DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 1-14 and 20-25 are presented for examination.
Claim(s) 2-4, 7, 9-11 and 14 are amended.
Claim(s) 15-19 are canceled.
Claim(s) 20-25 are new.
Priority
As required by M.P.E.P.201.14(c), acknowledgement is made to applicant’s claim for priority based on application(s) PCT/CN2022/084606 submitted on March 31st, 2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on September 27th, 2024 follow the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed (i.e., “SYNCHRONIZATION SIGNAL BLOCK (SSB) MEASUREMENT TIMING CONFIGURATION FOR SATELLITE COMMUNICATION”).
Applicant’s amendment to the specification and abstract of the disclosure filed September 27th, 2024 is considered.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 20-25 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 20 recites a machine claim, “A user equipment (UE)”, and the list of devices (i.e. a processor, and a memory) in the preamble. The body of the claim recites the action steps: “sending …” performed by the user equipment (UE).
For clarity and placing the claim into a proper machine claim, it is suggested to replace “A user equipment (UE)” with “A user equipment (UE) comprising:” so that the aforementioned list of devices, are comprised by the user equipment (UE), which are performing these actions/steps (see MPEP 2106.03, section I1 ; MPEP 2173.05(p), section II2).
Claim(s) 21-25 are also being objected for being dependent on an objected base claim as set forth above.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-12, 14 and 20-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Fan et al. (US 2023/0283361 A1) hereinafter “Fan” in view of EULER et al. (US 2023/0284060 A1) hereinafter “Euler”.
Regarding Claim 1,
Fan discloses a method for transmitting information [see fig. 3, pg. 5, ¶78 lines 1-5, a wireless communication method “200”], performed by a user equipment [see fig. 3, pg. 5, ¶78 lines 1-5, executed by a terminal device], comprising:
sending indication information to a network device [see fig. 3: Step “210”, pg. 5, ¶79 lines 1-2; ¶80 lines 1-3; ¶81 lines 1-3; ¶82 lines 1-3, the terminal device transmits first information, the first information including at least one of: signal propagation distance information from a serving satellite and a neighbor satellite of the serving satellite to the terminal device … etc.].
Although Fan discloses sending indication information to a network device, Fan does not explicitly teach “the indication information being configured to indicate whether the user equipment supports a capability of simultaneously measuring signals from different satellite networks”.
However Euler discloses sending indication information to a network device [see fig. 4, pg. 4, ¶72 lines 1-21, if the UE needs to adjust the measurement gaps, it informs the network on how the measurement gaps are adjusted so that the network can respect the adjusted gaps in its scheduling decisions], the indication information being configured to indicate whether the user equipment supports a capability of simultaneously measuring signals from different satellite networks [see fig. 4, pg. 4, ¶71 lines 1-5, using the provided information, for example, a timestamp indicating the point in time for which the configuration is valid, and optionally ephemeris data for all relevant satellites as well as its own position, the UE recalculates the distances to the satellites and the propagation delays as needed and adjusts the SMTC windows and measurement gaps accordingly (in particular adjusts the offset)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “the indication information being configured to indicate whether the user equipment supports a capability of simultaneously measuring signals from different satellite networks” as taught by Euler in the system of Fan for improving the efficiency with which a UE connects to a base station, in particular an NTN base station and provide benefits such as improved connection times and reduced battery consumption allowing the user to access data quicker and longer [see Euler, pg. 16, ¶172 lines 7-12].
Regarding Claim 2,
Fan discloses the method according to claim 1.
Fan does not explicitly teach ”in response to the indication information indicating that the user equipment supports the capability of simultaneously measuring the signals from the different satellite networks, performing user equipment scheduling within a servicing cell during a neighbouring cell measurement performed by the user equipment, wherein the servicing cell corresponds to a first satellite network, the neighbouring cell corresponds to a second satellite network, and the first satellite network is different from the second satellite network”.
