DETAILED ACTION
DETAILED ACTION
Receipt of preliminary amendment filed on 09/27/2024 is acknowledged. Claims 1-2, 4-6, 8-10, 12-13, 15, 17-21 and 23 have been amended. Claims 7, 11, 14, 22, and 24-30 have been canceled. Thus, claims 1-6, 8-10, 12-13, 15-21 and 23 are pending in the instant application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 03/03/2025 and 06/26/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6, 8-10, 12-13, 15-21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 defines "physical shape of the radome", then claim 1 refers to "said external shape", which does not have antecedence in the claim, which renders the claim unclear. According to the description (fig.1, p.13), step 1010 is providing data on the external radome shape. Therefore, "physical shape of the radome" in claim 1 should be amended into "physical external shape of the radome".
Regarding claim 1, the limitation recites "wherein cross-section of elements of said one or more tessellated layer with said general propagation path of radiation emitted from the respective convergence location is constant within said one or more selected angular ranges" is unclear and leaves the reader in doubt as to the meaning of the technical feature to which it refers. It is ambiguous, as one does not really understand which cross-section the claim is referring to. A cross-section is defined by the intersection of a three-dimensional structure by a plane. Assuming that the three-dimensional structure is the element of the tessellated layer, it is still not understood such element is cut by which plane, as the general propagation path is only a direction and not a plane.
Regarding claim 12, the limitation recites " wherein said one or more tessellated layers is formed of a plurality of features" and is dependent on claim 1, which defines "cross-section of elements of said one or more tessellated layer". It seems that the elements of claim 1 are the features of claim 12. However, referring to the same entity using different references renders the claims unclear.
Regarding claim 13, the limitation recites "open elements of unit cells" is ambiguous, and has not well-recognized, as any element may be defined as an open element facing locations of respective antenna units. Therefore, claim 13 is not clear.
Claims 4 and 15-17 refers to a "feature vector". The expression "feature vector" in the context of defining a unit cell is not clear, which renders claims 4, 15-17 ambiguous.
Furthermore, without defining that the feature vector is a vector that defines the spacial direction of a feature, then claim 15 is missing an essential feature for achieving a technical effect underlying the solution of the technical problem with which the application is concerned (description: p.1, 11-5). Since independent claim 1 does not contain this feature, and any independent claim must contain all the technical features essential to the definition of the invention. And similar to claim 23.
The claims fail to recite sufficiently definite structure, material or acts for achieving the functional result recited in the claim to reasonably apprise one of ordinary skill in the art of the scope of the claim. It is not clearly explained in the specification as same reasons as stated above; therefore, it renders the claims indefinite.
In addition, a claim which fails to interrelate essential elements of the invention as defined by applicant(s) in the specification may be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b)
or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, for failure to point out and distinctly claim
the invention. See In re Venezia, 530 F.2d 956, 189 USPQ 149 (CCPA 1976); In re
Collier, 397 F.2d 1003, 158 USPQ 266 (CCPA 1968). But see Ex parte Nolden, 149
USPQ 378, 380 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1965) ("[l]t is not essential to a patentable
combination that there be interdependency between the elements of the claimed device
or that all the elements operate concurrently toward the desired result"); Ex parte Huber,
148 USPQ 447, 448-49 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1965) (A claim does not necessarily fail
to comply with 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph where the various elements do not
function simultaneously, are not directly functionally related, do not directly intercooperate, and/or serve independent purposes).
Claims 2-6, 8-10, 12-13 and 16-21 are depending on claims 1 and 15, and are rejected the same reasons under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph.
