DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/27/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because they include rectangular boxes without appropriate legends. For example, elements 10, 100, 110, 1102-1114, 120, 130 etc. of FIG. 1, S210-S208 of FIG. 2 and 30 of FIG. 3 need appropriate legends. Empty or not labeled rectangular boxes in a circuit are not descriptive, and therefore incomplete. See 37 CFR 1.83(a) and 1.84(o).
Suitable descriptive legends are required by the examiner as necessary for understanding of the drawing. They should contain as few words as possible. See 37 CFR 1.84(o).
Corrected drawings are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3, 6, 9, 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation " the requested light source ID " in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation " the requested light source ID " in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation " the requested light source ID " in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation " the requested light source ID " in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 recites the limitation " the requested light source ID " in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 14 recites the limitation " the requested light source ID " in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang (Pub. No.: US 20140300276 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches a method (FIG. 7, steps S.1-S1.4) for updating a database of light sources of a lighting system (FIG. 1), each entry of the database correlating a light source ID (FIG. 1, ACD) of a light source (FIG. 1, 2-1) of the lighting system with an associated location of the light source (FIG. 1, R2), the method comprising:
receiving a light source ID (FIG. 7, S.3) from a light source communicatively connected to the lighting system (FIG. 6, TX/RX, 29);
comparing the received light source ID with entries of the database (FIG. 7, S.11); upon the database lacking an entry corresponding to the received light source ID:
requesting the light source associated with the received light source ID (FIG. 7, S.6) to initiate a change of state, wherein the change of state of the light source is one (paragraph [0043], “the luminaires are switched on individually one by one in a sequence. However, the luminaires alternatively could be configured to emit light in an individual pulse code sequence corresponding to their network ID, in which case they could be switched on concurrently either all together or in groups in order to reduce the time taken for the commissioning process”) or more of: an adjustment of an intensity of light emitted by the light source and an adjustment of a correlated color temperature of light emitted by the light source (paragraph [0044], “the ACDs may detect the intensity of the illumination from the luminaire to determine which of two or more ACDs is closest to the luminaire under test and to associate the luminaire with the ACD 6 which detected the greatest light intensity, indicating that it is closest”),
monitoring for a sensor signal (FIG. 2, photo sensor 13) indicative of an occurrence of the change of state (FIG. 7, S.7) among sensor signals of light sensors distributed in locations served by the lighting system, thereby determining a location of the light source associated with the received light source ID (paragraph [0034], “the individual luminaires are correlated with respective ACDs in order to determine the room in which the luminaires are located individually), and
adding an entry to the database (paragraph [0026], “Each of the luminaires has a network address, which is stored as a digital code for example in memory 23 associated with processor 19”), the added entry correlating the received light source ID with the determined location of the light source (FIG. 7, Correlate switched on luminaire ID with ACD ID and determine room location).
Regarding claim 2, Wang further teaches requesting the light source ID from the light source (paragraph [0031], “At step S3, the network addresses or IDs of all of the luminaires in rooms R1-R5 are provided to the controller 15 and stored in memory 32. This can be achieved by the controller 15 forming an ad-hoc network with the luminaires and broadcasting an enquiry using the controller transceiver 29 and antenna 30, which is received by the respective antennas 17 of the luminaires”).
Regarding claim 10, Wang teaches a control engine (FIG. 1 & 6, Central controller 15) comprising: circuitry (FIG. 6) configured to execute:
a receiving function (FIG. 7, S.3) configured to receive a light source ID (FIG. 1, ACD) from a light source communicatively connected to the control engine (FIG. 6, TX/RX, 29);
a comparing function configured to compare the received light source ID with entries of a database (FIG. 7, S.11), each entry of the database correlating a light source ID with an associated location (FIG. 7, S.7 and S.9); and
wherein the circuitry further configured to execute, upon the database lacking an entry corresponding to the received light source ID (FIG. 7, 35, and paragraph [0035]);
a first requesting function-configured to request the light source associated with the received light source ID to initiate a change of state (FIG. 7, S.6), wherein the first requesting function configured to request the change of state of the light source (FIG. 7) by being configured to request an adjustment of a light intensity of light emitted by the light source (paragraph [0044], “the ACDs may detect the intensity of the illumination from the luminaire to determine which of two or more ACDs is closest to the luminaire under test and to associate the luminaire with the ACD 6 which detected the greatest light intensity, indicating that it is closest”);
a monitoring function configured to monitor for a sensor signal (FIG. 2, photo sensor 13) indicative of an occurrence of the change of state among sensor signals of light sensors distributed in a plurality of locations (FIG. 1, R1, R2, R3, R4 & R5) thereby determining a location of the light source associated with the received light source ID (paragraph [0034], “the individual luminaires are correlated with respective ACDs in order to determine the room in which the luminaires are located individually); and
an adding function configured to add an entry to the database (paragraph [0026], “Each of the luminaires has a network address, which is stored as a digital code for example in memory 23 associated with processor 19”), the added entry correlating the received light source ID with the determined location of the light source (FIG. 7, Correlate switched on luminaire ID with ACD ID and determine room location).
