DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-7, 9, 12, 13, 18, 21, 22, 24, 28, 31, 32, 35, 74, 76 and 77 are presented for examination.
Claim(s) 3, 8, 10, 11, 14-17, 19, 20, 23, 25-27, 29, 30, 33, 34, 36-73 and 75 are canceled.
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 7, 9, 13, 18, 21, 22, 24, 31 and 74 are amended.
Claims 76 and 77 are new.
Priority
As required by M.P.E.P.201.14(c), acknowledgement is made to applicant’s claim for priority based on application(s) CN202210326264.0 submitted on March 29th, 2022.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on September 27th, 2024 and April 7th, 2026 follow the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
Applicant’s amendment(s) to the specification and abstract of the disclosure filed September 27th, 2024 is considered.
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed: i.e., “EDGE APPLICATION SERVER (EAS) DISCOVERY METHOD, APPRATUS AND NETWORK DEVICE”.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 112
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 18 recites “the method of claim 3” in line 1. However, claim 3 is canceled. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For the purpose of examination, examiner will interpret as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 12, 18, 21, 22, 28, 74 and 76 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by TANG (US 2024/0187374 A1).
Regarding Claim 1,
Tang discloses a method for discovering an edge application server (EAS) [see fig. 2, pg. 5, ¶68 lines 1-3; ¶69 lines 1-13, a method … for resolving a FQDN received from the UE into an IP address of a suitable edge application server], performed by a first network function [see fig. 2, pg. 5, ¶68 lines 1-3; ¶69 lines 1-13, of an exemplary DNS configuration per node via a session management function (SMF)], comprising:
sending a first message to a second network function [see fig. 2: Step “203a”, pg. 6, ¶74 lines 1-11; ¶76 lines 1-9, the SMF sends a DNS configuration request to the EASDF, to provision or remove the DNS configuration information corresponding to DNN(s)/S-NSSAI(s) and/or DNAI(s) … If there is no DNS configuration information of DNN/S-NSSAI and/or DNAI(s) and/or application(s) cached, the SMF retrieves it from the NEF].
Regarding Claim 2,
Tang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein sending the first message to the second network function [see fig. 2: Step “203a”, pg. 6, ¶74 lines 1-11; ¶76 lines 1-9, the SMF sends a DNS configuration request to the EASDF], comprises:
in an EAS searching or relocating process [see fig. 2: Step “203a”, pg. 6, ¶74 lines 1-11; ¶76 lines 1-9, the SMF is triggered to provision or remove the DNS configuration information of DNN/S-NSSAI and/or DNAI(s) and/or application(s) in … three cases], sending the first message to the second network function based on first information [see fig. 2: Step(s) “202a”/ “203a”, pg. 6, ¶72 lines 1-6; ¶73 lines 1-4; ¶74 lines 1-11; ¶76 lines 1-9, the SMF sends a DNS configuration request to the EASDF after receiving the DNS configuration information via a pull mode or a push mode and selecting an EASDF using a NRF discovery procedure based on SMF local configuration information];
wherein the method [see fig. 2, pg. 5, ¶68 lines 1-3; ¶69 lines 1-13, the method] further comprises:
receiving a second message sent by the second network function [see fig. 2: Step “204a”, pg. 6, ¶78 lines 1-16, the EASDF updates the DNS configuration information of DNN/S-NSSAI and/or DNAI(s) and/or application(s) according to a DNS configuration request message; and the EASDF acknowledges by responding a DNS configuration response message to the SMF];
wherein the second message comprises EAS information [see fig. 2: Step “204a”, pg. 6, ¶78 lines 1-16, the DNS configuration request message is implemented by invoking a Neasdf_DNSConfiguration_Create Request message to the selected EASDF to create the DNS context information of node-level on the EASDF, and DNS configuration response message is implemented by invoking a Neasdf_DNSConfiguration_Create Response].
