DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 14, 26 and 29-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haque et al. US 2022/0070766 (hereinafter Haque), in view of Ishida et al. US 2012/0100856 (hereinafter Ishida).
Regarding claim 1, Haque teaches a method for wireless communication at an energy receiver device, comprising:
([Haque, ¶4 and ¶99] The method for wireless communication by a Wireless Transmit/Receive Unit (WTRU) comprising a power harvester capable of energy harvesting using a zero-energy (ZE) receiver (also referred to as a passive receiver in Haque ¶89) while in idle mode.)
receiving one or more messages from respective one or more energy transmitter devices, each message of the one or more messages identifying a cell associated with an energy transmitter device of the one or more energy transmitter devices and indicating one or more resources for reception of a reference signal from the energy transmitter device for cell selection;
([Haque, ¶108-¶109] The passive receiver of the WTRU may receive from one or more network node(s) (interpreted as the claimed one or more energy transmitter devices) control signaling to indicate transmission formats for the purpose of cell measurements. [Haque, ¶112-¶114] The WTRU with a passive receiver may receive and process ZE reference signals suitable for the purpose of cell measurements and based on the ZE signal transmissions occurring to know transmission schedules (interpreted as the claimed one or more resources for reception of a reference signal. [Haque, ¶143-¶146] The WTRU’s passive receiver receives from the network nodes one or more messages, shown as the ZE measurement reference signal frame 1100 in Fig. 11, which identify a cell associated with the network node/cell of the network nodes/cells of the network, which is indicated as the Cell ID 1106, and indicating one or more resources for reception of a reference signal from the network node/cell for cell selection, which is shown as the unique sequence 1108 that will reflect the power of the cell, wherein the WTRU uses this sequence to measure the cell’s signal strength.)
receiving, from the one or more energy transmitter devices, the reference signal on the one or more resources; and
([Haque, ¶143-¶146] The WTRU’s passive receiver receives the ZE reference signal 1100 on ZE measurement signal frame according to the transmission schedule and the WTRU uses this sequence to measure the cell’s signal strength according to the received unique sequence 1108 that will reflect the power of the cell.)
While Haque teaches a WTRU comprising a passive receiver that performs energy harvesting of reference signals transmitted by network nodes that support energy harvesting as indicated above in order to determine the cell having the strongest signal strength based on an operation of measuring the reference signals of the cell and neighboring cells supporting energy harvesting which it selects as the selected cell and then transitions to camp on the selected cell if different from the cell that it is currently camped on as part of a cell reselection procedure [Haque, ¶154-¶155], it does not teach that the WTRU transmits a second message that indicates a cell associated with the network nodes.
However Ishida teaches transmitting a second message that indicates a cell associated with one of the one or more network nodes.
([Ishida, ¶42-¶45, ¶86 and ¶154-¶155] the mobile terminal (similar to the WTRU of Haque) transmits a message that indicates the physical cell identifier (PCI), which is the selected cell of the network nodes (similar to the network nodes of Haque which have been interpreted as an energy transmitter device as it transmits signals) that is selected by the mobile terminal based at least in part on the reference signals of the cells (current and neighboring cells) of the network nodes and that have been received by the mobile terminal (hereinafter MT) that have been measured and determined to satisfy a strength threshold.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Haque, indicating at least two network devices comprising a WTRU in communication with a at least one network node that are capable of performing energy harvesting signaling between each of the two devices, wherein an energy harvesting signal is transmitted by the network node to be received by the WTRU which operates to perform reference signal measurements and energy harvesting on the energy harvesting signal received from corresponding at least one network node to determine and select the cell associated with the network node having the strongest signal, with the teaching of Ishida, indicating that the mobile terminal (MT), which is referred to as a WTRU in Haque, upon selecting a cell based on measured signal strength will transmit a second message comprising the cell ID (shown as physical cell identifier or PCI) to the network node. The resulting benefit of the combination would have been the ability to appropriate handover control without adding further delay [Ishida, ¶88, also see ¶38 and ¶137].