Regarding claim 11, Wang further teaches the circuitry is further configured to execute: a second requesting function configured to request the light source ID from the light source (paragraph [0031], “At step S3, the network addresses or IDs of all of the luminaires in rooms R1-R5 are provided to the controller 15 and stored in memory 32. This can be achieved by the controller 15 forming an ad-hoc network with the luminaires and broadcasting an enquiry using the controller transceiver 29 and antenna 30, which is received by the respective antennas 17 of the luminaires”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (Pub. No.: US 20140300276 A1) in view of Anderson et a. (US 20200288558 A1), hereafter Anderson.
Regarding claim 4, Wang teaches a control engine (FIG. 1 & 6, Central controller 15) comprising: circuitry (FIG. 6) configured to execute:
a receiving function (FIG. 7, S.3) configured to receive a light source ID (FIG. 1, ACD) from a light source communicatively connected to the control engine (FIG. 6, TX/RX, 29);
a comparing function configured to compare the received light source ID with entries of a database (FIG. 7, S.11), each entry of the database correlating a light source ID with an associated location (FIG. 7, S.7 and S.9); and
wherein the circuitry further configured to execute, upon the database lacking an entry corresponding to the received light source ID (FIG. 7, 35, and paragraph [0035]);
a first requesting function-configured to request the light source associated with the received light source ID to initiate a change of state (FIG. 7, S.6), wherein the first requesting function configured to request the change of state of the light source (FIG. 7)
a monitoring function configured to monitor for a sensor signal (FIG. 2, photo sensor 13) indicative of an occurrence of the change of state among sensor signals of light sensors distributed in a plurality of locations (FIG. 1, R1, R2, R3, R4 & R5) thereby determining a location of the light source associated with the received light source ID (paragraph [0034], “the individual luminaires are correlated with respective ACDs in order to determine the room in which the luminaires are located individually); and
an adding function configured to add an entry to the database (paragraph [0026], “Each of the luminaires has a network address, which is stored as a digital code for example in memory 23 associated with processor 19”), the added entry correlating the received light source ID with the determined location of the light source (FIG. 7, Correlate switched on luminaire ID with ACD ID and determine room location).
Wang does not disclose request an adjustment of a correlated color temperature of light emitted by the light source.
Anderson teaches an adjustment of a correlated color temperature of light emitted by the light source (paragraph [0087], “the feedback may be provided by flashing the lighting load on and off, increasing and/or decreasing the intensity level of the lighting load, increasing and/or decreasing the color temperature of the lighting load) and paragraph [0105], “the lighting loads of the lighting fixtures 220a-220d may each comprise one or more internal detectors configured to perform optical feedback on the light emitted from the respective lighting load”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang in view of Anderson to incorporate adjustment of a correlated color temperature of light emitted by the light source for optimum color temperature at a required location..
Regarding claim 5, Wang as modified above further teaches the circuitry is further configured to execute: a second requesting function configured to request the light source ID from the light source (Wang, paragraph [0031], “At step S3, the network addresses or IDs of all of the luminaires in rooms R1-R5 are provided to the controller 15 and stored in memory 32. This can be achieved by the controller 15 forming an ad-hoc network with the luminaires and broadcasting an enquiry using the controller transceiver 29 and antenna 30, which is received by the respective antennas 17 of the luminaires”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 6, 9, 12-14 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 3, prior arts whether stand alone or in combination fail to teach or reasonably suggest the method according to Claim 2, comprising “lack of receipt of the requested light source ID from the light source after a predetermined number of requests and upon the database having an entry corresponding to the requested light source ID: removing the entry corresponding to the requested light source ID from the database”, as required in combination with the other limitations of the claim.
Regarding claim 6, prior arts whether stand alone or in combination fail to teach or reasonably suggest the circuitry according to Claim 5, comprising “upon lack of receipt of the requested light source ID from the light source after a predetermined number of requests and upon the database having an entry corresponding to the requested light source ID: a removing function configured to remove the entry corresponding to the requested light source ID from the database”, as required in combination with the other limitations of the claim.
Regarding claim 9, prior arts whether stand alone or in combination fail to teach or reasonably suggest the method according to Claim 2, comprising upon lack of receipt of the requested light source ID from the light source after a predetermined time period, and upon the database having an entry corresponding to the requested light source ID: removing the entry corresponding to the requested light source ID from the database”, as required in combination with the other limitations of the claim.
Regarding claim 12, prior arts whether stand alone or in combination fail to teach or reasonably suggest the control engine according to Claim 11, comprising “upon lack of receipt of the requested light source ID from the light source after a predetermined number of requests and upon the database having an entry corresponding to the requested light source ID: a removing function configured to remove the entry corresponding to the requested light source ID from the database”, as required in combination with the other limitations of the claim.
Regarding claim 13, prior arts whether stand alone or in combination fail to teach or reasonably suggest the control engine according to Claim 11, comprising “upon lack of receipt of the requested light source ID from the light source after a predetermined time period and upon the database having an entry corresponding to the requested light source ID: a removing function configured to remove the entry corresponding to the requested light source ID from the database”, as required in combination with the other limitations of the claim.
Regarding claim 14, prior arts whether stand alone or in combination fail to teach or reasonably suggest the control engine according to Claim 5, comprising “upon lack of receipt of the requested light source ID from the light source after a predetermined time period and upon the database having an entry corresponding to the requested light source ID: a removing function configured to remove the entry corresponding to the requested light source ID from the database”, as required in combination with the other limitations of the claim.
Conclusion
/SYED M KAISER/Examiner, Art Unit 2831 /ABDULLAH A RIYAMI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2831