Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/27/2024, 4/21/2026, and 7/07/2026 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7, 11, 16-17, 25, 29-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2022/0014935 A1 by Haija et al. (hereafter referred to as Haija).
Regarding claim 1, Haija teaches A network entity configured for wireless communications (see at least Fig. 1A), comprising:
a memory comprising computer-executable instructions (see at least ¶ [0006]; medium); and
one or more processors configured to execute the computer-executable instructions (see at least ¶ [0006]; processor) and cause the network entity to:
transmit, to a reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS), a reconfigurable intelligent surface reference signal (RIS-RS) configured for a user equipment (see at least Fig. 7, CSI-RS 720), wherein the RIS-RS is not associated with a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) (see at least ¶ [0006] and [0148]; a CSI is sent to a UE, in 3GPP, normally a PDSCH is used for this, not the PBCH.); and
receive, from the user equipment, a channel state information (CSI) report comprising one or more measurements associated with the RIS- RS (see at least Fig. 7 (703) and ¶ [0158]-[0160]).
Regarding claim 2, Haija teaches the network entity of claim 1. In addition, Haija teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the computer-executable instructions and further cause the network entity to: transmit, to the user equipment, a configuration for the RIS-RS, wherein the configuration for the RIS-RS comprises a resource set configured for measuring a channel between the RIS and the user equipment (see at least Fig. 7 (715)).
Regarding claim 7, Haija teaches the network entity of claim 1. In addition, Haija teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the computer-executable instructions and further cause the network entity to: transmit, to the user equipment, a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) wherein the RIS-RS is not quasi-collocated with the CSI-RS (see at least Fig. 7 and ¶ [0038]).
Regarding claim 11, Haija teaches the network entity of claim 1. In addition, Haija teaches wherein one of the one or more measurements comprises a layer 1 received signal received power (RSRP) measurement (see at least ¶ [[0103], and [0119]; RSRP).
Regarding claim 16, Haija teaches A user equipment configured for wireless communications, comprising: a memory comprising computer-executable instructions; and one or more processors configured to execute the computer-executable instructions and cause the user equipment to: receive, from a reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS) , a reconfigurable intelligent surface reference signal (RIS-RS) transmitted by a network entity, wherein the RIS-RS is not associated with a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) (see at least ¶ [0006] and [0148]; a CSI is sent to a UE, in 3GPP, normally a PDSCH is used for this, not the PBCH.); and
transmit, to the network entity, a channel state information (CSI) report comprising one or more measurements associated with the RIS-RS (see at least Fig. 7 (703) and ¶ [0158]-[0160]).
Regarding claim 17, Haija teaches the user equipment of claim 16. In addition, Haija teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the computer-executable instructions and further cause the user equipment to:
receive, from the network entity, a configuration for the RIS-RS, wherein the configuration for the RIS-RS comprises a resource set configured for measuring a channel between the RIS and the user equipment (see at least Fig. 7 (715)).
Regarding claim 25, Haija teaches the user equipment of claim 16. In addition, Haija teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the computer-executable instructions and further cause the user equipment to: receive, from the network entity, a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), wherein the RIS-RS is not quasi-collocated with the CSI-RS (see at least Fig. 7 and ¶ [0038]).
Regarding claim 29, Haija teaches A method of wireless communications by a network entity, comprising:
transmitting, to a reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS), a reconfigurable intelligent surface reference signal (RIS-RS) configured for a user equipment (see at least Fig. 7 and ¶ [0157]), wherein the RIS-RS is not associated with a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) (see at least ¶ [0006] and [0148]; a CSI is sent to a UE, in 3GPP, normally a PDSCH is used for this, not the PBCH.); and
receiving, from the user equipment, a channel state information (CSI) report comprising one or more measurements associated with the RIS- RS (see at least Fig. 7 (703) and ¶ [0158]-[0160]).
Regarding claim 30, Haija teaches A method of wireless communications by a user equipment, comprising:
receiving, from a reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS), a reconfigurable intelligent surface reference signal (RIS-RS) transmitted by a network entity (see at least Fig. 7 and ¶ [0157]), wherein the RIS-RS is not associated with a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) (see at least ¶ [0006] and [0148]; a CSI is sent to a UE, in 3GPP, normally a PDSCH is used for this, not the PBCH.); and
transmitting, to the network entity, a channel state information (CSI) report comprising one or more measurements associated with the RIS- RS (see at least Fig. 7 (703) and ¶ [0158]-[0160]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5, 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haija as applied to claim 2 above, in view of US 2017/0019280 A1 by Han et al. (hereafter referred to as Han).
Regarding claim 3, Haija teaches the network entity of claim 2.
Haija does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the configuration for the RIS- RS comprises one or more sequences.