Regarding claim 14, Haque teaches a method for wireless communication at an energy transmitter device, comprising:
([Haque, ¶111, ¶114, ¶149-¶151 and ¶168-¶169] The method for wireless communication by a base station also shown as an eNB/network node/cell to a Wireless Transmit/Receive Unit (WTRU) comprising a power harvester capable of energy harvesting using a zero-energy (ZE) receiver (also referred to as a passive receiver in Haque ¶89) while in idle mode to receive a transmitted power-optimized waveform (POW) in the ZE reference signal from the eNB/network node/cell.)
transmitting one or more messages to an energy receiver device, each message of the one or more messages identifying a cell associated with the energy transmitter device of one or more energy transmitter devices and indicating one or more resources for reception of a reference signal by the energy receiver device for cell selection;
([Haque, ¶108-¶109] The passive receiver of the WTRU may receive using from one or more network node(s) (interpreted as the claimed one or more energy transmitter devices) control signaling that is transmitted to indicate transmission formats for the purpose of cell measurements. [Haque, ¶112-¶114] The WTRU with a passive receiver may receive and process ZE reference signals suitable for the purpose of cell measurements and based on the ZE signal transmissions occurring to know transmission schedules (interpreted as the claimed one or more resources for reception of a reference signal. [Haque, ¶143-¶146] The WTRU’s passive receiver receives from the network nodes one or more messages, shown as the ZE measurement reference signal frame 1100 in Fig. 11, which identify a cell associated with the network node/cell of the network nodes/cells of the network, which is indicated as the Cell ID 1106, and indicating one or more resources for reception of a reference signal from the network node/cell for cell selection, which is shown as the unique sequence 1108 that will reflect the power of the cell, wherein the WTRU uses this sequence to measure the cell’s signal strength.)
transmitting, to the energy receiver device, the reference signal on the one or more resources; and
([Haque, ¶143-¶146] The eNB/network node/cell transmits to the WTRU’s passive receiver receives the ZE reference signal 1100 on ZE measurement signal frame according to the transmission schedule (the scheduled resource may be time or frequency resources as per ¶146) and the WTRU uses this sequence to measure the cell’s signal strength according to the received unique sequence 1108 that will reflect the power of the cell.)
While Haque teaches a WTRU comprising a passive receiver that performs energy harvesting of reference signals transmitted by eNB/network nodes/cells that support energy harvesting as indicated above in order to determine the cell having the strongest signal strength based on an operation of measuring the reference signals of the cell and neighboring cells supporting energy harvesting which it selects as the selected cell and then transitions to camp on the selected cell if different from the cell that it is currently camped on as part of a cell reselection procedure [Haque, ¶154-¶155], it does not teach that the eNB/network node/cell receives a second message that indicates a cell associated with the network nodes.
However Ishida teaches receiving a second message that indicates a cell associated with one of the one or more energy transmitter devices, the cell selected by the energy receiver device based at least in part on the reference signal and the one of the one or more energy transmitter devices supporting energy harvesting.
([Ishida, ¶42-¶45, ¶86 and ¶154-¶155] the mobile terminal (similar to the WTRU of Haque, wherein Haque teaches comprises an energy harvester) transmits a message that is received by a eNB/network node/cell, wherein the message indicates the physical cell identifier (PCI), which is the selected cell of the network nodes (similar to the network nodes of Haque which have been interpreted as an energy transmitter device as it transmits signals) that is selected by the mobile terminal based at least in part on the reference signals of the cells (current and neighboring cells) of the network nodes and that have been received by the mobile terminal (hereinafter MT) that have been measured and determined to satisfy a strength threshold.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Haque, indicating at least two network devices comprising a WTRU in communication with a at least one network node that are capable of performing energy harvesting signaling between each of the two devices, wherein an energy harvesting signal is transmitted by the network node to be received by the WTRU which operates to perform reference signal measurements and energy harvesting on the energy harvesting signal received from corresponding at least one network node to determine and select the cell associated with the network node having the strongest signal, with the teaching of Ishida, indicating that the mobile terminal (MT), which is referred to as a WTRU in Haque, upon selecting a cell based on measured signal strength will transmit a second message comprising the cell ID (shown as physical cell identifier or PCI) to the network node. The resulting benefit of the combination would have been the ability to appropriate handover control without adding further delay [Ishida, ¶88, also see ¶38 and ¶137].
