DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim 1, 10, 17 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 8, 9 of copending Application No. 18850190 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Independent Claims
Claim(s) 1, 10, 17, 29, 30, 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sayana (WO-2013191441-A1).
As to claim 1, 17, 29, 30: Sayana teaches a method for switching a channel status indicator (CSI) processing mode, being performed by a terminal and comprising: receiving a switching instruction sent by a network device (p.44, 50, 65); and switching, based on the switching instruction, from a first CSI processing mode to a second CSI processing mode (p.44, 50, 65 The use of Mode 2-2 or alternate Mode 2-2 can be indicated by a higher layer parameter or dynamically signaled parameter with DCI).
As to claim 10, 34: Sayana teaches a method for switching a channel status indicator (CSI) processing mode, being performed by a terminal and comprising: switching from a first CSI processing mode to a second CSI processing mode (p.44, 50, 65 The UE measures the CSI of individual CSI-RS resources and switches between the reporting types based on the best CQI or RSRP.); and sending a notification instruction to a network device, wherein the notification instruction is used to indicate the network device to process CSI feedback information of the terminal based on the second CSI processing mode (p.35, 44 A CSI report on the other hand is a feedback report that is sent in an uplink subframe with an associated CSI configuration and a serving cell and belongs to one of the report types and includes feedback elements like PMI/CQI/RI).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Dependent Claims
Claim(s) 2, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sayana (WO-2013191441-A1) in view of Liu (CN-113922936-A).
As to claim 2, 11: Sayana teaches the method according to claim 1, … ; or the first CSI processing mode is an Al-based CSI processing mode, and the second CSI processing mode is a CSI processing mode other than the Al-based CSI processing mode; or, the second CSI processing mode is an Al-based CSI processing mode, and the first CSI processing mode is a CSI processing mode other than the Al-based CSI processing mode.
Sayana may not explicitly teach wherein: the first CSI processing mode is a CSI processing mode based on a first artificial intelligence (AI) model, and the second CSI processing mode is a CSI processing mode based on a second AI model. However, Liu teaches wherein: the first CSI processing mode is a CSI processing mode based on a first artificial intelligence (AI) model, and the second CSI processing mode is a CSI processing mode based on a second AI model (step 104, processing CSI raw data with the selected AI model, generating result data; In this embodiment, the network device through PDSCH sending the first information. the first information comprises N= 2 sets of models, corresponding respectively two CSI configurations, such as channel state information pilot frequency (CSI-RS) 16 port and 8 port configuration, CSI feedback model used. 2 sets of models can be deep neural network (DNN) model or a convolutional neural network module (CNN) model, each set of model is composed of neuron arrangement mode and each neuron associated parameter; if CSI-RS adopts 16 port, then selecting model 1, CSI-RS uses 8 port to use model 2).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement CSI AI processing, taught by Liu, into the communication system, taught by Sayana, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and enable the UE to switch between AI models to match operating conditions. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Liu and Sayana in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
Claim(s) 3, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sayana (WO-2013191441-A1), Liu (CN-113922936-A) in view of Li, Haozhen, et al. “CSI Sensing and Feedback: A Semi-Supervised Learning Approach.” arXiv, 26 Sept. 2021, arXiv:2110.06142; Chakraborty (US-20210367701).
