DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application is a National-Stage entry of PCT/KR2022/020842, filed 18/852,038. Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed applications KR10-2022-0157177, filed 11/22/2022 and KR10-2022-0040310, filed 3/31/2022, under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/27/2024 is acknowledged. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-6, in the reply filed 9/10/2026 is acknowledged. Applicant’s election of the species of the invention wherein the extract is from the source of ii. fruits and is obtained by a solvent which is water, an alcohol having 1-4 carbon atoms (e.g. ethanol), or a mixed solvent thereof is acknowledged, as in claims 1-3 and 5-6.
Claims 4, 7-12, and 23 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention and/or species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/10/2026.
Claims 1-3 and 5-6 are examined on the merits herein.
Specification
TRADE NAMES, TRADEMARKS, AND OTHER MARKS USED IN COMMERCE:
The use of the terms: PRO-PREP™ ([00118]); WesternSure™ ([00118], wherein the term “WesernSure” appears to be a typo); and ChemiDoc™, which are each a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The terms should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the terms should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the terms.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks (see MPEP 608.01(v) and 608.01(u)).
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 2, the phrase “where the extract is one or more” should instead say: “wherein the Asimina triloba extract is obtained from one or more”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
The term “Asimina triloba” is defined in the specification as is a deciduous shrub of the Asimina triloba family ([0023]). This species is known in the art as “paw paw” or “pawpaw”.
The claim element of “for ameliorating or preventing obesity, lipid metabolism, or metabolic diseases (further defined in claim 5 as diabetes, diabetic complications, stroke, hyperlipidemia, fatty liver, arteriosclerosis, hypertension, cardiovascular diseases, or metabolic syndrome) is being interpreted as a recitation of an intended use, in the preamble. Since the claims are drawn to a composition, i.e. a product, the claims are being evaluated on the structure of the claimed product. See e.g. MPEP § 2111.02.II: “If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction.”.
In claim 6, the claim element “the extract inhibits differentiation of preadipocyte cells and inhibits expression of transcription factors involved in adipogenesis and preadipocyte cell differentiation” is being interpreted as a functional property of Asimina triloba extracts.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-3 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a natural product without significantly more.
For determining subject matter eligibility, the following analysis was considered, per MPEP § 2106.
Patent Eligibility Analysis Step 1: Step 1 of the eligibility analysis asks: is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter? Yes, the claims are directed to a food composition comprising an Asimina triloba extract. (Claims 1-3 and 5-6, STEP 1: YES).
Patent Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 1: Step 2A, prong 1 asks: does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or a natural phenomenon (product of nature)?
Claims 1-3 and 5-6 each require an extract of Asimina triloba. Thus, the B.R.I. of the claims include limitations encompassing natural products:, specifically, the ingredients from the Asimina triloba extract.
When a claim recites a nature-based product limitation, the markedly different characteristics (MDC) analysis is used to determine whether the natural product has markedly different characteristics from its natural counterpart (see MPEP 2106.04(c)). MPEP § 2106.04(c) explains “Where the claim is to a nature-based product produced by combining multiple components, the markedly different characteristics analysis should be applied to the resultant nature-based combination, rather than its component parts.”
In this case, the appropriate natural counterpart for the Asimina triloba extract of claims 1-3 and 5-6 would be the natural occurring components, as found in Asimina triloba.
The second step in the MDC analysis is to identify appropriate characteristics to compare. Appropriate characteristics can be expressed as the nature-based product’s structure, function, and/or other properties, and are evaluated on a case-by-case basis. In this case, the appropriate characteristics include: the structure of the compounds, the compounds’ functions, and the active properties of the active ingredients. The final step in the markedly different characteristics analysis is to compare the characteristics of the claimed nature-based product to its naturally-occurring counterpart in its natural state, in order to determine whether the characteristics of the claimed product are markedly different. The courts have emphasized that to show a marked difference, a characteristic must be changed as compared to nature, and cannot be an inherent or innate characteristic of the naturally-occurring counterpart or an incidental change in a characteristic of the naturally occurring counterpart. Myriad, 569 U.S. at 580, 106 USPQ2d at 1974-75. Thus, in order to be markedly different, the inventor must have caused the claimed product to possess at least one characteristic that is different from that of the counterpart (MPEP § 2016.04(c).II.C.). If there is no change in any characteristic, the claimed product lacks markedly different characteristics, and is a product of nature exception.
