DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The use of the term “Bluetooth”, see Specification par. 0144, which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites “determining a visual focal location of the user on the electronic display of the user device…” in lines 4-5. It is unclear if the step of “determining” the visual focal point of the user is done by the electronic display of the user device or if the system is determining the user’s focal point directed upon the electronic display of the user device. For purposes of compact prosecution, the examiner is interpreting this limitation as the system is determining the user’s focal point directed upon the electronic display of the user device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Independent Claim 1 recites:
A method to provide dynamic neuromodulatory composite images adapted to produce physiological responses having therapeutic or performance-enhancing effects, the method comprising:
retrieving one or more adapted visual neuromodulatory codes, said one or more adapted visual neuromodulatory codes being adapted to produce physiological responses having therapeutic or performance-enhancing effects;
combining said one or more adapted visual neuromodulatory codes with displayable content to form one or more dynamic neuromodulatory composite images; and
outputting to an electronic display of a user device said one or more dynamic neuromodulatory composite images.
Step 1:
The examiner finds claim 1 drawn to a method.
Step 2A Prong 1:
The above claim limitations constitute an abstract idea that is part of the Mathematical Concepts and/or Mental Processes group identified in the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance published in the Federal Register (84 FR 50) on January 7, 2019.
“A mathematical relationship is a relationship between variables or numbers. A mathematical relationship may be expressed in words ….” October 2019 Update: Subject Matter Eligibility, II. A. i. “[T]here are instances where a formula or equation is written in text format that should also be considered as falling within this grouping.” Id. at II. A. ii. “[A] claim does not have to recite the word “calculating” in order to be considered a mathematical calculation.” Id. at II. A. iii. See for example, SAP Am., Inc. v. InvestPic, LLC, 898 F.3d 1161, 1163-65 (Fed. Cir. 2018).
The claimed step of combining recite a mental process capable of being performed in the human mind.
The examiner notes the steps of “retrieving” visual neuromodulatory codes and “outputting” to an electronic display are being interpreted as insignificant extra solution activities that amount to necessary data gathering/output and not part of the abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). The step of “combining” visual neuromodulatory codes with displayable content is an example of a mental process capable of being performed in the human mind. For example, the human mind is capable of associating images of death, injury, tragedy, etc. with feelings of sorrow.
The claimed step of combining can be practically performed in the human mind using mental steps or basic critical thinking, which are types of activities that have been found by the courts to represent abstract ideas.
“[T]he ‘mental processes’ abstract idea grouping is defined as concepts performed in the human mind, and examples of mental processes include observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions.” MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) III. The pending claims merely recite steps for estimation that include observations, evaluations, and judgments.
Examples of ineligible claims that recite mental processes include:
• a claim to “collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis,” where the data analysis steps are recited at a high level of generality such that they could practically be performed in the human mind,
Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom, S.A.;
• claims to “comparing BRCA sequences and determining the existence of alterations,” where the claims cover any way of comparing BRCA sequences such that the comparison steps can practically be performed in the human mind,
University of Utah Research Foundation v. Ambry Genetics Corp.
• a claim to collecting and comparing known information, which are steps that can be practically performed in the human mind, Classen Immunotherapies, Inc. v. Biogen IDEC.
See p. 7-8 of October 2019 Update: Subject Matter Eligibility.
Regarding the dependent claims 2-25, the dependent claims are directed to either 1) steps that are also abstract or 2) additional data output that is well-understood, routine and previously known to the industry. Although the dependent claims are further limiting, they do not recite significantly more than the abstract idea. A narrow abstract idea is still an abstract idea and an abstract idea with additional well-known equipment/functions is not significantly more than the abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong 2:
This judicial exception (abstract idea) in Claims 1-25 is not integrated into a practical application because:
• The abstract idea amounts to simply implementing the abstract idea on a computing device. For example, the recitations regarding the generic computing components forcombining merely invoke a computer as a tool.
• The data-gathering step (retrieving) and the data-output step (outputting) do not add a meaningful limitation to the method as they are insignificant extra-solution activity.
• There is no improvement to a computer or other technology. “The McRO court indicated that it was the incorporation of the particular claimed rules in computer animation that "improved [the] existing technological process", unlike cases such as Alice where a computer was merely used as a tool to perform an existing process.” MPEP 2106.05(a) II. The claims recite a computing device that is used as a tool for combining.