Regarding Claim 4,
Tang discloses the method of claim 1 [see fig. 2, pg. 5, ¶68 lines 1-3; ¶69 lines 1-13, the method], further comprising:
in an EAS searching process [see fig. 2: Step(s) “202a”/ “203a”, pg. 6, ¶72 lines 1-6; ¶73 lines 1-4; ¶74 lines 1-11; ¶76 lines 1-9, the SMF selects an EASDF using a NRF discovery procedure or based on SMF local configuration information], receiving a third message sent by a third network function [see fig. 2: Step(s) “202a”/ “203a”, pg. 6, ¶72 lines 1-6; ¶73 lines 1-4; ¶74 lines 1-11; ¶76 lines 1-9, the SMF receives the DNS configuration information via a pull mode or a push mode].
Regarding Claim 12,
Tang discloses the method of claim 1 [see fig. 2, pg. 5, ¶68 lines 1-3; ¶69 lines 1-13, the method], wherein the first message comprises the following information [see fig. 2, pg. 5, ¶68 lines 1-3; ¶69 lines 1-13, the DNS configuration request]:
a location of a terminal [see fig. 2, pg. 5, ¶68 lines 1-3; ¶69 lines 1-13, a local DNS server (e.g., L-DNS 1 or L-DNS 2) is deployed and used for resolving a FQDN received from a UE into an IP address of a suitable edge application server within the local DN].
Regarding Claim 18,
Tang discloses the method of claim 3 [see fig. 2, pg. 5, ¶68 lines 1-3; ¶69 lines 1-13, the method], wherein in an EAS searching or relocating process [see fig. 2: Step(s) “202a”/ “203a”, pg. 6, ¶72 lines 1-6; ¶73 lines 1-4; ¶74 lines 1-11; ¶76 lines 1-9, the SMF selects an EASDF using a NRF discovery procedure or based on SMF local configuration information], after receiving the second message sent by the second network function [see fig. 2: Step “204a”, pg. 6, ¶78 lines 1-16, the EASDF acknowledges by responding a DNS configuration response message to the SMF], the method further comprises [see fig. 2, pg. 5, ¶68 lines 1-3; ¶69 lines 1-13, the method]:
carrying EAS information in a PDU session modification command [see fig. 2: Step(s) “202a”/ “203a”, pg. 6, ¶72 lines 1-6; ¶73 lines 1-4; ¶74 lines 1-11; ¶76 lines 1-9, this interaction with the EASDF is a node level procedure, i.e., independent of any PDU Session, from which the received DNS configuration information received can be applied to any PDU session associated with the node (e.g. network function of EASDF)];
wherein the second message comprises the following information [see fig. 2: Step “204a”, pg. 6, ¶78 lines 1-16, the EASDF acknowledges by responding a DNS configuration response message to the SMF]:
an EAS fully qualified domain name (FQDN) [see pg. 6, ¶80 lines 5-9, a DNAI of a PSA UPF providing an up path for supported FQDN(s) for the PDU session].
Regarding Claim 21,
Tang discloses a method for discovering an edge application server (EAS) [see fig. 2, pg. 5, ¶68 lines 1-3; ¶69 lines 1-13, a method … for resolving a FQDN received from the UE into an IP address of a suitable edge application server], performed by a second network function [see fig. 2, pg. 5, ¶68 lines 1-3; ¶69 lines 1-13, by an Edge Application Server Discovery Function (EASDF)], comprising:
receiving a first message sent by a first network function [see fig. 2: Step “203a”, pg. 6, ¶74 lines 1-11; ¶76 lines 1-9, the SMF sends a DNS configuration request to the EASDF, to provision or remove the DNS configuration information corresponding to DNN(s)/S-NSSAI(s) and/or DNAI(s) … If there is no DNS configuration information of DNN/S-NSSAI and/or DNAI(s) and/or application(s) cached, the SMF retrieves it from the NEF].
