DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-7, 12, 13, 15-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Eklöf et al. (US 2023/0284058 A1, hereinafter “Eklöf”).
Regarding claims 1 and 15, Eklöf teaches a radio access network (RAN) node for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (figs. 24-26) and configured to cause the RAN node to: determine at least one of a master node (MN) leg or a secondary node (SN) leg to be used for quality of experience (QoE) measurement reporting (¶ [0232], ¶ [0240], the UE can receive an RRC message including a QoE measurement configuration. The UE can then perform QoE measurements in the application layer while in DC in the access layer, and send QoE measurement reports (e.g., measurement results files) to the MN, the SN, or both in accordance with the QoE measurement configuration. Put differently, the QoE measurement configuration can include a reporting configuration with respect to DC. ¶ [0247], a RNN (e.g., MN) can configure a UE to send QoE measurement reports on one or more DC legs depending on the configuration. In some embodiments, the UE is configured by the MN to send the report to only the MN. This can be considered the existing behavior. In other embodiments, the UE can be configured by MN and/or SN to send QoE measurement reports to the MN, the SN, or both); and transmit to a user equipment (UE), information indicating the at least one of the MN leg or the SN leg to be used for the QoE measurement reporting (¶ [0232], ¶ [0240], ¶ [0247], ¶ [0248]).
Regarding claims 12 and 20, Eklof teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to: receive information indicating at least one of a master node (MN) leg or a secondary node (SN) leg to be used for quality of experience (QoE) measurement reporting (¶ [0232], ¶ [0240], the UE can receive an RRC message including a QoE measurement configuration. The UE can then perform QoE measurements in the application layer while in DC in the access layer, and send QoE measurement reports (e.g., measurement results files) to the MN, the SN, or both in accordance with the QoE measurement configuration. Put differently, the QoE measurement configuration can include a reporting configuration with respect to DC. ¶ [0247], a RNN (e.g., MN) can configure a UE to send QoE measurement reports on one or more DC legs depending on the configuration. In some embodiments, the UE is configured by the MN to send the report to only the MN. This can be considered the existing behavior. In other embodiments, the UE can be configured by MN and/or SN to send QoE measurement reports to the MN, the SN, or both); and transmit to at least one of an MN or an SN a QoE measurement report via at least one signalling signaling radio bearer (SRB) type according to the information indicating the at least one of the MN leg or the SN leg (¶ [0052]-¶ [0055], ¶ [0128], ¶ [0251], ¶ [0252], the SRB carrying reports could be configured as a split SRB so that reports can be transmitted via MN and/or SN depending on the configuration. ¶ [0254], SRBs (including SRB4) for carrying QoE measurement reports. ¶ [0282], the QoE measurement reports can be received from the UE (e.g., in block 2170 via a split SCG signaling radio bearer (SRB) or via a split MCG SRB. As an example, the split SCG SRB or the split MCG SRB can be SRB4).
Regarding claims 2 and 16, Eklöf teaches the RAN node of claim 1, wherein the RAN node is an MN, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the RAN node to: determine at least one signaling radio bearer (SRB) type for QoE measurement reporting in response to QoE measurement activation information from a core network or QoE measurement configuration information from an operation administration and maintenance (OAM) (¶ [0015],RRC signaling is used to configure application layer measurements in UEs and to collect QoE measurement result files from the configured UEs. In particular, an application layer measurement configuration from the core network (e.g., EPC) or a network operations/administration/maintenance (OAM) function sent to the serving eNB, which forwards it to a UE in an RRC message. ¶ [0229], ¶ [0127], the MN sends an SN Addition Request message to request the target SN to allocate radio resources. ¶ [0128], The MN can also request the SN to allocate radio resources for split SRB operation. The MN can also provide the needed security information to the SN (e.g., even if no SN-terminated bearers are setup) to enable SRB3 to be setup based on SN decision. ¶ [0251]).
Regarding claims 3 and 17, Eklöf teaches the RAN node of claim 2, wherein when the SN leg is used for QoE measurement reporting, the at least one processor is further configured to cause the RAN node to: transmit to an SN a request of SRB establishment of a corresponding SRB type for QoE measurement reporting (¶ [0127], the MN sends an SN Addition Request message to request the target SN to allocate radio resources. ¶ [0128], The MN can also request the SN to allocate radio resources for split SRB operation. The MN can also provide the needed security information to the SN (e.g., even if no SN-terminated bearers are setup) to enable SRB3 to be setup based on SN decision. ¶ [0251]).
