Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17-19,22-26,29-33,36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung et al (US 20190324593) in view of SCHREIBER GERHARD et al (WO 2004023179 A1)
Regarding Claim 17,
Chung et al discloses (Figure 2c and Figure 5) a Fresnel membrane, comprising: a substrate (250 is the substrate that makes up the Fresnel lens); Fresnel teeth (252) located on a surface of the substrate (250); a through hole (called the notch, 255) that is provided in a thickness direction of the Fresnel membrane (250) and the Fresnel teeth (252). The notch may be in the form of a circle (255) wherein the through-hole extends to form a closed circle; as shown in Figure 5 is filled with reinforcement material having a good light absorption rate to prevent light emitted from the light emitting unit from directly reaching the light receiving unit, thereby reducing optical crosstalk.
Chung et al does not disclose a through-hole that is provided in a thickness direction of the Fresnel membrane and runs through the substrate and the Fresnel teeth, and light-shielding ink that is stuffed in the through-hole, and the light-shielding ink divides the Fresnel membrane into two regions that are spaced apart from each other; and the light-shielding ink (255) divides the Fresnel membrane into two regions that are spaced apart from each other.
SCHREIBER GERHARD et al discloses a through-hole that is provided in a thickness direction of the Fresnel membrane and runs through the substrate and the Fresnel teeth (“…and said at least one trench extends through said lower, core and upper layers…), and light-shielding ink that is stuffed in the through-hole (“…the trench is filled with a material capable of absorbing stray light…”),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Chung et al to include SCHREIBER GERHARD et al’s through-hole that is provided in a thickness direction of the Fresnel membrane and runs through the substrate and the Fresnel teeth motivated by the desire to improve isolation and reduced crosstalk.
Regarding Claim 18,25,
In addition to Chung et al and SCHREIBER GERHARD et al, One would have recognized that wherein the light-shielding ink extends by a width of 0.8 mm to 1.2 mm as a result-effective variable able to be optimized for shielding light.
Regarding Claim 19,
In addition to Chung et al and SCHREIBER GERHARD et al, Chung et al (Figure 2c and Figure 5) discloses wherein the light-shielding ink (255) divides the Fresnel membrane into an optical emit region and an optical receive region that are spaced apart (where the notch is 255) from each other, and the light-shielding ink surrounds the optical emit region.
Regarding Claim 22,29,32,
In addition to Chung et al and SCHREIBER GERHARD et al, Chung et al (Figure 2c and Figure 5) discloses wherein the substrate (250) and the Fresnel teeth (252) are integrally formed.
Regarding Claim 23,30,
In addition to Chung et al and SCHREIBER GERHARD et al, Chung et al (Figure 2c and Figure 5) discloses wherein the substrate (250) and the Fresnel teeth (252) are both transparent plastic materials [0055].
Regarding Claim 24,
Chung et al (Figure 2c and Figure 5) discloses An optical detection module, comprising: a Fresnel membrane, wherein the Fresnel membrane comprises: a substrate (250) is the substrate that makes up the Fresnel lens(250); Fresnel teeth (252) located on a surface of the substrate (250); The notch may be in the form of a circle (255) wherein the through-hole extends to form a closed circle; as shown in Figure 5 is filled with reinforcement material having a good light absorption rate to prevent light emitted from the light emitting unit from directly reaching the light receiving unit, thereby reducing optical crosstalk.
Chung et al does not disclose a through-hole that is provided in a thickness direction of the Fresnel membrane and runs through the substrate and the Fresnel teeth, wherein the through-hole extends to form a closed circle; and light-shielding ink that is stuffed in the through-hole, wherein the light-shielding ink divides the Fresnel membrane into two regions that are spaced apart from each other; and a light-emitting element and a photoelectric sensor that are disposed on a side of the Fresnel membrane, wherein the side of the Fresnel membrane faces away from the Fresnel teeth, wherein the light-shielding ink divides the Fresnel membrane into an optical emit region and an optical receive region that are spaced apart from each other, the light-emitting element is disposed in alignment with the optical emit region of the Fresnel membrane, and the photoelectric sensor is disposed in alignment with the optical receive region of the Fresnel membrane.
SCHREIBER GERHARD et al discloses a through-hole that is provided in a thickness direction of the Fresnel membrane and runs through the substrate and the Fresnel teeth (“…and said at least one trench extends through said lower, core and upper layers…), and light-shielding ink that is stuffed in the through-hole (“…the trench is filled with a material capable of absorbing stray light…”),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Chung et al to include SCHREIBER GERHARD et al’s through-hole that is provided in a thickness direction of the Fresnel membrane and runs through the substrate and the Fresnel teeth motivated by the desire to improve isolation and reduced crosstalk.
