DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the original filing on 09/27/2024. Claims 1-8, 10-14, and 31-37 are pending and have been considered below.
Claim Objections
Claims 5 and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 5 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claim cannot depend from any other multiple dependent claim. See MPEP § 608.01(n). Accordingly, the claim 5 has not been further treated on the merits.
Claim 11 recites ‘the cards corresponding to the different types of schedules’; however, it should recite - - cards corresponding to the different types of schedules - -.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8, 10-14, and 31-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1, 31, and 32, the claims recite “the schedule information of the schedule”. It is unclear how this limitation is intended to relate to the previously recited “schedule information of at least two schedules” and “schedule information that is of a schedule”. For the purposes of examination, this limitation is interpreted as: second schedule information of the schedule
Regarding claims 2 and 33, the claims recite “whose schedule information is displayed in the form of the card”. It is unclear which previous limitation “whose” refers. For the purposes of examination, this limitation is interpreted as: second schedule information that is displayed in the form of the card
Regarding claims 8, 10, and 36, the claims recite “a schedule whose schedule type is an important schedule”. It is unclear which previous limitation “whose” refers. For the purposes of examination, this limitation is interpreted as: a second schedule type that is an important schedule
Regarding claim 32, claim 32 recites “A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the electronic device to be configured to”. The claim lacks antecedent basis for the instructions, the processors, and the electronic device. It is unclear how these limitations relate to the medium. For the purposes of examination, this limitation is interpreted as: A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions, wherein the instructions, when executed by one or more processors, further cause an electronic device to be configured to
Regarding claims 2-8, 10-14, and 33-37, claims 2-8, 10-14, and 33-37 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for depending on an indefinite parent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 11-14, 31, 32, and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Douglas (US 20220365665 A1, published 11/17/2022).
Regarding claim 31, Douglas teaches the claim comprising:
An electronic device, wherein the electronic device comprises a memory is configured to store a computer program; and the processor wherein when the computer program is executed by the processor, the electronic device is enabled to (Douglas 1-4; [0004], The computing system includes a processor and a display operatively coupled to the processor. The computing system also includes a computer-readable storage medium operatively coupled to the processor, the computer-readable storage medium including computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to execute a map calendar application on the computing system to provide a map calendar graphical user interface (GUI) surfaced on the display):
start a calendar application in response to a triggering operation on the calendar application (Douglas Figs. 1-4; [0035], when the user views his map calendar at the week view level, the map calendar GUI may provide the user with a richer experience including all the user's ideas and plans for the trip. Moreover, if friends later recommend particular tourist sites for the trip, the user may be able to quickly open the map calendar at the week view level; [0060], The method 200 begins at block 202, at which a map calendar application is executed on the computing system to provide the map calendar GUI surfaced on the display; [0082], the one or more program modules stored within the computer-readable storage medium 324 include program instructions or code that may be executed by the processor 302 to perform various operations, including the techniques described herein. In various embodiments, such program modules include, but are not limited to, a map calendar application execution module 340 that causes the processor 302 to perform operations that result in the execution of the map calendar application 338 to implement a corresponding map calendar GUI including content-variable view levels, as described with respect to the method 200 of FIG. 2, for example);
display a second interface of the calendar application, wherein the second interface displays schedule information of at least two schedules that is displayed in a form of a list view (Douglas Figs. 1-4; [0042], a zoom-in function results in increasingly smaller units of time rendered by the map calendar. Conversely, a zoom-out function results in increasingly larger units of time rendered by the map calendar; [0053], FIG. 1B is a schematic view showing an exemplary week view level 122 of the map calendar, as represented via the map calendar GUI. As shown in FIG. 1B, the week included within the week view level 122 of FIG. 1B encompasses the day corresponding to the day view level 100 of FIG. 1A; [0054], According to the embodiment shown in FIG. 1B, the map calendar is arranged in a slightly different format from the format shown in FIG. 1A; [0055], a number of non-level-specific events, such as the events 112A-F described with respect to FIG. 1A, are included within the week view level 122);
and display a first interface of the calendar application in response to a display form switching operation, wherein the first interface comprises schedule information that is of a schedule and that is displayed in a form of a card, and for the schedule information of the schedule, an amount of information displayed in the form of the card is greater than an amount of information displayed in the form of the list view (Douglas 1-4; [0031], the map calendar application is configured to link those particular calendar content items to the day view level such that the day view level includes detailed, granular calendar information that is not linked to other view levels; [0032], the user may utilize the detailed, granular calendar information existing within the day view level to optimize the utilization of their time and the organization of their schedule in various ways; [0041], FIG. 1A is a schematic view showing an exemplary day view level 100 of a map calendar, as represented via a map calendar GUI. In various embodiments, the map calendar GUI provides the rendering of the map calendar on the display of an electronic device, such as the computing system described with respect to FIG. 3; [0043], the X-axis and/or the Y-axis may be further broken up into smaller intervals such that more detailed information can be shown via the map calendar GUI; [0047], the event section 106 includes various calendar content items associated with the particular period of time indicated by the label section 102. For example, according to the embodiment shown in FIG. 1A, the event section 106 includes calendar content items that occur within the map calendar on Thursday, Jul. 23, 2020; [0051], a “Jogging” event 112A, a “Work Review” event 1128, a “Team Stand Up Meeting” event 112C, an “All-Hands Meeting” event 112D, a “Family Game Night” event 112E, and a “Reading Time” event 112F (among other events) are included within the day view level 100 as standard, non-level-specific calendar content items that are represented in various forms across all corresponding view levels within the map calendar)
Regarding claims 1 and 32, claims 1 and 32 contain substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 31. Consequently, claims 1 and 32 are rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 11, Douglas teaches all the limitations of claim 1, further comprising:
wherein when the first interface is displayed, one card displays schedule information of one schedule, schedule information of different types of schedules has different layouts in corresponding cards, and card styles of the cards corresponding to the different types of schedules are different (Douglas 1-4; [0031], the map calendar application is configured to link those particular calendar content items to the day view level such that the day view level includes detailed, granular calendar information that is not linked to other view levels; [0032], the user may utilize the detailed, granular calendar information existing within the day view level to optimize the utilization of their time and the organization of their schedule in various ways; [0041], FIG. 1A is a schematic view showing an exemplary day view level 100 of a map calendar, as represented via a map calendar GUI. In various embodiments, the map calendar GUI provides the rendering of the map calendar on the display of an electronic device, such as the computing system described with respect to FIG. 3; [0042-0043], a zoom-in function results in increasingly smaller units of time rendered by the map calendar. Conversely, a zoom-out function results in increasingly larger units of time rendered by the map calendar; [0047], the event section 106 includes various calendar content items associated with the particular period of time indicated by the label section 102. For example, according to the embodiment shown in FIG. 1A, the event section 106 includes calendar content items that occur within the map calendar on Thursday, Jul. 23, 2020; [0051], a “Jogging” event 112A, a “Work Review” event 1128, a “Team Stand Up Meeting” event 112C, an “All-Hands Meeting” event 112D, a “Family Game Night” event 112E, and a “Reading Time” event 112F (among other events) are included within the day view level 100 as standard, non-level-specific calendar content items that are represented in various forms across all corresponding view levels within the map calendar; see also [0052-0054])
Regarding claim 12, Douglas teaches all the limitations of claim 1, further comprising:
