Detailed Action
Claim Objections
Claims 8, 17 and 25 are objected to because of the following informalities:
(i) In claim 8, line 3, recites “a identifier associated - - -“, ” a” is not appropriate, Examiner suggest changing to “an identifier associated- - -“;
(ii) In claim 17, line 2, recites “and indication to- - -“, “ and” is not appropriate, Examiner suggest changing to “an indication to- - -“;
(iii) In claim 25, line 3, recites “a identifier associated - - -“,” a” is not appropriate, Examiner suggest changing to “an identifier associated- - -“.Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 14, 29 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Talla et al (US 2020/0052734 A1) (see IDS) in view of Sundaresan et al (US 20200151532 A1) (see IDS).
With regards to claim 1, Talla et al discloses in fig. 1, a method for wireless communications at a passive user equipment (UE) (see receiver 10 6 (interpreted as passive UE), comprising:
receiving (see receiver 106), from a source device (helper device 104), a power-up wave signal comprising a first radio frequency wave pattern; and wherein one of the first radio frequency wave pattern or the second radio frequency wave pattern comprises a chirp spread spectrum pattern (see [0038], figure 1): FIG. 1, The system 100 includes helper device 104, receiver 106, backscatter device 108, and backscatter device 110. During operation, the helper device 104 transmits a carrier signal. The backscatter device 108 and/or backscatter device 110 may backscatter the carrier signal into a backscattered signal. The backscattered signal may be a chirp spread spectrum signal (CSS signal), such as a chirp spread spectrum signal compliant with a LoRa protocol. The transmissions from the backscatter device 108 and/or backscatter device 110 may be received by the receiver 106. The helper device 104 may be implemented using generally any RF source (e.g., device capable of generating a radio frequency signal). A frequency of the carrier signal may be selected such that, when a frequency shift is provided by backscatter device 108 and/or backscatter device 110, a backscatter is generated at a frequency that the receiver 106 is configured to receive. Backscatter devices may perform digital baseband operations, such as coding and/or modulation). Also, in [0054] In some examples, multiple helper devices and/or receivers may be present in a system. In some examples, a single device (e.g. a router) may serve as a helper device at certain times and as a receiver at other times. In some examples, multiple (e.g. two) devices may be present in a system, each able to serve as either a helper device or a receiver.
Talla et al discloses all of the subject matter discussed above, except for receiving signaling indicating a baseband frequency shift that the passive UE is to use for one or more backscatter communications; signaling, to a receiver device, the one or more backscatter communications by frequency shifting the power-up wave signal according to the indicated baseband frequency shift and using a second radio frequency wave pattern.
However, Sundaresan et al discloses in in fig.7 and [0004], a passive RF backscatter tag associated with a product and configured to reflect and frequency shift the main carrier RF signal to a different frequency using the twin carrier RF signal. The product tagging system also includes at least one RF backscatter receiver configured to read the product on the different frequency by detecting a distributed ambient backscatter signal generated by a reflection and frequency shifting of the main carrier RF signal by the passive RF backscatter tag. In [0061], At block 725, tag, by at least one RF backscatter receiver, the product by detecting a distributed ambient backscatter signal generated by a reflection and a frequency shifting of the RF signal by the passive RF backscatter tag. In an embodiment, the RF signal can be orthogonal to the distributed ambient backscatter signal.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Sundaresan et al as taught by Sundaresan et al to arrive at the claimed invention, wherein receiving signaling indicating a baseband frequency shift that the passive UE is to use for one or more backscatter communications; signaling, to a receiver device, the one or more backscatter communications by frequency shifting the power-up wave signal according to the indicated baseband frequency shift and using a second radio frequency wave pattern
with a reasonable expectation of success, thus improve communication performance. MPEP 2143 Rationale C.