However Euler discloses in response to the indication information indicating that the user equipment supports the capability of simultaneously measuring the signals from the different satellite networks [see pg. 4, ¶68 lines 1-6; ¶69 lines 1-3; ¶70 lines 1-9; ¶71 lines 1-5; ¶72 lines 1-21, if the UE needs to adjust the measurement gaps, it informs the network on how the measurement gaps are adjusted], performing user equipment scheduling within a servicing cell during a neighbouring cell measurement performed by the user equipment [see pg. 4, ¶68 lines 1-6; ¶69 lines 1-3; ¶70 lines 1-9; ¶71 lines 1-5; ¶72 lines 1-21, so that the network can respect the adjusted gaps in its scheduling decisions], wherein the servicing cell corresponds to a first satellite network [see pg. 4, ¶68 lines 1-6; ¶69 lines 1-3; ¶70 lines 1-9; ¶71 lines 1-5; ¶72 lines 1-21, where the network is aware of the UE's location, the network, i.e. the serving gNB/satellite, optionally predicts when and how the UE recalculates and updates the SMTC], the neighbouring cell corresponds to a second satellite network [see pg. 4, ¶68 lines 1-6; ¶69 lines 1-3; ¶70 lines 1-9; ¶71 lines 1-5; ¶72 lines 1-21, and consequently the measurement gap, based on knowledge of the other satellite's orbit], and the first satellite network is different from the second satellite network [see pg. 4, ¶68 lines 1-6; ¶69 lines 1-3; ¶70 lines 1-9; ¶71 lines 1-5; ¶72 lines 1-21, using the provided information as well as its own position, the UE recalculates the distances to the satellites and the propagation delays as needed and adjusts the SMTC windows and measurement gaps accordingly (in particular adjusts the offset)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide ”in response to the indication information indicating that the user equipment supports the capability of simultaneously measuring the signals from the different satellite networks, performing user equipment scheduling within a servicing cell during a neighbouring cell measurement performed by the user equipment, wherein the servicing cell corresponds to a first satellite network, the neighbouring cell corresponds to a second satellite network, and the first satellite network is different from the second satellite network” as taught by Euler in the system of Fan for the same motivation as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding Claim 3,
Fan discloses the method according to claim 1.
Fan does not explicitly teach “in response to the indication information indicating that the user equipment does not support the capability of simultaneously measuring the signals from the different satellite networks, stopping user equipment scheduling within a servicing cell for a set time period, wherein the servicing cell corresponds to a first satellite network, the neighbouring cell corresponds to a second satellite network, and the first satellite network is different from the second satellite network, and wherein the set time period comprises a time period for the user equipment performing the neighbouring cell measurement”.
However Euler discloses in response to the indication information indicating that the user equipment does not support the capability of simultaneously measuring the signals from the different satellite networks [see pg. 4, ¶68 lines 1-6; ¶69 lines 1-3; ¶70 lines 1-9; ¶71 lines 1-5; ¶72 lines 1-21, if the UE needs to adjust the measurement gaps, it informs the network on how the measurement gaps are adjusted], stopping user equipment scheduling within a servicing cell for a set time period [see pg. 4, ¶68 lines 1-6; ¶69 lines 1-3; ¶70 lines 1-9; ¶71 lines 1-5; ¶72 lines 1-21, so that the network can respect the adjusted gaps in its scheduling decisions], wherein the servicing cell corresponds to a first satellite network [see pg. 4, ¶68 lines 1-6; ¶69 lines 1-3; ¶70 lines 1-9; ¶71 lines 1-5; ¶72 lines 1-21, where the network is aware of the UE's location, the network, i.e. the serving gNB/satellite, optionally predicts when and how the UE recalculates and updates the SMTC], the neighbouring cell corresponds to a second satellite network [see pg. 4, ¶68 lines 1-6; ¶69 lines 1-3; ¶70 lines 1-9; ¶71 lines 1-5; ¶72 lines 1-21, and consequently the measurement gap, based on knowledge of the other satellite's orbit], and the first satellite network is different from the second satellite network [see pg. 4, ¶68 lines 1-6; ¶69 lines 1-3; ¶70 lines 1-9; ¶71 lines 1-5; ¶72 lines 1-21, using the provided information as well as its own position, the UE recalculates the distances to the satellites and the propagation delays as needed and adjusts the SMTC windows and measurement gaps accordingly (in particular adjusts the offset)], and wherein the set time period comprises a time period for the user equipment performing the neighbouring cell measurement [see pg. 4, ¶68 lines 1-6; ¶69 lines 1-3; ¶70 lines 1-9; ¶71 lines 1-5; ¶72 lines 1-21, the network provides a timestamp indicating the point in time for which the configuration is valid, and optionally (unless known by the UE from other configuration or signaling) ephemeris data for all relevant satellites].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “in response to the indication information indicating that the user equipment does not support the capability of simultaneously measuring the signals from the different satellite networks, stopping user equipment scheduling within a servicing cell for a set time period, wherein the servicing cell corresponds to a first satellite network, the neighbouring cell corresponds to a second satellite network, and the first satellite network is different from the second satellite network, and wherein the set time period comprises a time period for the user equipment performing the neighbouring cell measurement” as taught by Euler in the system of Fan for the same motivation as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding Claim 4,
Fan discloses the method according to claim 2.