In the same field of endeavor, Han teaches wherein the configuration for the RIS- RS comprises one or more sequences (see at least ¶ [0058]-[0060]; RS sequence).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the reference signal taught by Haija with the reference signal taught by Han in order to increase reliability of wireless communication (Han ¶ [0004]).
Regarding claim 4, Haija in view of Han teaches the network entity of claim 3. In the obvious combination Han further teaches wherein at least one of the one or more sequences is a gold sequence or an m-sequence (see at least ¶ [0058]-[0060]; m-sequence, Gold Sequence).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the reference signal taught by Haija with the reference signal taught by Han in order to increase reliability of wireless communication (Han ¶ [0004]).
Regarding claim 5, Haija teaches the network entity of claim 2.
Haija does not appear to specifically disclose wherein:
the configuration for the RIS-RS indicates a plurality of RIS-RS sets, each respective RIS-RS set of the plurality of RIS-RS sets is configured with a respective sequence for each RIS-RS included in the respective RIS-RS set, and
RIS-RSs in different RIS-RS sets of the plurality of RIS-RS sets are configured with different sequences from one another.
In the same field of endeavor, Han teaches wherein:
the configuration for the RIS-RS indicates a plurality of RIS-RS sets, each respective RIS-RS set of the plurality of RIS-RS sets is configured with a respective sequence for each RIS-RS included in the respective RIS-RS set, and
RIS-RSs in different RIS-RS sets of the plurality of RIS-RS sets are configured with different sequences from one another (see at least ¶ [0156]; sequence set).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the reference signal taught by Haija with the reference signal taught by Han in order to increase reliability of wireless communication (Han ¶ [0004]).
Regarding claim 21, Haija teaches the user equipment of claim 17.
Haija does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the configuration comprises a gold sequence.
In the same field of endeavor, Han teaches wherein the configuration comprises a gold sequence (see at least ¶ [0058]-[0060]; m-sequence, Gold Sequence).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the reference signal taught by Haija with the reference signal taught by Han in order to increase reliability of wireless communication (Han ¶ [0004]).
Regarding claim 22, Haija teaches the user equipment of claim 17.
Haija does not appear to specifically disclose wherein: the configuration indicates one or more RIS-RS sets, and the RIS-RS is associated with one of the one or more RIS-RS sets.
In the same field of endeavor, Han teaches wherein: the configuration indicates one or more RIS-RS sets, and the RIS-RS is associated with one of the one or more RIS-RS sets (see at least ¶ [0156]; sequence set).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the reference signal taught by Haija with the reference signal taught by Han in order to increase reliability of wireless communication (Han ¶ [0004]).
Regarding claim 23, Haija in view of Han teaches the user equipment of claim 22. In the obvious combination, Han teaches wherein: each respective RIS-RS set of the one or more RIS-RS sets is configured with a respective sequence for each RIS-RS included in the respective RIS-RS set, and RIS-RSs in different RIS-RS sets of the one or more RIS-RS sets are configured with different sequences from one another (see at least ¶ [0156]; sequence set).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the reference signal taught by Haija with the reference signal taught by Han in order to increase reliability of wireless communication (Han ¶ [0004]).
Claim(s) 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haija as applied to claim 17 above, in view of US 2023/0246674 A1 by Ǻström et al. (hereafter referred to as Astrom).
Regarding claim 18, Haija teaches the user equipment of claim 17.
Haija does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the configuration schedules the RIS-RS periodically.
In the same field of endeavor, Ǻström teaches wherein the configuration schedules the RIS-RS periodically (see at least ¶ [0033], [0035], [0037], [0039], [0120], [0122], [0124], and [0126]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Haija with Ǻström in order to improve network capability, increase power efficiency and provide a better user experience.
Regarding claim 19, Haija teaches the user equipment of claim 17.
Haija does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the configuration schedules the RIS-RS semi-periodically.
In the same field of endeavor, Ǻström teaches wherein the configuration schedules the RIS-RS semi-periodically (see at least ¶ [0033], [0035], [0037], [0039], [0120], [0122], [0124], and [0126]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Haija with Ǻström in order to improve network capability, increase power efficiency and provide a better user experience.
Regarding claim 20, Haija teaches the user equipment of claim 17.
Haija does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the configuration schedules the RIS-RS aperiodically.
In the same field of endeavor, Ǻström teaches wherein the configuration schedules the RIS-RS aperiodically (see at least ¶ [0033], [0035], [0037], [0039], [0120], [0122], [0124], and [0126]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Haija with Ǻström in order to improve network capability, increase power efficiency and provide a better user experience.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 8-10, 12-15, 24, 26-28 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/NATASHA W COSME/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465