DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites “the at least one transmission precoding matrix indicator (TPMI) is configured to determine a candidate codeword set.” It is not clear how a TPMI, which is not a device, is configured to perform an action, i.e., determine a candidate codeword set.
Claim(s) 3-4, 6-11, 13, 16-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
The claims 3-4, 6-11, 13, 16-17, and 19 recite either “wherein the indication information is configured to indicate the at least one transmission precoding matrix indicator (TPMI)” or “wherein the indication information is configured to indicate the first wideband precoding matrix indicator (PMI) information.” The claims are also dependent on claims 2 and 15, respectively. Claims 2 and 15 recite “wherein the indication information is configured to indicate at least one of the following: at least one transmission precoding matrix indicator (TPMI); a first wideband precoding matrix indicator (PMI) information; a number L of beams comprised in a first wideband beam group, wherein L is a positive integer; a beam forming pattern corresponding to the first wideband beam group; channel state information (CSI) comprising PMI information of at least one sub-band; and part of channel state information (CSI).” Claims 2 and 15 provides options what the indication information can indicate, and the option can be just one or more. If the selected option(s) is/are anything but “at least one transmission precoding matrix indicator (TPMI)” and “a first wideband precoding matrix indicator (PMI) information,” then claims 3-4, 6-11, 13, 16-17, and 19 do not further limit the selected option(s); and are therefore failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-7, 13-17, 19, 22-23, and 26-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Huang et al. (US 2023/0155644 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 22, and 26, Huang discloses A transmitting method for an uplink channel, executed by a terminal device, the transmitting method comprising (claim 1) and A communication apparatus, comprising a processor and a memory, wherein a computer program is stored in the memory, and the processor executes the computer program stored in the memory to cause the communication apparatus to execute a transmitting method for an uplink channel, the transmitting method comprising (claim 22) and A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, configured to store an instruction, wherein the instruction causes the transmitting method according to claim 1 to be implemented when executed (claim 26) (Fig. 4, [0224]: UE includes a processor 400 and a memory 420 where the processor 400 is configured to read a program in the memory 420):
receiving indication information related to precoding transmitted by a network device (Fig. 2, [0098]: Step 201 of receiving, by a UE, precoding matrix indication information including sub-band information of an uplink signal transmitted by a network side. [0102]: the network side … transmits the precoding matrix indication information including the sub-band information to the UE);
determining a precoding codeword corresponding to each sub-band of the uplink channel according to the indication information (Fig. 2, [0098]: the sub-band information indicated by the precoding matrix indication information being determined by the network side in accordance with a set of sub-band precoding matrices, the set of sub-band precoding matrices being a sub-set in an uplink codebook of the uplink signal, the sub-band information being used to indicate a sub-band precoding matrix that corresponds to each sub-band and is in the set of sub-band precoding matrices; Step 202 of determining, by the UE, the set of sub-band precoding matrices; and Step 203 of determining, by the UE in accordance with the sub-band information, the sub-band precoding matrix that is in the set of sub-band precoding matrices and corresponds to the sub-band. [0122]: When the UE is scheduled by the network side to transmit a PUSCH, a sub-band precoding matrix indicator of each sub-band is merely used to indicate a precoding matrix in one set of sub-band precoding matrices. [0102]: the UE determines the sub-band precoding matrix for the uplink signal at each sub-band);
precoding each sub-band of the uplink channel with the precoding codeword corresponding to each sub-band ([0102]: the UE determines the sub-band precoding matrix for the uplink signal at each sub-band. [0110]: the sub-band precoding … is performed on the uplink signal. [0086]: Through the sub-band precoding, it is able to provide a frequency selective precoding gain, thereby to improve the transmission performance of the uplink signal); and
transmitting the uplink channel, of which each sub-band has been precoded, to the network device ([0122]: When the UE is scheduled by the network side to transmit a PUSCH, a sub-band precoding matrix indicator of each sub-band is merely used to indicate a precoding matrix in one set of sub-band precoding matrices. [0110]: the sub-band precoding … is performed on the uplink signal. [0086]: Through the sub-band precoding, it is able to provide a frequency selective precoding gain, thereby to improve the transmission performance of the uplink signal).
