DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-5 have been examined and are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/27/2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 3 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 8: “…of being cyberattacked…” Recommend limitation to positive recite and remove intentional use terms.
Claim 1, lines 9-10: “an electric vehicle” and “a facility” due to line claim 1, lines 5 and 6. Recommend fixing antecedent basis.
Claim 3, line 2: “a facility.” Recommend fixing antecedent basis.
Claim 3, line 3: “power shortage” due to claim 1, line 9. Recommend fixing antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Junichi Shirasu et al, hereinafter (“Shirasu”), “Virtual power plants applying electric vehicle and plug-in hybrid vehicle batteries” was submitted in 09/27/2024 IDS, in view of Wang et al, hereinafter (“Wang”), US PG Publication 20200233956 A1, in view of Bridges et al, hereinafter (“Bridges”), US PG Publication 20150202976 A1.
Regarding currently amended claims 1 and 4, Shirasu teaches a power supply demand control device, comprising: a memory: and a processor coupled to the memory and configured to: [Shirasu et al 09/27/2024 IDS: 1 Introduction ¶2 virtual power plants (VPP) adjust, control, stabilize and monitor expected supply and demand of electricity; 2-1 Remote control system for charging ¶1 a management electrical vehicle (EV) server]
¶2 Fig. 1 shows EV server for linked with telematics server for acquiring vehicle information from an EV of Nissan Motor Co., Ltd; system for confirming participation or non-participation of EV charging control to EV owner via smartphone application. 3-2 Results of Raise DR & 3-3 Negative Watt Implementation Results charging power transition during normal times as well as negative watt implementation]
While Shirasu teaches the electric vehicle information [See 2-2 System considering going out in electric vehicles ¶2]; however, Shirasu fails to explicitly teach but Wang teaches 20200233956 A1 ¶0080 shutdown all or portion of EV charging infrastructure to detected potential cyber-attack or fault to be further investigated].
Shirasu teaches all the features of claims 1 and 4 not determine a specific electric vehicle that is suspected of being cyberattacked based on the electric vehicle information; and determine an electric vehicle to be sent to a facility where power shortage is forecasted based on the power information from one or more electric vehicles selected among a plurality of electric vehicles for which the electric vehicle information has been collected, excluding the specific electric vehicle. Wang teaches a framework for cyber-physical system protection of electric vehicle charging stations and power grid. Because both Shirasu and Wang teach system that provide power to electric vehicle charging station facilities, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to use the framework to protect charging stations and power grid from cyber-attacks as taught by Wang to improve the electrical vehicle’s operation and prevention of cyber-attacks [Wang ¶¶0005 and 0009].
While the combinate of Shirasu and Wang fail to explicitly teach but Bridges teaches r shortage is forecasted based on the power information from one or more electric vehicles selected among a plurality of electric vehicles for which the electric vehicle information has been collected, excluding the specific electric vehicle. [Bridges et al 20150202976 A1 ¶¶0098-009 0105 0108-0109 0112-0113 and 0116-0119 Fig. 4 shows a layout 400 of power aggregation system 100 providing benefits of power services, fine-grained control over resource scheduling, increased service levels via intelligent resource scheduling; where flow control center 102 connects to many different entities via Internet 104 like where Electrical connection location owners 410 can include: rental car lots, public parking lots, workplace parking, residences, and residential neighborhoods. Load availability for various points in the future where components can be running on a distributed set of resources (either physically or collocated or not), communicated and gather electric resources 112 data (connectedness, location, state (such as battery State-Of-Charge) ) and actuates charging/discharging of the electric resources 112 based on gathered real-time energy prices, real-time resource statistics, etc. ¶¶0178-0180 Managing power flow at the site-level is useful especially when the grid connection 1030 at the site 1020 is not capable of supporting every electric vehicle 1000, and/or other devices on site, that is simultaneously drawing power. A site power flow manager 1010 could address these issues, inter alia. Providing a power flow management system at the site-level allows important information to be taken as input, including but not limited to: electrical meter data for the site 1020 as a whole, and/or electrical meter data for specific charge points 1040 or banks of charge points. A site power flow manager 1010 can analyze the current, and the predicted future, state of the world. In doing so, the site power flow manager 1010 can make various determinations, including whether or not to allow certain devices/vehicles 1000 to draw power.]
