or off the processors.”
Paragraph [0152] discloses “The medium 1120 and/or memory 1104 may include a report module 1128 that when implemented by the one or more processors 1102 configures the one or more processors 1102 to receive or send, e.g., via the wireless transceiver 1110, a report that includes one or more measured parameters, such as the Rx-Tx time difference (T.sub.UE_Rx.fwdarw.Tx_i), time difference (T.sub.Rx_sidelink_i−T.sub.Rx_RS_i), a determined range-sum, differential range-sums, etc. “)
Claim 47.-57. (canceled)
Conclusion
Below are references not relied upon but are pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Bao et al., US Patent Publication No. 20220077990, published on 3/10/2022 (hereinafter Bao)
A method of operating a first user equipment (UE) includes determining a timing for transmission of a first sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) associated with a positioning procedure for a second UE; determining a bandwidth for transmission of the first SL-PRS based at least in part on a bandwidth associated with a downlink PRS (DL-PRS) from a base station to the second UE; and transmitting, to the second UE, the first SL-PRS in accordance with the timing and the bandwidth of the first SL-PRS. Paragraph [0006].
Wang et al., US Patent Publication No. 20240172167, published on 5/23/2024, with priority 7/26/2021 (hereinafter Wang)
A communication device is provided, including a processor and a communication interface. The processor is configured to perform a target operation, to assist a first terminal in positioning, where the target operation includes at least one of the following: transmitting a target message, transmitting a first SL-PRS, or selecting a target first resource. The target first resource is used for transmitting the first SL-PRS and/or transmitting the target message. The target message includes at least one of the following: a positioning request, positioning assistance data, or first resource configuration information. The first resource configuration information is used for configuring at least one first resource. The target first resource is one or more resources in the at least one first resource. The first SL-PRS is used for determining: location information of the first terminal and/or second terminal, and/or SL-PRS measurement information. The second terminal is a peer terminal that performs SL communication or SL positioning with the first terminal. Paragraph [007]. Measurement information paragraph [0381].
Zhou et al., US Patent Publication No. 20230354268, published on 11/2/2023 [foreign priority 4/27/2022] (hereinafter Zhou)
[0012] the sidelink positioning signal includes at least one of a positioning reference signal (PRS), a sounding reference signal (SRS), a positioning reference signal for sidelink, and configuration signaling related to positioning. Paragraph [002].
The sidelink positioning signal includes at least one of a positioning reference signal (PRS), a sounding reference signal (SRS), a positioning reference signal for sidelink, and configuration signaling related to positioning. Paragraph [0026].
Zhang et al., US Patent Publication No. 20250038922, published on 1/30/2025 [CON PCT/CN2022/088851, 4/24/2022] (hereinafter Zhang)
The positioning based on the sidelink is one of improved schemes of R18 positioning technology. In this topic, the scenarios and requirements to support NR positioning application cases in-coverage, partial-coverage, and out-of-coverage of cellular networks are considered, and the positioning requirements of V2X application cases, public safety application cases, commercial application cases, and industrial Internet of things (HOT) application cases are considered. Paragraph [0061] - [0079]
/JOSEPH KHANH NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2646
/JEANETTE J PARKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2646