DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Independent Claims
Claim(s) 1, 14, 25, 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong (US-20240314879) in view of Kuang (WO-20211204002-A1).
As to claim 1, 25: Jeong teaches a measuring method, performed by a user equipment, comprising: sending indication information to a network device, the indication information indicating a relaxation measurement feature supported by the user equipment ([0016, 88] claim 25 receiving, from the terminal, a user equipment (UE) capability information message comprising third information indicating whether the terminal supports the relaxed RRM measurement for the connected mode), … ; receiving configuration information from the network device ([0016, 96]), and determining, according to the configuration information, whether the user equipment satisfies a relaxation measurement criterion corresponding to the supported relaxation measurement feature ([0074, 108] If the base station separately transmits the relaxedMeasurement_connected through the SIB or a dedicate message in accordance with Table 8, the UE may determine whether to perform the relaxed RRM measurement or the normal RRM measurement by checking the relaxation criteria); and performing corresponding relaxation measurement according to the relaxation measurement criterion satisfied by the user equipment ([0081, 113] If the specific relaxation condition is not satisfied, the UE may perform the normal RRM measurement at the corresponding frequency (1f-30). The measurement period for the normal measurement may be the same as the contents of TS 38.133. If the specific relaxation condition is satisfied, the UE may perform the relaxed RRM measurement (1f-35).).
Jeong may not explicitly teach and the relaxation measurement feature comprising a first relaxation measurement feature and a second relaxation measurement feature. However, Kuang teaches and the relaxation measurement feature comprising a first relaxation measurement feature and a second relaxation measurement feature (At present, there is no relevant mechanism for RLM measurement relaxation, but there is a relevant mechanism for RRM relaxation; the terminal device sends a third message to the network device, where the third) message is used to indicate that the terminal device has the RLM Measure the ability to relax).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement relaxation measurement features, taught by Kuang, into the communication system, taught by Jeong, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and reduce power consumption. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Jeong and Kuang in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
As to claim 14, 26: Jeong teaches a measuring method, performed by a network device, comprising: receiving indication information from a user equipment, the indication information indicating a relaxation measurement feature supported by the user equipment (claim 35 receive, from the terminal, a UE capability information message comprising third information indicating whether the terminal supports the relaxed RRM measurement for the connected mode), … and sending configuration information to the user equipment, the configuration information being used for the user equipment to determine whether a relaxation measurement criterion corresponding to the supported relaxation measurement feature is satisfied (claim 31 transmit, to a terminal, a first message including first information on criterion for a relaxed radio resource management (RRM) measurement for a connected mode).
Jeong may not explicitly teach and the relaxation measurement feature comprising a first relaxation measurement feature and a second relaxation measurement feature. However, Kuang teaches and the relaxation measurement feature comprising a first relaxation measurement feature and a second relaxation measurement feature (At present, there is no relevant mechanism for RLM measurement relaxation, but there is a relevant mechanism for RRM relaxation; the terminal device sends a third message to the network device, where the third) message is used to indicate that the terminal device has the RLM Measure the ability to relax).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement relaxation measurement features, taught by Kuang, into the communication system, taught by Jeong, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and reduce power consumption. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Jeong and Kuang in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
Dependent Claims
Claim(s) 2, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong (US-20240314879) in view of Kuang (WO-20211204002).
As to claim 2, 15: Jeong teaches the method of claim 1, wherein receiving the configuration information from the network device, and determining, according to the configuration information, whether the user equipment satisfies the relaxation measurement criterion corresponding to the supported relaxation measurement feature, comprises: receiving first configuration information from the network device, the first configuration information comprising a first parameter set (claim 16, claim 19 receiving, from a base station, a first message including first information on criterion for a relaxed radio resource management (RRM) measurement for a connected mode); and determining, according to the first parameter set, whether the user equipment satisfies a first relaxation measurement criterion corresponding to the first relaxation measurement feature ([0015] claim 16, claim 17 wherein the criterion for the relaxed RRM measurement for the connected mode is for determining whether the terminal is a stationary terminal).
Claim(s) 3, 4, 5, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong (US-20240314879), Kuang (WO-20211204002) in view of He (US-20230019889).