With regards to claim 14, Talla et al discloses in fig. 1, a method for wireless communications at a source device (see [0024], FIG. 1, a schematic illustration of a system, ([0042], The helper device 104 may be implemented using generally any RF source (e.g., device capable of generating a radio frequency signal) Also disclosed in [0042], the helper device 104, and receiver 106 may transmit and receive signals - - -).), comprising:
transmitting, to the passive UE (see receiver 10 6 (interpreted as passive UE), a power-up wave signal comprising a first radio frequency wave pattern, wherein one of the first radio frequency wave pattern or the second radio frequency wave pattern comprises a chirp spread spectrum pattern (see [0038], UE (see fig. 1 The system 100 includes helper device 104, receiver 106, backscatter device 108, and backscatter device 110. During operation, the helper device 104 transmits a carrier signal. The backscatter device 108 and/or backscatter device 110 may backscatter the carrier signal into a backscattered signal. The backscattered signal may be a chirp spread spectrum signal (CSS signal) (see [0039]), such as a chirp spread spectrum signal compliant with a LoRa protocol. The transmissions from the backscatter device 108 and/or backscatter device 110 may be received by the receiver 106. The helper device 104 may be implemented using generally any RF source (e.g., device capable of generating a radio frequency signal). A frequency of the carrier signal may be selected such that, when a frequency shift is provided by backscatter device 108 and/or backscatter device 110, a backscatter is generated at a frequency that the receiver 106 is configured to receive. Backscatter devices may perform digital baseband operations, such as coding and/or modulation) comprising encoded data of one or more backscatter communications ([0048] The backscatter signals backscattered by the backscatter device 108 and/or backscatter device 110 may be signals which encode data in accordance with CSS or other techniques. in some examples, the backscattered signal may include one or more CSS symbols or packets, or symbols or packets of other protocol(s));
Talla et al discloses all of the subject matter discussed above, except for transmitting, to a passive user equipment (UE), signaling indicating a baseband frequency shift that the passive UE is to use for one or more backscatter communications; wherein the passive UE is configured to signal the one or more backscatter communications by frequency shifting the power-up wave signal according to the indicated baseband frequency shift and using a second radio frequency wave pattern,
However, Sundaresan et al discloses in in fig.7 and [0004], a passive RF backscatter tag associated with a product and configured to reflect and frequency shift the main carrier RF signal to a different frequency using the twin carrier RF signal. The product tagging system also includes at least one RF backscatter receiver configured to read the product on the different frequency by detecting a distributed ambient backscatter signal generated by a reflection and frequency shifting of the main carrier RF signal by the passive RF backscatter tag. In [0061], At block 725, tag, by at least one RF backscatter receiver, the product by detecting a distributed ambient backscatter signal generated by a reflection and a frequency shifting of the RF signal by the passive RF backscatter tag. In an embodiment, the RF signal can be orthogonal to the distributed ambient backscatter signal.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Talla et al as taught by Sundaresan et al to arrive at the claimed invention, wherein transmitting, to a passive user equipment (UE), signaling indicating a baseband frequency shift that the passive UE is to use for one or more backscatter communications; wherein the passive UE is configured to signal the one or more backscatter communications by frequency shifting the power-up wave signal according to the indicated baseband frequency shift and using a second radio frequency wave pattern with a reasonable expectation of success, thus improve communication performance. MPEP 2143 Rationale C.
With regards to claim 29, Talla et al discloses a method for wireless communications at a receiver device (see [0024], FIG. 1, a schematic illustration of a system), comprising:
receiving, from a passive UE, signaling (see receiver 10 6 (interpreted as passive UE), [0038], fig. 1, receiver 106, backscatter device 108, and backscatter device 110. During operation, the helper device 104 transmits a carrier signal. The backscatter device 108 and/or backscatter device 110 may backscatter the carrier signal into a backscattered signal. The backscattered signal may be a chirp spread spectrum signal (CSS signal) (see [0039]), such as a chirp spread spectrum signal compliant with a LoRa protocol. The transmissions from the backscatter device 108 and/or backscatter device 110 may be received by the receiver 106 (The helper device 104 may be implemented using generally any RF source (e.g., device capable of generating a radio frequency signal). A frequency of the carrier signal may be selected such that, when a frequency shift is provided by backscatter device 108 and/or backscatter device 110, a backscatter is generated at a frequency that the receiver 106 is configured to receive. Backscatter devices may perform digital baseband operations, such as coding and/or modulation) comprising encoded data of one or more backscatter communications ([0048] The backscatter signals backscattered by the backscatter device 108 and/or backscatter device 110 may be signals which encode data in accordance with CSS or other techniques. in some examples, the backscattered signal may include one or more CSS symbols or packets, or symbols or packets of other protocol(s)); and
decoding the encoded data ([0048], decodable at the receiver 106 based on a particular protocol or standard implemented by the receiver 106) of the one or more backscatter communications based associated with communications by the passive UE (see [0057] - - - backscatter devices to generate backscattered signals having any of a variety of formats. In some examples, backscattered signals described herein may be generated using CSS modulation, and may include one or more CSS symbols. CSS generally refers to the use of linear frequency modulated chirp pulses to convey information. Generally, CSS may utilize a time delay in the chirp signal to translate to a frequency shift at an output of a receiver transform (e.g., FFT). CSS modulation may refer to the use of this relationship to encoded data utilizing cyclic time shifts in a baseline chirp).