Regarding claim(s) 2, Huang discloses all features of claim(s) 1 as outlined above.
Huang discloses wherein the indication information is configured to indicate at least one of the following:
at least one transmission precoding matrix indicator (TPMI) ([0197]: TPMI represents an index number of the precoding matrix in the uplink codebook … each table is used to represent a set of precoding matrices, and the content of the precoding matrix indication information and the correspondence between the precoding matrix indication information and the precoding matrix may be different from those shown in the tables. Tables 1-26);
a first wideband precoding matrix indicator (PMI) information ([0197]: correspondence between a wideband indicator and the precoding matrices … TPMI represents an index number of the precoding matrix in the uplink codebook … each table is used to represent a set of precoding matrices, and the content of the precoding matrix indication information and the correspondence between the precoding matrix indication information and the precoding matrix may be different from those shown in the tables. Table 26);
a number L of beams comprised in a first wideband beam group, wherein L is a positive integer;
a beam forming pattern corresponding to the first wideband beam group;
channel state information (CSI) comprising PMI information of at least one sub-band; and
part of channel state information (CSI).
Regarding claim(s) 3, Huang discloses all features of claim(s) 2 as outlined above.
Huang discloses wherein the indication information is configured to indicate the at least one transmission precoding matrix indicator (TPMI) ([0197]: TPMI represents an index number of the precoding matrix in the uplink codebook … each table is used to represent a set of precoding matrices, and the content of the precoding matrix indication information and the correspondence between the precoding matrix indication information and the precoding matrix may be different from those shown in the tables. Tables 1-26), and determining the precoding codeword corresponding to each sub-band of the uplink channel according to the indication information comprises (Fig. 2, [0098]: the sub-band information indicated by the precoding matrix indication information being determined by the network side in accordance with a set of sub-band precoding matrices, the set of sub-band precoding matrices being a sub-set in an uplink codebook of the uplink signal, the sub-band information being used to indicate a sub-band precoding matrix that corresponds to each sub-band and is in the set of sub-band precoding matrices; Step 202 of determining, by the UE, the set of sub-band precoding matrices; and Step 203 of determining, by the UE in accordance with the sub-band information, the sub-band precoding matrix that is in the set of sub-band precoding matrices and corresponds to the sub-band. [0122]: When the UE is scheduled by the network side to transmit a PUSCH, a sub-band precoding matrix indicator of each sub-band is merely used to indicate a precoding matrix in one set of sub-band precoding matrices. [0102]: the UE determines the sub-band precoding matrix for the uplink signal at each sub-band):
determining a candidate codeword set according to the indication information ([0098]: Step 201 of receiving, by a UE, precoding matrix indication information including sub-band information …, the sub-band information indicated by the precoding matrix indication information being determined by the network side in accordance with a set of sub-band precoding matrices, the set of sub-band precoding matrices being a sub-set in an uplink codebook of the uplink signal, the sub-band information being used to indicate a sub-band precoding matrix that corresponds to each sub-band and is in the set of sub-band precoding matrices; Step 202 of determining, by the UE, the set of sub-band precoding matrices); and
determining the precoding codeword corresponding to each sub-band of the terminal device from the candidate codeword set ([0098]: Step 203 of determining, by the UE in accordance with the sub-band information, the sub-band precoding matrix that is in the set of sub-band precoding matrices and corresponds to the sub-band).
Regarding claim(s) 6, Huang discloses all features of claim(s) 3 as outlined above.