Fan does not explicitly teach “the user equipment scheduling comprises at least one of receiving a data control service; sending the data control service; measuring a downlink reference signal; sending an uplink reference signal; or performing a layer 1 measurement”.
However Euler discloses the user equipment scheduling comprises measuring a downlink reference signal [see fig. 5, pg. 5, ¶74 lines 1-21, the SMTC windows and measurement gaps only cover every second SS Burst. More specifically, FIG. 5 shows, the timing relation of the reference signals].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “the user equipment scheduling comprises at least one of receiving a data control service; sending the data control service; measuring a downlink reference signal; sending an uplink reference signal; or performing a layer 1 measurement” as taught by Euler in the system of Fan for the same motivation as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding Claim 5,
Fan discloses the method according to claim 1.
Fan does not explicitly teach “simultaneously measuring the signals from the different satellite networks comprises an intra-frequency measurement of the signals from the different satellite networks and an inter-frequency measurement of the signals from the different satellite networks”.
However Euler discloses simultaneously measuring the signals from the different satellite networks comprises an intra-frequency measurement of the signals from the different satellite networks and an inter-frequency measurement of the signals from the different satellite networks [see pg. 7, ¶104 lines 1-8, the SMTC window and corresponding measurement gap configurations accompany each other. However, … variations are possible, in which the SMTC window is configured without an accompanying measurement gap configuration. One example where such variations is beneficial is when the SMTC is provided for intra-frequency measurements].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “simultaneously measuring the signals from the different satellite networks comprises an intra-frequency measurement of the signals from the different satellite networks and an inter-frequency measurement of the signals from the different satellite networks” as taught by Euler in the system of Fan for the same motivation as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding Claim 7,
The combined system of Fan and Euler discloses the method according to claim 1.
Fan further discloses wherein the different satellite networks comprise at least one of a geo-stationary satellite network or a non-geo-stationary satellite network [see pg. 3, ¶47 lines 1-10, the satellite is a Low Earth Orbit (LEO) satellite, a Medium Earth Orbit (MEO) satellite, a Geostationary Earth Orbit (GEO) satellite, a High Elliptical Orbit (HEO) satellite, etc.].
Regarding Claim 8,
Fan discloses a method for transmitting information [see fig. 3, pg. 5, ¶78 lines 1-5, a wireless communication method “200”], performed by a network device [see fig. 3, pg. 5, ¶78 lines 1-5, executed by a network device], comprising:
receiving indication information from a user equipment [see fig. 3: Step “210”, pg. 5, ¶79 lines 1-2; ¶80 lines 1-3; ¶81 lines 1-3; ¶82 lines 1-3, a terminal device transmits first information, the first information including at least one of: signal propagation distance information from a serving satellite and a neighbor satellite of the serving satellite to the terminal device … etc.].