The instant specification describes uses of the Asimina triloba extract for treating diseases (e.g. [0065]), and describes that the active ingredients cause inhibition of differentiation of preadipocyte cells and inhibits expression of transcription factors involved in adipogenesis and preadipocyte cell differentiation in 3T3-L1 cells (see e.g. [0099]-[00120]). It is noted that these are in reference to functional properties of the extract and intended uses. No description of the ingredients found in the Asimina triloba extract is provided. Thus, there is no evidence in the instant disclosure of any change in the active ingredients compared to the naturally occurring compounds and no description of the composition, i.e. structure, of the claimed extract.
The art recognizes that Asimina triloba extracts are comprised of various active components, including phenolic and flavonoid compounds, as evidenced by the references described below.
Nam et al. (“Antioxidant activities and phenolic compounds of several tissues of pawpaw (Asimina triloba [L.] Dunal) grown in Korea.” Journal of food science 82.8 (2017): 1827-1833, on IDS filed 9/27/2024) discloses that extracts of the pawpaw (Asimina triloba) plant, including water and methanolic extracts, have various concentrations of gallic acid, epigallocatechin, catechin, caffeic acid, epicatechin, rutin, quercetin, and other phenolic compounds (Table 4). Nam also teaches that such extracts have antioxidant activity (Abstract, Table 2).
Zhao et al. (“Biologically active acetogenins from stem bark of Asimina triloba.” Phytochemistry. 1993;33:1065–1073) describes cytotoxic and pesticidal components from the stem bark of the North American paw paw, Asimina triloba (Abstract). In Zhao, pulverized stem bark was first extracted exhaustively with 95% EtOH, then different fractions of the crude extract was prepared (see pg. 1071, under “Extraction and purification”). Active ingredients were investigated, which include the compounds: asimicin, trilobacin (a diastereoisomer of asimicin), bullatacin, bullatacinone, N-p-coumaroyltyramine, N-trans-feruloyl-tyramine, (+)-syringaresinol, as well as cis- and trans-annonacin-A-one, trans-gigantetrocinone (1, 2,) cis-(3, 4), and cis-isoannonacin (5) (pg. 1065, right col).
Kobayashi et al. (“Phenolic content and antioxidant capacity of pawpaw fruit (Asimina triloba L.) at different ripening stages”. HortScience. 2008;43:268–270) studied the phenolic content (PC) and antioxidant capacity (AC) in fruit of two pawpaw (Asimina triloba (L.) Dunal) cultivars at different stages of ripening (see Abstract). Kobayashi also teaches that “Paw paw fruit is generally similar to banana in its nutritive components, including carbohydrate, dietary fiber, and protein, and it has markedly higher amounts of vitamin C and minerals” (pg. 268, right col). Kobayashi determines that both phenolic content (PC) and antioxidant capacity (AC) decreased with the ripening of fruit (Abstract, Table 1).
No characteristics of the naturally-derived Asimina triloba extracts are markedly changed by the recited composition, which claim broadly an extract, including aqueous or ethanolic extracts. The compounds found in the claimed extracts would predictably comprise the naturally occurring active compounds previously described in the art. There is no evidence or suggestion in the disclosure that the claimed composition has any structural characteristics or properties that are markedly different from the naturally-occurring compounds in Asimina triloba.
Therefore, the claimed product lacks markedly different characteristics, and is a product of nature exception (Claims 1-3 and 5-6, Step 2A, Prong 1: YES).