Regarding claim 26, Haque teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at an energy receiver device, comprising:
([Haque, Fig. 1B, ¶48-¶49] WTRU 102 for wireless communication at an passive receiver for energy harvesting.)
at least one processor; and
[Haque, Fig. 1B, Processor 118, ¶48-¶49]
memory coupled with the at least one processor, the memory storing instructions executable by the at least one processor to cause the energy receiver device to:
[Haque, Fig. 1B, Processor 118 and Software in memory, ¶169]
receive one or more messages from respective one or more energy transmitter devices, each message of the one or more messages identifying a cell associated with an energy transmitter device of the one or more energy transmitter devices and indicating one or more resources for reception of a reference signal from the energy transmitter device for cell selection;
([¶108-¶109] The passive receiver of the WTRU may receive from one or more network node(s) (interpreted as the claimed one or more energy transmitter devices) control signaling to indicate transmission formats for the purpose of cell measurements. [Haque, ¶112-¶114] The WTRU with a passive receiver may receive and process ZE reference signals suitable for the purpose of cell measurements and based on the ZE signal transmissions occurring to know transmission schedules (interpreted as the claimed one or more resources for reception of a reference signal. [Haque, ¶143-¶146] The WTRU’s passive receiver receives from the network nodes one or more messages, shown as the ZE measurement reference signal frame 1100 in Fig. 11, which identify a cell associated with the network node/cell of the network nodes/cells of the network, which is indicated as the Cell ID 1106, and indicating one or more resources for reception of a reference signal from the network node/cell for cell selection, which is shown as the unique sequence 1108 that will reflect the power of the cell, wherein the WTRU uses this sequence to measure the cell’s signal strength.)
receive, from the one or more energy transmitter devices, the reference signal on the one or more resources; and
([Haque, ¶143-¶146] The WTRU’s passive receiver receives the ZE reference signal 1100 on ZE measurement signal frame according to the transmission schedule and the WTRU uses this sequence to measure the cell’s signal strength according to the received unique sequence 1108 that will reflect the power of the cell.)
While Haque teaches a WTRU comprising a passive receiver that performs energy harvesting of reference signals transmitted by network nodes that support energy harvesting as indicated above in order to determine the cell having the strongest signal strength based on an operation of measuring the reference signals of the cell and neighboring cells supporting energy harvesting which it selects as the selected cell and then transitions to camp on the selected cell if different from the cell that it is currently camped on as part of a cell reselection procedure [Haque, ¶154-¶155], it does not teach that the WTRU transmits a second message that indicates a cell associated with the network nodes.
However Ishida teaches transmitting a second message that indicates a cell associated with one of the one or more network nodes.
([Ishida, ¶42-¶45, ¶86 and ¶154-¶155] the mobile terminal (similar to the WTRU of Haque) transmits a message that indicates the physical cell identifier (PCI), which is the selected cell of the network nodes (similar to the network nodes of Haque which have been interpreted as an energy transmitter device as it transmits signals) that is selected by the mobile terminal based at least in part on the reference signals of the cells (current and neighboring cells) of the network nodes and that have been received by the mobile terminal (hereinafter MT) that have been measured and determined to satisfy a strength threshold.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Haque, indicating at least two network devices comprising a WTRU in communication with a at least one network node that are capable of performing energy harvesting signaling between each of the two devices, wherein an energy harvesting signal is transmitted by the network node to be received by the WTRU which operates to perform reference signal measurements and energy harvesting on the energy harvesting signal received from corresponding at least one network node to determine and select the cell associated with the network node having the strongest signal, with the teaching of Ishida, indicating that the mobile terminal (MT), which is referred to as a WTRU in Haque, upon selecting a cell based on measured signal strength will transmit a second message comprising the cell ID (shown as physical cell identifier or PCI) to the network node. The resulting benefit of the combination would have been the ability to appropriate handover control without adding further delay [Ishida, ¶88, also see ¶38 and ¶137].
Regarding claim 29, Haque teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at an energy transmitter device, comprising:
([Haque, ¶169] Base station or otherwise noted as a eNB/network node/cell. [Haque, ¶111, ¶114, ¶149-¶151 and ¶168] The wireless communication by a eNB/network node/cell to a Wireless Transmit/Receive Unit (WTRU) comprising a power harvester capable of energy harvesting using a zero-energy (ZE) receiver (also referred to as a passive receiver in Haque ¶89) while in idle mode to receive a transmitted power-optimized waveform (POW) in the ZE reference signal from the eNB/network node/cell.)