• The claims do not apply the abstract idea to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition. Rather, the abstract idea is utilized to determine a relationship among data to estimate bio-information.
• The claims do not apply the abstract idea to a particular machine. “Integral use of a machine to achieve performance of a method may provide significantly more, in contrast to where the machine is merely an object on which the method operates, which does not provide significantly more.” MPEP 2106.05(b). II. “Use of a machine that contributes only nominally or insignificantly to the execution of the claimed method (e.g., in a data gathering step or in a field-of-use limitation) would not provide significantly more.” MPEP 2106.05(b) III. The pending claims utilize a computing device for combining. The claims do not apply the obtained prediction to a particular machine. Rather, the data is merely output in a post-solution step.
Step 2B:
The additional elements are identified as follows: camera, display, sensors, non-transitory processor-readable medium.
Those in the relevant field of art would recognize the above-identified additional elements as being well-understood, routine, and conventional means for data-gathering and computing, as demonstrated by
• Applicant’s specification (e.g. par. 0015) which discloses that the processor(s) comprise generic computer components that are configured to perform the generic computer functions (e.g. combining) that are well-understood, routine, and conventional activities previously known to the pertinent industry;
• Applicant’s specification (e.g. par. 0015) which discloses that the non-transitory processor-readable medium comprise generic computer components that are configured to perform the generic storage functions;
• Applicant’s specification (e.g. par. 0013) which discloses that the camera comprise generic computer components that are configured to perform generic image acquisition functions;
• Applicant’s Background in the specification; and
• The non-patent literature of record in the application.
Thus, the claimed additional elements “are so well-known that they do not need to be described in detail in a patent application to satisfy 35 U.S.C. § 112(a).” Berkheimer Memorandum, III. A. 3.
Furthermore, the court decisions discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(d)(lI) note the well-understood, routine and conventional nature of such additional generic computer components as those claimed. See option III. A. 2. in the Berkheimer memorandum.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the units associated with the steps do not add meaningful limitation to the abstract idea. A computer, processor, memory, or equivalent hardware is merely used as a tool for executing the abstract idea(s). The process claimed does not reflect an improvement in the functioning of the computer.
When considered in combination, the additional elements (i.e. the generic computer functions and conventional equipment/steps) do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Looking at the claim limitations as a whole adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-11, and 13-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jackson (US 20210383912 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Jackson teaches a method to provide dynamic neuromodulatory composite images adapted to produce physiological responses having therapeutic or performance-enhancing effects, the method comprising:
retrieving one or more adapted visual neuromodulatory codes [0030 “The AR system 202 retrieves information about the user from the historical experience profile 204. The AR system 202 further retrieves information about the user's preferences from the user preference profile 206. The AR system 202 may thus determine that the user has a fear of heights that may be triggered by the steep drop-off at the particular location where the user is currently hiking. Based on information retrieved from the user preference profile 206, the AR system 202 may determine that the user would prefer a view of a forest with trees and other forest wildlife”], said one or more adapted visual neuromodulatory codes being adapted to produce physiological responses having therapeutic or performance-enhancing effects [0030];
combining said one or more adapted visual neuromodulatory codes with displayable content to form one or more dynamic neuromodulatory composite images [0061 “…if the user is being conditioned to overcome a fear of a particular object, such as a spider, the AR server 220 may progressively expose the user 214 to images and experiences of spiders in the XR environment experienced by the user 214”]; and
outputting to an electronic display of a user device [Fig. 2B Item 216] said one or more dynamic neuromodulatory composite images [0033 “…the AR system 202 may blur out or blank out images of those rotating components in the image displayed in an AR headset or smart glasses worn by the user”].
Regarding claim 2, Jackson teaches method of claim 1, wherein said one or more adapted visual neuromodulatory codes are generated by:
rendering a visual neuromodulatory code based on a set of rendering parameters [0053 “…bootstrapping user preferences may be done by accessing information about individuals who are demographically similar to the user 214”];
outputting the visual neuromodulatory code to be displayed on a plurality of electronic screens [0016 “…plurality of audio/video display devices…”] to be viewed simultaneously by a plurality of subjects [0059 “…more than a single user may be the subject of training or behavior modification”]; and
receiving output of one or more sensors [0036 “…one or more sensors 219…”] that measure one or more physiological responses of each of the plurality of subjects during said outputting the visual neuromodulatory code [0034 “The user's response can be monitored and stored”][0042 “The AR server 220 in some embodiments may further receive information about the user 214, including biometric information and information about the performance of the user 214. The information may come from the sensors 219, the VR headset 216, or any other source”].