wherein the card displays basic information and target information that are of a corresponding schedule, the target information is information that cannot be displayed in the list view, and the target information comprises one or more of a schedule source, a schedule classification, a schedule inviter, and a schedule participant (Douglas 1-4; [0038], the user may also utilize the content-variable view levels described herein to record calendar content items that are not only independent from other view levels of the user's map calendar but are also independent of all other users' map calendars. For example, in some embodiments, the user may receive an invitation to attend a meeting event that was organized by another user. At that point, the map calendar GUI will allow the user to see a visualization of the shared meeting information. Such shared meeting information may include, for example, a title, date, location, and/or agenda for the meeting, as well as an identity of the organizer and a list of invitees (along with whether they accepted or declined the meeting invitation). However, in some cases, the user may wish to add information to the meeting event within his calendar that is not shared with any other users. As an example, the user may want to add private notes to the meeting event before, during, and/or after the meeting. As another example, the user may want to attach a document to the meeting event as a reminder to read the document before going into the meeting. As another example, the user may want to change the title of the meeting event in a manner that makes it more findable, searchable, and/or personalized from the user's perspective; [0041], FIG. 1A is a schematic view showing an exemplary day view level 100 of a map calendar, as represented via a map calendar GUI. In various embodiments, the map calendar GUI provides the rendering of the map calendar on the display of an electronic device, such as the computing system described with respect to FIG. 3; [0042-0043], a zoom-in function results in increasingly smaller units of time rendered by the map calendar. Conversely, a zoom-out function results in increasingly larger units of time rendered by the map calendar; [0047], the event section 106 includes various calendar content items associated with the particular period of time indicated by the label section 102. For example, according to the embodiment shown in FIG. 1A, the event section 106 includes calendar content items that occur within the map calendar on Thursday, Jul. 23, 2020; [0051], a “Jogging” event 112A, a “Work Review” event 1128, a “Team Stand Up Meeting” event 112C, an “All-Hands Meeting” event 112D, a “Family Game Night” event 112E, and a “Reading Time” event 112F (among other events) are included within the day view level 100 as standard, non-level-specific calendar content items that are represented in various forms across all corresponding view levels within the map calendar; see also [0031-0032], [0052-0054])
Regarding claim 37, claim 37 contains substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 12. Consequently, claim 37 is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 13, Douglas teaches all the limitations of claim 12, further comprising:
wherein a title region, a first operation region, an information display region, and a second operation region are disposed in the card; and the title region is used to display the schedule source, the first operation region is used to display an edit option for performing an editing operation on schedule information in the card, the information display region is used to display basic information and target information that are of a corresponding schedule, and the second operation region is used to display a dedicated operation option for schedule information displayed in the card (Douglas 1-4; [0034], the user may be asked to read a relevant document before going into a work meeting in the afternoon. Therefore, the user may drop the document into their map calendar as a floating calendar content item that exists within the morning at the day view level, within close proximity to a scheduled appointment that morning. The user may then take a bus to get to the appointment. During the bus ride, the user may see the document floating within the user's map calendar at the day view level and, as a result, decide to open and read the document while on the bus; [0038], the user may also utilize the content-variable view levels described herein to record calendar content items that are not only independent from other view levels of the user's map calendar but are also independent of all other users' map calendars. For example, in some embodiments, the user may receive an invitation to attend a meeting event that was organized by another user. At that point, the map calendar GUI will allow the user to see a visualization of the shared meeting information. Such shared meeting information may include, for example, a title, date, location, and/or agenda for the meeting, as well as an identity of the organizer and a list of invitees (along with whether they accepted or declined the meeting invitation). However, in some cases, the user may wish to add information to the meeting event within his calendar that is not shared with any other users. As an example, the user may want to add private notes to the meeting event before, during, and/or after the meeting. As another example, the user may want to attach a document to the meeting event as a reminder to read the document before going into the meeting. As another example, the user may want to change the title of the meeting event in a manner that makes it more findable, searchable, and/or personalized from the user's perspective; [0039], Unfortunately, within conventional calendar applications, any updates to a shared meeting event (or other shared calendar content item) are generally synced across (and, thus, visible to) all users who have the meeting event saved on their calendars. Moreover, while a user may sometimes be able to edit the meeting title and/or agenda locally, such changes are overwritten and lost if another user (e.g., generally the organizer) updates the meeting information and syncs those updates across all users. Accordingly, in various embodiments, the user may utilize the content-variable view levels described herein to save private calendar content data corresponding to particular view levels (e.g., particular units of time) within the user's personal map calendar. This may be accomplished, at least in part, by the implementation of a sync-and-merge solution in which any local changes to a shared meeting event (or other shared calendar content item) are merged with newly updated/propagated changes from other users such that no information is lost and the user's private changes remain within his personal map calendar even after updates have been synced across all users; [0041], FIG. 1A is a schematic view showing an exemplary day view level 100 of a map calendar, as represented via a map calendar GUI. In various embodiments, the map calendar GUI provides the rendering of the map calendar on the display of an electronic device, such as the computing system described with respect to FIG. 3; [0042-0043], a zoom-in function results in increasingly smaller units of time rendered by the map calendar. Conversely, a zoom-out function results in increasingly larger units of time rendered by the map calendar; [0047], the event section 106 includes various calendar content items associated with the particular period of time indicated by the label section 102. For example, according to the embodiment shown in FIG. 1A, the event section 106 includes calendar content items that occur within the map calendar on Thursday, Jul. 23, 2020; [0051], a “Jogging” event 112A, a “Work Review” event 1128, a “Team Stand Up Meeting” event 112C, an “All-Hands Meeting” event 112D, a “Family Game Night” event 112E, and a “Reading Time” event 112F (among other events) are included within the day view level 100 as standard, non-level-specific calendar content items that are represented in various forms across all corresponding view levels within the map calendar; [0052], the day view level 100 may also include any number of other level-specific calendar content items. For example, according to the embodiment shown in FIG. 1A, the day view level 100 includes a “Team Info” document 116 as a floating, level-specific calendar content item that exists within close proximity to the user's morning commute time. In some embodiments, the user may drag and drop the document at that location as a reminder to read the document before the “All-Hands Meeting” event 112D that afternoon. As another example, the day view level 100 includes a video 118 as a floating, level-specific calendar content item that exists within close proximity to the user's typical lunch break. In this manner, the user may prepopulate the map calendar with videos or other media items that they would like to view during certain times of the day, without such media items cluttering their overall map calendar. Moreover, as another example, the day view level 110 includes an “All-Hands Notes” document 120 as a private, level-specific calendar content item that exists within the “All-Hands Meeting” event 112D but is not shared with other users; see also [0031-0032], [0052-0054])
Regarding claim 14, Douglas teaches all the limitations of claim 12, further comprising:
wherein a hot card region is disposed in the card, a third-party interface can be displayed after information displayed in the hot card region is triggered, and the third-party interface is another interface different from the first interface in the calendar application, or the third-party interface is an interface of a third-party application (Douglas 1-4; [0034], the user may be asked to read a relevant document before going into a work meeting in the afternoon. Therefore, the user may drop the document into their map calendar as a floating calendar content item that exists within the morning at the day view level, within close proximity to a scheduled appointment that morning. The user may then take a bus to get to the appointment. During the bus ride, the user may see the document floating within the user's map calendar at the day view level and, as a result, decide to open and read the document while on the bus; [0038], the user may also utilize the content-variable view levels described herein to record calendar content items that are not only independent from other view levels of the user's map calendar but are also independent of all other users' map calendars. For example, in some embodiments, the user may receive an invitation to attend a meeting event that was organized by another user. At that point, the map calendar GUI will allow the user to see a visualization of the shared meeting information. Such shared meeting information may include, for example, a title, date, location, and/or agenda for the meeting, as well as an identity of the organizer and a list of invitees (along with whether they accepted or declined the meeting invitation). However, in some cases, the user may wish to add