DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 31-39 47-50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(2) as being anticipated by US 2003/0199087 (Buchanan).
Buchanan teaches a method of providing an arabinoxylan food product from corn fiber (including pericarp) [0031][0067-0072], by providing a corn material, enzymatically de-starching the corn material to provide a de-starched corn material, maintaining an aqueous mixture of the de-starched corn material at an extraction pH in the range of 5-14 for a time (about an hour) and at a temperature (60-100 degrees C) [0095-0096] effective to extract arabinoxylan from the de-starched corn material into an aqueous phase of the aqueous mixture and to provide a corn residue. Buchanan further teaches separating the aqueous phase containing the extracted arabinoxylan from the corn residue [0098] and “providing” the arabinoxylan product from the aqueous phase using filtration and centrifugation [0135].
Buchanan is silent on the product “comprising a dietary fiber content in the range of 60-95% by weight on a dry solids basis; a digestible carbohydrate content of less than 20% by weight on a dry solids basis; a protein content of less than 15% by weight on a dry solids basis; and a fat content of less than 10% by weight on a dry solids basis” however Buchanan teaches the method steps as claimed and the liquid comprising arabinoxylan disclosed in Buchanan would necessary having a number average molecular weight in the range of 2000 to 6000 g/mol [0031,0135, 0136, 0140, and 0141] arabinoxylan have a weight average molecular weight in the range of 50,000 to 400,000 g/mol as well as a polydiversity of 5-25.
Note that MPEP § 706.3(e) states that:
"[w]hen the prior art discloses a product which reasonably appears to be either identical with or only slightly different than a product claimed in a product-by-process claim, a rejection based alternatively on either section 35 U.S.C. 102 or 35 U.S.C. 103 of the statute is appropriate. As a practical matter, the Patent and Trademark Office is not equipped to manufacture products by the myriad of processes put before it and then obtain prior art products and make physical comparisons therewith. A lesser burden of proof is required to make out a case of prima facie obviousness for product-by-process claims because of their peculiar nature than when a product is claimed in the conventional fashion. In re Brown, 59 CCPA 1063, 173 USPQ 685 (1972) ; In re Fessmann, 180 USPQ 324 (CCPA1974)."
The Patent and Trademark Office is not equipped to conduct experimentation in order to determine whether or not Applicants' resultant arabinoxylan differ and, if so, to what extent, from that discussed in the references. Therefore, with the showing of the references, the burden of establishing novelty (or even non-obviousness) by objective evidence is shifted to Applicants.
Significantly, applicant provides no factual evidence whatsoever to refute the holding of anticipation. Note specifically that on the current record the only way of overcoming such a clear holding of anticipation is factual proof that the rejection is in error. See MPEP § 2112, disclosing that once a proper holding of anticipation is made, the burden shifts to applicant to demonstrate an unobvious difference between the claims and the prior art. See also, In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977) (“the PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his claimed product”). Because applicant has not demonstrated any difference between the claimed products and the prior art products, the rejection must be made
Th reference anticipates the claim subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 31-50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buchanan (above).
Buchanan teaches a method of providing an arabinoxylan food product from corn fiber (including pericarp) [0031][0067-0072], by providing a corn material, enzymatically de-starching the corn material to provide a de-starched corn material, maintaining an aqueous mixture of the de-starched corn material at an extraction pH in the range of 5-14 for a time (about an hour) and at a temperature (60-100 degrees C) [0095-0096] effective to extract arabinoxylan from the de-starched corn material into an aqueous phase of the aqueous mixture and to provide a corn residue. Buchanan further teaches separating the aqueous phase containing the extracted arabinoxylan from the corn residue [0098] and “providing” the arabinoxylan product from the aqueous phase using filtration and centrifugation [0135].
Buchanan is silent on the product “comprising a dietary fiber content in the range of 60-95% by weight on a dry solids basis; a digestible carbohydrate content of less than 20% by weight on a dry solids basis; a protein content of less than 15% by weight on a dry solids basis; and a fat content of less than 10% by weight on a dry solids basis” however Buchanan teaches the method steps as claimed and the liquid comprising arabinoxylan disclosed in Buchanan would seem to having a number average molecular weight in the range of 2000 to 6000 g/mol [0031,0135, 0136, 0140, and 0141] arabinoxylan have a weight average molecular weight in the range of 50,000 to 400,000 g/mol as well as a polydiversity of 5-25.
Even if Buchanan does not teach all possible iterations of application’s claimed method and resultant product, those method and product variations would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed because Buchanon clearly teaches a method of providing an arabinoxylan food product from corn fiber using the same steps and slight modification of ethe steps and thus the resultant product would have been well within the purview of eth skilled artisan as directed by Buchanan. Slight variations in results are expected in microbiological/biochemical processes such as described herein. Any differences noted do not appear to rise to the level of unexpected or unobvious.
Applicant is directed to pages 12-13 of KSR v Teleflex (500 US 398 2007) “ … the Court has held that a “patent for a combination which only unites old elements with no change in their respective functions . . . obviously withdraws what is already known into the field of its monopoly and diminishes the resources available to skillful men.” Great Atlantic & Pacific Tea Co. v. Supermarket Equipment Corp., 340 U. S. 147, 152 (1950). This is a principal reason for declining to allow patents for what is obvious. The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results.” “When a work is available in one field of endeavor, design incentives and other market forces can prompt variations of it, either in the same field or a different one(emphasis added). If a person of ordinary skill can implement a predictable variation, §103 likely bars its patentability. For the same reason, if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill.”
"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.); >see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 ("The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.");< ** In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) (Claimed elastomeric polyurethanes which fell within the broad scope of the references were held to be unpatentable thereover because, among other reasons, there was no evidence of the criticality of the claimed ranges of molecular weight or molar proportions.). For more recent cases applying this principle, see Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Laboratories Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Accordingly, the claimed invention was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary
skill in the art at the time the invention was filed especially in the absence of evidence
to the contrary.
BLAINE LANKFORD
Examiner
Art Unit 1657
/BLAINE LANKFORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1657