DETAILED ACTION
The Office Action is in response to an AMENDMENT entered 12/10/2025.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-9, 13-15 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. No. 20220329908 A1 to Gao (see WO2021238733 of PCT/CN2021/094553 filed on May 19, 2021 for support) in view of US Pub. No. 20180302680 A1 to Cormican.
As to claim 1, Gao discloses a display device comprising:
a display unit configured to display first content (Gao Fig. 1-18, ¶0035, 0037, displaying apparatus 200 being an LCD/OLED display to display content); and
a controller configured to obtain at least one first information associated with a background or object of the first content displayed on the display unit (Gao Fig. 1-18, ¶0048, 0127, 0136, 0148, 0176, 0187, controller receives object information associated with the object in the first content displayed on the display, obtaining the recognition result of a face from the video), obtain first user content including a background or object associated with the first information (Gao Fig. 1-18, ¶0048, 0053, 0106, 0127, 0136, 0148, 0176, 0187, receiving the detailed information with image/text associated with the recognition result), and display the obtained first user content on the display unit (Gao Fig. 1-18, ¶0048, 0053, 0106, 0127, 0136, 0148, 0176, 0187, displaying the received detailed information on the display).
Gao does not expressly disclose wherein the controller further is configured to recognize an utterance of a user and perform response processing to a request by the user using at least one of an audio signal or a subtitle signal.
Cormican discloses wherein the controller further is configured to recognize an utterance of a user and perform response processing to a request by the user using at least one of an audio signal or a subtitle signal (Cormican ¶0029, 0047-0048, 0062, device 102 with processor to recognize the user's voice commands and convert an associated audio signal into the search query).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gao by wherein the controller further is configured to recognize an utterance of a user and perform response processing to a request by the user using at least one of an audio signal or a subtitle signal as disclosed by Cormican. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to provide search queries using voice recognition enhancing the user’s viewing experience.
As to claim 3, Gao discloses wherein the first user content includes at least one of a photo, a video, or schedule information (Gao Fig. 1-18, ¶0048, 0053, 0106, 0127, 0136, 0148, 0176, 0187, image).
As to claim 4, Gao discloses a database storing the first user content (Gao Fig. 1-18, ¶0034, 0069, 0081, 0136, server with database storing the detailed information).
As to claim 5, Gao discloses wherein the display unit includes a first area and a second area, wherein the first content is displayed in the first area, and wherein the first user content is displayed in the second area (Gao Fig. 1-18, ¶0037, 0039, 0048, 0053, 0106, 0108, 0127, 0136, 0148, 0176, 0187, displaying having a plurality of areas/regions and the first content is displayed in the first area/region and the detailed information is displayed in the second area/region).
As to claim 6, Gao discloses wherein the first content includes at least one of broadcast content including a photo, a movie, or a broadcast program (Gao Fig. 1-18, ¶0036, broadcast reception content).
As to claim 7, Gao discloses wherein the first information associated with the background or object of the first content includes at least one of area information included in the first content, building information included in the first content, food information included in the first content, matter information including in the first content, or person information included in the first content (Gao Fig. 1-18, ¶0037, 0039, 0048, 0053, 0106, 0108, 0127, 0136, 0148, 0176, 0187, detailed information, e.g. character information).
As to claim 8, Gao discloses wherein wherein the controller combines the first content and the first user content and displays the combined first content and first user content on the display unit (Gao Fig. 1-18, ¶0037, 0039, 0048, 0053, 0106, 0108, 0127, 0136, 0148, 0176, displaying the first content and detailed information together on the display).
As to claim 9, Gao discloses wherein the controller obtains a first object included in the first user content, combines the first object into the first content, and displays the combined first object and the first content on the display unit (Gao Fig. 1-18, ¶0037, 0039, 0048, 0053, 0106, 0108, 0127, 0136, 0148, 0176, displaying the detailed information, e.g. image of the face and combines the detailed information with the content and displaying the detailed information and the content).
As to claim 13, Gao discloses wherein the controller obtains at least one second information associated with a background or object of second user content, obtains second content including a background or object associated with the second information, and displays the second content on the display unit (Gao Fig. 1-18, ¶0037, 0039, 0048, 0053, 0106, 0108-0112, 0127, 0136, 0148, 0176, receiving the character list with different characters associated with the object of the displayed introduction display area e.g. 203a and obtains the introduction display area e.g. 203a associated with the character list and displaying the character list and introduction display area e.g. 203a).
As to claim 14, Gao discloses wherein the second content includes at least one of broadcast content including a photo, a movie, or a broadcast program (Gao Fig. 1-18, ¶0037, 0039, 0048, 0053, 0106, 0108-0112, 0127, 0136, 0148, 0176, image/photo of the recognition content).
As to claim 15, Gao discloses wherein the controller obtains third user content including a background or object associated with the second information and displays the third user content on the display unit (Gao Fig. 1-18, ¶0037, 0039, 0048, 0053, 0106, 0108-0112, 0127, 0136, 0148, 0176, receiving the character list with different characters associated with the object of the displayed introduction display area e.g. 203a and obtains the introduction display area e.g. 203a associated with the character list and displaying the character list and introduction display area e.g. 203a).
As to claim 17, Gao discloses wherein the controller combines the second content and the second user content and displays the combined second content and second user content on the display unit (Gao Fig. 1-18, ¶0037, 0039, 0048, 0053, 0106, 0108-0112, 0127, 0136, 0148, 0176, receiving the character list with different characters associated with the object of the displayed introduction display area e.g. 203a and obtains the introduction display area e.g. 203a associated with the character list and displaying the character list and introduction display area e.g. 203a together).