Note: for compact prosecution purposes the examiner interprets the claims above as best understood in the rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8-10, 12-13, 15-17, 19-20 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka et al. (U.S Publication No. 20200393537 A1) in view of Wu et al. (U.S Publication No. 20210376443 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Tanaka discloses a method for use in designing a radome (see fig. 1-12, paragraph [0001]-[0084], and paragraph [0060]; "which is a radar main unit 2A and a dielectric substrate 38 are included in one housing, and the dielectric substrate 38 functions also as a radar cover of the radar main unit 2A), the method comprising:
(a) providing data on physical shape of a dielectric substrate 3B, which is provided in such a way as to cover the open surface for the radar antenna of the radar main unit 2A in a state where the surface on which multiple dielectric units 30 each having a protruded shape are arranged is facing the radar main unit 2A; and the dielectric substrate 3B is a radar cover that covers the open surface for the radar antenna included in the radar main unit 2A (see paragraph [0060]-[0065]), and data on one or more convergence points within the dielectric substrate (see fig. 8, paragraph [0060]-[0065]; "Precise position adjustment between the radar main unit 2A and the dielectric substrate 3B is achieved in this housing,” which implies that the location of the antenna unit, i.e. convergence point, within said dielectric substrate is provided);
(b) determining general propagation paths mapping propagation of radiation from said one or more convergence points (see fig.11, which is general propagation paths A1, see paragraph [0076]; "In this case, the radar main unit 2 emits an electromagnetic wave, which is a radar wave, in directions A1," which implies the determination of the general propagation paths mapping propagation of radiation from said one or more convergence points, see paragraph [0078]), and one or more selected angular ranges for emission from at least one of said convergence points (see fig. 11, paragraph [0074]-[0076]);
(c) determining intersection of said external shape and said mapping of the general propagation paths, within at least said one or more selected angular ranges (see fig. 11), wherein cross-section of elements of said one or more tessellated layer with said general propagation path of radiation emitted from the respective convergence location is constant within said one or more selected angular ranges (see paragraph [0074]-[0077]; "In each of the multiple dielectric units 30C, a direction vector of a straight line connecting the distal end and the center point of the bottom of the protruded shape is facing the orientation of a radar wave in the radar main unit 2,” see fig. 11, which implies that the cross-section of elements of said one or more tessellated layer with said general propagation path of radiation emitted from the respective convergence location is constant within said one or more selected angular ranges).
Tanaka silently discloses determining one or more tessellated layers for said radome. However Tanaka discloses that it is desirable that the relative permittivity £m of the dielectric substrate 3 including the dielectric units 30 be close to the relative permittivity £f of the windshield 100. For example, the material of the dielectric substrate 3 may be transparent and flexible polycarbonate, relative permittivity £m is about 3, or polyurethane, relative permittivity £m is about 5,” which implies that the effective radiation transmission properties comprises dielectric properties of said one or more tessellated layers, see paragraph [0034]. And furthermore, in the background of the invent, applicant’s admitted prior art discloses WO 2020/035687 provides a structure at least partially transparent to radio frequency signals, the structure being formed of a tessellated polyhedral material comprising a plurality of polyhedral cells. This technique also provides a method of manufacturing the same. Therefore, it would have been obvious that determining one or more tessellated layers for said radome is considered as an obvious matter of design choice based upon an actual design requirement so that the various designs of circuit may be satisfied.
Tanaka does not explicitly disclose providing data on physical shape of the radome, and data on one or more convergence points within said radome.
Wu, on the other hand, discloses dielectric covers for antenna and a dielectric cover (sometimes referred to herein as a radome) may be formed over the antenna elements in the phased antenna array; wherein providing data on physical shape of the radome (see paragraph [0075]; "which is outer surface 174 and/or the inner surface of cover 170 may have a bent shape that is parallel, e.g., concentric, with the bent shape of the bent surface of substrate 180 and/or ground plane 112,” which implies providing data on physical shape of the radome), and data on one or more convergence points within said radome (see paragraph [0075]; "which is substrate 180 may be conformal to internal structures within device 10,” which implies providing data on convergence points.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the invention was made to modify the dielectric cover as taught by Tanaka with the dielectric cover as taught by Wu A sometimes referred to herein as a radome, which may be formed over the antenna elements in the phased antenna array in order for the phased antenna array may transmit and receive a beam of signals through the dielectric cover and may steer the signals over a corresponding field of view (see paragraph [0007] by Wu).
Regarding claim 2, Tanika in view of Wu discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising providing effective radiation transmission properties being invariant to angle of transmission within said one or more selected angular ranges (see fig. 8 and 11, paragraph [0073]-[0078] by Tanika; it should be noted that since Tanaka discloses the same technical features of the invention of the application, then the same technical effect is achieved).
