DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claim(s) 1, 2, 7, 8, 9, 14, 18, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mazloum (US PG Pub. No. 2025/0088968).
As per claim 1:
Mazloum teaches a method for transmitting power information of a low-power wake- up signal, performed by a user device (see abstract: teaches a method of operating a mobile device (UE) is a power saving mode. The power saving mode is associated with a low power wakeup signal), the method comprising:
receiving power configuration information from a first network device (see Figure 7, paragraph [0076], step 7107, UE obtains a message from the AN indicative of first power save mode configuration and second power save mode configuration), wherein the power configuration information is configured to indicate power information for a low-power wake-up signal (see paragraph [0079], the UE may enter an idle mode and based on a procedure illustrated in FIG. 5 enter the first power save mode or the second power save mode. In particular, the UE may deactivate the UE’s main receiver and monitor 7207 for low power wake-up signals according to the first power save mode or according to the second power save mode with the UE’s low power wake-up receiver. Thus, first and second power save modes corresponds to low power wake-up signals), the low-power wake-up signal being received by a set receiver of the user device (see paragraph [0079], disclose low power wake-up signals are received at the UE’s low power wake-up receiver).
As per claim 2:
Mazloum teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein receiving the power configuration information from the first network device comprises:
receiving a system message broadcast by the first network device, the system message comprising the power configuration information (see paragraph [0073], message 7105 may be provided using broadcast signals. Said message 7105 includes second power save mode configuration and also one or more low power wake-up signals, please see paragraph [0072]).
As per claim 7:
Mazloum teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising: receiving frequency-domain position configuration information from the first network device, wherein the frequency-domain position configuration information is configured to indicate a frequency-domain position of the low-power wake-up signal (see paragraph [0072], AN may provide a message 7105 indicative of a second power save mode configuration to the UE. The message 7106 may also indicate the time-frequency resources, in which the low power wake-up signals).
As per claim 8:
Mazloum teaches a method for transmitting power information of a low-power wake- up signal, performed by a first network device (see paragraph [0008], a method of operating an access node (AN) comprising obtaining, for a UE, a first power save configuration indicative of a time schedule for pre-defined main signal time intervals and a time schedule for a pre-defined low power wake-up signal time intervals), the method comprising:
sending power configuration information to a user device (see Figure 7, paragraph [0076], step 7107, UE obtains a message from the AN indicative of first power save mode configuration and second power save mode configuration), wherein the power configuration information is configured to indicate power information for a low- power wake-up signal (see paragraph [0079], the UE may enter an idle mode and based on a procedure illustrated in FIG. 5 enter the first power save mode or the second power save mode. In particular, the UE may deactivate the UE’s main receiver and monitor 7207 for low power wake-up signals according to the first power save mode or according to the second power save mode with the UE’s low power wake-up receiver. Thus, first and second power save modes corresponds to low power wake-up signals), the low-power wake-up signal being received by a set receiver of the user device (see paragraph [0079], disclose low power wake-up signals are received at the UE’s low power wake-up receiver).
As per claim 9:
Mazloum teaches the method according to claim 8, wherein sending the power configuration information to the user device comprises:
broadcasting a system message, the system message comprising the power configuration information (see paragraph [0073], message 7105 may be provided using broadcast signals. Said message 7105 includes second power save mode configuration and also one or more low power wake-up signals, please see paragraph [0072]).
As per claim 14:
Mazloum teaches the method according to claim 8, further comprising: sending frequency-domain position configuration information to the user device, wherein the frequency-domain position configuration information is configured to indicate a frequency-domain position of the low-power wake-up signal (see paragraph [0072], AN may provide a message 7105 indicative of a second power save mode configuration to the UE. The message 7106 may also indicate the time-frequency resources, in which the low power wake-up signals).
As per claim 18:
Mazloum teaches a communication device (see Figure 2, UE 2100), comprising:
a processor (see Figure 2, CPU 2111);
a memory storing a computer program (see Figure 2, MEM 2112);
wherein the processor (see paragraph [0025], control circuitry 2110 comprising processor 2111 and memory 2112 operates the UE 2100 according to the methods described) is configured to:
receive power configuration information from a first network device (see Figure 7, paragraph [0076], step 7107, UE obtains a message from the AN indicative of first power save mode configuration and second power save mode configuration), wherein the power configuration information is configured to indicate power information for a low-power wake-up signal (see paragraph [0079], the UE may enter an idle mode and based on a procedure illustrated in FIG. 5 enter the first power save mode or the second power save mode. In particular, the UE may deactivate the UE’s main receiver and monitor 7207 for low power wake-up signals according to the first power save mode or according to the second power save mode with the UE’s low power wake-up receiver. Thus, first and second power save modes corresponds to low power wake-up signals), the low-power wake-up signal being received by a set receiver of a user device (see paragraph [0079], disclose low power wake-up signals are received at the UE’s low power wake-up receiver).
As per claim 19:
Mazloum teaches a communication device (see Figure 2, AN 2200), comprising:
a processor (see Figure 2, CPU 2211);
a memory storing a computer program (see Figure 2, MEM 2212);
wherein the processor is configured to perform the method according to claim 8 (see paragraph [0025], control circuitry 2210 comprising processor 2211 and memory 2212 operates the AN 2200 according to methods described).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim(s) 3, 10, 20, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mazloum in view of Liu (US PG Pub. No. 2019/0103950).
As per claim 3:
Mazloum teaches the method according to claim 1 with the exception of:
wherein the power information indicates a power offset of the low-power wake-up signal with respect to a synchronization signal block (SSB).