As to claim 3, 12: Sayana teaches the method according to claim 2,
Sayana may not explicitly teach wherein: the first AI model is an AI model corresponding to a first channel environment, and the second AI model is an Al model corresponding to a second channel environment. However, Li teaches wherein: the first AI model is an AI model corresponding to a first channel environment, and the second AI model is an Al model corresponding to a second channel environment (p.1 using indoor and outdoor so-called wireless channel environments as the pseudo labels for CSI data; p.4 After the UE side semi-supervised module is well-trained, two streams of AEs for indoor and outdoor respectively are trained with classified indoor and outdoor CSI data on their loss function).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement AI model corresponding to channel environment, taught by Li, into the communication system, taught by Sayana, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and adapt to different channel enviroments. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Sayana and Li in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
Sayana may not explicitly teach wherein, a transmission rate corresponding to the first channel environment is different from a transmission rate corresponding to the second channel environment. However, Chakraborty teaches wherein, a transmission rate corresponding to the first channel environment is different from a transmission rate corresponding to the second channel environment ([025, 33, 34, 64] Each wireless device 101 transmits at a best possible data rate for themselves, which could depend on the signal quality and application requirements).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement transmit rate for a channel environment, taught by Chakraborty, into the communication system, taught by Sayana, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and select AI model suited for channel conditions. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Chakraborty and Sayana in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
Claim(s) 4, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sayana (WO-2013191441-A1), Liu (CN-113922936-A) in view of Zhang (US-20210295174).
As to claim 4, 13: Sayana teaches the method according to claim 2.
Sayana may not explicitly teach wherein: the first AI model is an AI model corresponding to a first AI processing capability, and the second AI model is an AI model corresponding to a second AI processing capability; wherein, a delay corresponding to the first AI processing capability is different from a delay corresponding to the second AI processing capability. However, Zhang teaches wherein: the first AI model is an AI model corresponding to a first AI processing capability, and the second AI model is an AI model corresponding to a second AI processing capability ([0032, 62-65] The multi-capacity model may comprise a set of nested or descendent models, each of which offers a unique resource-accuracy trade-off); wherein, a delay corresponding to the first AI processing capability is different from a delay corresponding to the second AI processing capability ([0041, 66, 68, 102] The processing latency 46, memory footprint 48, and accuracy 50 characteristics of each descendant model 40 of the multi-capacity model 44 are identified and stored in an overall model profile 52 of the multi-capacity model 44).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement AI processing delay, taught by Zhang, into the communication system, taught by Sayana, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and improve efficiency by selecting best AI model for delay. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Zhang and Sayana in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
Claim(s) 5, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sayana (WO-2013191441-A1) in view of Zhang (US-20210295174).
As to claim 5, 14: Sayana teaches the method according to claim 1,
Sayana may not explicitly teach wherein: the first CSI processing mode is an Al-based CSI processing mode … and the second CSI processing mode is an Al-based CSI processing mode. However, Liu teaches wherein: the first CSI processing mode is an Al-based CSI processing mode … and the second CSI processing mode is an Al-based CSI processing mode (step 104, processing CSI raw data with the selected AI model, generating result data; In this embodiment, the network device through PDSCH sending the first information. the first information comprises N= 2 sets of models, corresponding respectively two CSI configurations, such as channel state information pilot frequency (CSI-RS) 16 port and 8 port configuration, CSI feedback model used. 2 sets of models can be deep neural network (DNN) model or a convolutional neural network module (CNN) model, each set of model is composed of neuron arrangement mode and each neuron associated parameter; if CSI-RS adopts 16 port, then selecting model 1, CSI-RS uses 8 port to use model 2).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement CSI AI processing, taught by Liu, into the communication system, taught by Sayana, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and enable the UE to switch between AI models to match operating conditions. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Liu and Sayana in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
Sayana may not explicitly teach corresponding to a first AI processing capability, corresponding to a second AI processing capability; wherein, a delay corresponding to the first AI processing capability is less than different from a delay corresponding to the second AI processing. However, Zhang teaches corresponding to a first AI processing capability, corresponding to a second AI processing capability ([0032, 62-65] The multi-capacity model may comprise a set of nested or descendent models, each of which offers a unique resource-accuracy trade-off); wherein, a delay corresponding to the first AI processing capability is less than different from a delay corresponding to the second AI processing ([0041, 66, 68, 102] The processing latency 46, memory footprint 48, and accuracy 50 characteristics of each descendant model 40 of the multi-capacity model 44 are identified and stored in an overall model profile 52 of the multi-capacity model 44).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement AI processing delay, taught by Zhang, into the communication system, taught by Sayana, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and improve efficiency by selecting best AI model for delay. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Zhang and Sayana in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
Claim(s) 15, 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sayana (WO-2013191441-A1) in view of Pezeshki (US-20210195462).
