DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 5 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities: "for receiving a coolant from external the heat sink" and "transferred external the heat sink" appear to contain a grammatical error ("external" being used where "external to" appears intended). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informality: "such that that". Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 22 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim number is followed by a double period ("22.."), and the claim recites "between the between the heat exchanger and the heat sink". Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 12 is noted to recite "a cross-sectional shape that is one of" a list of shapes while depending from claim 10, which requires the plurality of heat pipes and/or vapour chambers to have different cross-sectional sizes and/or shapes. For purposes of examination, claim 12 is interpreted as requiring the differing shapes each to be drawn from the recited list.
Claim Interpretation
The claim term "heat transfer block" is being interpreted, consistent with the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of claim 15 (reciting that "the heat transfer block comprises a vapour chamber that is integral with the plurality of heat pipes and/or vapour chambers"), as not limited to a solid body and as encompassing a hollow, fluid-containing structure.
Claim Rejections — 35 U.S.C. 102
The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless — (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 10, 12, 15, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brownell et al. (US 2002/0056908 A1, hereinafter "Brownell").
Claim 1
Regarding claim 1, Brownell discloses a heat sink for cooling a heat generating device (heatpipesink 200 cooling integrated circuit device 221; Fig. 2), comprising: a housing (200, 260; Fig. 2), comprising: a heat transfer block for receiving heat from the heat generating device (heatpipesink body 201/203/204/205 defining inner cavity 207, bottom wall 203 thermally coupled to device 221 via interface material 220; Fig. 2); and side walls, extending from the heat transfer block, the heat transfer block and side walls together defining an internal volume for receiving a coolant from external the heat sink (walls of plenum cover 260 attached to top surface 202 and extending therefrom, cover 260 and top wall 201 defining plenum chamber; Figs. 2-3; liquid coolant forced through the chamber via apertures 262, 264 and collars 263, 265; Fig. 3; [0026]); and a plurality of heat pipes and/or vapour chambers, each heat pipe and/or vapour chamber extending from the heat transfer block within the internal volume (hollow heat pipe fins 216 extending from top wall 201 into the plenum chamber, each containing a condenser region 206 with wick 209; Fig. 2; see also fins 316 within plenum chamber 315, Fig. 7).
Claim 2
Regarding claim 2, Brownell discloses wherein the plurality of heat pipes and/or vapour chambers extend substantially perpendicular to a plane of the heat transfer block and/or substantially parallel to the side walls (hollow fins 216 extend upward perpendicular to the plane of bottom wall 203/top wall 201 and parallel to the walls of plenum cover 260; Figs. 2-3; see also fins 316, Fig. 7). As to the second alternative, Brownell further discloses a length of at least one of the plurality of heat pipes and/or vapour chambers greater than a dimension of the heat transfer block (each fin 216 is longer than the thickness of top wall 201; Figs. 1-2), such that both alternatives of the claim are anticipated.
Claim 4
Regarding claim 4, Brownell discloses wherein the housing further comprises: a lid arranged to seal the internal volume, such that the heat sink is a cold plate (the top of plenum cover 260 closes the plenum chamber, cover 260 being attached to top surface 202 with an o-ring seal therebetween to seal the chamber; Figs. 2-3; the sealed, liquid-coolant-carrying assembly thereby constituting a cold plate; Fig. 3; [0026]).
Claim 5
Regarding claim 5, Brownell discloses a coolant inlet for receiving coolant from external the heat sink to the internal volume; and a coolant outlet, for coolant to leave the internal volume and be transferred external the heat sink (first aperture 262 with first collar 263 and second aperture 264 with second collar 265 in the walls of plenum cover 260, plumbing attached thereto to force working fluid into and out of the plenum chamber; Fig. 3).
Claim 6
Regarding claim 6, the claim recites two alternatives. Brownell discloses at least the second alternative, wherein the coolant inlet and/or coolant outlet each comprise a connection port that is removably coupled to the housing (first collar 263 attached to plenum cover 260 at first aperture 262 and second collar 265 attached at second aperture 264, each collar constituting a connection port to which ducting or plumbing is attached; Fig. 3). Because claim 6 recites its limitations in the alternative, anticipation of the second alternative anticipates the claim.