Regarding claim 3, Jackson teaches the method of claim 2, further comprising:
calculating values for a set of adapted rendering parameters based at least in part on said output of said one or more sensors [0063 “The mood learning module 236 determines if an object in the XR environment produces a negative effect or positive effect on the mood of the user”, see also 0063 “Step 256 and related steps may form a probabilistic mapping of new objects that may be included in the XR environment”]; and
iteratively repeating said rendering, said outputting, and said receiving using the set of adapted rendering parameters, to produce an adapted visual neuromodulatory code [0068 “Step 254 provides continuous updates of information about use activity and biometric values. This permits the mood learning module 236 to determine the effect of objects in the immersive environment on the mood of the user 214”], until a defined set of stopping criteria are satisfied [0043 “The AR engine 221 creates the XR environment, receives from the user 214 and the XR environment information about the performance of the user 214 in the environment as feedback, and in turn, modifies the XR environment to accomplish the desired end, such as training or behavioral modification for the user 214”].
Regarding claim 5, Jackson teaches method of claim 1, wherein said retrieving said one or more adapted visual neuromodulatory codes comprises receiving said one or more adapted visual neuromodulatory codes via a network [0029 “The AR headset is in communication with the AR system 202, which may be remotely located but accessible over one or more communications networks including a wireless communication network”] or retrieving said one or more adapted visual neuromodulatory codes from a memory of the user device [0037 “The VR headset 216 generally includes (…), a memory for storing data and instructions…”].
Regarding claim 6, Jackson teaches the method of claim 1, wherein, in said outputting to the electronic display of the user device said one or more dynamic neuromodulatory composite images, each of said one or more dynamic neuromodulatory composite images is displayed for a determined time period, the determined time period being adapted based on user feedback data indicative of responses of the user [0056 “…this process may continue throughout operation of the method 224 as objects change or move or as the mood of the user 214 changes. The scene understanding and positioning module 232 may establish and maintain a map of the physical environment and the virtual environment that together form the XR environment, and update the map during progress of the method 224”, see also 0061 “…if the user is being conditioned to overcome a fear of a particular object, such as a spider, the AR server 220 may progressively expose the user 214 to images and experiences of spiders in the XR environment experienced by the user 214”].
Regarding claim 7, Jackson teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the displayable content comprises at least one of:
displayable output of an application [0061 “…if the user is being conditioned to overcome a fear of a particular object, such as a spider, the AR server 220 may progressively expose the user 214 to images and experiences of spiders in the XR environment experienced by the user 214”, the examiner notes that exposing a user to an XR environment is being interpreted as a type of application], displayable output of a browser, and displayable output of a user interface.
Regarding claim 8, Jackson teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising obtaining user feedback data indicative of responses of the user during said outputting to an electronic display of the user device said one or more dynamic neuromodulatory composite images [0030 “The AR system 202 further retrieves information about the user's preferences from the user preference profile 206. The AR system 202 may thus determine that the user has a fear of heights that may be triggered by the steep drop-off at the particular location where the user is currently hiking”].
Regarding claim 9, Jackson teaches the method of claim 8, wherein said obtaining user feedback data indicative of responses of the user comprises using components of the user device to perform at least one of:
measuring voice stress levels, detecting physical movement [0061 “…the user may put his arms up in fear, and this gesture may be detected”], detecting physical activity, tracking eye movement, and receiving input to displayed prompts.
Regarding claim 10, Jackson teaches the method of claim 8, wherein said obtaining user feedback data indicative of responses of the user comprises receiving data from a wearable neurological sensor [0038 “The sensors 219 may further gather information about the user 214. Such information may include biometric information, such as pulse rate or respiratory rate, skin conductivity, pupil dilation, haptic information about one or more touches of the user 214, and so forth. Thus, the sensors may include or be part of a wearable device such as a watch, belt or harness”, the examiner notes features such as pupil dilation, respiratory rate, etc. inherently are affected by neurological responses, such as fear/excitement].
Regarding claim 11, Jackson teaches the method of claim 8, wherein said obtaining user feedback data indicative of responses of the user comprises data relating to at least one of:
interaction by the user with a user interface [0036 “The system 212 in this embodiment enables a user 214 to interact with an extended reality (XR) environment”], online activity by the user, and purchasing decisions by the user.