information to the meeting event within his calendar that is not shared with any other users. As an example, the user may want to add private notes to the meeting event before, during, and/or after the meeting. As another example, the user may want to attach a document to the meeting event as a reminder to read the document before going into the meeting. As another example, the user may want to change the title of the meeting event in a manner that makes it more findable, searchable, and/or personalized from the user's perspective; [0039], Unfortunately, within conventional calendar applications, any updates to a shared meeting event (or other shared calendar content item) are generally synced across (and, thus, visible to) all users who have the meeting event saved on their calendars. Moreover, while a user may sometimes be able to edit the meeting title and/or agenda locally, such changes are overwritten and lost if another user (e.g., generally the organizer) updates the meeting information and syncs those updates across all users. Accordingly, in various embodiments, the user may utilize the content-variable view levels described herein to save private calendar content data corresponding to particular view levels (e.g., particular units of time) within the user's personal map calendar. This may be accomplished, at least in part, by the implementation of a sync-and-merge solution in which any local changes to a shared meeting event (or other shared calendar content item) are merged with newly updated/propagated changes from other users such that no information is lost and the user's private changes remain within his personal map calendar even after updates have been synced across all users; [0041], FIG. 1A is a schematic view showing an exemplary day view level 100 of a map calendar, as represented via a map calendar GUI. In various embodiments, the map calendar GUI provides the rendering of the map calendar on the display of an electronic device, such as the computing system described with respect to FIG. 3; [0042-0043], a zoom-in function results in increasingly smaller units of time rendered by the map calendar. Conversely, a zoom-out function results in increasingly larger units of time rendered by the map calendar; [0047], the event section 106 includes various calendar content items associated with the particular period of time indicated by the label section 102. For example, according to the embodiment shown in FIG. 1A, the event section 106 includes calendar content items that occur within the map calendar on Thursday, Jul. 23, 2020; [0051], a “Jogging” event 112A, a “Work Review” event 1128, a “Team Stand Up Meeting” event 112C, an “All-Hands Meeting” event 112D, a “Family Game Night” event 112E, and a “Reading Time” event 112F (among other events) are included within the day view level 100 as standard, non-level-specific calendar content items that are represented in various forms across all corresponding view levels within the map calendar; [0052], the day view level 100 may also include any number of other level-specific calendar content items. For example, according to the embodiment shown in FIG. 1A, the day view level 100 includes a “Team Info” document 116 as a floating, level-specific calendar content item that exists within close proximity to the user's morning commute time. In some embodiments, the user may drag and drop the document at that location as a reminder to read the document before the “All-Hands Meeting” event 112D that afternoon. As another example, the day view level 100 includes a video 118 as a floating, level-specific calendar content item that exists within close proximity to the user's typical lunch break. In this manner, the user may prepopulate the map calendar with videos or other media items that they would like to view during certain times of the day, without such media items cluttering their overall map calendar. Moreover, as another example, the day view level 110 includes an “All-Hands Notes” document 120 as a private, level-specific calendar content item that exists within the “All-Hands Meeting” event 112D but is not shared with other users; see also [0031-0032], [0052-0054])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-7 and 33-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Douglas in view of Monte (US 20180095938 A1, published 04/05/2018).
Regarding claim 2, Douglas teaches all the limitations of claim 1, further comprising:
wherein the method further comprises: displaying an important identifier in a card of a second schedule, wherein the important identifier is used to identify that a corresponding schedule is an important schedule, and the second schedule is any schedule that is in the first interface and whose schedule information is displayed in the form of the card (Douglas 1-4; [0031], the map calendar application is configured to link those particular calendar content items to the day view level such that the day view level includes detailed, granular calendar information that is not linked to other view levels; [0032], the user may utilize the detailed, granular calendar information existing within the day view level to optimize the utilization of their time and the organization of their schedule in various ways; [0041], FIG. 1A is a schematic view showing an exemplary day view level 100 of a map calendar, as represented via a map calendar GUI. In various embodiments, the map calendar GUI provides the rendering of the map calendar on the display of an electronic device, such as the computing system described with respect to FIG. 3; [0043], the X-axis and/or the Y-axis may be further broken up into smaller intervals such that more detailed information can be shown via the map calendar GUI; [0047], the event section 106 includes various calendar content items associated with the particular period of time indicated by the label section 102. For example, according to the embodiment shown in FIG. 1A, the event section 106 includes calendar content items that occur within the map calendar on Thursday, Jul. 23, 2020; [0051], a “Jogging” event 112A, a “Work Review” event 1128, a “Team Stand Up Meeting” event 112C, an “All-Hands Meeting” event 112D, a “Family Game Night” event 112E, and a “Reading Time” event 112F (among other events) are included within the day view level 100 as standard, non-level-specific calendar content items that are represented in various forms across all corresponding view levels within the map calendar; see also [0052-0054])
However, Douglas fails to expressly disclose displaying an important identifier in a card of a second schedule in response to an operation on the card of the second schedule, wherein the important identifier is used to identify that a corresponding schedule is an important schedule. In the same field of endeavor, Monte teaches:
displaying an important identifier in a card of a second schedule in response to an operation on the card of the second schedule, wherein the important identifier is used to identify that a corresponding schedule is an important schedule (Monte Figs. 1-27; [0091], FIG. 5A is an illustrative depiction of a UI 500 including a calendar list view 505 for a calendar of an integrated calendar and timeline application, in one example. The calendar list view 505 is displayable to include the same relevant information whether rendered on a display device configured for and/or positioned in portrait orientation 510 or landscape mode 515. Hereto, options to select, and thus invoke, either a calendar perspective view or a timeline perspective view is provided in UI 500 at 520. In some embodiments, an options menu (not shown in FIG. 5A) including “Add New” (calendar event), “Add New Recurring” (calendar event), etc. may be triggered from the calendar list screen by selecting an action button element 512. An example embodiment of a natural language input UI element 525 is also shown in the UI's of FIG. 5A at 525. In some aspects, there may be a variety of calendar and timeline events listed in calendar list view 505, including, for example, a “meeting” as indicated by a calendar icon next to the “Meeting with James” event, a timeline milestone event as indicated by a diamond shape next to the “SAP deadline” timeline event, etc; [0092], FIG. 5B is an example depiction of a detailed view fora calendar item in UI 500 of FIG. 5A. In particular, the details 530 for calendar item 535 (“Meeting with James”) are shown in FIG. 5B in response to a selection of the “Meeting with James” calendar item 535 by a user in FIG. 5A; [0221], a user may enter a deadline with an associated priority, wherein in response to that entry a system herein may automatically generate and provide reminder alerts to a user as the deadline approaches based on the time until the deadline and the deadline's indicated priority (e.g., the frequency of the reminder alerts generated for the entered deadline may increase as the due date approaches, with more alerts being generated for high(er) priority tasks/actions))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated displaying an important identifier in a card of a second schedule in response to an operation on the card of the second schedule, wherein the important identifier is used to identify that a corresponding schedule is an important schedule as suggested in Monte into Douglas. Doing so would be desirable because some applications may be developed by a common software developer and packed as a suite of applications that work well with each other. Even if these application suites work well with each other, there might remain a disconnect with other applications outside of the suite of applications (see Monte [0001]). Applications, whether designed for an enterprise environment, a home office, a mobile device, or other contexts and environments tend to exist in isolation or silos. A user of multiple applications may thus find that they have to monitor numerous different applications, devices, and systems to stay abreast of the many different alerts, schedules, meetings, requests, and messages that may be generated by their devices and their work, social, and/or school related applications (see Monte [0002]). A view presented to a user may seamlessly switch between a calendar view and a timeline view by an integrated calendar and timeline system herein in synchronization with the tasks being performed and views being presented in response to user interactions with the system (see Monte [0046]). Additionally, the system of Monte would improve the system of Douglas be enabling the user to flexibly and easily switch between desired views to enter desired information.