Patent Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 2: Step 2A, prong 2 asks: does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
Claims 1-2 and 5-6 do not recite any additional elements other than the product of nature exception, specific limitations regarding the natural compositions (i.e. that they are derived from the group consisting of seeds, fruits, roots, stems, and leaves), and functional limitations thereof (as in claims 5 and 6 regarding the intended uses and functional characteristics).
Claim 3 recites that the extract is a crude extract obtained by extraction with a solvent selected from the group consisting of water, an alcohol having 1 to 4 carbon atoms (e.g. ethanol), or a mixed solvent thereof, but this doesn’t differentiate the claims from the natural product, nor does it recite a practical application thereof. Merely obtaining and concentrating, or redistributing, the natural product does not result in a practical application thereof. The solvents are themselves natural products.
Claims 5 and 6 do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application as these functional limitations merely reflects innate capabilities of the natural product, and does not require a particular or directed application.
Furthermore, the claims do not integrate the composition into a distinguishing practical application (for example, they do not broadly or specifically recite any dosage form(s) and/or administering a therapeutically-effective amount of the material), but merely recites the natural materials themselves or a multiplicity of natural materials. The intended uses and recitation of functional properties does not serve to implement the exception in a practical application.
Therefore, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims do not recite any additional elements other than the naturally-occurring ingredients of the extract and the innate characteristics thereof (Claims 1-3 and 5-6, Step 2A, Prong 2: NO).
Patent Eligibility Analysis Step 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
The recitation of an innate property or characteristic of a natural compound does not result in significantly more than the judicial exception.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, extraction and purification of natural products, recited at a high level of generality, does not amount to significantly more than the original natural product. None of the components or properties of the naturally-occurring product are demonstrated to be changed by the extraction. The solvents described herein are common naturally occurring chemicals (i.e. water and alcohols). Isolation of Asimina triloba extracts having active ingredients is known in the art, as evidenced by the references cited above. Further, it is noted that adjustments or optimization of a concentration of a natural product does not result in any particular transformation of the ineligible natural product, nor does such adjustment of concentration constitute an inventive concept.
Thus, the providing of the claimed composition to treat a disease, or to cause the claimed inhibition of expression of transcription factors involved in adipogenesis and preadipocyte cell differentiation, does not result in significantly more than the ineligible natural product. The claims are drawn to the composition, a natural product, and the discovery or appreciation of a function or new use of a natural product does not result in patent eligibility.
The limitations in claims 5 and 6 do not practically limit the claims to anything more than the natural product, instead these merely recite specific elements or functional properties of the natural product. None of the additional elements amount to significantly more than the ineligible natural product.
Therefore, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception (Claims 1-3 and 5-6, Step 2B: NO).
The claimed composition does not qualify as eligible subject matter. For these reasons, the claims are rejected under section 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112b
Claims 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3, the limitation in the Markush grouping of "an alcohol having 1 to 4 carbon atoms" renders the claim indefinite because the claim include elements not actually disclosed thereby rendering the scope of the Markush claim unascertainable. It is unclear if the alternative solvents allowed in the Markush group are to include only primary alcohols, e.g. methanol, ethanol, propanol, butanol, or if all possible alcohols that have one to 4 carbons are included. Does the scope of the claim include secondary and tertiary alcohols (e.g. isopropanol, tert-butanol)? Are sugar alcohols such as ethylene glycol, glycerol, and erythritol included as suitable solvents? Because a Markush list must be a closed group of alternatives the claim is indefinite because the scope of this claim element is not defined.
In order to overcome this rejection, it is suggested to amend the claim to recite precisely each alcohol that is included as a suitable alternative solvent, so that one will be adequately appraised of the metes and bounds of the claim.
