DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/27/2024, 03/24/2025, 04/01/2026 and 09/01/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP2022-052701, filed on 03/29/2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshikawa et al [US 2021/0218142 A1]
In regards to claims 1. Yoshikawa discloses an antenna element (figs. 73, 89; Paragraph [0002]) comprising
a first dielectric, a second dielectric (figs. 73, 89; Paragraph [0258], [0259]), a ground conductor ("the fourth conductor 50 can function as a ground conductor in the resonator 1 0"; figs. 73, 89; Paragraph [0183], [0287], [0288], [0299]), a feed conductor plate ("the first feeding line 61 can be electromagnetically connected to one of the second unit resonators 42"; figs. 73, 89; Paragraph [0290]), and a nonfeed conductor plate ("a first conductive layer 41 "; figs. 73, 89), wherein
the ground conductor ("the fourth conductor 50 can function as a ground conductor in the resonator 1 0"; figs. 73, 89; Paragraph [0183], [0287], [0288], [0299]), the feed conductor plate ("the first feeding line 61 can be electromagnetically connected to one of the second unit resonators 42"; figs. 73, 89; Paragraph [0290]), and the nonfeed conductor plate ("a first conductive layer 41 "; figs. 73, 89) are positioned in a mentioned order (Fig. 73 and 89 & Paragraph [0181]),
the ground conductor ("the fourth conductor 50 can function as a ground conductor in the resonator 1 0"; figs. 73, 89; Paragraph [0183], [0287], [0288], [0299]) and the feed conductor plate ("the first feeding line 61 can be electromagnetically connected to one of the second unit resonators 42"; figs. 73, 89; Paragraph [0290]) face each other to interpose the first dielectric (figs. 73, 89; Paragraph [0181 ]),
the feed conductor plate and the nonfeed conductor plate face each other to interpose the second dielectric (figs. 73, 89; Paragraph [0181 & 0190-191]), and
Yoshikawa does not specify explicitly the antenna element further comprises a projecting conductor projecting from the feed conductor plate toward the ground conductor.
Yoshikawa discloses Each of the fifth conductors 302 extends in the z direction. The plurality of fifth conductors 302 are separated from each other in the y direction (Fig. 75 & Paragraph [0297])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filling date of the invention was made to modify Yoshikawa with the antenna element further comprises a projecting conductor projecting from the feed conductor plate toward the ground conductor for purpose of providing a new type of resonance structure capable of widening a bandwidth as disclosed by Yoshikawa (Paragraph [0171]).
In regards to claims 2. Yoshikawa discloses the antenna element according to claim 1, wherein the projecting conductor includes a rod-shaped body extending in a projecting direction ("Each of the fifth conductors 302 extends in the z direction."; figs. 73, 89; Paragraph [0190], [0191]).
In regards to claims 3. Yoshikawa discloses the antenna element according to claim 2, wherein the projecting conductor further includes a plate-shaped body connected to the rod-shaped body and expanding in a direction crossing the projecting direction ("The fifth conductive layer 301 extends in the x-y plane.", "The fifth conductive layers 301 are configured to electrically connect a plurality of fifth conductors 302. The fifth conductive layers 301 serve as connecting conductors for connecting a plurality of fifth conductors 302."; figs. 73, 89; Paragraph [0190], [0191]).
In regards to claims 4. Yoshikawa discloses the antenna element according to claim 1, wherein in a plan perspective view, the projecting conductor includes an end surface disposed adjacent to the ground conductor and entirely positioned in a region surrounded with an outer edge of the feed conductor plate ("Each of the fifth conductors 302 extends in the z direction."; figs. 72-73, 89; §[0190], [0191 ]).
In regards to claims 6. Yoshikawa discloses an antenna substrate comprising a plurality of antenna elements, wherein each of the plurality of antenna elements is the antenna element (Paragraph [0196-198]) according to claim 1.
In regards to claims 7. Yoshikawa discloses an antenna module comprising: the antenna substrate according to claim 6; and an integrated circuit (Paragraph [0316]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshikawa et al [US 2021/0218142 A1] in view of Iguchi Akihiko [EP 1306923 A1].
In regards to claims 5. Yoshikawa discloses the antenna element according to claim 1,
Yoshikawa does not specify wherein in a plan perspective view, the feed conductor plate includes a first side and a second side crossing a resonant direction, in a plan perspective view, the projecting conductor includes an end surface disposed adjacent to the ground conductor and including a center positioned in at least one of inside the first side as well as within a distance L1 from the first side or inside the second side as well as within the distance L1 from the second side, and the distance L1 is 0.1×an effective wavelength corresponding to a maximum frequency in a transmission frequency band.
Iguchi Akihiko discloses wherein in a plan perspective view, the feed conductor plate includes a first side and a second side crossing a resonant direction, in a plan perspective view, the projecting conductor includes an end surface disposed adjacent to the ground conductor and including a center positioned in at least one of inside the first side as well as within a distance L1 from the first side or inside the second side as well as within the distance L1 from the second side, and the distance L1 is 0.1×an effective wavelength corresponding to a maximum frequency in a transmission frequency band (Fig. 5a & Paragraph [0022-30] “A second conductive radiator 23 having a meander shape disposed substantially in parallel with the ground plane 21 has a folded portion forming a folded section 23a. This structure allows the antenna has a substantially-extended length, thus being effective for the antenna to be small. The folded section 23a may be formed with a folded portion of the first conductive radiator 22, thus allowing the antenna to be small. A shorting section 24, which short-circuits the first conductive radiator 22 and the ground plane 21, is formed at a corner of the first conductive radiator 22. A feeding section 25 is disposed substantially in parallel with the ground plane 21, and has a planar feeding element 25a having substantially the same longitudinal length as the first conductive radiator 22 and a slightly longer transverse length than the radiator. A portion of the feeding element 25a is connected to the shorting section 24 through a connecting section 24a, and another portion is connected to the second conductive radiator 23. The feeding element 25a has a folded portion, only at a portion of one side thereof, forming a folded section 25b. This structure allows the antenna to have a substantially-extended length, thus allowing the antenna to be small. A slit 25c is formed at a portion of the feeding element 25a. The slit 25c has a position, length, or width adjusted to control an impedance of the antenna.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filling date of the invention was made to modify Yoshikawa with wherein in a plan perspective view, the feed conductor plate includes a first side and a second side crossing a resonant direction, in a plan perspective view, the projecting conductor includes an end surface disposed adjacent to the ground conductor and including a center positioned in at least one of inside the first side as well as within a distance L1 from the first side or inside the second side as well as within the distance L1 from the second side, and the distance L1 is 0.1×an effective wavelength corresponding to a maximum frequency in a transmission frequency band for purpose of improves a productivity of the antenna as disclosed by Iguchi Akihiko (Paragraph [0031]).
Conclusion
WEI (VICTOR) CHAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2844
/WEI (VICTOR) Y CHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2844