Regarding Claim 26,33,
In addition to Chung et al and SCHREIBER GERHARD et al, Chung et al (Figure 2c and Figure 5) disclose wherein the light-shielding ink (255) surrounds the optical emit region (center region).
Regarding Claim 31,
Chung et al (Figure 2c and Figure 5) discloses An optical detection module, comprising: a Fresnel membrane, wherein the Fresnel membrane comprises: a substrate (250) is the substrate that makes up the Fresnel lens(250); Fresnel teeth (252) located on a surface of the substrate (250); The notch may be in the form of a circle (255) wherein the through-hole extends to form a closed circle; as shown in Figure 5 is filled with reinforcement material having a good light absorption rate to prevent light emitted from the light emitting unit from directly reaching the light receiving unit, thereby reducing optical crosstalk.
Chung et al does not disclose a through-hole that is provided in a thickness direction of the Fresnel membrane and runs through the substrate and the Fresnel teeth, wherein the through-hole extends to form a closed circle; and light-shielding ink that is stuffed in the through-hole, wherein the light-shielding ink divides the Fresnel membrane into two regions that are spaced apart from each other; and a light-emitting element and a photoelectric sensor that are disposed on a side of the Fresnel membrane, wherein the side of the Fresnel membrane faces away from the Fresnel teeth, wherein the light-shielding ink divides the Fresnel membrane into an optical emit region and an optical receive region that are spaced apart from each other, the light-emitting element is disposed in alignment with the optical emit region of the Fresnel membrane, and the photoelectric sensor is disposed in alignment with the optical receive region of the Fresnel membrane.
SCHREIBER GERHARD et al discloses a through-hole that is provided in a thickness direction of the Fresnel membrane and runs through the substrate and the Fresnel teeth (“…and said at least one trench extends through said lower, core and upper layers…), and light-shielding ink that is stuffed in the through-hole (“…the trench is filled with a material capable of absorbing stray light…”),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Chung et al to include SCHREIBER GERHARD et al’s through-hole that is provided in a thickness direction of the Fresnel membrane and runs through the substrate and the Fresnel teeth motivated by the desire to improve isolation and reduced crosstalk.
Regarding Claim 36,
In addition to Chung et al and SCHREIBER GERHARD et al, Chung et al (Figure 2c and Figure 5) disclose wherein at least one of: the substrate (250) and the Fresnel teeth (252) are integrally formed; or the substrate and the Fresnel teeth are both transparent plastic materials [0055].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 20,21,27,28,34,35, are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claim 20,
The prior art does not disclose nor would it be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include another reference to disclose wherein the through-hole comprises a first groove and a second groove that communicate with each other, the first groove and the second groove are partially aligned in the thickness direction of the Fresnel membrane, each of the first groove and the second groove extends to form a closed circle, and the light-shielding ink is stuffed in the first groove and the second groove because there would be no motivation to do so.
Regarding Claim 21,
The prior art does not disclose nor would it be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include another reference to disclose wherein the through-hole comprises a first groove and a second groove that are arranged in the thickness direction of the Fresnel membrane and that communicate with each other, each of the first groove and the second groove extends to form a closed circle, the light-shielding ink is stuffed in the first groove, and a material obtained after a material of the substrate undergoes laser ablation is in the second groove because there would be no motivation to do so.
Regarding Claim 27,
The prior art does not disclose nor would it be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include another reference to disclose wherein the through-hole comprises a first groove and a second groove that communicate with each other, the first groove and the second groove are partially aligned in the thickness direction of the Fresnel membrane, each of the first groove and the second groove extends to form a closed circle, and the light- shielding ink is stuffed in the first groove and the second groove.
Regarding Claim 28,
The prior art does not disclose nor would it be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include another reference to disclose wherein the through-hole comprises a first groove and a second groove that are arranged in the thickness direction of the Fresnel membrane and that communicate with each other, each of the first groove and the second groove extends to form a closed circle, the light-shielding ink is stuffed in the first groove, and a material obtained after a material of the substrate undergoes laser ablation is in the second groove.
Regarding Claim 34,
The prior art does not disclose nor would it be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include another reference to disclose wherein the through-hole comprises a first groove and a second groove that communicate with each other, the first groove and the second groove are partially aligned in the thickness direction of the Fresnel membrane, each of the first groove and the second groove extends to form a closed circle, and the light-shielding ink is stuffed in the first groove and the second groove.
Regarding Claim 35,
The prior art does not disclose nor would it be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include another reference to disclose wherein the through-hole comprises a first groove and a second groove that are arranged in the thickness direction of the Fresnel membrane and that communicate with each other, each of the first groove and the second groove extends to form a closed circle, the light-shielding ink is stuffed in the first groove, and a material obtained after a material of the substrate undergoes laser ablation is in the second groove.
Conclusion
/LUCY P CHIEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871