Regarding claim 13, Jackson teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the displayable content comprises output of a camera of the user device showing an environment of the user [0037 “…the VR headset 216 may include a camera for capturing images of the environment of the user”], and said combining said one or more adapted visual neuromodulatory codes with the displayable content to form said one or more dynamic neuromodulatory composite images produces one or more augmented reality images [0037 “The VR headset 216 enables the user 214 to experience, generally, an XR environment, where XR is a general term intended to encompass XR, VR and augmented reality (AR) systems, equipment and environments. The VR headset 216 generally includes a data processing system including one or more processors, a memory for storing data and instructions, and a communication interface. The VR headset 216 provides visual display to the user 214 and may include one or more display screens within the VR headset 216 to control the view seen by the user 214 and the environment experienced by the use”].
Regarding claim 14, Jackson teaches the method of claim 13, further comprising processing the output of the camera using machine learning and/or artificial intelligence algorithms to characterize the environment of the user [0046 “The system 212 may draw on learned information available to the system 212, such a machine learning solutions, to understand the status of the user 214 as well as to understand the environment of the user 214 and objects in the environment”].
Regarding claim 15, Jackson teaches the method of claim 14, wherein said one or more adapted visual neuromodulatory codes are selected based at least in part on the characterized environment of the user [0046 “The system 212, by cooperation between the AR server 220 and the VR headset 216, may control the visual, audible and otherwise sensible environment of the user 214”].
Regarding claim 16, Jackson teaches the method of claim 14, wherein said outputting to the electronic display of the user device said one or more dynamic neuromodulatory composite images is initiated based at least in part on the characterized environment of the user [0030 “The AR system 202 may thus determine that the user has a fear of heights that may be triggered by the steep drop-off at the particular location where the user is currently hiking. Based on information retrieved from the user preference profile 206, the AR system 202 may determine that the user would prefer a view of a forest with trees and other forest wildlife. The AR system 202, in conjunction with the AR smart glasses or other immersive technology employed by the user, to substitute in the user's field of view a forested scene as shown in image 210 in place of the desert drop-off scene 208.”].
Regarding claim 17, Jackson teaches the method of claim 1, wherein said combining and said outputting are initiated when a classification of the displayable content matches a category of a set of one or more selected categories [0079 “Another benefit provided by the systems and method include creating a more personable and realistic XR environment through mood matching. For example, the AR server 220 can determine the user's current mood and modify the environment to match that mood”].
Regarding claim 18, Jackson teaches the method of claim 17, wherein the classification of the displayable content is based at least in part on a source [0079 “server”] of the displayable content [0079 “Another benefit provided by the systems and method include creating a more personable and realistic XR environment through mood matching. For example, the AR server 220 can determine the user's current mood and modify the environment to match that mood”].
Regarding claim 19, Jackson teaches the method of claim 18, wherein the source of the displayable content is one or more of:
an application running on the user device [0079 “realistic XR environment”], a webpage displayed in a web browser running on the user device, and an operating system of the user device.
Regarding claim 20, Jackson teaches the method of claim 18, wherein the source of the displayable content is an application that has been selected as a behavioral modification target [0032 “The method for assisting with fear and anxiety abatement may further include steps of lexically or semantically mapping the detected item to a similar item to thereby accommodate or relieve the user's anxiety or to train the user to manage anxiety over the object or situation”], and said one or more adapted visual neuromodulatory codes are adapted to produce physiological responses to reduce usage of the application by the user [0031 “…the device may detect biological information such as the user's heart rate, breathing rate, blood pressure, etc. The AR system 202 correlates the detected anxiety with an item or factor in the current scene”, see also 0030 “Because of the behavioral conditioning afforded by the system 200, the user becomes conditioned to the experience of heights, without the attendant fear”].
Regarding claim 21, Jackson teaches the method of claim 18, wherein the source of the displayable content is the operating system of the user device [0032, see also 0101 “The systems and methods described herein can be implemented utilizing various commercially available operating systems or combinations of operating systems”], and said one or more adapted visual neuromodulatory codes are adapted to produce physiological responses to reduce usage of the user device by the user [0031 “…the device may detect biological information such as the user's heart rate, breathing rate, blood pressure, etc. The AR system 202 correlates the detected anxiety with an item or factor in the current scene”, see also 0030 “Because of the behavioral conditioning afforded by the system 200, the user becomes conditioned to the experience of heights, without the attendant fear”].