Talla et al discloses all of the subject matter discussed above, except for the encoded data of the one or more backscatter communications based at least in part on a baseband frequency shift
However, Sundaresan et al discloses in [0004], a passive RF backscatter tag associated with a product and configured to reflect and frequency shift the main carrier RF signal to a different frequency using the twin carrier RF signal. The product tagging system also includes at least one RF backscatter receiver configured to read the product on the different frequency by detecting a distributed ambient backscatter signal generated by a reflection and frequency shifting of the main carrier RF signal by the passive RF backscatter tag. In [0061], At block 725, tag, by at least one RF backscatter receiver, the product by detecting a distributed ambient backscatter signal generated by a reflection and a frequency shifting of the RF signal by the passive RF backscatter tag. In an embodiment, the RF signal can be orthogonal to the distributed ambient backscatter signal.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Talla et al as taught by Sundaresan et al to arrive at the claimed invention, wherein the encoded data of the one or more backscatter communications based at least in part on a baseband frequency shift with a reasonable expectation of success, thus improve communication performance. MPEP 2143 Rationale C.
With regards to claim 30, The combination of Talla et al as taught by Sundaresan et al discloses an apparatus for wireless communications at a passive user equipment (UE) (system in fig. 1, receiver 106), comprising: at least one processor; and memory coupled with the at least one processor, the memory storing instructions executable by the at least one processor (Talla et al discloses in [0149] LoRa backscatter was designed in a 65 nm LP CMOS process. The IC included three main components: digital baseband processor, frequency synthesizer and the backscatter switch network, baseband processors in [0150]). Sundaresan et al discloses in [0160], these computer readable program instructions may be provided to a processor of a general purpose computer, special purpose computer, or other programmable data processing apparatus to produce a machine, such that the instructions, which execute via the processor of the computer or other programmable data processing apparatus, create means for implementing the functions/acts specified in the flowchart and/or block diagram block or blocks. These computer readable program instructions may also be stored in a computer readable storage medium that can direct a computer, a programmable data processing apparatus, and/or other devices to function in a particular manner, such that the computer readable storage medium having instructions stored therein comprises an article of manufacture including instructions which implement aspects of the function/act specified in the flowchart and/or block diagram block or blocks) to cause the passive UE to:
receive signaling indicating a baseband frequency shift that the passive UE is to use for one or more backscatter communications;
receive, from a source device, a power-up wave signal comprising a first radio frequency wave pattern; and
signal, to a receiver device, the one or more backscatter communications by frequency shifting the power-up wave signal according to the indicated baseband frequency shift and using a second radio frequency wave pattern, wherein one of the first radio frequency wave pattern or the second radio frequency wave pattern comprises a chirp spread spectrum pattern (Claim 30, recites similar limitations as in claim 1 above, see rejection above).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-13 and 15-28 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: none of the prior arts cited alone or in combination provides the motivation to teach the method of claim 1, further comprising: signaling, to the receiver device, an indication that an amount of power received via the power-up wave signal satisfies a received power threshold as recited in claim 2 above and the limitations as recited in claims objected above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
(i) Wang et al (US 20230378807 A1) discloses a semi-passive UE may transmit a message indicating a UE class type to a serving network entity
(ii) Dongare et al (US 10735047 B2) discloses a method of providing wireless communications in a wireless network can include wirelessly receiving a chirp spread-spectrum modulated signal at a first gateway device, the chirp spread-spectrum modulated signal being transmitted by a remote client device.
/HELENE E TAYONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631 March 7, 2026