Claim 5 recites, in a list of Markush-type alternatives, the phrase “or metabolic syndrome in which the above diseases occur simultaneously”. The scope of this claim element cannot be determined due to the presence of “the above diseases”. Does this mean that all of the diseases listed above (e.g. the above diseases) have to be present? How many of the diseases must be there to amount to “metabolic syndrome”. The claim previously establishes “the metabolic disease is one or more selected from the group consisting of”. Because the term is unclear, and the claim is already inclusive of a patient having multiple of the listed diseases, the scope of this alternative Markush term cannot be determined. The claim is thus indefinite. It is suggested to remove this phrase.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (KR 10-2018-0043137, a translation of which is provided on IDS filed 9/27/2024).
Lee et al. discloses a composition comprising an ethanolic extract of Asimina triloba, e.g. the pawpaw or papaw tree (Abstract).
Lee discloses that extracted compounds (i.e. rutin) from leaves of Asimina triloba has an active effect against cancer and diabetes, a metabolic disease and one of the specific conditions recited in claim 5 (see e.g. “Effects of the Invention”, pg. 4 of the provided translation). Lee states that the pawpaw extract and the compounds found therein have antioxidant, antibiotic, anti-diabetic, and anticancer activities (pg. 3, 4th paragraph).
Lee also discloses that pawpaw extracts are known to comprise tannin, caffeic acid, procyanidin, quercetin, acetogenins, catechin, epicatechin, and other flavonoids and phenolic compounds (pgs. 2-3: “Background art”).
Regarding claim 2, Lee discloses that the extract is derived from the pawpaw leaves (see pg. 4, paragraphs 1-2).
Regarding claim 3, Lee discloses, according to some embodiments of the invention, that the extraction solvent may be ethanol, preferably 0-75% (v/v) ethanol, more preferably 50-75% (v/v) ethanol (pg 4, paragraph 4).
Thus, Lee discloses the claimed invention, in disclosing a composition for metabolic diseases, comprising an Asimina triloba extract as an active ingredient.
Please note, since the Office does not have the facilities for examining and comparing Applicants’ composition with the composition of the prior art, the burden is on applicant to show a novel or unobvious difference between the claimed product and the product of the prior art. See In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977) and In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980), and “as a practical matter, the Patent Office is not equipped to manufacture products by the myriad of processes put before it and then obtain prior art products and make physical comparisons therewith.” In re Brown, 459 F.2d 531, 535, 173 USPQ 685, 688 (CCPA 1972).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Lee et al. (KR 10-2018-0043137, a translation of which is provided on IDS filed 9/27/2024).
Lee et al. discloses a composition comprising an ethanolic extract of Asimina triloba, e.g. the pawpaw or papaw tree (Abstract).
Lee discloses that extracted compounds (e.g. rutin) from leaves of Asimina triloba have an active effect against cancer and diabetes, a metabolic disease (see e.g. “Effects of the Invention”, pg. 4 of the provided translation).
Lee states that the pawpaw extract and the compounds found therein have antioxidant, antibiotic, anti-diabetic, and anticancer activities (pg. 3, 4th paragraph).
Lee does not expressly teach that the extract inhibits differentiation of preadipocyte cells and inhibits expression of transcription factors involved in adipogenesis and preadipocyte cell differentiation, a functional property recited in claim 6.
However, because the extract that is claimed is identical to that taught in Lee (e.g. Lee tests extracts with 50% ethanol in water and 70% ethanol), it is predictable that the composition disclosed in Lee will inherently have the functional properties and activities claimed herein.
See MPEP § 2112.01, “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990)”.
Therefore, the composition of Lee is deemed to anticipate the claimed extract, because the referenced composition is essentially the same as that which is claimed, and the discovery of a previously unappreciated functional property does not result in a patentable product. See MPEP § 2112.I: "[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer." Atlas Powder Co. v. IRECO Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Thus the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977)”.