Regarding claim 3, Tanaka in view of Wu discloses the method of claim 2, wherein said effective radiation transmission properties comprises dielectric properties of said one or more tessellated layers (see paragraph 0034 by Tanaka; "It is desirable that the relative permittivity £m of the dielectric substrate 3 including the dielectric units 30 be close to the relative permittivity £f of the windshield 100. For example, the material of the dielectric substrate 3 may be transparent and flexible polycarbonate, relative permittivity £m is about 3, or polyurethane, relative permittivity £m is about 5,” which implies that the effective radiation transmission properties comprises dielectric properties of said one or more tessellated layers).
Regarding claim 4, Tanaka in view of Wu discloses the method of any one of claim 1, wherein cross-section of elements of said one or more tessellated layer with said general propagation path or radiation emitted from the respective convergence location is defined by angular relation between feature vector of elements of the one or more tessellated layers and direction of propagation of radiation at the respective location along the one or more tessellated layers (see fig. 8 and 11 by Tanaka; it should be noted that Tanaka defines the angular relation between feature vector of elements of the one or more tessellated layers and direction of propagation of radiation at the respective location along the one or more tessellated layers by defining that they should be aligned, which implies that such cross-section is defined by such angular relation).
Regarding claim 8, Tanaka in view of Wu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein said one or more convergence points indicate positions of one or more antenna units, said one or more selected angular ranges indicate angular ranges covered by the one or more antenna units (see fig. 11 by Tanaka; which is convergence point is the position of the radar 2 with the antenna array of elements 20, and the paths A1 extend in the selected angular range; and it should be noted that all the paths A1 extend from the same point of the radar, which is the phase center location of the array).
Regarding claim 9, Tanaka in view of Wu discloses The method of claim 1, wherein said providing data on location of one or more convergence points within said radome structure comprises providing data on phase center location of at least one antenna unit to be positioned in at least one of the one or more convergence points (see fig. 11 by Tanaka; it should be noted that all the paths A1 extend from the same point of the radar, which is the phase center location of the array).
Regarding claim 10, Tanaka in view of Wu discloses the method claim 1, wherein providing data on location of convergence points within said radome structure comprises providing data on phase center locations of two or more antenna units and respective two or more different angular ranges for radiation emission from said two or more antenna units, and wherein the method comprises defining at least first and second general propagation paths for radiation emitted from respective one of said two or more antenna units, determining intersection of said first general propagation paths with said external shape in angular range associated with radiation emission from a first antenna unit, and intersection of said second general propagation paths with said external shape in angular range associated with radiation emission from a second antenna unit, determining structure of said one or more tessellated layers having a first portion associated with said first angular range having cross-section of features of said one or more tessellated layers being constant to angular variation with respect to phase center location of said first antenna unit and a second potion associated with said second angular range having cross- section of features of said one or more tessellated layers being constant to angular variation with respect to phase center location of said second antenna unit (see fig. 12 by Wu; two convergence points at antenna 110).
Regarding claim 12, Tanaka in view of Wu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein said one or more tessellated layers is formed of a plurality of features, wherein said cross section is defined by relative angle between plane of structure walls between the features and general propagation path of radiation emitted from phase center location of a respective antenna unit (see paragraph [0061] by Tanaka; "which is multiple dielectric units 30 each having a protruded shape are arranged is facing the radar main unit 2A,” see fig. 8, three-dimensional features 30, see fig. 2, 8 and 11; it should be noted that Tanaka defines the angular relation between feature vector of elements of the one or more tessellated layers and direction of propagation of radiation at the respective location along the one or more tessellated layers by defining that they should be aligned, which implies that such cross-section is defined by such angular relation).
Regarding claim 13, Tanaka in view of Wu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein said one or more tessellated layers is configured with open elements of unit cells thereof facing location of the respective antenna unit for different angles within a selected angular range, thereby providing effective radiation transmission properties being invariant to angle of transmission (see fig. 11 by Tanaka; which is open units 30 C facing location of the respective antenna unit for different angles, see paragraph [0074]-[0077]; "In each of the multiple dielectric units 30C, a direction vector of a straight line connecting the distal end and the center point of the bottom of the protruded shape is facing the orientation of a radar wave in the radar main unit 2,” it should be noted that since the feature vector and the radiation paths are aligned, then the same technical effect is achieved, i.e. providing invariant effective radiation transmission properties with respect to angle of transmission within said one or more selected angular ranges).