Huang discloses wherein the indication information is configured to indicate the at least one TPMI ([0197]: TPMI represents an index number of the precoding matrix in the uplink codebook … each table is used to represent a set of precoding matrices, and the content of the precoding matrix indication information and the correspondence between the precoding matrix indication information and the precoding matrix may be different from those shown in the tables. Tables 1-26), and determining the precoding codeword corresponding to each sub-band of the terminal device from the candidate codeword set comprises (Fig. 2, [0098]: the sub-band information indicated by the precoding matrix indication information being determined by the network side in accordance with a set of sub-band precoding matrices, the set of sub-band precoding matrices being a sub-set in an uplink codebook of the uplink signal, the sub-band information being used to indicate a sub-band precoding matrix that corresponds to each sub-band and is in the set of sub-band precoding matrices; Step 202 of determining, by the UE, the set of sub-band precoding matrices; and Step 203 of determining, by the UE in accordance with the sub-band information, the sub-band precoding matrix that is in the set of sub-band precoding matrices and corresponds to the sub-band. [0122]: When the UE is scheduled by the network side to transmit a PUSCH, a sub-band precoding matrix indicator of each sub-band is merely used to indicate a precoding matrix in one set of sub-band precoding matrices. [0102]: the UE determines the sub-band precoding matrix for the uplink signal at each sub-band):
determining a mapping relation between at least one precoding codeword in the candidate codeword set and each sub-band ([0098]: the set of sub-band precoding matrices being a sub-set in an uplink codebook of the uplink signal, the sub-band information being used to indicate a sub-band precoding matrix that corresponds to each sub-band and is in the set of sub-band precoding matrices; Step 202 of determining, by the UE, the set of sub-band precoding matrices; and Step 203 of determining, by the UE in accordance with the sub-band information, the sub-band precoding matrix that is in the set of sub-band precoding matrices and corresponds to the sub-band); and
determining the precoding codeword used to precode each sub-band of the uplink channel according to the mapping relation ([0102]: the UE determines the sub-band precoding matrix for the uplink signal at each sub-band).
Regarding claim(s) 7, Huang discloses all features of claim(s) 3 as outlined above.
Huang discloses wherein the indication information is further configured to indicate at least one of:
a difference between the at least one TPMI and a reference value; and
an index of a set comprising the at least one TPMI ([0196]: In these tables, i represents an index number indicated by a second part in the precoding matrix indication information, and it starts from 0 or 1. Tables 1-26).
Regarding claim(s) 13, Huang discloses all features of claim(s) 2 as outlined above.
Huang discloses wherein the indication information is configured to indicate the first wideband PMI information ([0108]: the precoding matrix indication information further includes the wideband information), and the transmitting method further comprises:
transmitting a codebook generation parameter to the network device ([0122]: When the UE is scheduled by the network side to transmit a PUSCH, a sub-band precoding matrix indicator of each sub-band is merely used to indicate a precoding matrix in one set of sub-band precoding matrices. [0110]: the sub-band precoding … is performed on the uplink signal. [0086]: Through the sub-band precoding, it is able to provide a frequency selective precoding gain, thereby to improve the transmission performance of the uplink signal).
Regarding claims 14, 23, and 27, Huang discloses A receiving method for an uplink channel, executed by a network device, the receiving method comprising (claim 14) and A communication apparatus, comprising a processor and a memory, wherein a computer program is stored in the memory, and the processor executes the computer program stored in the memory to cause the communication apparatus to execute the receiving method according to claim 14 (claim 23) and A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, configured to store an instruction, wherein the instruction causes the receiving method according to claim 14 to be implemented when executed (claim 27) (Fig. 3, [0203]: base station includes a processor 300 and a memory 320 where the processor 300 is configured to read a program stored in the memory 320):
transmitting indication information related to precoding to a terminal device, wherein the indication information is configured for the terminal device to determine a precoding codeword corresponding to each sub-band of the uplink channel (Fig. 2, [0098]: Step 201 of receiving, by a UE, precoding matrix indication information including sub-band information of an uplink signal transmitted by a network side…the sub-band information indicated by the precoding matrix indication information being determined by the network side in accordance with a set of sub-band precoding matrices, the set of sub-band precoding matrices being a sub-set in an uplink codebook of the uplink signal, the sub-band information being used to indicate a sub-band precoding matrix that corresponds to each sub-band and is in the set of sub-band precoding matrices; Step 202 of determining, by the UE, the set of sub-band precoding matrices; and Step 203 of determining, by the UE in accordance with the sub-band information, the sub-band precoding matrix that is in the set of sub-band precoding matrices and corresponds to the sub-band. [0122]: When the UE is scheduled by the network side to transmit a PUSCH, a sub-band precoding matrix indicator of each sub-band is merely used to indicate a precoding matrix in one set of sub-band precoding matrices. [0102]: the network side … transmits the precoding matrix indication information including the sub-band information to the UE); and
receiving the uplink channel, of which each sub-band has been precoded, transmitted by the terminal device ([0122]: When the UE is scheduled by the network side to transmit a PUSCH, a sub-band precoding matrix indicator of each sub-band is merely used to indicate a precoding matrix in one set of sub-band precoding matrices. [0110]: the sub-band precoding … is performed on the uplink signal. [0086]: Through the sub-band precoding, it is able to provide a frequency selective precoding gain, thereby to improve the transmission performance of the uplink signal).