As to claim 3, 4, 5, 16: Jeong teaches the method of claim 15, … wherein the user equipment does not satisfy the first relaxation measurement criterion (claim 31, claim 32 the base station receives, from the terminal, a second message including second information indicating whether the terminal fulfills the criterion for the relaxed RRM measurement for the connected mode determined based on the first information), … wherein the user equipment does not satisfy the first relaxation measurement criterion ([0016] claim 31, claim 32 receive, from the terminal a second message including second information indicating whether the terminal fulfills the criterion for the relaxed RRM measurement for the connected mode determined based on the first information),
Jeon may not explicitly teach wherein the user equipment satisfies the first relaxation measurement criterion, the second configuration information comprises a second parameter set, and the second parameter set determines whether the user equipment satisfies a second relaxation measurement criterion corresponding to the second relaxation measurement feature; sending third configuration information to the user equipment, … the third configuration information comprises a second parameter set and a third parameter set, the second parameter set is used for determining whether the user equipment satisfies a second relaxation measurement criterion corresponding to the second relaxation measurement feature, and the third parameter set is used for determining whether the user equipment satisfies a third relaxation measurement criterion corresponding to the second relaxation measurement feature; or sending second configuration information to the user equipment, … the second configuration information comprises a second parameter set, and the second parameter set is used for determining whether the user equipment satisfies a second relaxation measurement criterion corresponding to the second relaxation measurement feature. However, He teaches wherein sending the configuration information to the user equipment, further comprises at least one of: sending second configuration information to the user equipment ([0096] The UE may receive the relaxation configuration from the base station), wherein the user equipment satisfies the first relaxation measurement criterion ([0109] The base station may transmit the relaxation configuration configuring the UE to reduce the rate of measuring the one or more reference signals for the RLM procedure or the BFD procedure in response to at least one measurement, by the UE, of the one or more reference signals meeting a relaxation criteria), the second configuration information comprises a second parameter set ([0084] The relaxation configuration may comprise at least one scaling factor … Q.NACE may be configured by the network), and the second parameter set determines whether the user equipment satisfies a second relaxation measurement criterion corresponding to the second relaxation measurement feature (abstract, [0084] the distance criteria may correspond to the UE being remote from a cell edge (e.g., NACE) based at least in part on at least one L1-RSRP measurement of the one or more reference signals for the RLM procedure or the BFD procedure being greater than a third threshold); sending third configuration information to the user equipment ([0096] The UE may receive the relaxation configuration from the base station), … the third configuration information comprises a second parameter set and a third parameter set ([0084, 86] the relaxation criteria may comprise at least one of a mobility criteria or a distance criteria relative to a cell; Q.NACE, Doppler threshold), the second parameter set is used for determining whether the user equipment satisfies a second relaxation measurement criterion ([0084] distance criteria may correspond to the UE being remote from a cell edge based at least in part on at least one L1-RSRP measurement … being greater than a threshold) corresponding to the second relaxation measurement feature (abstract, [0084] the distance criteria may correspond to the UE being remote from a cell edge based at least in part on at least one L1-RSRP measurement of the one or more reference signals for the RLM procedure or the BFD procedure being greater than a second threshold), and the third parameter set is used for determining whether the user equipment satisfies a third relaxation measurement criterion corresponding to the second relaxation measurement feature ([0086] the mobility criteria may be based at least in part on a time average of at least one Doppler shift measurement on the one or more reference signals for the RLM procedure or the BFD procedure being less than a Doppler threshold); or sending second configuration information to the user equipment ([0096] The UE may receive the relaxation configuration from the base station), … the second configuration information comprises a second parameter set ([0084] the second threshold may correspond to at least one of Qout or QNACE), and the second parameter set is used for determining whether the user equipment satisfies a second relaxation measurement criterion corresponding to the second relaxation measurement feature ([0084] distance criteria may correspond to the UE being remote from a cell edge based at least in part on at least one L1-RSRP measurement … being greater than a threshold).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement relaxation framework for RLM/BFD, taught by He, into the communication system, taught by Jeong, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and reduce measurement activity and save power. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine He and Jeong 1in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
Claim(s) 6, 7, 8, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong (US-20240314879), Kuang (WO-20211204002) in view of He (US-20230019889).