Although Fan discloses sending indication information to a network device, Fan does not explicitly teach “the indication information being configured to indicate whether the user equipment supports a capability of simultaneously measuring signals from different satellite networks”.
However Euler discloses receiving indication information from a user equipment [see fig. 4, pg. 4, ¶72 lines 1-21, if the UE needs to adjust the measurement gaps, it informs the network on how the measurement gaps are adjusted so that the network can respect the adjusted gaps in its scheduling decisions], the indication information being configured to indicate whether the user equipment supports a capability of simultaneously measuring signals from different satellite networks [see fig. 4, pg. 4, ¶71 lines 1-5, using the provided information, for example, a timestamp indicating the point in time for which the configuration is valid, and optionally ephemeris data for all relevant satellites as well as its own position, the UE recalculates the distances to the satellites and the propagation delays as needed and adjusts the SMTC windows and measurement gaps accordingly (in particular adjusts the offset)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “the indication information being configured to indicate whether the user equipment supports a capability of simultaneously measuring signals from different satellite networks” as taught by Euler in the system of Fan for improving the efficiency with which a UE connects to a base station, in particular an NTN base station and provide benefits such as improved connection times and reduced battery consumption allowing the user to access data quicker and longer [see Euler, pg. 16, ¶172 lines 7-12].
Regarding Claim 9,
Fan discloses the method according to claim 8.
Fan does not explicitly teach ” in response to the indication information indicating that the user equipment supports the capability of simultaneously measuring the signals from the different satellite networks, performing network device scheduling within a servicing cell of the user equipment during a neighbouring cell measurement performed by the user equipment, wherein the servicing cell corresponds to a first satellite network, the neighbouring cell corresponds to a second satellite network, and the first satellite network is different from the second satellite network”.
However Euler discloses in response to the indication information indicating that the user equipment supports the capability of simultaneously measuring the signals from the different satellite networks [see pg. 4, ¶68 lines 1-6; ¶69 lines 1-3; ¶70 lines 1-9; ¶71 lines 1-5; ¶72 lines 1-21, if the UE needs to adjust the measurement gaps, it informs the network on how the measurement gaps are adjusted], performing network device scheduling within a servicing cell of the user equipment during a neighbouring cell measurement performed by the user equipment [see pg. 4, ¶68 lines 1-6; ¶69 lines 1-3; ¶70 lines 1-9; ¶71 lines 1-5; ¶72 lines 1-21, so that the network can respect the adjusted gaps in its scheduling decisions], wherein the servicing cell corresponds to a first satellite network [see pg. 4, ¶68 lines 1-6; ¶69 lines 1-3; ¶70 lines 1-9; ¶71 lines 1-5; ¶72 lines 1-21, where the network is aware of the UE's location, the network, i.e. the serving gNB/satellite, optionally predicts when and how the UE recalculates and updates the SMTC], the neighbouring cell corresponds to a second satellite network [see pg. 4, ¶68 lines 1-6; ¶69 lines 1-3; ¶70 lines 1-9; ¶71 lines 1-5; ¶72 lines 1-21, and consequently the measurement gap, based on knowledge of the other satellite's orbit], and the first satellite network is different from the second satellite network [see pg. 4, ¶68 lines 1-6; ¶69 lines 1-3; ¶70 lines 1-9; ¶71 lines 1-5; ¶72 lines 1-21, using the provided information as well as its own position, the UE recalculates the distances to the satellites and the propagation delays as needed and adjusts the SMTC windows and measurement gaps accordingly (in particular adjusts the offset)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide ” in response to the indication information indicating that the user equipment supports the capability of simultaneously measuring the signals from the different satellite networks, performing network device scheduling within a servicing cell of the user equipment during a neighbouring cell measurement performed by the user equipment, wherein the servicing cell corresponds to a first satellite network, the neighbouring cell corresponds to a second satellite network, and the first satellite network is different from the second satellite network” as taught by Euler in the system of Fan for the same motivation as set forth in claim 8.
Regarding Claim 10,
Fan discloses the method according to claim 8.