Regarding claim 33, claim 33 contains substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 2. Consequently, claim 33 is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 3, Douglas in view of Monte teaches all the limitations of claim 2. Monte further teaches:
wherein the displaying an important identifier in a card of a second schedule in response to an operation on the card of the second schedule comprises: in response to a triggering operation on the card of the second schedule, displaying an editing box comprising an important option; and displaying the important identifier in the card of the second schedule in response to a triggering operation on the important option (Monte Figs. 1-27; [0091], FIG. 5A is an illustrative depiction of a UI 500 including a calendar list view 505 for a calendar of an integrated calendar and timeline application, in one example. The calendar list view 505 is displayable to include the same relevant information whether rendered on a display device configured for and/or positioned in portrait orientation 510 or landscape mode 515. Hereto, options to select, and thus invoke, either a calendar perspective view or a timeline perspective view is provided in UI 500 at 520. In some embodiments, an options menu (not shown in FIG. 5A) including “Add New” (calendar event), “Add New Recurring” (calendar event), etc. may be triggered from the calendar list screen by selecting an action button element 512. An example embodiment of a natural language input UI element 525 is also shown in the UI's of FIG. 5A at 525. In some aspects, there may be a variety of calendar and timeline events listed in calendar list view 505, including, for example, a “meeting” as indicated by a calendar icon next to the “Meeting with James” event, a timeline milestone event as indicated by a diamond shape next to the “SAP deadline” timeline event, etc; [0092], FIG. 5B is an example depiction of a detailed view fora calendar item in UI 500 of FIG. 5A. In particular, the details 530 for calendar item 535 (“Meeting with James”) are shown in FIG. 5B in response to a selection of the “Meeting with James” calendar item 535 by a user in FIG. 5A; [0221], a user may enter a deadline with an associated priority, wherein in response to that entry a system herein may automatically generate and provide reminder alerts to a user as the deadline approaches based on the time until the deadline and the deadline's indicated priority (e.g., the frequency of the reminder alerts generated for the entered deadline may increase as the due date approaches, with more alerts being generated for high(er) priority tasks/actions))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated wherein the displaying an important identifier in a card of a second schedule in response to an operation on the card of the second schedule comprises: in response to a triggering operation on the card of the second schedule, displaying an editing box comprising an important option; and displaying the important identifier in the card of the second schedule in response to a triggering operation on the important option as suggested in Monte into Douglas. Doing so would be desirable because some applications may be developed by a common software developer and packed as a suite of applications that work well with each other. Even if these application suites work well with each other, there might remain a disconnect with other applications outside of the suite of applications (see Monte [0001]). Applications, whether designed for an enterprise environment, a home office, a mobile device, or other contexts and environments tend to exist in isolation or silos. A user of multiple applications may thus find that they have to monitor numerous different applications, devices, and systems to stay abreast of the many different alerts, schedules, meetings, requests, and messages that may be generated by their devices and their work, social, and/or school related applications (see Monte [0002]). A view presented to a user may seamlessly switch between a calendar view and a timeline view by an integrated calendar and timeline system herein in synchronization with the tasks being performed and views being presented in response to user interactions with the system (see Monte [0046]). Additionally, the system of Monte would improve the system of Douglas be enabling the user to flexibly and easily switch between desired views to enter desired information.
Regarding claim 4, Douglas in view of Monte teaches all the limitations of claim 2. Monte further teaches:
wherein the displaying an important identifier in a card of a second schedule in response to an operation on the card of the second schedule comprises: displaying a schedule detail interface of the second schedule in response to a fourth user operation on the card of the second schedule; and displaying the important identifier in the card of the second schedule in response to a triggering operation on an important option in the schedule detail interface of the second schedule (Monte Figs. 1-27; [0091], FIG. 5A is an illustrative depiction of a UI 500 including a calendar list view 505 for a calendar of an integrated calendar and timeline application, in one example. The calendar list view 505 is displayable to include the same relevant information whether rendered on a display device configured for and/or positioned in portrait orientation 510 or landscape mode 515. Hereto, options to select, and thus invoke, either a calendar perspective view or a timeline perspective view is provided in UI 500 at 520. In some embodiments, an options menu (not shown in FIG. 5A) including “Add New” (calendar event), “Add New Recurring” (calendar event), etc. may be triggered from the calendar list screen by selecting an action button element 512. An example embodiment of a natural language input UI element 525 is also shown in the UI's of FIG. 5A at 525. In some aspects, there may be a variety of calendar and timeline events listed in calendar list view 505, including, for example, a “meeting” as indicated by a calendar icon next to the “Meeting with James” event, a timeline milestone event as indicated by a diamond shape next to the “SAP deadline” timeline event, etc; [0092], FIG. 5B is an example depiction of a detailed view fora calendar item in UI 500 of FIG. 5A. In particular, the details 530 for calendar item 535 (“Meeting with James”) are shown in FIG. 5B in response to a selection of the “Meeting with James” calendar item 535 by a user in FIG. 5A; [0221], a user may enter a deadline with an associated priority, wherein in response to that entry a system herein may automatically generate and provide reminder alerts to a user as the deadline approaches based on the time until the deadline and the deadline's indicated priority (e.g., the frequency of the reminder alerts generated for the entered deadline may increase as the due date approaches, with more alerts being generated for high(er) priority tasks/actions))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated wherein the displaying an important identifier in a card of a second schedule in response to an operation on the card of the second schedule comprises: displaying a schedule detail interface of the second schedule in response to a fourth user operation on the card of the second schedule; and displaying the important identifier in the card of the second schedule in response to a triggering operation on an important option in the schedule detail interface of the second schedule as suggested in Monte into Douglas. Doing so would be desirable because some applications may be developed by a common software developer and packed as a suite of applications that work well with each other. Even if these application suites work well with each other, there might remain a disconnect with other applications outside of the suite of applications (see Monte [0001]). Applications, whether designed for an enterprise environment, a home office, a mobile device, or other contexts and environments tend to exist in isolation or silos. A user of multiple applications may thus find that they have to monitor numerous different applications, devices, and systems to stay abreast of the many different alerts, schedules, meetings, requests, and messages that may be generated by their devices and their work, social, and/or school related applications (see Monte [0002]). A view presented to a user may seamlessly switch between a calendar view and a timeline view by an integrated calendar and timeline system herein in synchronization with the tasks being performed and views being presented in response to user interactions with the system (see Monte [0046]). Additionally, the system of Monte would improve the system of Douglas be enabling the user to flexibly and easily switch between desired views to enter desired information.