Regarding claim 15, Tanaka discloses a structure having selected shape (see 1-12, paragraph [0001-0084], and paragraph [0060]; "which is a radar main unit 2A and a dielectric substrate 3B are included in one housing, and the dielectric substrate 3B functions also as a radar cover of the radar main unit 2A"), and configured for covering one or more antenna units associated with respective one or more selected phase center locations and having respective one or more radiation patterns (see paragraph [0061]; "The dielectric substrate 3B is provided in such a way as to cover the open surface for the radar antenna of the radar main unit 2A in a state where the surface on which multiple dielectric units 30 each having a protruded shape are arranged is facing the radar main unit 2A), see fig. 1-12, which is antenna unit formed by the antenna array elements 20), it should be noted that an antenna unit encompasses an antenna array with multiple elements, see paragraph [0028]; "The radar antenna that transmits and receives the radar wave includes the multiple antenna elements 20, and the antenna elements are arranged in an array,” said structure comprising:
a dielectric substrate 3B is provided in such a way as to cover the open surface for the radar antenna of the radar main unit 2A in a state where the surface on which multiple dielectric units 30 each having a protruded shape are arranged is facing the radar main unit 2A, see paragraph [0061]), at least one layer formed by a plurality of generally repeating three-dimensional features (see paragraph [0061]; "which is multiple dielectric units 30 each having a protruded shape are arranged is facing the radar main unit 2A,” see fig. 2 and 8, which is three-dimensional features 30), each defining a feature vector (see paragraph [0074]; "In the dielectric substrate 3C, multiple dielectric units 30C are regularly arranged on the surface facing a radar main unit 2. In each of the multiple dielectric units 30C, a direction vector of a straight line connecting the distal end and the center point of the bottom of the protruded shape is facing the orientation of a radar wave in the radar main unit 2,” see fig.11, which are features 30C, feature vector along radiation paths A1, see paragraph [0078]; "The dielectric substrates illustrated in the first to fourth embodiments may be replaced with the dielectric substrate 3C,” wherein feature vectors, within at least one portion of said radome structure defined by one or more selected angular ranges for radiation emission/receiving by one or more of said antenna units at a respective phase center location, being aligned with respect to radiation pattern of a respective antenna unit at the selected phase center location, thereby providing invariant effective radiation transmission properties with respect to angle of transmission within said one or more selected angular ranges (see paragraph [0074]-[0077]; "In each of the multiple dielectric units 30C, a direction vector of a straight line connecting the distal end and the center point of the bottom of the protruded shape is facing the orientation of a radar wave in the radar main unit 2,” see fig.11, it should be noted that since the feature vector and the radiation paths are aligned, then the same technical effect is achieved, i.e. providing invariant effective radiation transmission properties with respect to angle of transmission within said one or more selected angular ranges).
Tanaka silently discloses at least one tessellated layer formed by a plurality of generally repeating three-dimensional features each defining a feature vector. However Tanaka discloses that it is desirable that the relative permittivity £m of the dielectric substrate 3 including the dielectric units 30 be close to the relative permittivity £f of the windshield 100. For example, the material of the dielectric substrate 3 may be transparent and flexible polycarbonate, relative permittivity £m is about 3, or polyurethane, relative permittivity £m is about 5,” which implies that the effective radiation transmission properties comprises dielectric properties of said one or more tessellated layers, see paragraph [0034]. And furthermore, in the background of the invent, applicant’s admitted prior art discloses WO 2020/035687 provides a structure at least partially transparent to radio frequency signals, the structure being formed of a tessellated polyhedral material comprising a plurality of polyhedral cells. This technique also provides a method of manufacturing the same. Therefore, it would have been obvious that at least one tessellated layer formed by a plurality of generally repeating three-dimensional features each defining a feature vector is considered as an obvious matter of design choice based upon an actual design requirement so that the various designs of circuit may be satisfied.
Tanaka does not explicitly disclose a radome structure having selected shape.