Claim 10
Regarding claim 10, Brownell discloses wherein the plurality of heat pipes and/or vapour chambers have different cross-sectional sizes and/or shapes (the plurality of heat pipe fins can include a plurality of types of heat pipe fins, including rectangular, square, circular, polygonal and oval pinfins; pinfins 410, Fig. 4; [0028]).
Claim 12
Regarding claim 12, Brownell discloses wherein the plurality of heat pipes and/or vapour chambers have a cross-sectional shape that is one of: circular; polygonal; rectangular; fin-shaped; and hexagonal (heat pipe fins as rectangular pinfins, and alternatively square, circular, polygonal or oval pinfins; pinfins 410, Fig. 4; [0028]; the Fig. 2 hollow fins 216 additionally being fin-shaped).
Claim 15
Regarding claim 15, Brownell discloses wherein the heat transfer block comprises a vapour chamber that is integral with the plurality of heat pipes and/or vapour chambers (inner cavity 207 containing wire mesh wick 209 and a two-phase fluid, defined by bottom wall 203, side walls 204, 205 and top wall 201, having an evaporator region 208 adjacent the bottom wall and a plurality of condenser regions 206 each located within one of the hollow fins 216, the fins thereby being integral with and in communication with the vapour chamber; Figs. 1-2; [0019]; see also inner cavity 307, evaporator region 308, condenser regions 306 within heat pipe fins 316; Fig. 7).
Claim 19
Regarding claim 19, Brownell discloses wherein the coolant is a liquid ([0026]).
Claim 20
Regarding claim 20, Brownell discloses a cooled electronic system, comprising: an electronic device that generates heat in use, heat being dissipated from the electronic device through an external surface of the electronic device (integrated circuit device 221, Fig. 2; [0019]-[0020]); and a heat sink, comprising: a housing, comprising: a heat transfer block for receiving heat from the heat generating device; and side walls, extending from the heat transfer block, the heat transfer block and side walls together defining an internal volume for receiving a coolant from external the heat sink; and a plurality of heat pipes and/or vapour chambers, each heat pipe and/or vapour chamber extending from the heat transfer block within the internal volume (heatpipesink 200 and plenum cover 260 as set forth in the rejection of claim 1, Figs. 2-3; [0019]-[0022], [0026]); and wherein the heat transfer block of the heat sink is mounted on the external surface of the electronic device (bottom wall 203 thermally coupled to integrated circuit device 221 by thermal interface material 220, Fig. 2; [0020]).
Claim Rejections — 35 U.S.C. 103
The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 8
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brownell in view of Moghaddam et al. (US 7,215,545 B1, hereinafter "Moghaddam").
Regarding claim 8, the claim recites limitations in the alternative; the second alternative is addressed. Brownell discloses the plurality of heat pipes arranged in a regular pattern (pinfins 410, spaced array; Figs. 4-5). Brownell does not disclose an angle between a centre of each heat pipe and one or more respective adjacent heat pipes of 60 degrees.
Moghaddam discloses a liquid-cooled heat sink with pin-type heat transfer elements of varying types and heights all positioned on staggered or triangular centers (pins 60A-60C, 42A-42C, 62, 64, centers 72; col. 7, lines 51-58; Fig. 9), the centers of pins in one row offset approximately midway between the centers of pins in adjacent rows (rows 66A-66C; Fig. 9), and teaches that the selection of pin type, orientation and spacing can be determined experimentally or by computer simulation to secure the most efficient cooling with the smallest mass of the heat sink material (col. 8, lines 1-4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to position the pinfins of Brownell on staggered or triangular centers as taught by Moghaddam, to distribute coolant flow across the array and secure the most efficient cooling, and in doing so to arrive at an angle of 60 degrees between the centre of each heat pipe and adjacent heat pipes as the equilateral case of the triangular-centre placement of Moghaddam, resulting from routine optimization of pin pitch, a result-effective variable expressly identified by Moghaddam (MPEP 2144.05(II)). It is further noted that the instant specification describes the 60-degree value permissively as one beneficial pattern within a range of 45 to 75 degrees, with no disclosed criticality in the specific value.
Claim 13
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brownell in view of Whitney et al. (US 2009/0260782 A1, hereinafter "Whitney").