Fan does not explicitly teach “in response to the indication information indicating that the user equipment does not support the capability of simultaneously measuring the signals from the different satellite networks, stopping network device scheduling within a servicing cell of the user equipment for a set time period, wherein the servicing cell corresponds to a first satellite network, the neighbouring cell corresponds to a second satellite network, and the first satellite network is different from the second satellite network, and wherein the set time period comprises a time period for the user equipment performing the neighbouring cell measurement”.
However Euler discloses in response to the indication information indicating that the user equipment does not support the capability of simultaneously measuring the signals from the different satellite networks [see pg. 4, ¶68 lines 1-6; ¶69 lines 1-3; ¶70 lines 1-9; ¶71 lines 1-5; ¶72 lines 1-21, if the UE needs to adjust the measurement gaps, it informs the network on how the measurement gaps are adjusted], stopping network device scheduling within a servicing cell of the user equipment for a set time period [see pg. 4, ¶68 lines 1-6; ¶69 lines 1-3; ¶70 lines 1-9; ¶71 lines 1-5; ¶72 lines 1-21, so that the network can respect the adjusted gaps in its scheduling decisions], wherein the servicing cell corresponds to a first satellite network [see pg. 4, ¶68 lines 1-6; ¶69 lines 1-3; ¶70 lines 1-9; ¶71 lines 1-5; ¶72 lines 1-21, where the network is aware of the UE's location, the network, i.e. the serving gNB/satellite, optionally predicts when and how the UE recalculates and updates the SMTC], the neighbouring cell corresponds to a second satellite network [see pg. 4, ¶68 lines 1-6; ¶69 lines 1-3; ¶70 lines 1-9; ¶71 lines 1-5; ¶72 lines 1-21, and consequently the measurement gap, based on knowledge of the other satellite's orbit], and the first satellite network is different from the second satellite network [see pg. 4, ¶68 lines 1-6; ¶69 lines 1-3; ¶70 lines 1-9; ¶71 lines 1-5; ¶72 lines 1-21, using the provided information as well as its own position, the UE recalculates the distances to the satellites and the propagation delays as needed and adjusts the SMTC windows and measurement gaps accordingly (in particular adjusts the offset)], and wherein the set time period comprises a time period for the user equipment performing the neighbouring cell measurement [see pg. 4, ¶68 lines 1-6; ¶69 lines 1-3; ¶70 lines 1-9; ¶71 lines 1-5; ¶72 lines 1-21, the network provides a timestamp indicating the point in time for which the configuration is valid, and optionally (unless known by the UE from other configuration or signaling) ephemeris data for all relevant satellites].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “in response to the indication information indicating that the user equipment does not support the capability of simultaneously measuring the signals from the different satellite networks, stopping network device scheduling within a servicing cell of the user equipment for a set time period, wherein the servicing cell corresponds to a first satellite network, the neighbouring cell corresponds to a second satellite network, and the first satellite network is different from the second satellite network, and wherein the set time period comprises a time period for the user equipment performing the neighbouring cell measurement” as taught by Euler in the system of Fan for the same motivation as set forth in claim 8.
Regarding Claim 11,
Fan discloses the method according to claim 9.
Fan does not explicitly teach “the network device scheduling comprises at least one of: receiving a data control service; sending the data control service; receiving an uplink reference signal; or sending a downlink reference signal”.
However Euler discloses the network device scheduling comprises of:
sending a downlink reference signal [see fig. 5, pg. 5, ¶74 lines 1-21, the SMTC windows and measurement gaps only cover every second SS Burst. More specifically, FIG. 5 shows, the timing relation of the reference signals].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “the network device scheduling comprises at least one of: receiving a data control service; sending the data control service; receiving an uplink reference signal; or sending a downlink reference signal” as taught by Euler in the system of Fan for the same motivation as set forth in claim 9.
Regarding Claim 12,
Fan discloses the method according to claim 8.
Fan does not explicitly teach “simultaneously measuring the signals from the different satellite networks comprises an intra-frequency measurement of the signals from the different satellite networks and an inter-frequency measurement of the signals from the different satellite networks”.