Regarding Claim 22,
Tang discloses a method of claim 21 [see fig. 2, pg. 5, ¶68 lines 1-3; ¶69 lines 1-13, a method], further comprising:
sending a second message to the first network function [see fig. 2: Step “204a”, pg. 6, ¶78 lines 1-16, the EASDF updates the DNS configuration information of DNN/S-NSSAI and/or DNAI(s) and/or application(s) according to a DNS configuration request message; and the EASDF acknowledges by responding a DNS configuration response message to the SMF], the second message comprising EAS information [see fig. 2: Step “204a”, pg. 6, ¶78 lines 1-16, the DNS configuration request message is implemented by invoking a “Neasdf_DNSConfiguration_Create” Request message to the selected EASDF to create the DNS context information of node-level on the EASDF, and DNS configuration response message is implemented by invoking a “Neasdf_DNSConfiguration_Create” Response].
Regarding Claim 28,
Tang discloses a method of claim 21 [see fig. 2, pg. 5, ¶68 lines 1-3; ¶69 lines 1-13, the method], wherein the first message comprises the following information [see fig. 2, pg. 5, ¶68 lines 1-3; ¶69 lines 1-13, the DNS configuration request]:
a location of a terminal [see fig. 2, pg. 5, ¶68 lines 1-3; ¶69 lines 1-13, a local DNS server (e.g., L-DNS 1 or L-DNS 2) is deployed and used for resolving a FQDN received from a UE into an IP address of a suitable edge application server within the local DN].
Regarding Claim 74,
Tang discloses a network device [see fig. 8, pg. 13, ¶167 lines 1-3, an apparatus or session management function (SMF)], comprising:
a transceiver [see fig. 8, pg. 13, ¶167 lines 1-3, at least one transceiver], a processor [see fig. 8, pg. 13, ¶167 lines 1-3, at least one processor], a memory [see fig. 8, pg. 13, ¶167 lines 1-3, one non-transitory computer-readable medium], and programs or instructions stored on the memory and executable by the processor [see fig. 8, pg. 13, ¶167 lines 1-3, storing thereon computer-executable instructions], wherein when the programs or instructions are executed by the processor [see fig. 8, pg. 13, ¶167 lines 1-3, to cause a processor to implement], and the processor is configured to perform the method of claim 1 [see fig. 2, pg. 5, ¶68 lines 1-3; ¶69 lines 1-13, a method … for resolving a FQDN received from the UE into an IP address of a suitable edge application server].
Regarding Claim 76,
Tang discloses a network device [see fig. 8, pg. 13, ¶167 lines 1-3, an apparatus or an Edge Application Server Discovery Function (EASDF)], comprising:
a transceiver [see fig. 8, pg. 13, ¶167 lines 1-3, at least one transceiver], a processor [see fig. 8, pg. 13, ¶167 lines 1-3, at least one processor], a memory [see fig. 8, pg. 13, ¶167 lines 1-3, one non-transitory computer-readable medium], and programs or instructions stored on the memory and executable by the processor [see fig. 8, pg. 13, ¶167 lines 1-3, storing thereon computer-executable instructions], wherein when the programs or instructions are executed by the processor [see fig. 8, pg. 13, ¶167 lines 1-3, to cause a processor to implement], and the processor is configured to perform the method of claim 21 [see fig. 2, pg. 5, ¶68 lines 1-3; ¶69 lines 1-13, a method … for resolving a FQDN received from the UE into an IP address of a suitable edge application server].
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 31, 32, 35 and 77 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over TANG in view of LEE et al. (US 2022/0263788 A1) hereinafter “Lee”.
Regarding Claim 31,
Tang discloses a method for discovering an edge application server (EAS) [see fig. 3, pg. 7, ¶99 lines 1-6, a method … for resolving a FQDN received from the UE into an IP address of a suitable edge application server], performed by a fourth network function [see fig. 2, pg. 5, ¶68 lines 1-3; ¶69 lines 1-13, by a network exposure function (NEF)], comprising:
receiving a sixth message sent by a second network function for requesting to obtain EAS information [see fig. 3: Step “305”, pg. 8, ¶102 lines 1-10, the UDR sends a Nudr_DM_Create Response message, a Nudr_DM_Update Response message, or a Nudr_DM_Delete Response message to the NEF].