Wu, on the other hand, discloses dielectric covers for antenna and a dielectric cover (sometimes referred to herein as a radome) may be formed over the antenna elements in the phased antenna array; wherein providing data on physical shape of the radome (see paragraph [0075]; "which is outer surface 174 and/or the inner surface of cover 170 may have a bent shape that is parallel, e.g., concentric, with the bent shape of the bent surface of substrate 180 and/or ground plane 112,” which implies providing data on physical shape of the radome), and data on one or more convergence points within said radome (see paragraph [0075]; "which is substrate 180 may be conformal to internal structures within device 10,” which implies providing data on convergence points.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the invention was made to modify the dielectric cover as taught by Tanaka with the dielectric cover as taught by Wu sometimes referred to herein as a radome, which may be formed over the antenna elements in the phased antenna array in order for the phased antenna array may transmit and receive a beam of signals through the dielectric cover and may steer the signals over a corresponding field of view (see paragraph [0007] by Wu).
Regarding claim 16, Tanaka in view of Wu discloses the radome structure of claim 15, wherein said feature vector is defined by vector sum of spatial elements forming said feature (see paragraph [0038], and [0074]-[0077] by Tanaka).
Regarding claim 17, Tanaka in view of Wu discloses the radome structure of claim 15, wherein said feature vector being a vector defining spatial direction of a feature, extending from based layer of a feature extending along general symmetry axis of said feature (see paragraph [0074]-[0077] by Tanaka).
Regarding claim 19, Tanaka in view of Wu discloses the radome structure of claim 15, wherein said at least one tessellated layer is formed of one or more materials selected from: thermoplastic, thermoset, composite, and resin materials (see paragraph [0036] and [0039] by Wu).
Regarding claim 20, Tanaka in view of Wu discloses the radome structure of claim 15, wherein said at least one tessellated layer comprises a core layer of said radome structure (see paragraph [0058] by Wu).
Regarding claim 23, Tanaka discloses a structure having selected shape (see 1-12, paragraph [0001-0084], and paragraph [0060]; "which is a radar main unit 2A and a dielectric substrate 3B are included in one housing, and the dielectric substrate 3B functions also as a radar cover of the radar main unit 2A"), and configured for covering one or more antenna units associated with respective one or more selected phase center locations and having respective one or more radiation patterns (see paragraph [0061]; "The dielectric substrate 3B is provided in such a way as to cover the open surface for the radar antenna of the radar main unit 2A in a state where the surface on which multiple dielectric units 30 each having a protruded shape are arranged is facing the radar main unit 2A), see fig. 1-12, which is antenna unit formed by the antenna array elements 20), it should be noted that an antenna unit encompasses an antenna array with multiple elements, see paragraph [0028]; "The radar antenna that transmits and receives the radar wave A includes the multiple antenna elements 20, and the antenna elements are arranged in an array,” said structure comprising:
at least one layer, and wherein said structure defining one or more selected angular ranges for radiation emission/reception by antenna units located at one or more of said selected phase center locations is characterized by cross section between features of the at least one tessellated layer and path of radiation propagating away from said selected phase center being constant to angular variation within the respective one or more selected angular ranges, thereby providing effective radiation transmission properties being invariant to angle of transmission within said one or more selected angular ranges (see paragraph [0074]-[0077]; "In each of the multiple dielectric units 30C, a direction vector of a straight line connecting the distal end and the center point of the bottom of the protruded shape is facing the orientation of a radar wave in the radar main unit 2,” see fig.11, it should be noted that since the feature vector and the radiation paths are aligned, then the same technical effect is achieved, i.e. providing invariant effective radiation transmission properties with respect to angle of transmission within said one or more selected angular ranges).
Tanaka silently discloses at least one tessellated layer for said radome. However Tanaka discloses that it is desirable that the relative permittivity £m of the dielectric substrate 3 including the dielectric units 30 be close to the relative permittivity £f of the windshield 100. For example, the material of the dielectric substrate 3 may be transparent and flexible polycarbonate, relative permittivity £m is about 3, or polyurethane, relative permittivity £m is about 5,” which implies that the effective radiation transmission properties comprises dielectric properties of said one or more tessellated layers, see paragraph [0034]. And furthermore, in the background of the invent, applicant’s admitted prior art discloses WO 2020/035687 provides a structure at least partially transparent to radio frequency signals, the structure being formed of a tessellated polyhedral material comprising a plurality of polyhedral cells. This technique also provides a method of manufacturing the same. Therefore, it would have been obvious that forming at least one or more tessellated layers for said radome is considered as an obvious matter of design choice based upon an actual design requirement so that the various designs of circuit may be satisfied.