As to claim 15, 22: Sayana teaches the method according to claim 10,
Sayana may not explicitly teach wherein: the first CSI processing mode is an Al-based CSI processing mode, and the second CSI processing mode is a non-Al-based CSI processing mode; or, the second CSI processing mode is an Al-based CSI processing mode, and the first CSI processing mode is a non-Al-based CSI processing mode other than the Al-based CSI processing mode. However, Pezeshki teaches wherein: the first CSI processing mode is an Al-based CSI processing mode, and the second CSI processing mode is a non-Al-based CSI processing mode; or, the second CSI processing mode is an Al-based CSI processing mode, and the first CSI processing mode is a non-Al-based CSI processing mode other than the Al-based CSI processing mode ([0046, 49]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement AI and non-AI based CSI, taught by Pezeshki, into the communication system, taught by Sayana, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and flexibility in the face of changing conditions. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Pezeshki and Sayana in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
Claim(s) 16, 23, 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sayana (WO-2013191441-A1) in view of Sayana (US-20130336214).
As to claim 16: Sayana teaches the method according claim 10.
Sayana may not explicitly teach further comprising: sending the CSI feedback information to the network device, wherein the CSI feedback information carries indication information of the second CSI processing mode used by the terminal. However, Sayana ‘214 teaches further comprising: sending the CSI feedback information to the network device ([0137, 399] a precoder type indication (PTI) is sent along with RI in a single report for 8Tx feedback), wherein the CSI feedback information carries indication information of the second CSI processing mode used by the terminal ([0399, 411] When PTI=0, the UE sends wideband CQI feedback and wideband first PMI (W1) feedback and wideband second PMI (W2) feedback as shown in FIG. 8A. When PTI=1, the UE reports wideband CQI, wideband W2, subband CQI and subband W2).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement CSI feedback indication, taught by Sayana ’214, into the communication system, taught by Sayana, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and ensure correct processing of CSI feedback. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Sayana ‘214 and Sayana in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
As to claim 23: Sayana teaches the method according to claim 17.
Sayana may not explicitly teach wherein the switching instruction is a semi-static instruction or a dynamic instruction. However, Sayana ‘214 teaches wherein the switching instruction is a semi-static instruction or a dynamic instruction ([0321, 388, 389] dynamically signaled parameter with DCI).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement dynamic signaling, taught by Sayana ’214, into the communication system, taught by Sayana, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and enable responsiveness to changing conditions. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Sayana ‘214 and Sayana in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
As to claim 25: Sayana teaches the method according to claim 17.
Sayana may not explicitly teach wherein the switching instruction is carried in downlink control information (DCI). However, Sayana ‘214 teaches wherein the switching instruction is carried in downlink control information (DCI) ([0321, 388, 389] dynamically signaled parameter with DCI).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement dynamic signaling, taught by Sayana ’214, into the communication system, taught by Sayana, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and enable responsiveness to changing conditions. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Sayana ‘214 and Sayana in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sayana (WO-2013191441-A1) in view of Lee (US-20210110261).
As to claim 24: Sayana teaches the method according to claim 17.
Sayana may not explicitly teach wherein before sending the switching instruction to the terminal, the method further comprises: receiving a switching request sent by the terminal, wherein the switching request is used to request switching of the CSI processing mode. However, Lee teaches wherein before sending the switching instruction to the terminal ([0146-149]), the method further comprises: receiving a switching request sent by the terminal, wherein the switching request is used to request switching of the CSI processing mode ([0146-149] the UE 1401 may request the BS 1402 to switch to mode 1 or mode 3).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement switching CSI mode, taught by Lee, into the communication system, taught by Sayana, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and enable UE to switch based on changing conditions. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Lee and Sayana in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
Conclusion
/ANDREW C OH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466