Regarding claim 4, Eklöf teaches the RAN node of claim 3, wherein the at least one SRB type includes one of an MN terminated split SRB4, an SN terminated split SRB4, an SRB3, and an SRB terminated between the UE and the SN for QoE measurement reporting with a lower priority than the SRB3 (¶ [0052]-¶ [0055], ¶ [0128], ¶ [0251], ¶ [0252], ¶ [0282], the QoE measurement reports can be received from the UE (e.g., in block 2170 via a split SCG signaling radio bearer (SRB) or via a split MCG SRB. As an example, the split SCG SRB or the split MCG SRB can be SRB4).
Regarding claim 5, Eklöf teaches the RAN node of claim 1, wherein the RAN node is a SN, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the RAN node to: determine at least one signalling signaling radio bearer (SRB) type for QoE measurement reporting in response to QoE measurement activation information from an MN or QoE measurement configuration information from an operation administration and maintenance (OAM) (¶ [0015], ¶ [0229], ¶ [0128], The MN can also request the SN to allocate radio resources for split SRB operation. The MN can also provide the needed security information to the SN (e.g., even if no SN-terminated bearers are setup) to enable SRB3 to be setup based on SN decision. ¶ [0251], ¶ [0252], the SRB carrying reports could be configured as a split SRB so that reports can be transmitted via MN and/or SN depending on the configuration. ¶ [0282], the QoE measurement reports can be received from the UE (e.g., in block 2170 via a split SCG signaling radio bearer (SRB) or via a split MCG SRB. As an example, the split SCG SRB or the split MCG SRB can be SRB4. ¶ [0247], ¶ [0248]).
Regarding claim 6, Eklöf teaches the RAN node of claim 5, wherein the at least one SRB type includes one of an MN terminated split SRB4, an SN terminated split SRB4, an SRB3, or an SRB terminated between the UE and the SN for QoE measurement reporting with a lower priority than the SRB3 (¶ [0128], ¶ [0251], ¶ [0252], ¶ [0282], the QoE measurement reports can be received from the UE (e.g., in block 2170 via a split SCG signaling radio bearer (SRB) or via a split MCG SRB. As an example, the split SCG SRB or the split MCG SRB can be SRB4).
Regarding claim 7, Eklöf teaches the RAN node of claim 6, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the RAN node to: transmit a request of an SN terminated split SRB establishment to the MN when the SN terminated split SRB4 to be is used for QoE measurement reporting (¶ [0156], In operation 2, if the RRM entity in the SN is able to admit the resource request, it allocates respective radio resources and, dependent on the bearer option, respective transport network resources. The SN decides the PSCell and other SCG SCells, and provides the new SCG radio resource configuration to the MN in a SN RRC configuration message contained in the SgNB Addition Request Acknowledge message. In case of bearer options that require X2-U resources between the MN and the SN, the SN provides X2-U TNL address information for the respective E-RAB, X2-U UL TNL address information for SN terminated bearers, and X2-U DL TNL address information for MN terminated bearers. For SN terminated bearers, the SN provides the S1-U DL TNL address information for the respective E-RAB and security algorithm. If SCG radio resources have been requested, the SCG radio resource configuration is provided. ¶ [0157], ¶ [0160], ¶ [0128], ¶ [0251], ¶ [0252], ¶ [0282], the QoE measurement reports can be received from the UE (e.g., in block 2170 via a split SCG signaling radio bearer (SRB) or via a split MCG SRB. As an example, the split SCG SRB or the split MCG SRB can be SRB4. ¶ [0160], An SN Modification procedure may be initiated either by the MN or by the SN and can be used to modify, establish, or release bearer contexts; transfer bearer contexts to and from the SN; or to modify other properties of the UE context within the same SN. The procedure may also be used to transfer an NR RRC message from the SN to the UE via the MN, and the response from the UE via MN to the SN).