Regarding claim 34, claim 34 contains substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 4. Consequently, claim 34 is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 5, as discussed above, claim 5 is objected to as an improper multiple dependent claim. However, for the purposes of compact prosecution, the claim is addressed below. Douglas in view of Monte teaches all the limitations of claim 2. Monte further teaches:
wherein the card of the second schedule displays the important identifier, and the method further comprises: canceling display of the important identifier in the card of the second schedule in response to a display cancellation operation on the important identifier in the card of the second schedule (Monte Figs. 1-27; [0080], the visualization or presentation of the user's current location and the location they came from can provide the user with a sense of where they are in the context of the calendar and/or timeline. This feature may facilitate a user's context navigating “back” to their previous location within the calendar or timeline; [0091], FIG. 5A is an illustrative depiction of a UI 500 including a calendar list view 505 for a calendar of an integrated calendar and timeline application, in one example. The calendar list view 505 is displayable to include the same relevant information whether rendered on a display device configured for and/or positioned in portrait orientation 510 or landscape mode 515. Hereto, options to select, and thus invoke, either a calendar perspective view or a timeline perspective view is provided in UI 500 at 520. In some embodiments, an options menu (not shown in FIG. 5A) including “Add New” (calendar event), “Add New Recurring” (calendar event), etc. may be triggered from the calendar list screen by selecting an action button element 512. An example embodiment of a natural language input UI element 525 is also shown in the UI's of FIG. 5A at 525. In some aspects, there may be a variety of calendar and timeline events listed in calendar list view 505, including, for example, a “meeting” as indicated by a calendar icon next to the “Meeting with James” event, a timeline milestone event as indicated by a diamond shape next to the “SAP deadline” timeline event, etc; [0092], FIG. 5B is an example depiction of a detailed view fora calendar item in UI 500 of FIG. 5A. In particular, the details 530 for calendar item 535 (“Meeting with James”) are shown in FIG. 5B in response to a selection of the “Meeting with James” calendar item 535 by a user in FIG. 5A; [0108], The user has the option to navigate back to the timeline view UI 800 via “Back” button element 803; [0221], a user may enter a deadline with an associated priority, wherein in response to that entry a system herein may automatically generate and provide reminder alerts to a user as the deadline approaches based on the time until the deadline and the deadline's indicated priority (e.g., the frequency of the reminder alerts generated for the entered deadline may increase as the due date approaches, with more alerts being generated for high(er) priority tasks/actions); [0227], A user may navigate from UI 2615 back to UI 2600 (FIG. 26A) by selecting UI “Back” button 2685)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated wherein the card of the second schedule displays the important identifier, and the method further comprises: canceling display of the important identifier in the card of the second schedule in response to a display cancellation operation on the important identifier in the card of the second schedule as suggested in Monte into Douglas. Doing so would be desirable because some applications may be developed by a common software developer and packed as a suite of applications that work well with each other. Even if these application suites work well with each other, there might remain a disconnect with other applications outside of the suite of applications (see Monte [0001]). Applications, whether designed for an enterprise environment, a home office, a mobile device, or other contexts and environments tend to exist in isolation or silos. A user of multiple applications may thus find that they have to monitor numerous different applications, devices, and systems to stay abreast of the many different alerts, schedules, meetings, requests, and messages that may be generated by their devices and their work, social, and/or school related applications (see Monte [0002]). A view presented to a user may seamlessly switch between a calendar view and a timeline view by an integrated calendar and timeline system herein in synchronization with the tasks being performed and views being presented in response to user interactions with the system (see Monte [0046]). Additionally, the system of Monte would improve the system of Douglas be enabling the user to flexibly and easily switch between desired views to enter desired information.
Regarding claim 6, Douglas in view of Monte teaches all the limitations of claim 5. Monte further teaches:
wherein the canceling display of the important identifier in the card of the second schedule in response to a display cancellation operation on the important identifier in the card of the second schedule comprises: in response to a triggering operation on the card of the second schedule, displaying an editing box comprising a cancel important option; and canceling display of the important identifier in the card of the second schedule in response to a triggering operation on the cancel important option (Monte Figs. 1-27; [0080], the visualization or presentation of the user's current location and the location they came from can provide the user with a sense of where they are in the context of the calendar and/or timeline. This feature may facilitate a user's context navigating “back” to their previous location within the calendar or timeline; [0091], FIG. 5A is an illustrative depiction of a UI 500 including a calendar list view 505 for a calendar of an integrated calendar and timeline application, in one example. The calendar list view 505 is displayable to include the same relevant information whether rendered on a display device configured for and/or positioned in portrait orientation 510 or landscape mode 515. Hereto, options to select, and thus invoke, either a calendar perspective view or a timeline perspective view is provided in UI 500 at 520. In some embodiments, an options menu (not shown in FIG. 5A) including “Add New” (calendar event), “Add New Recurring” (calendar event), etc. may be triggered from the calendar list screen by selecting an action button element 512. An example embodiment of a natural language input UI element 525 is also shown in the UI's of FIG. 5A at 525. In some aspects, there may be a variety of calendar and timeline events listed in calendar list view 505, including, for example, a “meeting” as indicated by a calendar icon next to the “Meeting with James” event, a timeline milestone event as indicated by a diamond shape next to the “SAP deadline” timeline event, etc; [0092], FIG. 5B is an example depiction of a detailed view fora calendar item in UI 500 of FIG. 5A. In particular, the details 530 for calendar item 535 (“Meeting with James”) are shown in FIG. 5B in response to a selection of the “Meeting with James” calendar item 535 by a user in FIG. 5A; [0108], The user has the option to navigate back to the timeline view UI 800 via “Back” button element 803; [0221], a user may enter a deadline with an associated priority, wherein in response to that entry a system herein may automatically generate and provide reminder alerts to a user as the deadline approaches based on the time until the deadline and the deadline's indicated priority (e.g., the frequency of the reminder alerts generated for the entered deadline may increase as the due date approaches, with more alerts being generated for high(er) priority tasks/actions); [0227], A user may navigate from UI 2615 back to UI 2600 (FIG. 26A) by selecting UI “Back” button 2685)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated wherein the canceling display of the important identifier in the card of the second schedule in response to a display cancellation operation on the important identifier in the card of the second schedule comprises: in response to a triggering operation on the card of the second schedule, displaying an editing box comprising a cancel important option; and canceling display of the important identifier in the card of the second schedule in response to a triggering operation on the cancel important option as suggested in Monte into Douglas. Doing so would be desirable because some applications may be developed by a common software developer and packed as a suite of applications that work well with each other. Even if these application suites work well with each other, there might remain a disconnect with other applications outside of the suite of applications (see Monte [0001]). Applications, whether designed for an enterprise environment, a home office, a mobile device, or other contexts and environments tend to exist in isolation or silos. A user of multiple applications may thus find that they have to monitor numerous different applications, devices, and systems to stay abreast of the many different alerts, schedules, meetings, requests, and messages that may be generated by their devices and their work, social, and/or school related applications (see Monte [0002]). A view presented to a user may seamlessly switch between a calendar view and a timeline view by an integrated calendar and timeline system herein in synchronization with the tasks being performed and views being presented in response to user interactions with the system (see Monte [0046]). Additionally, the system of Monte would improve the system of Douglas be enabling the user to flexibly and easily switch between desired views to enter desired information.
