DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, and 8, 11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2012/0199851 ("Hoshino") in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0080320 ("Roth").
Regarding claim 1, Hoshino discloses a semiconductor relay comprising at least:
a housing (10, Figs. 2A-2B) having an upper surface (upper surface of 10, Figs. 2A-2B) and a lower surface located below the upper surface (lower surface of 10, Figs. 2A-2B) in a first axis (see Figs. 2A-2B);
a first input terminal (any one of 51, Figs. 2A-2B) and a second input terminal (other one of 51, Figs. 2A-2B, paragraph [0051]); a
first output terminal (any one of 61, Figs. 2A-2B) and a second output terminal (other one of 61, Figs. 2A-2B, paragraph [0051]);
a light emitting element (2, Figs. 2A-2B) electrically connected to the first input terminal (any one of 51, Figs. 2A-2B) and the second input terminal (other one of 51, Figs. 2A-2B);
a light receiving drive element (4, Figs. 2A-2B, 10) having a first surface (surface of 4, Figs. 2A-2B, 10) receiving light output from the light emitting element (2, Figs. 2A-2B, paragraph [0005]), a second surface located below the first surface in the first axis (lower surface of 4, Figs. 2A-2B, 10, paragraph [0012]), and a first electrode (electrode on 4 connected to 31, Fig. 3, and see electrode on 4 connected to 71, Fig. 10);
a first MOSFET (3a, Figs. 2B, 3, 10) having a first intermediate electrode (source electrode 31, Figs. 3, 10) electrically connected to the first electrode (see electrode on 4 connected to 31, Fig. 3, and electrode on 4 connected to 71 and to 31, Fig. 10, see paragraph [0063]), a first output electrode (33, not shown in Figs. 2A-2B, 3, 10) electrically connected to the first output terminal (any one of 61, Figs. 2A-2B, paragraph [0006]), and a first gate electrode (32, Figs. 2A-2B, 3, 10, paragraph [0013]);
a second MOSFET (3b, Figs. 2B, 3, 10) having a second intermediate electrode (31 on 3b, Fig. 2B, 3, 10) electrically connected to the first electrode (see electrode on 4 connected to 31 on 3b via 31 on 3a, Fig. 3, and electrode on 4 connected to 71 and to 31, Fig. 10, see paragraph [0063]), a second output electrode (33, not shown in Figs. 2A-2B, 3, 10) electrically connected to the second output terminal (other one of 61, Figs. 2A-2B, paragraph [0006]), and a second gate electrode (32 on 3b, Figs. 3, 10);
a first base (5, Fig. 2A) having a first principal surface (surface of 5 where 2 is disposed, Fig. 2A) on which the light emitting element (2, Fig. 2A) is disposed; and
a connection conductor (7, Fig. 10) having a second principal surface (surface where 4 is disposed, Fig. 10) on which the light receiving drive element (4, Fig. 10) is disposed and connected to the first electrode (electrode on 4 connects to 71 via 11g, Fig. 10, paragraph [0061]) with a potential equal to that of the first electrode (implied in paragraph [0063], and given that it is the same structure, it therefore similarly has a potential equal to the first electrode),
wherein at least part of the connection conductor (portion 7a, Fig. 10) is disposed between the first MOSFET (3a, Fig. 10) and the second MOSFET (3b, Fig. 10) as viewed along the first axis (Fig. 10).
Hoshino does not disclose that a normal to the first principal surface crosses a normal to the second principal surface.
However, Roth discloses a normal to the first principal surface (surface of 102 where radiation 132 is emitted from, Figs. 1-5) crosses a normal to the second principal surface (upper main surface of 106, Figs. 1-5, see paragraphs [0057]-[0058]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to arrange the light emitter and light receiver device so that the normal of their respective surfaces cross each other as disclosed by Roth in the device of Hoshino in order to improve optical coupling between such a side-emitting electromagnetic radiation source and an electromagnetic radiation detector arranged side by side with the electromagnetic radiation source may be obtained, since this geometry and configuration enables a direct transmission of electromagnetic radiation along a short propagation path.
Regarding claim 2, Hoshino in view of Roth discloses the semiconductor relay of claim 1, and Hoshino further discloses that the light emitting element (2, Figs. 2A-2B) and the light receiving drive element (4, Figs. 2A-2B) are apart from each other as viewed along the first axis (see Figs. 2A-2B).
Regarding claim 3, Hoshino in view of Roth discloses the semiconductor relay of claim 1, and Roth further discloses that the normal to the first principal surface is perpendicular to the normal to the second principal surface (see for example, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0067], [0058]) .
Regarding claim 4, Hoshino in view of Roth discloses the semiconductor relay of claim 1, and Hoshino further discloses that each of the first input terminal (any one of 51, Figs. 2A-2B) and the second input terminal (other one of 51, Figs. 2A-2B) has an outer connection portion (51 is the outer portion, Figs. 2A-2B) and a standing portion (see upright portion formed by vertical sections of 5, Fig. 2B, paragraph [0011]), the outer connection portion (51, Figs. 2A-2B) is provided so as to extend along a lower surface of the housing (lower surface of 10, Fig. 2B), and has a tip end exposed to an outside of the housing (see 51, Figs. 2A-2B), the standing portion is formed continuously to a base end of the outer connection portion so as to cross the lower surface of the housing and extend in the housing (see Figs. 2A-2B, and paragraph [0011]), and when an axis along a direction of array of the light emitting element and the light receiving drive element is a third axis (see direction of array of 4 and 2, Fig. 2B), a normal to a principal surface of the standing portion is along the third axis (see Fig. 2B).