Although Tang discloses receiving a sixth message sent by a second network function for requesting to obtain EAS information, Tang does not explicitly teach “sending a tenth message to a sixth network function for requesting to obtain EAS information”.
However Lee discloses receiving a sixth message sent by a second network function for requesting to obtain EAS information [see fig. 6: Step “625”, pg. 10, ¶200 lines 1-5, the NRF “601” transmits, to the NEF (EDR) “603”, a response message for the discovery request message in operation 620. The response message transmitted from the NRF “601” to the NEF (EDR) “603” includes the endpoint address of the EASDF “600”];
sending a tenth message to a sixth network function for requesting to obtain EAS information [see fig. 6: Step “630”, pg. 10, ¶201 lines 1-6, the NEF (EDR) “603” transmits, to the EASDF “600”, an EAS domain configuration request message based on the preset endpoint address of the EASDF “600” or the endpoint address of the EASDF “600” obtained in operation “625”. The EAS domain configuration request message includes EAS domain configuration information].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “sending a tenth message to a sixth network function for requesting to obtain EAS information” as taught by Lee in the system of Tang for providing a system of providing a UE with the address of an edge application server (EAS) available in a local network available in the UE's connected position, as a DNS response, in response to a DNS request transmitted from a UE through a 3GPP system [see Lee, pgs. 1-2, ¶14 lines 1-9].
Regarding Claim 32,
The combined system of Tang and Lee discloses the method of claim 31 [see fig. 3, pg. 7, ¶99 lines 1-6, a method].
Tang discloses the method further comprising:
receiving an eleventh message sent by the sixth network function [see fig. 3: Step “301”, pg. 7, ¶100 lines 1-10, an AF sends a request, to invoke a Nnef_DNSConfiguraiton_Create service, a Nnef_DNSConfiguraiton_Update service, or a Nnef_DNSConfiguraiton_Delete service], the eleventh message comprising the EAS information [see fig. 3: Step “301”, pg. 7, ¶100 lines 1-10, if the allowed delay is included, the allowed delay indicates that DNS configuration information with a list of DNS server(s) in this request].
Regarding Claim 35,
The combined system of Tang and Lee discloses the method of claim 32 [see fig. 2, pg. 5, ¶68 lines 1-3; ¶69 lines 1-13, a method].
Tang further discloses wherein the eleventh message [see fig. 3: Step “301”, pg. 7, ¶100 lines 1-10, the request to invoke a Nnef_DNSConfiguraiton_Create service] comprises the following information:
an EAS fully qualified domain name (FQDN) [see pg. 6, ¶80 lines 5-9, a DNAI of a PSA UPF providing an up path for supported FQDN(s) for the PDU session].
Regarding Claim 77,
The combined system of Tang and Lee discloses the method of claim 31 [see fig. 2, pg. 5, ¶68 lines 1-3; ¶69 lines 1-13, a method].
Tang further discloses a network device [see fig. 8, pg. 13, ¶167 lines 1-3, an apparatus or a network exposure function (NEF)], comprising:
a transceiver [see fig. 8, pg. 13, ¶167 lines 1-3, at least one transceiver], a processor [see fig. 8, pg. 13, ¶167 lines 1-3, at least one processor], a memory [see fig. 8, pg. 13, ¶167 lines 1-3, one non-transitory computer-readable medium], and programs or instructions stored on the memory and executable by the processor [see fig. 8, pg. 13, ¶167 lines 1-3, storing thereon computer-executable instructions], wherein when the programs or instructions are executed by the processor [see fig. 8, pg. 13, ¶167 lines 1-3, to cause a processor to implement], and the processor is configured to perform the method of claim 31 [see fig. 2, pg. 5, ¶68 lines 1-3; ¶69 lines 1-13, a method … for resolving a FQDN received from the UE into an IP address of a suitable edge application server].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 5-7, 9, 13 and 24 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
United States Patent Application Publication: Zhao et al. (US 2024/0171647 A1); see fig. 8, pgs. 26-27, ¶586-¶622.
/RUSHIL P. SAMPAT/Primary Examiner- TC 2400, Art Unit 2469