However Euler discloses simultaneously measuring the signals from the different satellite networks comprises an intra-frequency measurement of the signals from the different satellite networks and an inter-frequency measurement of the signals from the different satellite networks [see pg. 7, ¶104 lines 1-8, the SMTC window and corresponding measurement gap configurations accompany each other. However, … variations are possible, in which the SMTC window is configured without an accompanying measurement gap configuration. One example where such variations is beneficial is when the SMTC is provided for intra-frequency measurements].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “simultaneously measuring the signals from the different satellite networks comprises an intra-frequency measurement of the signals from the different satellite networks and an inter-frequency measurement of the signals from the different satellite networks” as taught by Euler in the system of Fan for the same motivation as set forth in claim 8.
Regarding Claim 14,
The combined system of Fan and Euler discloses the method according to claim 8.
Fan further discloses wherein the different satellite networks comprise at least one of a geo-stationary satellite network or a non-geo-stationary satellite network [see pg. 3, ¶47 lines 1-10, the satellite is a Low Earth Orbit (LEO) satellite, a Medium Earth Orbit (MEO) satellite, a Geostationary Earth Orbit (GEO) satellite, a High Elliptical Orbit (HEO) satellite, etc.].
Regarding Claim 20,
Fan discloses a user equipment [see fig. 13, pg. 13, ¶361 lines 1-6, an apparatus, terminal or user equipment “600”], comprising a processor and a memory having instructions stored thereon that when being executed by the processor [see fig. 13, pg. 13, ¶361 lines 1-6, a processor “610” invoking and executing a computer program from a memory], cause the user equipment to implement actions [see fig. 13, pg. 13, ¶361 lines 1-6, to implement a wireless communication method “200”] comprising:
sending indication information to a network device [see fig. 3: Step “210”, pg. 5, ¶79 lines 1-2; ¶80 lines 1-3; ¶81 lines 1-3; ¶82 lines 1-3, the terminal device transmits first information, the first information including at least one of: signal propagation distance information from a serving satellite and a neighbor satellite of the serving satellite to the terminal device … etc.].
Although Fan discloses sending indication information to a network device, Fan does not explicitly teach “the indication information being configured to indicate whether the user equipment supports a capability of simultaneously measuring signals from different satellite networks”.
However Euler discloses sending indication information to a network device [see fig. 4, pg. 4, ¶72 lines 1-21, if the UE needs to adjust the measurement gaps, it informs the network on how the measurement gaps are adjusted so that the network can respect the adjusted gaps in its scheduling decisions], the indication information being configured to indicate whether the user equipment supports a capability of simultaneously measuring signals from different satellite networks [see fig. 4, pg. 4, ¶71 lines 1-5, using the provided information, for example, a timestamp indicating the point in time for which the configuration is valid, and optionally ephemeris data for all relevant satellites as well as its own position, the UE recalculates the distances to the satellites and the propagation delays as needed and adjusts the SMTC windows and measurement gaps accordingly (in particular adjusts the offset)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “the indication information being configured to indicate whether the user equipment supports a capability of simultaneously measuring signals from different satellite networks” as taught by Euler in the system of Fan for improving the efficiency with which a UE connects to a base station, in particular an NTN base station and provide benefits such as improved connection times and reduced battery consumption allowing the user to access data quicker and longer [see Euler, pg. 16, ¶172 lines 7-12].
Regarding Claim 21,
Fan discloses the user equipment according to claim 20.
Fan does not explicitly teach ”in response to the indication information indicating that the user equipment supports the capability of simultaneously measuring the signals from the different satellite networks, performing user equipment scheduling within a servicing cell during a neighbouring cell measurement performed by the user equipment, wherein the servicing cell corresponds to a first satellite network, the neighbouring cell corresponds to a second satellite network, and the first satellite network is different from the second satellite network”.