Regarding claim 13, Eklöf teaches the UE of claim 12, wherein, when an SRB4 is used for QoE measurement reporting, the QoE measurement report is transmitted to the MN by using the MN leg (¶ [0252], The NR scenario in which reports are only sent via MN is similar to single connectivity and only corresponding configuration of SRB4 as in LTE needs to be added. ¶ [0276].¶ [0278]); when an SRB3 or an SRB terminated between the UE and the SN for QoE measurement reporting with a lower priority than the SRB3 is used for QoE measurement reporting, the QoE measurement report is transmitted to the SN over the SN leg (¶ [0128], ¶ [0160], ¶ [0252], SRB carrying reports. ¶ [0307], QoE measurement reports can be sent by the UE to the second RNN via an SCG signaling radio bearer, SRB. ¶ [0276].¶ [0278]); when an MN terminated split SRB4 or an SN terminated split SRB4 is used for QoE measurement reporting and both the MN leg and the SN leg being are used for QoE measurement reporting, the QoE measurement report is transmitted to the MN over the MN leg and to the SN over the SN leg (¶ [0282], ¶ [0252], the SRB carrying reports could be configured as a split SRB so that reports can be transmitted via MN and/or SN depending on the configuration. ¶ [240], the UE can then perform QoE measurements in the application layer while in DC in the access layer, and send QoE measurement reports (e.g., measurement results files) to the MN, the SN, or both in accordance with the QoE measurement configuration. ¶ [0276], ¶ [0280]); and when the MN terminated split SRB4 or the SN terminated split SRB4 is used for QoE measurement reporting and one of the MN leg and the SN leg being is used for QoE measurement reporting, the QoE measurement report is transmitted to corresponding one of the MN and the SN over the one of the MN leg and the SN leg (¶ [0282], the QoE measurement reports can be received from the UE (e.g., in block 2170 via a split SCG signaling radio bearer (SRB) or via a split MCG SRB. As an example, the split SCG SRB or the split MCG SRB can be SRB4. ¶ [0252], the SRB carrying reports could be configured as a split SRB so that reports can be transmitted via MN and/or SN depending on the configuration. ¶ [0276], ¶ [0279]).
5. Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 12, 15, 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hu et al. (US 2023/0156767 A1, hereinafter “Hu”).
Regarding claims 1 and 15, Hu teaches a radio access network (RAN) node for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (fig. 15) and configured to cause the RAN node to: determine at least one of a master node (MN) leg or a secondary node (SN) leg to be used for quality of experience (QoE) measurement reporting (figs. 8, 9, ¶ [0226], ¶ [0217], the indication information #1 may explicitly indicate to “send the QoE measurement result to the MN of the terminal device” or “send the QoE measurement result to the SN of the terminal device” ¶ [0230], the first access network device further sends indication information #2 to the access stratum of the terminal device. ¶ [0244]. ¶ [0246], when the indication information #2 and the indication information #1 are a same piece of information (for example, information a), the information a not only indicates that the first access network device that sends the first configuration information is the MN, but also may indicate the terminal device to send, to the MN, the QoE measurement result obtained by performing the QoE measurement based on the first configuration information.); and transmit to a user equipment (UE), information indicating the at least one of the MN leg or the SN leg to be used for the QoE measurement reporting (fig. 8, ¶ [0222]-¶ [0228], ¶ [0217], the indication information #1 may explicitly indicate to “send the QoE measurement result to the MN of the terminal device” or “send the QoE measurement result to the SN of the terminal device” ¶ [0230]. ¶ [0246], when the indication information #2 and the indication information #1 are a same piece of information (for example, information a), the information a not only indicates that the first access network device that sends the first configuration information is the MN, but also may indicate the terminal device to send, to the MN, the QoE measurement result obtained by performing the QoE measurement based on the first configuration information.).