Tanaka does not explicitly disclose a radome structure having selected shape.
Wu, on the other hand, discloses dielectric covers for antenna and a dielectric cover (sometimes referred to herein as a radome) may be formed over the antenna elements in the phased antenna array; wherein providing data on physical shape of the radome (see paragraph [0075]; "which is outer surface 174 and/or the inner surface of cover 170 may have a bent shape that is parallel, e.g., concentric, with the bent shape of the bent surface of substrate 180 and/or ground plane 112,” which implies providing data on physical shape of the radome), and data on one or more convergence points within said radome (see paragraph [0075]; "which is substrate 180 may be conformal to internal structures within device 10,” which implies providing data on convergence points.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the invention was made to modify the dielectric cover as taught by Tanaka with the dielectric cover as taught by Wu sometimes referred to herein as a radome, which may be formed over the antenna elements in the phased antenna array in order for the phased antenna array may transmit and receive a beam of signals through the dielectric cover and may steer the signals over a corresponding field of view (see paragraph [0007] by Wu).
Claims 5-6, 18 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka et al. (U.S Publication No. 20200393537 A1) in view of Wu et al. (U.S Publication No. 20210376443 A1), and further in view of Poulsen et al. (U.S Publication No. 20230275355 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Tanaka in view of Wu discloses all the limitations of the method of claim 1, except for specifying that further comprising generating instructions for an additive manufacturing system for printing of at least said one or more tessellated layers.
Tanaka discloses that the dielectric unit 30A has a shape protruded stepwise, the dielectric unit 30A is easy to manufacture by stacking as compared to a quadrangular pyramid. Furthermore, the dielectric substrates illustrated in the first to fourth embodiments may be replaced with the dielectric substrate having the dielectric units 30A (see paragraph [0069]). Wu discloses that the cover is made of a dielectric material, and the dielectric cover sometimes referred to herein as a radome (see paragraph [0007]).
However, the use of additive manufacturing in the domain of dielectric radomes in well-known in the art due to its simplicity compared to expensive molds and complicated labor. And Poulsen discloses gradient structure (100) for transmitting and/or reflecting an electromagnetic signal. The gradient structure according to the present disclosure may preferably be manufactured by 3D printing, i.e. additive manufacturing. In the case of the gradient structure being comprised in a cover structure, optional additional conductive materials, additional layer(s) and/or skin(s) of the cover structure may be manufactured by 3D printing as well. In one example, a cover structure comprising at least one gradient structure and at least one skin is printed in one single piece. Alternatively, the different parts, such as the gradient structure, skin(s) and optional additional layers of the cover structure may be printed separately and be joined after printing (see paragraph [0113]-[0114]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify the method that would implement the tessellated layer of Tanaka and Wu using additive manufacturing without exercising inventive skills. And 3D printing, i.e. additive manufacturing, is an efficient way of realizing any optimized gradient structure according to the present disclosure (see paragraph [0055] by Poulsen).
Regarding claim 6, Tanaka in view of Wu discloses all the limitations of the method of claim 1, except for specifying that further comprising determining structure of at least one of external layer formed on said one or more tessellated layers and internal layer formed on said one or more tessellated layers, being located between the one or more tessellated layers and location of said one or more convergence points.
Tanaka discloses one external layer that is formed on the tessellated layer (see fig.7 a(external layer 31, 32), and paragraph [0056]; "A radar device according to the third embodiment includes a reflection suppression layer 32 between the dielectric substrate 3A and the windshield 100 as illustrated in FIG. 7. An adhesive layer 31 may be interposed between the reflection suppression layer 32 and the windshield 100”).
However, the use of skin layers on the tessellated layers for protection against dust, humidity and mechanical stress is well-known in the art.