However Euler discloses in response to the indication information indicating that the user equipment supports the capability of simultaneously measuring the signals from the different satellite networks [see pg. 4, ¶68 lines 1-6; ¶69 lines 1-3; ¶70 lines 1-9; ¶71 lines 1-5; ¶72 lines 1-21, if the UE needs to adjust the measurement gaps, it informs the network on how the measurement gaps are adjusted], performing user equipment scheduling within a servicing cell during a neighbouring cell measurement performed by the user equipment [see pg. 4, ¶68 lines 1-6; ¶69 lines 1-3; ¶70 lines 1-9; ¶71 lines 1-5; ¶72 lines 1-21, so that the network can respect the adjusted gaps in its scheduling decisions], wherein the servicing cell corresponds to a first satellite network [see pg. 4, ¶68 lines 1-6; ¶69 lines 1-3; ¶70 lines 1-9; ¶71 lines 1-5; ¶72 lines 1-21, where the network is aware of the UE's location, the network, i.e. the serving gNB/satellite, optionally predicts when and how the UE recalculates and updates the SMTC], the neighbouring cell corresponds to a second satellite network [see pg. 4, ¶68 lines 1-6; ¶69 lines 1-3; ¶70 lines 1-9; ¶71 lines 1-5; ¶72 lines 1-21, and consequently the measurement gap, based on knowledge of the other satellite's orbit], and the first satellite network is different from the second satellite network [see pg. 4, ¶68 lines 1-6; ¶69 lines 1-3; ¶70 lines 1-9; ¶71 lines 1-5; ¶72 lines 1-21, using the provided information as well as its own position, the UE recalculates the distances to the satellites and the propagation delays as needed and adjusts the SMTC windows and measurement gaps accordingly (in particular adjusts the offset)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide ”in response to the indication information indicating that the user equipment supports the capability of simultaneously measuring the signals from the different satellite networks, performing user equipment scheduling within a servicing cell during a neighbouring cell measurement performed by the user equipment, wherein the servicing cell corresponds to a first satellite network, the neighbouring cell corresponds to a second satellite network, and the first satellite network is different from the second satellite network” as taught by Euler in the system of Fan for the same motivation as set forth in claim 20.
Regarding Claim 22,
Fan discloses the user equipment according to claim 20.
Fan does not explicitly teach “in response to the indication information indicating that the user equipment does not support the capability of simultaneously measuring the signals from the different satellite networks, stopping user equipment scheduling within a servicing cell for a set time period, wherein the servicing cell corresponds to a first satellite network, the neighbouring cell corresponds to a second satellite network, and the first satellite network is different from the second satellite network, and wherein the set time period comprises a time period for the user equipment performing the neighbouring cell measurement”.
However Euler discloses in response to the indication information indicating that the user equipment does not support the capability of simultaneously measuring the signals from the different satellite networks [see pg. 4, ¶68 lines 1-6; ¶69 lines 1-3; ¶70 lines 1-9; ¶71 lines 1-5; ¶72 lines 1-21, if the UE needs to adjust the measurement gaps, it informs the network on how the measurement gaps are adjusted], stopping user equipment scheduling within a servicing cell for a set time period [see pg. 4, ¶68 lines 1-6; ¶69 lines 1-3; ¶70 lines 1-9; ¶71 lines 1-5; ¶72 lines 1-21, so that the network can respect the adjusted gaps in its scheduling decisions], wherein the servicing cell corresponds to a first satellite network [see pg. 4, ¶68 lines 1-6; ¶69 lines 1-3; ¶70 lines 1-9; ¶71 lines 1-5; ¶72 lines 1-21, where the network is aware of the UE's location, the network, i.e. the serving gNB/satellite, optionally predicts when and how the UE recalculates and updates the SMTC], the neighbouring cell corresponds to a second satellite network [see pg. 4, ¶68 lines 1-6; ¶69 lines 1-3; ¶70 lines 1-9; ¶71 lines 1-5; ¶72 lines 1-21, and consequently the measurement gap, based on knowledge of the other satellite's orbit], and the first satellite network is different from the second satellite network [see pg. 4, ¶68 lines 1-6; ¶69 lines 1-3; ¶70 lines 1-9; ¶71 lines 1-5; ¶72 lines 1-21, using the provided information as well as its own position, the UE recalculates the distances to the satellites and the propagation delays as needed and adjusts the SMTC windows and measurement gaps accordingly (in particular adjusts the offset)], and wherein the set time period comprises a time period for the user equipment performing the neighbouring cell measurement [see pg. 4, ¶68 lines 1-6; ¶69 lines 1-3; ¶70 lines 1-9; ¶71 lines 1-5; ¶72 lines 1-21, the network provides a timestamp indicating the point in time for which the configuration is valid, and optionally (unless known by the UE from other configuration or signaling) ephemeris data for all relevant satellites].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “in response to the indication information indicating that the user equipment does not support the capability of simultaneously measuring the signals from the different satellite networks, stopping user equipment scheduling within a servicing cell for a set time period, wherein the servicing cell corresponds to a first satellite network, the neighbouring cell corresponds to a second satellite network, and the first satellite network is different from the second satellite network, and wherein the set time period comprises a time period for the user equipment performing the neighbouring cell measurement” as taught by Euler in the system of Fan for the same motivation as set forth in claim 20.