Liu teaches wherein the power information indicates a power offset of the low-power wake-up signal with respect to a synchronization signal block (SSB) (see paragraph [0089], the BS 110 may configure a power level for the wakeup signal. The power level may include a power offset relative to a synchronization signal).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the power offset (as disclosed in Liu) into Mazloum as a way of enabling the UE to perform synchronization and/or determine the reference value based at least in part on the power level of the wakeup signal (please see paragraph [0089] of Liu).
Claim 10 is rejected in the same scope as claim 3.
As per claim 20:
Mazloum teaches generally teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (see Figure 2, UE 2100 comprising MEM 2112) but not clearly
having stored therein instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform the method according to claim 1.
Liu teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored therein instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform the method according to claim 1 (see paragraphs [0046]-[0047], disclose a computer-readable media for storing instructions and executed by processor).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the computer readable media for storing instructions (as disclosed in Liu) into Mazloum as a way of implementing aspects of the system or apparatus (please see paragraphs [0045]-[0047] of Liu).
As per claim 21:
Mazloum generally teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (see Figure 2, MEM 2212) but not clearly
having stored therein instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform the method according to claim 8.
Liu teaches Liu teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored therein instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform the method according to claim 8 (see paragraphs [0046]-[0047], disclose a computer-readable media for storing instructions and executed by processor).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the computer readable media for storing instructions (as disclosed in Liu) into Mazloum as a way of implementing aspects of the system or apparatus (please see paragraphs [0045]-[0047] of Liu).
5. Claims 5, 6, 12, 13 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mazloum in view of Ljung (US PG Pub. No. 2020/0022081).
As per claim 5:
Mazloum teaches the method according to claim 1 with the exception of:
further comprising:
receiving time-domain configuration information from the first network device, wherein the time-domain configuration information comprises information for indicating a number of repeated transmissions of the low-power wake-up signal.
Ljung teaches further comprising:
receiving time-domain configuration information from the first network device, wherein the time-domain configuration information comprises information for indicating a number of repeated transmissions of the low-power wake-up signal (see paragraph [0098], the control message 4001 may be indicative of the CE level used for communicating wake-up signals, i.e., the number of repetitions. Paragraph [0103] also disclose multiple transmission opportunities for communicating the wake-up signal are implemented by reoccurring resources 202. Paragraph [0014] also disclose the wake-up signal is received by the terminal from the base station by means of a low-power receiver and thus the wake-up signal is a low-power signal).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement wakeup signal configuration (as disclosed in Ljung) into Mazloum as a way of reducing the power consumption of the UE (please see paragraph [0102] of Ljung).
As per claim 6:
Mazloum in view of Ljung teaches the method according to claim 5.
Mazloum does not teach wherein a plurality of repetitions of the low-power wake-up signal are continuous in time domain.
Ljung teaches wherein a plurality of repetitions of the low-power wake-up signal are continuous in time domain (see paragraph [0098], the control message 4001 may be indicative of the CE level used for communicating wake-up signals, i.e., the number of repetitions. Paragraph [0103] also disclose multiple transmission opportunities for communicating the wake-up signal are implemented by reoccurring resources 202. Paragraph [0014] also disclose the wake-up signal is received by the terminal from the base station by means of a low-power receiver and thus the wake-up signal is a low-power signal).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement wakeup signal configuration (as disclosed in Ljung) into Mazloum as a way of reducing the power consumption of the UE (please see paragraph [0102] of Ljung).
Claim 12 is rejected in the same scope as claim 5.
Claim 13 is rejected in the same scope as claim 6.
As per claim 22:
Mazloum teaches the method according to claim 2 with the exception of:
further comprising: receiving time-domain configuration information from the first network device, wherein the time-domain configuration information comprises information for indicating a number of repeated transmissions of the low-power wake-up signal.
Ljung teaches further comprising: receiving time-domain configuration information from the first network device, wherein the time-domain configuration information comprises information for indicating a number of repeated transmissions of the low-power wake-up signal (see paragraph [0098], the control message 4001 may be indicative of the CE level used for communicating wake-up signals, i.e., the number of repetitions. Paragraph [0103] also disclose multiple transmission opportunities for communicating the wake-up signal are implemented by reoccurring resources 202. Paragraph [0014] also disclose the wake-up signal is received by the terminal from the base station by means of a low-power receiver and thus the wake-up signal is a low-power signal).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement wakeup signal configuration (as disclosed in Ljung) into Mazloum as a way of reducing the power consumption of the UE (please see paragraph [0102] of Ljung).
6. Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mazloum in view of Nam (US PG Pub. No. 2020/0267646).
As per claim 15:
Mazloum teaches the method according to claim 14 with the exception of:
further comprising: sending the frequency-domain position configuration information to a second network device.
Nam teaches further comprising: sending the frequency-domain position configuration information to a second network device (see paragraph [0093], the wakeup signal configuration may include a number of wakeup grouping sets and a number of wakeup signaling monitoring occasions. UEs may be configured with wakeup grouping sets based at least in part on a resource allocation such as mapping of frequency and time resources).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the application to incorporate the wakeup signal configuration for the group of UEs (as disclosed in Nam) into Mazloum as way of providing power efficiencies to the group of UEs and also benefit UEs with improved power savings (please see paragraph [0094] of Nam).
Allowable Subject Matter
7. Claims 4 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
PRINCE AKWASI. MENSAH
Examiner
Art Unit 2474
/PRINCE A MENSAH/Examiner, Art Unit 2474
/Michael Thier/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2474