Regarding claims 12 and 20, Hu teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to: receive information indicating at least one of a master node (MN) leg or a secondary node (SN) leg to be used for quality of experience (QoE) measurement reporting (figs. 8, 9, ¶ [0226], ¶ [0217], the indication information #1 may explicitly indicate to “send the QoE measurement result to the MN of the terminal device” or “send the QoE measurement result to the SN of the terminal device” ¶ [0230], the first access network device further sends indication information #2 to the access stratum of the terminal device. ¶ [0244]. ¶ [0246], when the indication information #2 and the indication information #1 are a same piece of information (for example, information a), the information a not only indicates that the first access network device that sends the first configuration information is the MN, but also may indicate the terminal device to send, to the MN, the QoE measurement result obtained by performing the QoE measurement based on the first configuration information); and transmit to at least one of an MN or an SN a QoE measurement report via at least one signalling signaling radio bearer (SRB) type according to the information indicating the at least one of the MN leg or the SN leg (figs. 8, 9, ¶ [0216], the terminal device may determine, based on the indication information #1, to send the QoE measurement result to the MN or the SN of the terminal device).
Regarding claims 2 and 16, Hu teaches the RAN node of claim 1, wherein the RAN node is an MN, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the RAN node to: determine at least one signaling radio bearer (SRB) type for QoE measurement reporting in response to QoE measurement activation information from a core network or QoE measurement configuration information from an operation administration and maintenance (OAM) (¶ [0207], the UE may directly send the QoE measurement result to the SN through the SRB 3. ¶ [0286], the access network device may configure a dedicated signaling bearer (for example, an SRB 4) for the terminal device to transmit the QoE measurement result and the indication information #2. ¶ [0366], An access network device receives a QoE measurement request and information about an area scope of QoE measurement from a CN/an OAM/an EM).
Regarding claim 5, Hu teaches the RAN node of claim 1, wherein the RAN node is a SN, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the RAN node to: determine at least one signalling signaling radio bearer (SRB) type for QoE measurement reporting in response to QoE measurement activation information from an MN or QoE measurement configuration information from an operation administration and maintenance (OAM) (¶ [0207], the UE may directly send the QoE measurement result to the SN through the SRB 3. ¶ [0286], the access network device may configure a dedicated signaling bearer (for example, an SRB 4) for the terminal device to transmit the QoE measurement result and the indication information #2. ¶ [0366], An access network device receives a QoE measurement request and information about an area scope of QoE measurement from a CN/an OAM/an EM).
Regarding claim 6, Hu teaches the RAN node of claim 5, wherein the at least one SRB type includes one of an MN terminated split SRB4, an SN terminated split SRB4, an SRB3, or an SRB terminated between the UE and the SN for QoE measurement reporting with a lower priority than the SRB3 (¶ [0207], ¶ [0286]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 8-11, 14, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eklöf in view of Liu et al. (US 2025/0168085 A1, hereinafter “Liu”).
Regarding claim 8, Eklöf teaches the RAN node of claim 1.
Eklöf does not explicitly teach wherein the information indicating the at least one of the MN leg or the SN leg to be used for QoE measurement reporting is separate from information on the at least one signaling radio bearer (SRB) type or is indicated in the information on the at least one SRB type.
Li teaches wherein the information indicating the at least one of the MN leg or the SN leg to be used for QoE measurement reporting is separate from information on the at least one signaling radio bearer (SRB) type or is indicated in the information on the at least one SRB type (¶ [0105], the MN 725 or the SN 720 may transmit a configuration of a split bearer to the UE 605 to be used for QoE and/or RVQoE reporting. In some aspects, the configuration may indicate which leg (e.g., MCG leg and/or SCG leg) should be used for QoE and/or RVQoE reporting. Additionally, or alternatively, the configuration may indicate which measurements (e.g., which QoE and/or RVQoE configurations) should be reported using the split bearer. )
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to send the information indicating the at least one of the MN leg or the SN leg to be used for QoE measurement reporting separately from information on the at least one signaling radio bearer SRB type or together with the information on the at least one SRB type in the system of Eklöf. The motivation for doing this is a matter of design choice.
Regarding claim 9, Eklöf teaches the RAN node of claim 1.
Eklöf does not explicitly teach wherein the RAN node is an MN, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the RAN node to: transmit a pause indication to the UE to pause QoE measurement reporting when both the MN or the SN are overloaded for QoE measurement reporting.
Liu teaches wherein the RAN node is an MN, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the RAN node to: transmit a pause indication to the UE to pause QoE measurement reporting when both the MN or the SN are overloaded for QoE measurement reporting (¶ [0106], if the MN 725 and/or the SN 720 becomes overloaded with QoE and/or RVQoE reports, the MN 725 and/or the SN 720 may transmit a message to the UE 605 to pause QoE and/or RVQoE collection and/or reporting).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to cause the RAN node (MN and/or SN) to transmit a pause indication to the UE to pause QoE measurement reporting when both the MN or the SN are overloaded for QoE measurement reporting in the system of Eklöf to further enhance system efficiency and reliability.