Regarding claim 7, Douglas in view of Monte teaches all the limitations of claim 5. Monte further teaches:
wherein the canceling display of the important identifier in the card of the second schedule in response to a display cancellation operation on the important identifier in the card of the second schedule comprises: displaying the schedule detail interface of the second schedule in response to the fourth user operation on the card of the second schedule; and canceling display of the important identifier in the card of the second schedule in response to a triggering operation on a cancel important option in the schedule detail interface of the second schedule (Monte Figs. 1-27; [0080], the visualization or presentation of the user's current location and the location they came from can provide the user with a sense of where they are in the context of the calendar and/or timeline. This feature may facilitate a user's context navigating “back” to their previous location within the calendar or timeline; [0091], FIG. 5A is an illustrative depiction of a UI 500 including a calendar list view 505 for a calendar of an integrated calendar and timeline application, in one example. The calendar list view 505 is displayable to include the same relevant information whether rendered on a display device configured for and/or positioned in portrait orientation 510 or landscape mode 515. Hereto, options to select, and thus invoke, either a calendar perspective view or a timeline perspective view is provided in UI 500 at 520. In some embodiments, an options menu (not shown in FIG. 5A) including “Add New” (calendar event), “Add New Recurring” (calendar event), etc. may be triggered from the calendar list screen by selecting an action button element 512. An example embodiment of a natural language input UI element 525 is also shown in the UI's of FIG. 5A at 525. In some aspects, there may be a variety of calendar and timeline events listed in calendar list view 505, including, for example, a “meeting” as indicated by a calendar icon next to the “Meeting with James” event, a timeline milestone event as indicated by a diamond shape next to the “SAP deadline” timeline event, etc; [0092], FIG. 5B is an example depiction of a detailed view fora calendar item in UI 500 of FIG. 5A. In particular, the details 530 for calendar item 535 (“Meeting with James”) are shown in FIG. 5B in response to a selection of the “Meeting with James” calendar item 535 by a user in FIG. 5A; [0108], The user has the option to navigate back to the timeline view UI 800 via “Back” button element 803; [0221], a user may enter a deadline with an associated priority, wherein in response to that entry a system herein may automatically generate and provide reminder alerts to a user as the deadline approaches based on the time until the deadline and the deadline's indicated priority (e.g., the frequency of the reminder alerts generated for the entered deadline may increase as the due date approaches, with more alerts being generated for high(er) priority tasks/actions); [0227], A user may navigate from UI 2615 back to UI 2600 (FIG. 26A) by selecting UI “Back” button 2685)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated wherein the canceling display of the important identifier in the card of the second schedule in response to a display cancellation operation on the important identifier in the card of the second schedule comprises: displaying the schedule detail interface of the second schedule in response to the fourth user operation on the card of the second schedule; and canceling display of the important identifier in the card of the second schedule in response to a triggering operation on a cancel important option in the schedule detail interface of the second schedule as suggested in Monte into Douglas. Doing so would be desirable because some applications may be developed by a common software developer and packed as a suite of applications that work well with each other. Even if these application suites work well with each other, there might remain a disconnect with other applications outside of the suite of applications (see Monte [0001]). Applications, whether designed for an enterprise environment, a home office, a mobile device, or other contexts and environments tend to exist in isolation or silos. A user of multiple applications may thus find that they have to monitor numerous different applications, devices, and systems to stay abreast of the many different alerts, schedules, meetings, requests, and messages that may be generated by their devices and their work, social, and/or school related applications (see Monte [0002]). A view presented to a user may seamlessly switch between a calendar view and a timeline view by an integrated calendar and timeline system herein in synchronization with the tasks being performed and views being presented in response to user interactions with the system (see Monte [0046]). Additionally, the system of Monte would improve the system of Douglas be enabling the user to flexibly and easily switch between desired views to enter desired information.
Regarding claim 35, Douglas in view of Monte teaches all the limitations of claim 33. Monte further teaches:
wherein the electronic device is further enabled to: display the schedule detail interface of the second schedule in response to the fourth user operation on the card of the second schedule; and cancel display of the important identifier in the card of the second schedule in response to a triggering operation on a cancel important option in the schedule detail interface of the second schedule; or in response to a triggering operation on the card of the second schedule, display an editing box comprising a cancel important option; and cancel display of the important identifier in the card of the second schedule in response to a triggering operation on the cancel important option (Monte Figs. 1-27; [0080], the visualization or presentation of the user's current location and the location they came from can provide the user with a sense of where they are in the context of the calendar and/or timeline. This feature may facilitate a user's context navigating “back” to their previous location within the calendar or timeline; [0091], FIG. 5A is an illustrative depiction of a UI 500 including a calendar list view 505 for a calendar of an integrated calendar and timeline application, in one example. The calendar list view 505 is displayable to include the same relevant information whether rendered on a display device configured for and/or positioned in portrait orientation 510 or landscape mode 515. Hereto, options to select, and thus invoke, either a calendar perspective view or a timeline perspective view is provided in UI 500 at 520. In some embodiments, an options menu (not shown in FIG. 5A) including “Add New” (calendar event), “Add New Recurring” (calendar event), etc. may be triggered from the calendar list screen by selecting an action button element 512. An example embodiment of a natural language input UI element 525 is also shown in the UI's of FIG. 5A at 525. In some aspects, there may be a variety of calendar and timeline events listed in calendar list view 505, including, for example, a “meeting” as indicated by a calendar icon next to the “Meeting with James” event, a timeline milestone event as indicated by a diamond shape next to the “SAP deadline” timeline event, etc; [0092], FIG. 5B is an example depiction of a detailed view fora calendar item in UI 500 of FIG. 5A. In particular, the details 530 for calendar item 535 (“Meeting with James”) are shown in FIG. 5B in response to a selection of the “Meeting with James” calendar item 535 by a user in FIG. 5A; [0108], The user has the option to navigate back to the timeline view UI 800 via “Back” button element 803; [0221], a user may enter a deadline with an associated priority, wherein in response to that entry a system herein may automatically generate and provide reminder alerts to a user as the deadline approaches based on the time until the deadline and the deadline's indicated priority (e.g., the frequency of the reminder alerts generated for the entered deadline may increase as the due date approaches, with more alerts being generated for high(er) priority tasks/actions); [0227], A user may navigate from UI 2615 back to UI 2600 (FIG. 26A) by selecting UI “Back” button 2685)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated wherein the electronic device is further enabled to: display the schedule detail interface of the second schedule in response to the fourth user operation on the card of the second schedule; and cancel display of the important identifier in the card of the second schedule in response to a triggering operation on a cancel important option in the schedule detail interface of the second schedule; or in response to a triggering operation on the card of the second schedule, display an editing box comprising a cancel important option; and cancel display of the important identifier in the card of the second schedule in response to a triggering operation on the cancel important option as suggested in Monte into Douglas. Doing so would be desirable because some applications may be developed by a common software developer and packed as a suite of applications that work well with each other. Even if these application suites work well with each other, there might remain a disconnect with other applications outside of the suite of applications (see Monte [0001]). Applications, whether designed for an enterprise environment, a home office, a mobile device, or other contexts and environments tend to exist in isolation or silos. A user of multiple applications may thus find that they have to monitor numerous different applications, devices, and systems to stay abreast of the many different alerts, schedules, meetings, requests, and messages that may be generated by their devices and their work, social, and/or school related applications (see Monte [0002]). A view presented to a user may seamlessly switch between a calendar view and a timeline view by an integrated calendar and timeline system herein in synchronization with the tasks being performed and views being presented in response to user interactions with the system (see Monte [0046]). Additionally, the system of Monte would improve the system of Douglas be enabling the user to flexibly and easily switch between desired views to enter desired information.