As to claim 6, 7, 8, 19: Jeong teaches the method of claim 14, wherein sending the configuration information to the user equipment, comprises at least one of: sending fourth configuration information to the user equipment, the fourth configuration information (claim 26, claim 29 receive, from a base station, a first message including first information on criterion for a relaxed RRM measurement for a connected mode) comprising:
a first parameter set and a second parameter set, wherein the first parameter set is used for determining whether the user equipment satisfies a first relaxation measurement criterion corresponding to the first relaxation measurement feature (claim 26, claim 27 determine whether the terminal fulfills the criterion for the relaxed RRM measurement for the connected mode), … or sending fifth configuration information to the user equipment, the fifth configuration information comprising: a first parameter set, a second parameter set and a third parameter set (claim 26, claim 29 receive, from a base station, a first message including first information on criterion for a relaxed RRM measurement for a connected mode), wherein the first parameter set is used for determining whether the user equipment satisfies a first relaxation measurement criterion corresponding to the first relaxation measurement feature (claim 26, claim 27).
Jeong may not explicitly teach and the second parameter set is used for determining whether the user equipment satisfies a second relaxation measurement criterion corresponding to the second relaxation measurement feature; … the second parameter set is used for determining whether the user equipment satisfies a second relaxation measurement criterion corresponding to the second relaxation measurement feature, and the third parameter set is used for determining whether the user equipment satisfies a third relaxation measurement criterion corresponding to the second relaxation measurement feature. However, He teaches and the second parameter set is used for determining whether the user equipment satisfies a second relaxation measurement criterion corresponding to the second relaxation measurement feature (abstract, [0084] the distance criteria may correspond to the UE being remote from a cell edge (e.g., NACE) based at least in part on at least one L1-RSRP measurement of the one or more reference signals for the RLM procedure or the BFD procedure being greater than a third threshold); … the second parameter set is used for determining whether the user equipment satisfies a second relaxation measurement criterion corresponding to the second relaxation measurement feature (abstract, [0084] the distance criteria may correspond to the UE being remote from a cell edge (e.g., NACE) based at least in part on at least one L1-RSRP measurement of the one or more reference signals for the RLM procedure or the BFD procedure being greater than a third threshold), and the third parameter set is used for determining whether the user equipment satisfies a third relaxation measurement criterion corresponding to the second relaxation measurement feature ([0086] the mobility criteria may be based at least in part on a time average of at least one Doppler shift measurement on the one or more reference signals for the RLM procedure or the BFD procedure being less than a Doppler threshold).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement relaxation framework for RLM/BFD, taught by He, into the communication system, taught by Jeong, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and reduce measurement activity and save power. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine He and Jeong 1in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
Claim(s) 9, 10, 11, 12, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong (US-20240314879), Kuang (WO-20211204002) in view of Huang (US-20220104044).
As to claim 9: Jeong teaches the method of claim 1.
Jeong may not explicitly teach wherein performing the corresponding relaxation measurement according to the relaxation measurement criterion satisfied by the user equipment, comprises: determining an expansion coefficient for second relaxation measurement to be a first expansion coefficient, wherein the user equipment satisfies a second relaxation measurement criterion and a third relaxation measurement criterion; and performing the second relaxation measurement according to the first expansion coefficient; wherein the second relaxation measurement criterion and the third relaxation measurement criterion both correspond to the second relaxation measurement feature. However, Huang teaches wherein performing the corresponding relaxation measurement according to the relaxation measurement criterion satisfied by the user equipment, comprises: determining an expansion coefficient for second relaxation measurement to be a first expansion coefficient, wherein the user equipment satisfies a second relaxation measurement criterion and a third relaxation measurement criterion (fig.7, [0032] When serving cell quality is larger than a particular threshold and UE speed is slow enough, we can guarantee that serving cell quality will not be lower than Qout); and performing the second relaxation measurement according to the first expansion coefficient (claim 1, claim 10 performing RLM/BFD measurements with a scaling factor K and an extended evaluation period upon satisfying the criteria); wherein the second relaxation measurement criterion and the third relaxation measurement criterion both correspond to the second relaxation measurement feature ([0007] claim 1 determining whether the UE satisfies criteria for entering a relaxed RLM/BFD measurement state, wherein the criteria comprises at least one of a serving cell quality criteria).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement relaxed-measurement criteria and scaling, taught by Huang, into the communication system, taught by Jeong, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and power saving. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Jeong and Huang in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
As to claim 10: Jeong teaches the method of claim 1, wherein performing the corresponding relaxation measurement according to the relaxation measurement criterion satisfied by the user equipment, comprises: determining an expansion coefficient for second relaxation measurement to be a second expansion coefficient, wherein the user equipment satisfies a first relaxation measurement criterion and a second relaxation measurement criterion (claim 26, clam 27 determine whether the terminal fulfills the criterion for the relaxed RRM measurement for the connected mode); … ; wherein the first relaxation measurement criterion corresponds to the first relaxation measurement feature (claim 26, claim 27).