Regarding claim 10, Eklöf in view of Liu teaches the RAN node of claim 9.
Eklöf does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the RAN node to: receive QoE measurement reporting overload information from the SN.
Liu teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the RAN node to: receive QoE measurement reporting overload information from the SN (¶ [0106], one of the SN 720 or the MN 725 may transmit a message to the other one of the SN 720 or the MN 725 indicating that QoE reporting should be paused or resumed).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to cause the RAN node to receive QoE measurement reporting overload information from the SN in the system of Eklöf in view of Liu to further enhance system efficiency and reliability.
Regarding claims 11 and 19, Eklöf teaches the RAN node of claim 1.
Eklöf does not explicitly teach wherein the RAN node is an MN, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the RAN node to: transmit a pause indication to the UE to pause SN QoE measurement reporting in response to a request of to pause the SN QoE measurement reporting.
Liu teaches wherein the RAN node is an MN, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the RAN node to: transmit a pause indication to the UE to pause SN QoE measurement reporting in response to a request of to pause the SN QoE measurement reporting (¶ [0106], one of the SN 720 or the MN 725 may transmit a message to the other one of the SN 720 or the MN 725 indicating that QoE reporting should be paused or resumed. The other one of the SN 720 or the MN 725 (e.g., the RAN node that received the indication) may then transmit the pause or resumption request to the UE 605 indicating that the UE 605 should pause or resume the QoE and/or RVQoE measurements indicated by the one of the SN 720 or the MN 725 (e.g., the RAN node that initiated the indication)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to cause the RAN node (MN node) to transmit a pause indication to the UE to pause SN QoE measurement reporting in response to a request of to pause the SN QoE measurement reporting in the system of Eklöf to further enhance system efficiency and reliability.
Regarding claim 14, Eklöf teaches the UE of claim 12.
Eklöf does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one processor is further
configured to cause the UE to: pause QoE measurement reporting to the at least one of the MN and the SN in response to a pause indication to pause the QoE measurement reporting to the at least one of the Mn and the SN.
Liu teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to: pause QoE measurement reporting to the at least one of the MN and the SN in response to a pause indication to pause the QoE measurement reporting to the at least one of the Mn and the SN (¶ [0106]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to cause the UE to pause QoE measurement reporting to the at least one of the MN and the SN in response to a pause indication to pause the QoE measurement reporting to the at least one of the Mn and the SN in the system of Eklöf to further improve system efficiency and reliability.
Regarding claim 18, Eklöf teaches the method of claim 15.
Eklöf does not explicitly teach further comprising: receiving QoE measurement reporting overload information from the SN.
Liu teaches receiving QoE measurement reporting overload information from the SN (¶ [0106], one of the SN 720 or the MN 725 may transmit a message to the other one of the SN 720 or the MN 725 indicating that QoE reporting should be paused or resumed).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to cause the RAN node to receive QoE measurement reporting overload information from the SN in the system of Eklöf in view of Liu to further enhance system efficiency and reliability.
10. Claims 8-11, 14, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu in view of Liu et al. (US 2025/0168085 A1, hereinafter “Liu”).
Regarding claim 8, Hu teaches the RAN node of claim 1.
Hu does not explicitly teach wherein the information indicating the at least one of the MN leg or the SN leg to be used for QoE measurement reporting is separate from information on the at least one signaling radio bearer (SRB) type or is indicated in the information on the at least one SRB type.
Li teaches wherein the information indicating the at least one of the MN leg or the SN leg to be used for QoE measurement reporting is separate from information on the at least one signaling radio bearer (SRB) type or is indicated in the information on the at least one SRB type (¶ [0105], the MN 725 or the SN 720 may transmit a configuration of a split bearer to the UE 605 to be used for QoE and/or RVQoE reporting. In some aspects, the configuration may indicate which leg (e.g., MCG leg and/or SCG leg) should be used for QoE and/or RVQoE reporting. Additionally, or alternatively, the configuration may indicate which measurements (e.g., which QoE and/or RVQoE configurations) should be reported using the split bearer).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to send the information indicating the at least one of the MN leg or the SN leg to be used for QoE measurement reporting separately from information on the at least one signaling radio bearer SRB type or together with the information on the at least one SRB type in the system of Hu. The motivation for doing this is a matter of design choice.