The combination of Shirasu and Wang teach all the features of claims 1 and 4 not determine an electric vehicle to be sent to a facility where power shortage is forecasted based on the power information from one or more electric vehicles selected among a plurality of electric vehicles for which the electric vehicle information has been collected, excluding the specific electric vehicle. Wang teaches a framework for cyber-physical system protection of electric vehicle charging stations and power grid. Bridges teaches an electric vehicle power management systems. Because Shirasu, Wang, and Bridges teach supply electric power for auxiliary equipment of electrically propelled, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to use the framework to electric vehicle power management systems as taught by Bridges for improvement exist in managing power flow at local level [Bridges ¶0011].
Regarding currently amended claim 2, the combination of Shirasu, Wang, and Bridges teach claim 1 as described above.
However, the combination of Shirasu and Bridges fail to explicitly teach but Wang teaches wherein the processor is configured to determine the specific electric vehicle based on alert information included in the electric vehicle information, or alternatively, determine the specific electric vehicle based on public information on vulnerability to cyberattacks and vehicle type information included in the electric vehicle information. [Wang ¶0111 and 0118 providing alert based on adaptive and/or predictive modeling information as part of the comprehensive cybersecurity for IT, OT and physical layers of EVSE equipment, reducing the potential for damage to critical transportation and power delivery infrastructure; post-decision analysis (such as passing alertness to on operator with specific fault/diagnostic information) may be facilitated ]
The combination of Shirasu and Bridges teaches all the features of claims 1 and 4 not wherein the processor is configured to determine the specific electric vehicle based on alert information included in the electric vehicle information, or alternatively, determine the specific electric vehicle based on public information on vulnerability to cyberattacks and vehicle type information included in the electric vehicle information. Wang teaches a framework for cyber-physical system protection of electric vehicle charging stations and power grid. Because both Shirasu and Wang teach system that provide power to electric vehicle charging station facilities, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to use the framework to protect charging stations and power grid from cyber-attacks as taught by Wang to improve the electrical vehicle’s operation and prevention of cyber-attacks [Wang ¶¶0005 and 0009].
Regarding currently amended claim 3, the combination of Shirasu, Wang, and Bridges teach claim 1[[or 2]] as described above.
However, the combination of Shirasu and Wang fail to explicitly teach but Bridges wherein the processor is configured to determine a facility where power shortage is forecasted based on power capacity and power demand for each facility, which are included in the power information. [See Bridges et al 20150202976 A1 ¶¶0098-009 0105 0108-0109 0112-0113 and 0116-0119. ¶¶0178-0180 Managing power flow at the site-level is useful especially when the grid connection 1030 at the site 1020 is not capable of supporting every electric vehicle 1000, and/or other devices on site, that is simultaneously drawing power. A site power flow manager 1010 could address these issues, inter alia. Providing a power flow management system at the site-level allows important information to be taken as input, including but not limited to: electrical meter data for the site 1020 as a whole, and/or electrical meter data for specific charge points 1040 or banks of charge points. A site power flow manager 1010 can analyze the current, and the predicted future, state of the world. In doing so, the site power flow manager 1010 can make various determinations, including whether or not to allow certain devices/vehicles 1000 to draw power.]
The combination of Shirasu and Wang teach all the features of claims 1 and 4 not determine an electric vehicle to be sent to a facility where power shortage is forecasted based on the power information from one or more electric vehicles selected among a plurality of electric vehicles for which the electric vehicle information has been collected, excluding the specific electric vehicle. Wang teaches a framework for cyber-physical system protection of electric vehicle charging stations and power grid. Bridges teaches an electric vehicle power management systems. Because Shirasu, Wang, and Bridges teach supply electric power for auxiliary equipment of electrically propelled, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to use the framework to electric vehicle power management systems as taught by Bridges for improvement exist in managing power flow at local level [Bridges ¶0011].
Regarding currently amended claim 5, the combination of Shirasu, Wang, and Bridges teach claim 4 as described above.
However, the combination of Shirasu and Wang fail to explicitly teach but Bridges a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a[[A]] program for causing a computer to perform the method of claim 4 ¶0027]
The combination of Shirasu and Wang teach all the features of claims 1 and 4 not a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a program for causing a computer to perform the method of claim 4. Wang teaches a framework for cyber-physical system protection of electric vehicle charging stations and power grid. Bridges teaches an electric vehicle power management systems. Because Shirasu, Wang, and Bridges teach supply electric power for auxiliary equipment of electrically propelled, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to use the framework to electric vehicle power management systems as taught by Bridges for improvement exist in managing power flow at local level [Bridges ¶0011].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jeong et al 8688305 teaches a System for managing vehicle energy, and method and apparatus for same.
SAKINAH WHITE-TAYLOR
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2407
/Sakinah White-Taylor/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2407