As to claim 18, Gao discloses wherein the controller obtains a second object included in the second user content, combines the second object into the second content, and displays the combined second object and second content on the display unit (Gao Fig. 1-18, ¶0037, 0039, 0048, 0053, 0106, 0108-0112, 0127, 0136, 0148, 0176, receiving the character list with different characters associated with the object of the displayed introduction display area e.g. 203a and obtains the introduction display area e.g. 203a associated with the character list and displaying the character list and introduction display area e.g. 203a together).
Claims 2 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. No. 20220329908 A1 to Gao (see WO2021238733 of PCT/CN2021/094553 filed on May 19, 2021 for support) in view of US Pub. No. 20180302680 A1 to Cormican and in further view of U.S. Patent No. 10,375,009 B1 to Fishman.
As to claim 2, Gao and Cormican do not expressly disclose wherein the first user content includes at least one of content stored by the user, content created by the user, or content stored by the user as an object.
Fishman discloses wherein the first user content includes at least one of content stored by the user, content created by the user, or content stored by the user as an object (Fishman col. 9, ll. 30-50, user generated contents stored).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gao and Cormican by wherein the first user content includes at least one of content stored by the user, content created by the user, or content stored by the user as an object as disclosed by Fishman. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to provide user generated and stored content for display thereby enhancing the user’s viewing experience.
As to claim 16, Gao does not expressly disclose wherein the third user content includes at least one of content stored by the user, content created by the user, or content stored as an object by the user.
Fishman discloses wherein the third user content includes at least one of content stored by the user, content created by the user, or content stored as an object by the user (Fishman col. 9, ll. 30-50, user generated contents stored).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gao and Cormican by wherein the third user content includes at least one of content stored by the user, content created by the user, or content stored as an object by the user as disclosed by Fishman. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to provide user generated and stored content for display thereby enhancing the user’s viewing experience.
Claims 10 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. No. 20220329908 A1 to Gao (see WO2021238733 of PCT/CN2021/094553 filed on May 19, 2021 for support) in view of US Pub. No. 20180302680 A1 to Cormican and in further view of U.S. Pub. No. 20110078202 A1 to Kamibeppu
As to claim 10, Gao and Cormican does not expressly disclose wherein the controller stores content in which the first object and the first content are combined.
Kamibeppu discloses wherein the controller stores content in which the first object and the first content are combined (Kamibeppu ¶0077 storing the video data and object data in the memory).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gao and Cormican by wherein the controller stores content in which the first object and the first content are combined as disclosed by Kamibeppu. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to provide storage of the object and video in memory that allows the system to retrieve for processing/displaying thereby enhancing the buffering/caching operations of the system.
As to claim 19, Gao and Cormican does not expressly disclose wherein the controller stores content in which the second object and the second content are combined.
Kamibeppu discloses wherein the controller stores content in which the second object and the second content are combined (Kamibeppu ¶0077 storing the video data and object data in the memory).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gao and Cormican by wherein the controller stores content in which the second object and the second content are combined as disclosed by Kamibeppu. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to provide storage of the object and video in memory that allows the system to retrieve for processing/displaying thereby enhancing the buffering/caching operations of the system.
Claims 11, 12 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. No. 20220329908 A1 to Gao (see WO2021238733 of PCT/CN2021/094553 filed on May 19, 2021 for support) in view of US Pub. No. 20180302680 A1 to Cormican and in further view of U.S. Pub. No. 20180173404 A1 to Smith.
As to claim 11, Gao and Cormican do not expressly disclose wherein the controller obtains background information of the first content and obtains and provides a list of virtual experience platforms that provide virtual experiences of places associated with the background information.
Smith discloses wherein the controller obtains background information of the first content and obtains and provides a list of virtual experience platforms that provide virtual experiences of places associated with the background information (Smith Fig. 1-8, ¶0022, 0041-0045, 0049, receiving object information of objects in the room and providing a user selection menu for selecting virtual content to be included in the user experience).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gao and Cormican by wherein the controller obtains background information of the first content and obtains and provides a list of virtual experience platforms that provide virtual experiences of places associated with the background information as disclosed by Smith. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to provide a personalized user experience with virtual content thereby enhancing the user’s experience.
As to claim 12, Smith discloses wherein the controller connects to at least one virtual experience platform among the list of virtual experience platforms to provide a virtual experience environment to the user (Smith Fig. 1-8, ¶0022, 0041-0045, 0049, user experience server for personalizing the user experience for selecting virtual content to be included in the user experience).
As to claim 20, Gao and Cormican does not expressly disclose wherein the controller obtains background information of the second content and connects to a virtual experience platform that provides a virtual experience of a place associated with the background information to provide a virtual experience environment to the user.
Smith discloses wherein the controller obtains background information of the second content and connects to a virtual experience platform that provides a virtual experience of a place associated with the background information to provide a virtual experience environment to the user (Smith Fig. 1-8, ¶0022, 0041-0045, 0049, receiving object information of objects in the room and providing a user selection menu for selecting virtual content to be included in the user experience and user experience server for personalizing the user experience for selecting virtual content to be included in the user experience).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gao and Cormican by wherein the controller obtains background information of the second content and connects to a virtual experience platform that provides a virtual experience of a place associated with the background information to provide a virtual experience environment to the user as disclosed by Smith. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to provide a personalized user experience with virtual content thereby enhancing the user’s experience.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Claims 1-20 have been rejected.
Correspondence Information
/KYU CHAE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426