Regarding claim 13, the claim recites limitations in the alternative; the first alternative is addressed. Brownell discloses the plurality of heat pipes extending from the heat transfer block (hollow fins 216 integral with top wall 201; Fig. 2), but does not disclose the heat pipes being soldered or metallurgically bonded into the heat transfer block as separately formed elements.
Whitney discloses a heat pipe closely accommodated in a channel formed in a heat sink base plate and soldered or bonded in place therein, with solder filled over the heat pipe such that the heat pipe is embedded in the plate (heat pipe 16/40, channel 15, solder 49; Figs. 1, 5, 7; abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the heat pipes of Brownell as separately formed elements soldered into the heat transfer block as taught by Whitney, since Whitney demonstrates solder-mounting of heat pipes into a block as a conventional attachment permitting separate manufacture of pipe and block, and the selection between integral formation and bonded assembly is an obvious matter of engineering choice (MPEP 2144.04(V)).
Claim 16
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brownell in view of Chu et al. (US 5,168,348, hereinafter "Chu").
Regarding claim 16, Brownell discloses the heat sink of claim 1, but does not disclose one or more baffles arranged within the internal volume to direct flow of coolant towards, away from or across at least one heat pipe of the plurality of heat pipes and/or vapour chambers.
Chu discloses one or more baffles arranged within the internal volume to direct flow of coolant towards, away from or across at least one heat pipe of the plurality of heat pipes and/or vapour chambers (baffles 132 direct coolant away from discharge manifold 128 and across pins 114, Fig. 1; col. 6, lines 1-8; col. 7, lines 26-29).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the baffles of Chu within the plenum chamber of Brownell in order to channel the coolant over the fins with no line-of-sight losses (Chu, col. 7, lines 26-29).
Claim 17
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brownell in view of Chu, further in view of Knapp (US 4,651,820, hereinafter "Knapp").
Regarding claim 17, Brownell in view of Chu discloses the heat sink of claim 16, but does not disclose wherein the one or more baffles comprise a plurality of generally planar baffles distributed in the internal volume along a direction away from the heat transfer block, adjacent baffles covering a different portion of a cross-sectional area of the internal volume, thereby causing the coolant to flow across multiple heat pipes and/or vapour chambers.
Knapp discloses a plurality of generally planar baffles distributed along a direction of the tubes, adjacent baffles covering a different portion of a cross-sectional area, thereby causing the medium to flow across multiple tubes (a series of baffles 40 held releasably on elongated, threaded rods 42, each baffle 40 having the shape of a segment of a circle, the rods 42 spanning between end plugs 34 and 36, col. 3, lines 28-34, Figs. 1, 4, 5; the second medium constrained to follow a tortuous path which extends back and forth across the tubes, col. 2, lines 24-27; the hot medium constrained by the baffles to flow along a tortuous path transversely to the tubes 32, from the inlet 16 to the outlet 18, col. 3, lines 54-57, Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the baffles of Brownell in view of Chu as a plurality of planar segment-shaped baffles at spaced positions along the direction of the heat pipes as taught by Knapp, in order to constrain the coolant to follow a tortuous path back and forth across the heat pipes, and to permit the baffle spacing to be adjusted to suit different media flow rates (Knapp, col. 2, lines 15-18).
Claim 18
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brownell in view of Chu.
Regarding claim 18, the claim recites limitations in the alternative; the first alternative is addressed. Brownell discloses the heat sink of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the housing is made of a thermally insulative material.
Chu discloses wherein a housing portion is made of a thermally insulative material (hat 118, Fig. 1; col. 6, lines 16-19).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the plenum cover of Brownell of a thermally insulative material such as plastic as taught by Chu, since the cover does not participate in the dissipation of heat to the coolant (Chu, col. 6, lines 16-19).
Claims 21 and 22
Claims 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brownell in view of Moghaddam.
Regarding claim 21, Brownell discloses plumbing attached to circulate the coolant to and from the plenum chamber ([0022]-[0023], [0026]), but does not disclose a heat exchanger, configured to receive coolant from the heat sink and to transfer heat from the coolant to a heat dissipation fluid; and a piping arrangement, arranged to transport coolant between the heat exchanger and the heat sink.