Regarding claim 5, Hoshino in view of Roth discloses the semiconductor relay of claim 4, and Hoshino further discloses that the standing portion (formed by vertical sections of 5, Figs. 2A-2B) has an annular portion with a through-hole penetrating the standing portion (see through-hole formed between the two vertical portions of 5, Figs. 2A-2B). See also In re Seid, 161 F.2d 229, 73 USPQ 431 (CCPA 1947), where the court found that matters relating to ornamentation only which have no mechanical function cannot be relied upon to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art.)
Regarding claim 8, Hoshino in view of Roth discloses the semiconductor relay of claim 1, and Hoshino further discloses that the connection conductor (7, Figs. 2A-2B, 3, 10) includes a second base (7 is a second base, Fig. 10) on which the light receiving drive element is mounted (4 is mounted on 7, Fig. 10), and the second base has the second principal surface (upper surface of 7, Fig. 10), and is disposed between a base (62, Fig. 10) on which the first MOSFET (3a, Fig. 10) is mounted and a base (other 62, Fig. 10) on which the second MOSFET is mounted (3b, Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 11, Hoshino in view of Roth discloses the semiconductor relay of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose that as viewed along the first axis, the first base is located on a side closer to the connection conductor than the first input terminal and the second output terminal.
However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to place the first base closer to the connection conductor than the first and second input terminals in order to ensure that the light reaches the light receiving element more closely. See also In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device.); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice).
Regarding claim 13, Hoshino in view of Roth discloses a semiconductor relay module and Hoshino further discloses:
the semiconductor relay of claim 1 (see claim 1 above and see description of Fig. 13); and
a circuit board (P, Fig. 13, see also paragraph [0021]) on which first to fourth lines are formed (P1, P2, Fig. 13),
wherein the first line and the second line (P1, Fig. 13) are each connected to the first input terminal (any of 51, Fig. 13, paragraph [0014]) and the second input terminal (other one of 51, Fig. 13, paragraph [0014]) of the semiconductor relay, and the third line and the fourth line (P2, Fig. 13) are each connected to the first output terminal and the second output terminal (62, Fig. 13) of the semiconductor relay.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to arrange the semiconductor relay on a circuit board as described by Hoshino as being prior art in Fig. 13 as it is commonly done so to operate the semiconductor relay.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoshino in view of Roth further in view of U.S. Patent No. 6,285,084 ("Hikita").
Regarding claim 7, Hoshino in view of Roth discloses the semiconductor relay of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose that that the connection conductor has a portion exposed to an outside of the housing.
However, Hikita discloses the connection conductor (121, Fig. 8-9) has a portion exposed to an outside of the housing (see portion of 121 extending outside housing 103, Figs. 8-9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use have a portion extend to outside the housing as disclosed by Hikita in the device of Hoshino in view of Roth in order to connect the device to a printed circuit board.
Claims 9 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoshino in view of Roth further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2015/0263184 ("Takai").
Regarding claim 9, Hoshino in view of Roth discloses the semiconductor relay of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose that a resistor element having a predetermined resistance or an inductor element having a predetermined impedance is electrically connected in series in at least one of a conductive path connecting the first input terminal and the light emitting element to each other or a conductive path connecting the second input terminal and the light emitting element to each other.
However, Takai discloses an inductor element (301, 302, Fig. 11, 12) having a predetermined impedance is electrically connected in series in at least one of a conductive path connecting the first input terminal (21, Fig. 11, 12) and the light emitting element (50, Figs. 11, 12) to each other or a conductive path connecting the second input terminal (22, Figs. 11, 12) and the light emitting element (50, Figs. 11, 12) to each other (see also paragraphs [0072],[0075]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include an inductance in series with the input terminal and the light emitting element as disclosed by Takai in the device of Hoshino in view of Roth in order to create a low pass filter against radio frequency noise.
Regarding claim 14, Hoshino in view of Roth discloses the semiconductor relay module of claim 13, but does not explicitly disclose that a resistor element having a predetermined resistance or an inductor element having a predetermined impedance is electrically connected in series in a vicinity of a portion of the first line connected to the first input terminal, and/or a resistor element having a predetermined resistance or an inductor element having a predetermined impedance is electrically connected in series in a vicinity of a portion of the second line connected to the second input terminal.
However, Takai discloses an inductor element (301, 302, Fig. 11, 12) having a predetermined impedance is electrically connected in series in a vicinity of a portion of the first line connected to the first input terminal (21, Fig. 11, 12) or a portion of the second line connected to the second input terminal (22, Figs. 11, 12, see also paragraphs [0072], [0075]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include an inductance in series with the input terminal and the light emitting element as disclosed by Takai in the device of Hoshino in view of Roth in order to create a low pass filter against radio frequency noise.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 10, and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The invention as claimed, specifically in combination with: the standing portion having a portion exposed to the outside of the housing; or when an axis along a direction of array of the light emitting element and the light receiving drive element is a third axis, a width of the second base along the third axis is greater than a width of the first output terminal along the third axis or a width of the second output terminal along the third axis; or as viewed along the first axis, the outer connection portion of each of the first input terminal and the second input terminal is located between the first output terminal and the second output terminal; is not taught or made obvious by the prior art of record.
Conclusion
/MONICA T TABA/Examiner, Art Unit 2878