In the alternative, even if the composition is not identical to the referenced composition, with regard to some unidentified characteristics, the differences between that which is claimed and that which is disclosed is so slight that the referenced composition is likely to inherently possess the same characteristics of the claimed composition, particularly in view of the similar characteristics which they have been shown to share and by the functions of the component materials (e.g. the active ingredients of rutin, phenolics and flavonoids) that are inherently present in each and which functions are inclusive of those appreciated in the instant disclosure as being present (see MPEP 2112.02 at Ex parte Novitski, in reference to reference-silent functioning of biological materials providing anticipation of the functions based upon the material itself (noting the reference of “Dart” therein did not appreciate the claimed function but still anticipated the function based on the inherent function of the material, and that the Applicant’s disclosure appreciating the function upon usage thereof as further evidence of the presence of the function).
Thus, the claimed composition comprising an Asimina triloba extract, and the therapeutic effects upon administration thereof, would have been anticipated, or in the alternative, at least obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art within the meaning of 35 USC § 103(a).
From the teachings of the reference, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention, as ethanolic extracts of pawpaw are taught explicitly in Lee.
Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention, as evidenced by Lee, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Accordingly, the claimed invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious, if not anticipated by Lee, especially in the absence of sufficient, clear, and convincing evidence to the contrary.
Citation of Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Choi et al. ("Anti‐adipogenic activity of rutin in 3T3‐L1 cells and mice fed with high‐fat diet." Biofactors 26.4 (2006): 273-281.) teaches testing many polyphenolic compounds from plants, and found that multiple compounds inhibited adipocyte development from 3T3-L1 cells (Abstract, Title, Fig. 1). Choi teaches that rutin was the most effective in suppressing adipocyte differentiation in a dosage dependent manner and rutin inhibited the expression of PPARγ and C/EBPα ( (Fig. 2, Fig. 5, Abstract).
The following references are not valid prior art, due to the later filing dates, but are herein cited to establish the properties of Asimina triloba extracts, and the level of knowledge in the art around the time of the invention.
Lee et al. ("Asimina triloba (pawpaw) fruit extract suppresses adipocyte differentiation and lipogenesis-related protein expression in 3T3-L1 cells." Applied Biological Chemistry 66.1 (2023):75) teaches that an A. triloba 70% ethanolic fruit extract effectively suppressed lipid droplet formation, and inhibited the expression of crucial proteins involved in adipogenesis, namely sterol regulatory element-binding protein 1, peroxisome proliferator-activated receptor γ, and fatty acid synthase (Abstract, Fig. 4). Lee concludes that A. triloba fruit has the potential to prevent obesity by inhibiting fat synthesis and may serve as a natural source for anti-obesity functional agents (Abstract, Fig. 5).
Iobe et al. (“Effects of Pawpaw (Asimina triloba) Seed Extract on the Differentiation and Fat Accumulation of 3T3-L1 Cells under Different Glucose Conditions.” Journal of nutritional science and vitaminology vol. 69,1 (2023): 53-61. doi:10.3177/jnsv.69.53) discloses that Asimina triloba (pawpaw) contains various bioactive alkaloids and acetogenins and studied the effects of pawpaw seed extract (PSE) on adipocyte differentiation and fat accumulation were investigated in 3T3-L1 cells (Abstract, Title). Iobe teaches that PSE treatment under low-glucose conditions resulted in reduced accumulation of triglycerides and decreased expression of peroxisome proliferator-activated receptor (PPAR)-γ, CAAT/enhancer-binding protein (C/EBP)-α, and sterol regulatory element binding protein (SREBP)-1c in adipocyte-differentiated cells (Abstract).
Takano et al. (“Pawpaw (Asimina triloba) Seed Extract Suppresses High-Fat Diet-Induced Obesity in Mice.” International journal of molecular sciences vol. 26,16 7719. 9 Aug. 2025, doi:10.3390/ijms26167719) studied the effects of pawpaw seed extract (PSE) on obesity and plasma lipid concentrations were investigated in mice with high-fat diet (HFD)-induced obesity (Abstract), and teaches that administration of high-dose PSE decreased the expression of Fasn (fatty acid synthase) and Dgat2 (diglyceride acyltransferase 2) (e.g. Fig. 4).
Conclusion
No claims are allowable.
/A.T.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1655
/ANAND U DESAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1655