Regarding claim(s) 15, Huang discloses all features of claim(s) 14 as outlined above.
Huang discloses wherein the indication information is configured to indicate at least one of the following:
at least one transmission precoding matrix indicator (TPMI) ([0197]: TPMI represents an index number of the precoding matrix in the uplink codebook … each table is used to represent a set of precoding matrices, and the content of the precoding matrix indication information and the correspondence between the precoding matrix indication information and the precoding matrix may be different from those shown in the tables. Tables 1-26);
a first wideband precoding matrix indicator (PMI) information ([0197]: correspondence between a wideband indicator and the precoding matrices … TPMI represents an index number of the precoding matrix in the uplink codebook … each table is used to represent a set of precoding matrices, and the content of the precoding matrix indication information and the correspondence between the precoding matrix indication information and the precoding matrix may be different from those shown in the tables. Table 26);
a number L of beams comprised in a first wideband beam group, wherein L is a positive integer;
a beam forming pattern corresponding to the first wideband beam group;
channel state information (CSI) comprising PMI information of at least one sub-band; and
part of channel state information (CSI).
Regarding claim(s) 16, Huang discloses all features of claim(s) 15 as outlined above.
Huang discloses wherein the indication information is configured to indicate the at least one transmission precoding matrix indicator (TPMI) ([0197]: TPMI represents an index number of the precoding matrix in the uplink codebook … each table is used to represent a set of precoding matrices, and the content of the precoding matrix indication information and the correspondence between the precoding matrix indication information and the precoding matrix may be different from those shown in the tables. Tables 1-26), the at least one transmission precoding matrix indicator (TPMI) is configured to determine a candidate codeword set ([0098]: Step 201 of receiving, by a UE, precoding matrix indication information including sub-band information …, the sub-band information indicated by the precoding matrix indication information being determined by the network side in accordance with a set of sub-band precoding matrices, the set of sub-band precoding matrices being a sub-set in an uplink codebook of the uplink signal, the sub-band information being used to indicate a sub-band precoding matrix that corresponds to each sub-band and is in the set of sub-band precoding matrices; Step 202 of determining, by the UE, the set of sub-band precoding matrices, and the precoding codeword corresponding to each sub-band of the uplink channel is a precoding codeword in the candidate codeword set ([0098]: Step 203 of determining, by the UE in accordance with the sub-band information, the sub-band precoding matrix that is in the set of sub-band precoding matrices and corresponds to the sub-band).
Regarding claim(s) 17, Huang discloses all features of claim(s) 16 as outlined above.
Huang discloses wherein the indication information is further configured to indicate at least one of:
a difference between the at least one TPMI and a reference value; and
an index of a set comprising the at least one TPMI ([0196]: In these tables, i represents an index number indicated by a second part in the precoding matrix indication information, and it starts from 0 or 1. Tables 1-26).
Regarding claim(s) 19, Huang discloses all features of claim(s) 15 as outlined above.
Huang discloses wherein the indication information is configured to indicate the first wideband PMI information ([0108]: the precoding matrix indication information further includes the wideband information), and the receiving method further comprises: receiving a codebook generation parameter transmitted by the terminal device ([0122]: When the UE is scheduled by the network side to transmit a PUSCH, a sub-band precoding matrix indicator of each sub-band is merely used to indicate a precoding matrix in one set of sub-band precoding matrices. [0110]: the sub-band precoding … is performed on the uplink signal. [0086]: Through the sub-band precoding, it is able to provide a frequency selective precoding gain, thereby to improve the transmission performance of the uplink signal).
Conclusion
/THE HY NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478
TheHy.Nguyen@USPTO.gov