Claims 8, 10, and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Douglas in view of Pell et al. (US 20070061306 A1, published 03/15/2007), hereinafter Pell.
Regarding claim 8, Douglas teaches all the limitations of claim 1, further comprising:
wherein the method further comprises: displaying a selection interface in response to a selection operation after the first interface or the second interface is displayed; and displaying all schedules in response to a display restoration operation on all the schedules (Douglas 1-4; [0041], FIG. 1A is a schematic view showing an exemplary day view level 100 of a map calendar, as represented via a map calendar GUI. In various embodiments, the map calendar GUI provides the rendering of the map calendar on the display of an electronic device, such as the computing system described with respect to FIG. 3; [0042-0043], a zoom-in function results in increasingly smaller units of time rendered by the map calendar. Conversely, a zoom-out function results in increasingly larger units of time rendered by the map calendar; [0047], the event section 106 includes various calendar content items associated with the particular period of time indicated by the label section 102. For example, according to the embodiment shown in FIG. 1A, the event section 106 includes calendar content items that occur within the map calendar on Thursday, Jul. 23, 2020; [0051], a “Jogging” event 112A, a “Work Review” event 1128, a “Team Stand Up Meeting” event 112C, an “All-Hands Meeting” event 112D, a “Family Game Night” event 112E, and a “Reading Time” event 112F (among other events) are included within the day view level 100 as standard, non-level-specific calendar content items that are represented in various forms across all corresponding view levels within the map calendar; [0053], FIG. 1B is a schematic view showing an exemplary week view level 122 of the map calendar, as represented via the map calendar GUI. As shown in FIG. 1B, the week included within the week view level 122 of FIG. 1B encompasses the day corresponding to the day view level 100 of FIG. 1A; see also [0031-0032], [0052], [0054])
However, Douglas fails to expressly disclose displaying a selection interface in response to a selection operation after the first interface or the second interface is displayed; in response to a selection operation on a schedule type in the selection interface, displaying, when the schedule type selected through the selection operation is an important type, a schedule whose schedule type is an important schedule; and displaying all schedules in response to a display restoration operation on all the schedules. In the same field of endeavor, Pell teaches:
displaying a selection interface in response to a selection operation after the first interface or the second interface is displayed; in response to a selection operation on a schedule type in the selection interface, displaying, when the schedule type selected through the selection operation is an important type, a schedule whose schedule type is an important schedule; and displaying all schedules in response to a display restoration operation on all the schedules (Pell Figs. 1-27; [0035], For another example, if a user is currently utilizing a calendar module, and the user is currently viewing calendaring items; [0051], A clear/stop button 320 is provided to delete text from the textbox 310 immediately, thus clearing the search and find pane 300 and returning the current module view to its original state before any search and find operation was initiated. That is, selection of the "clear" button 320 clears a search string in the textbox 310 and clears any search results displayed responsive to a given search string. For example, if the contents of a currently in-use data folder, for example, the "Sent" mail folder were displayed in the display space 285 prior to the initiation of a search on the "Sent" data folder, and the search and find pane 300 is subsequently used for searching for particular items contained in the currently in-use data folder, the results of the search will be displayed in a results list in the display space 285 in place of the previously displayed contents of the in-use data folder. According to embodiments, selection of the clear/stop button 320 ends the operation of the search and find pane 310, clears the search string from the textbox 310, and returns the display of data in the user interface 200 to its display state prior to initiation of the search and find operation; [0054], Adjacent to the clear/stop button 320 is an expanded search control 325, decorated with chevrons, according to one embodiment. The expanded search control 325 allows for expansion of the search and find pane 300 into an expanded search and find pane described below with reference to FIGS. 6 and 7; [0062], if the expanded search and find pane 610 is open through another software module, for example, a calendar software module, then the expanded search and find pane 610 may allow for tailored searches based on other landmark search criteria, for example, meeting times, meeting dates, meeting attendees, and the like; [0063], the expanded search and find pane 610 is launched by selection of the expanded search button 325. Upon selection of the button 325, the expanded search and find pane 610 automatically deploys as illustrated in FIGS. 6 and 7. In order to collapse or dismiss the expanded search and find pane 610, the button 325 is selected a second time; [0066], for some criteria, for example, date, category, attributes, sensitivity, flag color, categories, importance, attributes or any other criteria having selectable ranges of key terms or properties, an additional drop down menu may be enabled under the textbox, as is illustrated for the drop down menu 735 in FIG. 7. For example, for an "Attributes" criteria, a drop down menu is enabled to allow a user to craft an expanded search by selecting one or more attributes or properties that may be associated with a desired item, for example, whether the item includes attachments, whether the item is unread, whether the item is marked as important, whether the item is flagged, or whether the item includes links. For another example, if the user modifies the expanded search and find pane 610 to include a category for "Flag color," for example, a drop down menu 735 may be enabled under the flag category textbox for picking from available flag colors, such as red, blue, green, yellow, and the like. For another example, if a "Date" criteria is applied to the expanded search and find pane 610, a drop down menu may be enabled which allows selection of specified dates including today, yesterday, this week, this month, this year, within last three days, within last two weeks, within last two months, within last one year, and the like. As should be appreciated, when a particular attribute is selected from such a drop down menu 735, the selected attribute is automatically populated into the associated textbox 730 for applying to the associated search; [0074], if the present software module in use is a different module, for example, a calendar module, then the link provided below the results list will allow application of a present search query against all data items of the different module, for example, all calendar items)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated displaying a selection interface in response to a selection operation after the first interface or the second interface is displayed; in response to a selection operation on a schedule type in the selection interface, displaying, when the schedule type selected through the selection operation is an important type, a schedule whose schedule type is an important schedule; and displaying all schedules in response to a display restoration operation on all the schedules as suggested in Pell into Douglas. Doing so would be desirable because electronic calendar applications allow users to maintain a variety of calendar information, such as appointments, in an electronic medium (see Pell [0003]). With such software applications, users typically store large amounts of data in various storage locations associated with each application or associated with different software modules of a multiple functionality application. Users store calendar information, such as appointments, in personal calendars, business calendars, social calendars and the like (see Pell [0004]). Existing search and find mechanisms typically search across entire data storage areas (for example, all received electronic mail) and do not offer the opportunity for search of sub-storage areas making up larger storage areas. Thus, such searches tend to be slow and often return large amounts of data that are not particularly relevant to the search. If such a search is executed and no acceptable result is returned, users are often required to conduct expanded or advanced searches. However, average users who do not use such search and find functionality frequently often do not possess the required skills or patience to conduct more advanced searching for one or more needed data items. In addition, often a user conducts a search in a particular storage area, for example, a received mail folder, only to be frustrated when the desired item is not located. In many cases, the desired item is stored, but is not stored in the storage location searched by the user, and the user lacks a means for efficiently changing the scope of the search to include other storage locations (see Pell [0005]). Embodiments of the present invention solve the above and other problems by providing an improved search and find function that integrates a data indexing engine for efficient and high speed data search and retrieval (see Pell [0008]).