Moghaddam discloses a heat exchanger, configured to receive coolant from the heat sink and to transfer heat from the coolant to a heat dissipation fluid (cooling means 98 as a cooling tower, liquid-to-air heat exchanger or liquid-to-liquid heat exchanger, Figs. 13-14; col. 8, lines 57-67); and a piping arrangement, arranged to transport coolant between the heat exchanger and the heat sink (conduits 92, 94, 96 and manifolds 86, 88, Fig. 13; col. 8, lines 48-57).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to connect the plumbing of Brownell to a heat exchanger and piping arrangement as taught by Moghaddam, in order to cool the warmed coolant and return it for further cooling effect in a repeating cycle (Moghaddam, col. 8, lines 48-57).
Regarding claim 22, Brownell in view of Moghaddam discloses a pump, arranged to cause flow of the coolant between the heat exchanger and the heat sink (Moghaddam, pump 90, Fig. 13; col. 8, lines 48-57), for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 21.
Claims 23 and 24
Claims 23 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brownell in view of Campbell et al. (US 2011/0103019 A1, hereinafter "Campbell").
Regarding claim 23, Brownell discloses the cooled electronic system of claim 20, but does not disclose wherein the electronic device is a first electronic device, the cooled electronic system further comprising a second electronic device, arranged such that coolant flowing out from the heat sink flows over the second electronic device.
Campbell discloses a second electronic device, arranged such that coolant flowing out from the heat sink flows over the second electronic device (coolant discharged from cold plate 500 via side ports 525 providing direct immersion cooling to electronic components outside the processor module, [0044], Figs. 5-6; coolant expelled from cold plates 700 flowing over other heated components 702, 740, 742, 745 within enclosure 720, [0049], Fig. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the system of Brownell such that coolant discharged from the heat sink flows over a second electronic device as taught by Campbell, in order to provide the necessary cooling to additional heated components using the same coolant supply ([0049]).
Regarding claim 24, Brownell discloses the cooled electronic system of claim 20, but does not disclose a chassis, the electronic device and heat sink being located within the chassis. Campbell discloses a chassis, the electronic device and heat sink being located within the chassis (liquid tight enclosure 720 housing circuit board 705, heat generating components, and cold plates 700; [0048]-[0049], Fig. 7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to locate the electronic device and heat sink of Brownell within a chassis as taught by Campbell, in order to house the electronic components and contain the coolant within the enclosure ([0048]-[0049]).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 21 of U.S. Patent No. 11,980,011 in view of Brownell. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,980,011 recites a cold plate comprising a housing having a surface providing a thermal interface for cooling an electronic device, at least one channel within the housing for a liquid coolant, and a coolant port; claim 21 thereof further recites a heat pipe or vapour chamber within the housing between the surface arranged to provide the thermal interface and the at least one channel. The claims of the instant application differ in reciting a plurality of heat pipes and/or vapour chambers, each extending from the heat transfer block within the internal volume receiving the coolant. Brownell discloses a plurality of hollow heat pipe fins extending from the heat transfer block within the coolant-receiving internal volume (fins 216, Fig. 2, as set forth above). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the heat pipe or vapour chamber of claim 21 of U.S. Patent No. 11,980,011 as a plurality of heat pipes and/or vapour chambers extending from the thermal interface structure into the coolant channel as taught by Brownell, in order to increase the heat transfer surface area exposed to the liquid coolant, thereby arriving at the claims of the instant application. The remaining dependent claims of the instant application do not add limitations patentably distinct from the combination for the reasons set forth in the art rejections above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and upon the filing of a terminal disclaimer overcoming the double patenting rejection set forth above. The prior art of record does not disclose or fairly suggest wherein the plurality of heat pipes and/or vapour chambers comprises a first set having a first cross-sectional area and a second set having a smaller cross-sectional area, each heat pipe and/or vapour chamber of the second set positioned in between heat pipes and/or vapour chambers of the first set, in combination with the remaining limitations of the base claim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2016/0227672– water-cooling heat dissipation device and water block thereof.
US 2007/0125522 - cooling system e.g. for graphics processing unit.
/ZHENGFU J FENG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2835 July 23, 2026