Regarding Claim 23,
Fan discloses the user equipment according to claim 21.
Fan does not explicitly teach “the user equipment scheduling comprises at least one of receiving a data control service; sending the data control service; measuring a downlink reference signal; sending an uplink reference signal; or performing a layer 1 measurement”.
However Euler discloses the user equipment scheduling comprises measuring a downlink reference signal [see fig. 5, pg. 5, ¶74 lines 1-21, the SMTC windows and measurement gaps only cover every second SS Burst. More specifically, FIG. 5 shows, the timing relation of the reference signals].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “the user equipment scheduling comprises at least one of receiving a data control service; sending the data control service; measuring a downlink reference signal; sending an uplink reference signal; or performing a layer 1 measurement” as taught by Euler in the system of Fan for the same motivation as set forth in claim 21.
Regarding Claim 24,
Fan discloses the user equipment according to claim 20.
Fan does not explicitly teach “simultaneously measuring the signals from the different satellite networks comprises an intra-frequency measurement of the signals from the different satellite networks and an inter-frequency measurement of the signals from the different satellite networks”.
However Euler discloses simultaneously measuring the signals from the different satellite networks comprises an intra-frequency measurement of the signals from the different satellite networks and an inter-frequency measurement of the signals from the different satellite networks [see pg. 7, ¶104 lines 1-8, the SMTC window and corresponding measurement gap configurations accompany each other. However, … variations are possible, in which the SMTC window is configured without an accompanying measurement gap configuration. One example where such variations is beneficial is when the SMTC is provided for intra-frequency measurements].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “simultaneously measuring the signals from the different satellite networks comprises an intra-frequency measurement of the signals from the different satellite networks and an inter-frequency measurement of the signals from the different satellite networks” as taught by Euler in the system of Fan for the same motivation as set forth in claim 20.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 13 and 25 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
United States Patent Application Publication: Nuttall et al. (US 2021/0058149 A1); see fig. 4, pgs. 4-5, ¶57-¶71.
/RUSHIL P. SAMPAT/Primary Examiner- TC 2400, Art Unit 2469
1 A machine is a "concrete thing, consisting of parts, or of certain devices and combination of devices." Digitech, 758 F.3d at 1348-49, 111 USPQ2d at 1719 (quoting Burr v. Duryee, 68 U.S. 531, 570, 17 L. Ed. 650, 657 (1863)). This category "includes every mechanical device or combination of mechanical powers and devices to perform some function and produce a certain effect or result." Nuijten, 500 F.3d at 1355, 84 USPQ2d at 1501 (quoting Corning v. Burden, 56 U.S. 252, 267, 14 L. Ed. 683, 690 (1854)).
2 IPXL Holdings v. Amazon.com, Inc., 430 F.3d 1377, 1384, 77 USPQ2d 1140, 1145 (Fed. Cir. 2005)