Regarding claim 36, claim 36 contains substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 8. Consequently, claim 36 is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 10, Douglas in view of Pell teaches all the limitations of claim 8. Pell further teaches:
wherein before the displaying a schedule whose schedule type is an important schedule, the method further comprise: displaying a setting interface in response to a sixth user operation when the first interface or the second interface is displayed; and displaying a schedule display range setting pop-up window in response to a tap operation on a display range option in the setting interface; and the displaying a schedule whose schedule type is an important schedule comprises: displaying an important schedule in the first interface or the second interface in response to a tap operation on an important schedule option in the schedule display range setting pop- up window (Pell Figs. 1-27; [0035], For another example, if a user is currently utilizing a calendar module, and the user is currently viewing calendaring items; [0051], A clear/stop button 320 is provided to delete text from the textbox 310 immediately, thus clearing the search and find pane 300 and returning the current module view to its original state before any search and find operation was initiated. That is, selection of the "clear" button 320 clears a search string in the textbox 310 and clears any search results displayed responsive to a given search string. For example, if the contents of a currently in-use data folder, for example, the "Sent" mail folder were displayed in the display space 285 prior to the initiation of a search on the "Sent" data folder, and the search and find pane 300 is subsequently used for searching for particular items contained in the currently in-use data folder, the results of the search will be displayed in a results list in the display space 285 in place of the previously displayed contents of the in-use data folder. According to embodiments, selection of the clear/stop button 320 ends the operation of the search and find pane 310, clears the search string from the textbox 310, and returns the display of data in the user interface 200 to its display state prior to initiation of the search and find operation; [0054], Adjacent to the clear/stop button 320 is an expanded search control 325, decorated with chevrons, according to one embodiment. The expanded search control 325 allows for expansion of the search and find pane 300 into an expanded search and find pane described below with reference to FIGS. 6 and 7; [0062], if the expanded search and find pane 610 is open through another software module, for example, a calendar software module, then the expanded search and find pane 610 may allow for tailored searches based on other landmark search criteria, for example, meeting times, meeting dates, meeting attendees, and the like; [0063], the expanded search and find pane 610 is launched by selection of the expanded search button 325. Upon selection of the button 325, the expanded search and find pane 610 automatically deploys as illustrated in FIGS. 6 and 7. In order to collapse or dismiss the expanded search and find pane 610, the button 325 is selected a second time; [0066], for some criteria, for example, date, category, attributes, sensitivity, flag color, categories, importance, attributes or any other criteria having selectable ranges of key terms or properties, an additional drop down menu may be enabled under the textbox, as is illustrated for the drop down menu 735 in FIG. 7. For example, for an "Attributes" criteria, a drop down menu is enabled to allow a user to craft an expanded search by selecting one or more attributes or properties that may be associated with a desired item, for example, whether the item includes attachments, whether the item is unread, whether the item is marked as important, whether the item is flagged, or whether the item includes links. For another example, if the user modifies the expanded search and find pane 610 to include a category for "Flag color," for example, a drop down menu 735 may be enabled under the flag category textbox for picking from available flag colors, such as red, blue, green, yellow, and the like. For another example, if a "Date" criteria is applied to the expanded search and find pane 610, a drop down menu may be enabled which allows selection of specified dates including today, yesterday, this week, this month, this year, within last three days, within last two weeks, within last two months, within last one year, and the like. As should be appreciated, when a particular attribute is selected from such a drop down menu 735, the selected attribute is automatically populated into the associated textbox 730 for applying to the associated search; [0074], if the present software module in use is a different module, for example, a calendar module, then the link provided below the results list will allow application of a present search query against all data items of the different module, for example, all calendar items)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated wherein before the displaying a schedule whose schedule type is an important schedule, the method further comprise: displaying a setting interface in response to a sixth user operation when the first interface or the second interface is displayed; and displaying a schedule display range setting pop-up window in response to a tap operation on a display range option in the setting interface; and the displaying a schedule whose schedule type is an important schedule comprises: displaying an important schedule in the first interface or the second interface in response to a tap operation on an important schedule option in the schedule display range setting pop- up window as suggested in Pell into Douglas. Doing so would be desirable because electronic calendar applications allow users to maintain a variety of calendar information, such as appointments, in an electronic medium (see Pell [0003]). With such software applications, users typically store large amounts of data in various storage locations associated with each application or associated with different software modules of a multiple functionality application. Users store calendar information, such as appointments, in personal calendars, business calendars, social calendars and the like (see Pell [0004]). Existing search and find mechanisms typically search across entire data storage areas (for example, all received electronic mail) and do not offer the opportunity for search of sub-storage areas making up larger storage areas. Thus, such searches tend to be slow and often return large amounts of data that are not particularly relevant to the search. If such a search is executed and no acceptable result is returned, users are often required to conduct expanded or advanced searches. However, average users who do not use such search and find functionality frequently often do not possess the required skills or patience to conduct more advanced searching for one or more needed data items. In addition, often a user conducts a search in a particular storage area, for example, a received mail folder, only to be frustrated when the desired item is not located. In many cases, the desired item is stored, but is not stored in the storage location searched by the user, and the user lacks a means for efficiently changing the scope of the search to include other storage locations (see Pell [0005]). Embodiments of the present invention solve the above and other problems by providing an improved search and find function that integrates a data indexing engine for efficient and high speed data search and retrieval (see Pell [0008]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kho (US 20090265623 A1) see Figs. 1-5 and [0022].
/JOHN T REPSHER III/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2143