DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to communication on September 27th, 2024.
Claims 21-40 are currently pending. Claims 21-40 are newly presented via preliminary amendment. And claims 1-20 are canceled via preliminary amendment.
The present application is a 371 national stage entry of Internation Application no. PCT/US2023/016404, flied on March 27th, 2023, which claims priority to provisional application no. 63/324,517, filed on March 28th, 2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Manithara Vamanan et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication no. 2025/0106742, hereinafter Manithara).
With respect to claims 21 and 31, Manithara discloses a method and device for use in a first wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) (paragraph [0049], lines 1-10, UE 106), the method comprising:
receiving, by the first WTRU authorized to act as a personal internet of things network (PIN) element (PE) with management capability (PEMC) (paragraph [0045], lines 1-6) in a PIN associated with a PIN identification (paragraph [0057], PIN identifier), from a second WTRU, a connection request message comprising PE information associated with a second WTRU (paragraph [0066], lines 1-6, registration request); and
transmitting, to the second WTRU, based on the PIN identification and the PE information, a connection response message indicating that the second WTRU is authorized to act as a PIN element (PE) of the PIN (paragraph [0068], lines 11-19, includes UE authorization related to the PIN).
With respect to claims 22 and 32, Manithara discloses the method of claims 21 and 31, wherein the PE information comprises a device identification and a PE identification (paragraph [0066], lines 7-10).
With respect to claims 23 and 33, Manithara discloses the method of claims 22 and 32, wherein a device type of the second WTRU comprises one or more of a sensor, a light, a plug, a printer, a cellular phone, a wearable device, an augment reality (AR) device, a vehicle-mounted device, or a virtual reality (VR) device (paragraph [0109]).
With respect to claims 24 and 34, Manithara discloses the method of claims 21 and 31, further comprising:
transmitting, to a network node, a registration request message comprising PEMC information, wherein the PEMC information includes capability of the first WTRU that acts as a PEMC in the PIN (paragraph [0066], lines 1-6, registration request) and a service provided by the first WTRU in the PIN (paragraph [0142], supported services); and
receiving, from the network node, a registration response message indicating that the first WTRU is authorized to act as the PEMC of the PIN to provide the service (paragraph [0068], lines 1-6).
With respect to claims 25 and 35, Manithara discloses the method of claims 24 and 34, wherein the registration response message further comprises the PIN identification of the PIN (paragraph [0066], lines 7-10).
With respect to claim 26 and 36, Manithara discloses the method of claims 21 and 31, further comprising:
based on receiving the connection request message comprising the PE information, transmitting, to a network node, another connection request message comprising the PE information (paragraph [0050], oboarding of elements for PINs); and
receiving, from the network node, another connection response message indicating that the second WTRU is authorized to act as the PE of the PIN (paragraph [0055]).
With respect to claims 27 and 37, Manithara discloses the method of claims 26 and 36, wherein the another connection response message is determined based on the PE information of the second WTRU associated with the PIN identification of the PIN (paragraph [0054]).
With respect to claims 28 and 38, Manithara discloses the method of claims 21 and 31, wherein the first WTRU is capable of both a 3rd generation partnership project (3GPP) RAT and a non-3GPP RAT (paragraph [0064], 3GPP based device), and the second WTRU is capable of the non-3GPP RAT (paragraph [0064], non-3GPP based device).
With respect to claims 29 and 39, Manithara discloses the method of claims 28 and 38, wherein the 3GPP RAT includes one or more of Global System for Mobile (GSM), Universal Mobile Telecommunications System (UMTS), Long Term Evolution (LTE), or 5G New Radio (NR) (paragraph [0048]), and the non-3GPP RAT includes one or more of Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth Low-Energy (BLE), Zigbee, or Z-Wave (paragraph [0046]).
With respect to claims 30 and 40, Manithara discloses the method of claims 28 and 38, wherein PE capability of the second WTRU indicates that the second WTRU supports the non-3GPP RAT (paragraph [0064], non-3GPP based device).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lv Pat. Pub. 2024/0388912
Shah Pat. Pub. 2024/0430312
Kumar Pat. Pub. 2025/0261097
Kumar Pat. Pub. 2025/0212149
9/9/26
/BLAKE J RUBIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2457