Jeong may not explicitly teach and performing the second relaxation measurement according to the second expansion coefficient … and the second relaxation measurement criterion corresponds to the second relaxation measurement feature. However, Huang teaches and performing the second relaxation measurement according to the second expansion coefficient … and the second relaxation measurement criterion corresponds to the second relaxation measurement feature ([0033] claim 1 A first criteria A1 is channel condition (e.g. SINR or SNR) of a serving cell or a serving beam (beam level)-Serving cell SNR/SINR is larger (or not lower) than certain threshold SINR.sub.threshold_relax or SNR.sub.threshold_relax.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement relaxed-measurement criteria and scaling, taught by Huang, into the communication system, taught by Jeong, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and power saving. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Jeong and Huang in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
As to claim 11, 21: Jeong teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first relaxation measurement feature is a radio resource management (RRM) relaxation measurement feature (claim 16 receiving, from a base station, a first message including first information on criterion for a relaxed RRM measurement for a connected mode).
Jeong may not explicitly teach and the second relaxation measurement feature is a radio link monitoring (RLM)/beam failure detection (BFD) relaxation measurement feature. However, Huang teaches and the second relaxation measurement feature is a radio link monitoring (RLM)/beam failure detection (BFD) relaxation measurement feature ([0023] methods are proposed for UE to perform RLM and BFD measurements in a relaxed measurement state with an extended evaluation period for power saving).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement relaxed-measurement criteria and scaling, taught by Huang, into the communication system, taught by Jeong, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and power saving. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Jeong and Huang in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
As to claim 12: Jeong teaches the method of claim 1, … wherein the first relaxation measurement criterion is a stationary criterion (claim 17 the criterion for the relaxed RRM measurement for the connected mode is for determining whether the terminal is a stationary terminal).
Jeong may not explicitly teach wherein the relaxation measurement criterion comprises at least one of a first relaxation measurement criterion a second relaxation measurement criterion or a third relaxation measurement criterion, … , the second relaxation measurement criterion is a good cell signal quality criterion, and the third relaxation measurement criterion is a low mobility criterion. However, Huang teaches wherein the relaxation measurement criterion comprises at least one of a first relaxation measurement criterion a second relaxation measurement criterion or a third relaxation measurement criterion ([0007] the UE determines whether the UE satisfies criteria for entering a relaxed RLM/BFD measurement state, wherein the criteria comprises at least one of a serving cell quality criteria, and a UE mobility criteria during a period of time), … , the second relaxation measurement criterion is a good cell signal quality criterion, and the third relaxation measurement criterion is a low mobility criterion ([0033] A first criteria A1 is channel condition (e.g. SINR or SNR) of a serving cell or a serving beam (beam level)-Serving cell SNR/SINR is larger (or not lower) than certain threshold SINR.sub.threshold_relax or SNR.sub.threshold_relax).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement relaxed-measurement criteria and scaling, taught by Huang, into the communication system, taught by Jeong, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and power saving. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Jeong and Huang in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong (US-20240314879), Kuang (WO-20211204002), He (US-20230019889) in view of Huang (US-20220104044).
As to claim 22: Jeong teaches the method of claim 19, wherein the first relaxation measurement criterion is a stationary criterion (claim 17 the criterion for the relaxed RRM measurement for the connected mode is for determining whether the terminal is a stationary terminal).
Jeong may not explicitly teach the second relaxation measurement criterion is a good cell signal quality criterion, and the third relaxation measurement criterion is a low mobility criterion. However, Huang teaches the second relaxation measurement criterion is a good cell signal quality criterion, and the third relaxation measurement criterion is a low mobility criterion ([0033] A first criteria A1 is channel condition (e.g. SINR or SNR) of a serving cell or a serving beam (beam level)-Serving cell SNR/SINR is larger (or not lower) than certain threshold SINR.sub.threshold_relax or SNR.sub.threshold_relax).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement relaxed-measurement criteria and scaling, taught by Huang, into the communication system, taught by Jeong, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and power saving. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Jeong and Huang in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
Conclusion
/ANDREW C OH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466