Poulsen discloses FIG. 7a illustrates a side view of a cover structure 200. The cover structure may for example be a radome, i.e. an antenna enclosure. The cover structure 200 comprises the at least one gradient structure 100 and at least one skin 210a, 210b. The skin(s) 210a, 210b may be attached to a topmost and/or a bottommost portion of the gradient structure 100. The skin(s) 210a, 210b may be arranged to cover at least a portion of the gradient structure 200. The purpose of the skin is to protect the gradient structure 100 against external conditions, such as weather and mechanical stress. Further, the skin should have the ability to transmit/reflect electromagnetic signals within the at least one bandwidth range in which the gradient structure operates. The skin(s) may have any shape which is suitable for the gradient structure 100, a plurality of joined gradient structures and/or the application. The skin may be made of a rigid material, such as a composite material. The skin may be attached to the gradient structure by an adhesive, see paragraph [0095].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to implement protection skin layers into the method as taught by Tanaka in view of Wu for the protection of the radome without exercising inventive skills. The purpose of the skin is to protect the gradient structure against external conditions, such as weather and mechanical stress. Further, the skin should have the ability to transmit/reflect electromagnetic signals within the at least one bandwidth range in which the gradient structure operates which also belongs to the domain of radomes that are implemented using tessellated layers, discloses skin layers that cover the inner and outer side of the radome for protection against external effect (see paragraph [0095] by Poulsen).
Regarding claim 18, Tanaka in view of Wu discloses all the limitations of the radome structure of 15, except for specifying that being formed by additive manufacturing technique.
However, the use of additive manufacturing in the domain of dielectric radomes in well-known in the art due to its simplicity compared to expensive molds and complicated labor. And Poulsen discloses gradient structure (100) for transmitting and/or reflecting an electromagnetic signal. The gradient structure according to the present disclosure may preferably be manufactured by 3D printing, i.e. additive manufacturing. In the case of the gradient structure being comprised in a cover structure, optional additional conductive materials, additional layer(s) and/or skin(s) of the cover structure may be manufactured by 3D printing as well. In one example, a cover structure comprising at least one gradient structure and at least one skin is printed in one single piece. Alternatively, the different parts, such as the gradient structure, skin(s) and optional additional layers of the cover structure may be printed separately and be joined after printing (see paragraph [0113]-[0114]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify the structure as taught by Tanaka and Wu by using additive manufacturing technique without exercising inventive skills. And 3D printing, i.e. additive manufacturing, is an efficient way of realizing any optimized gradient structure according to the present disclosure (see paragraph [0055] by Poulsen).
Regarding claim 21, Tanaka in view of Wu discloses all the limitations of the radome structure of claim 15, except for specifying that further comprising at least one continuous layer being internal or external with respect to the at least one tessellated layer and said one or more selected phase center locations.
Tanaka discloses one external layer that is formed on the tessellated layer (see fig.7 a(external layer 31, 32), and paragraph [0056]; "A radar device according to the third embodiment includes a reflection suppression layer 32 between the dielectric substrate 3A and the windshield 100 as illustrated in FIG. 7. An adhesive layer 31 may be interposed between the reflection suppression layer 32 and the windshield 100”).
However, the use of skin layers on the tessellated layers for protection against dust, humidity and mechanical stress is well-known in the art.
Poulsen discloses FIG. 7a illustrates a side view of a cover structure 200. The cover structure may for example be a radome, i.e. an antenna enclosure. The cover structure 200 comprises the at least one gradient structure 100 and at least one skin 210a, 210b. The skin(s) 210a, 210b may be attached to a topmost and/or a bottommost portion of the gradient structure 100. The skin(s) 210a, 210b may be arranged to cover at least a portion of the gradient structure 200. The purpose of the skin is to protect the gradient structure 100 against external conditions, such as weather and mechanical stress. Further, the skin should have the ability to transmit/reflect electromagnetic signals within the at least one bandwidth range in which the gradient structure operates. The skin(s) may have any shape which is suitable for the gradient structure 100, a plurality of joined gradient structures and/or the application. The skin may be made of a rigid material, such as a composite material. The skin may be attached to the gradient structure by an adhesive, see paragraph [0095].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to implement protection skin layers into the method as taught by Tanaka in view of Wu for the protection of the radome without exercising inventive skills. The purpose of the skin is to protect the gradient structure against external conditions, such as weather and mechanical stress. Further, the skin should have the ability to transmit/reflect electromagnetic signals within the at least one bandwidth range in which the gradient structure operates which also belongs to the domain of radomes that are implemented using tessellated layers, discloses skin layers that cover the inner and outer side of the radome for protection against external effect (see paragraph [0095] by Poulsen).
Conclusion
/Thai Pham/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2844 12/29/2025