Regarding claim 9, Hu teaches the RAN node of claim 1.
Hu does not explicitly teach wherein the RAN node is an MN, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the RAN node to: transmit a pause indication to the UE to pause QoE measurement reporting when both the MN or the SN are overloaded for QoE measurement reporting.
Liu teaches wherein the RAN node is an MN, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the RAN node to: transmit a pause indication to the UE to pause QoE measurement reporting when both the MN or the SN are overloaded for QoE measurement reporting (¶ [0106], if the MN 725 and/or the SN 720 becomes overloaded with QoE and/or RVQoE reports, the MN 725 and/or the SN 720 may transmit a message to the UE 605 to pause QoE and/or RVQoE collection and/or reporting).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to cause the RAN node (MN and/or SN) to transmit a pause indication to the UE to pause QoE measurement reporting when both the MN or the SN are overloaded for QoE measurement reporting in the system of Hu to further enhance system efficiency and reliability.
Regarding claim 10, Hu in view of Liu teaches the RAN node of claim 9.
Hu does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the RAN node to: receive QoE measurement reporting overload information from the SN.
Liu teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the RAN node to: receive QoE measurement reporting overload information from the SN (¶ [0106], one of the SN 720 or the MN 725 may transmit a message to the other one of the SN 720 or the MN 725 indicating that QoE reporting should be paused or resumed).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to cause the RAN node to receive QoE measurement reporting overload information from the SN in the system of Hu in view of Liu to further enhance system efficiency and reliability.
Regarding claims 11 and 19, Hu teaches the RAN node of claim 1.
Hu does not explicitly teach wherein the RAN node is an MN, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the RAN node to: transmit a pause indication to the UE to pause SN QoE measurement reporting in response to a request of to pause the SN QoE measurement reporting.
Liu teaches wherein the RAN node is an MN, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the RAN node to: transmit a pause indication to the UE to pause SN QoE measurement reporting in response to a request of to pause the SN QoE measurement reporting (¶ [0106], one of the SN 720 or the MN 725 may transmit a message to the other one of the SN 720 or the MN 725 indicating that QoE reporting should be paused or resumed. The other one of the SN 720 or the MN 725 (e.g., the RAN node that received the indication) may then transmit the pause or resumption request to the UE 605 indicating that the UE 605 should pause or resume the QoE and/or RVQoE measurements indicated by the one of the SN 720 or the MN 725 (e.g., the RAN node that initiated the indication)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to cause the RAN node (MN node) to transmit a pause indication to the UE to pause SN QoE measurement reporting in response to a request of to pause the SN QoE measurement reporting in the system of Hu to further enhance system efficiency and reliability.
Regarding claim 14, Hu teaches the UE of claim 12.
Hu does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one processor is further
configured to cause the UE to: pause QoE measurement reporting to the at least one of the MN and the SN in response to a pause indication to pause the QoE measurement reporting to the at least one of the Mn and the SN.
Liu teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to: pause QoE measurement reporting to the at least one of the MN and the SN in response to a pause indication to pause the QoE measurement reporting to the at least one of the Mn and the SN (¶ [0106]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to cause the UE to pause QoE measurement reporting to the at least one of the MN and the SN in response to a pause indication to pause the QoE measurement reporting to the at least one of the Mn and the SN in the system of Hu to further enhance system efficiency and reliability.
Regarding claim 18, Hu teaches the method of claim 15.
Hu does not explicitly teach further comprising: receiving QoE measurement reporting overload information from the SN.
Liu teaches receiving QoE measurement reporting overload information from the SN (¶ [0106], one of the SN 720 or the MN 725 may transmit a message to the other one of the SN 720 or the MN 725 indicating that QoE reporting should be paused or resumed).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to cause the RAN node to receive QoE measurement reporting overload information from the SN in the system of Hu in view of Liu to further enhance system efficiency and reliability.
Conclusion
/MANDISH K RANDHAWA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477