Regarding claim 22, Jackson teaches the method of claim 17, wherein the classification of the displayable content is based at least in part on metadata associated with the displayable content [0022 “…the content sources 175 include broadcast television and radio sources, video on demand platforms and streaming video and audio services platforms, one or more content data networks, data servers, web servers and other content servers, and/or other sources of media”, see also 0079 “Another benefit provided by the systems and method include creating a more personable and realistic XR environment through mood matching. For example, the AR server 220 can determine the user's current mood and modify the environment to match that mood”].
Regarding claim 23, Jackson teaches the method of claim 22, wherein the metadata associated with the displayable content categorizes the displayable content as comprising one or more of:
violent content, explicit content, content relating to suicide, content relating to sexual assault, and content relating to death and/or dying [0071 “…the user 214 is engaging in real-world activities such as in FIG. 2A where the user is hiking in a potentially dangerous environment and the AR server 220 must provide real-time updates to the VR headset or other equipment of the user 214”].
Regarding claim 24, Jackson teaches the method of claim 22, wherein the metadata associated with the displayable content is provided by a source of the metadata and/or by processing the displayable content using machine learning and/or artificial intelligence algorithms [0046 “The system 212 may draw on learned information available to the system 212, such a machine learning solutions, to understand the status of the user 214 as well as to understand the environment of the user 214 and objects in the environment”].
Regarding claim 25, Jackson teaches a system to provide dynamic neuromodulatory composite images adapted to produce physiological responses having therapeutic or performance-enhancing effects, the system comprising:at least one processor [0037 “one or more processors”]; and
at least one non-transitory processor-readable medium that stores processor- executable instructions [0037 “a memory for storing data and instructions”] which, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform the method of any one of claims 1-24 [see individual claim rejections above].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jackson as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hakoshima (US 20160150956 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Jackson teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving output of one or more sensors [0042 “The AR server 220 in some embodiments may further receive information about the user 214, including biometric information and information about the performance of the user 214. The information may come from the sensors 219, the VR headset 216, or any other source”] that measure eye movements of the user during said outputting the visual neuromodulatory code [0062 “…biometric information of the user and actions of the user 214, such as a grasp by the user 214 to reach something or a facial expression or eye movements of the user 214”].
Jackson teaches a display and determining adapted rendering parameters, but fails to teach determining a visual focal location of the user on the electronic display of the user device based at least in part on the output of said one or more sensors that measure the eye movements of the user; and calculating values for a set of adapted rendering parameters based at least in part on the visual focal location of the user on the electronic display.
As best understood, Hakoshima teaches determining a visual focal location of the user on the electronic display of the user device based at least in part on the output of said one or more sensors that measure the eye movements of the user [0011 “…a gaze point detector configured to detect a gaze point of the subject in a display region of the display…”]; and
calculating values for a set of adapted rendering parameters based at least in part on the visual focal location of the user on the electronic display [0011 “…an output controller configured to display any of a plurality of diagnosis images on the display, select the diagnosis image to be displayed next according to a position of the gaze point detected when the diagnosis image is displayed…”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the teachings of Jackson and incorporate the teachings of Hakoshima to include determining a visual focal location of the user on the electronic display of the user device based at least in part on the output of said one or more sensors that measure the eye movements of the user; and calculating values for a set of adapted rendering parameters based at least in part on the visual focal location of the user on the electronic display. Doing so configures the system so that a “…more accurate diagnosis is performed…”, as recognized by Hakoshima par. 0099.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jackson as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Li (US 20210368094 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Jackson teaches the method of claim 1, wherein Jackson further teaches combining neuromodulatory codes with displayable content, but fails to teach performing image overlay using one or more of: pixel addition, multiply blend, screen blend, and alpha compositing.
Li teaches performing image overlay using alpha compositing [0013 “The overlay may be combined with the preview image using alpha compositing or semitransparency”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the teachings of Jackson and incorporate the teachings of Li to include performing image overlay using alpha compositing. Doing so configures the system to “…better understand what an optimal image composition is for an image of the subject, and how to reposition the image capture device 1100 to achieve the optimal image composition for an image of the subject”, as recognized by Li par. 0113.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN M HANEY/ Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/ALEX M VALVIS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791