at least one processor; and
([Haque, ¶169] Base station comprising a processor)
memory coupled with the at least one processor, the memory storing instructions executable by the at least one processor to cause the energy transmitter device to:
([Haque, ¶169] Base station comprising a processor in association with software in memory)
transmit one or more messages to an energy receiver device, each message of the one or more messages identifying a cell associated with the energy transmitter device of one or more energy transmitter devices and indicating one or more resources for reception of a reference signal by the energy receiver device for cell selection;
([Haque, ¶108-¶109] The passive receiver of the WTRU may receive using from one or more network node(s) (interpreted as the claimed one or more energy transmitter devices) control signaling that is transmitted to indicate transmission formats for the purpose of cell measurements. [Haque, ¶112-¶114] The WTRU with a passive receiver may receive and process ZE reference signals suitable for the purpose of cell measurements and based on the ZE signal transmissions occurring to know transmission schedules (interpreted as the claimed one or more resources for reception of a reference signal. [Haque, ¶143-¶146] The WTRU’s passive receiver receives from the network nodes one or more messages, shown as the ZE measurement reference signal frame 1100 in Fig. 11, which identify a cell associated with the network node/cell of the network nodes/cells of the network, which is indicated as the Cell ID 1106, and indicating one or more resources for reception of a reference signal from the network node/cell for cell selection, which is shown as the unique sequence 1108 that will reflect the power of the cell, wherein the WTRU uses this sequence to measure the cell’s signal strength.)
transmit, to the energy receiver device, the reference signal on the one or more resources; and
([Haque, ¶143-¶146] The eNB/network node/cell transmits to the WTRU’s passive receiver receives the ZE reference signal 1100 on ZE measurement signal frame according to the transmission schedule (the scheduled resource may be time or frequency resources as per ¶146) and the WTRU uses this sequence to measure the cell’s signal strength according to the received unique sequence 1108 that will reflect the power of the cell.)
While Haque teaches a WTRU comprising a passive receiver that performs energy harvesting of reference signals transmitted by eNB/network nodes/cells that support energy harvesting as indicated above in order to determine the cell having the strongest signal strength based on an operation of measuring the reference signals of the cell and neighboring cells supporting energy harvesting which it selects as the selected cell and then transitions to camp on the selected cell if different from the cell that it is currently camped on as part of a cell reselection procedure [Haque, ¶154-¶155], it does not teach that the eNB/network node/cell receives a second message that indicates a cell associated with the network nodes.
However Ishida teaches receiving a second message that indicates a cell associated with one of the one or more energy transmitter devices, the cell selected by the energy receiver device based at least in part on the reference signal and the one of the one or more energy transmitter devices supporting energy harvesting.
([Ishida, ¶42-¶45, ¶86 and ¶154-¶155] the mobile terminal (similar to the WTRU of Haque, wherein Haque teaches comprises an energy harvester) transmits a message that is received by a eNB/network node/cell, wherein the message indicates the physical cell identifier (PCI), which is the selected cell of the network nodes (similar to the network nodes of Haque which have been interpreted as an energy transmitter device as it transmits signals) that is selected by the mobile terminal based at least in part on the reference signals of the cells (current and neighboring cells) of the network nodes and that have been received by the mobile terminal (hereinafter MT) that have been measured and determined to satisfy a strength threshold.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Haque, indicating at least two network devices comprising a WTRU in communication with a at least one network node that are capable of performing energy harvesting signaling between each of the two devices, wherein an energy harvesting signal is transmitted by the network node to be received by the WTRU which operates to perform reference signal measurements and energy harvesting on the energy harvesting signal received from corresponding at least one network node to determine and select the cell associated with the network node having the strongest signal, with the teaching of Ishida, indicating that the mobile terminal (MT), which is referred to as a WTRU in Haque, upon selecting a cell based on measured signal strength will transmit a second message comprising the cell ID (shown as physical cell identifier or PCI) to the network node. The resulting benefit of the combination would have been the ability to appropriate handover control without adding further delay [Ishida, ¶88, also see ¶38 and ¶137].
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Haque, in view of Ishida teaches the method of claim 1, wherein receiving the one or more messages comprises: receiving the one or more messages from the respective one or more energy transmitter devices, each message of the one or more messages indicating whether the energy transmitter device supports energy harvesting.
([Haque Fig. 11, ¶103-¶105, ¶144-¶146 and also note Fig. 13A-D and ¶151-¶152] Fig. 11 depicts a type of message that may be received from the network nodes which indicates by the presence of a transmission of a power-optimized waveform (POW) part that the network nodes are energy transmitter devices that supports energy harvesting)
Regarding claim 4, Haque, in view of Ishida teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: identifying the cell associated with the energy transmitter device based at least in part on a resource associated with the one or more messages, wherein each of the one or more energy transmitter devices is associated with one of a set of resources that include the resource, and the resource comprises a frequency resource, a time resource, or a combination thereof.
([Haque, ¶145-¶146] The ZE measurement reference signal is transmitted in a multiplexed manner and includes a signaling part representative of transmitting the Cell ID of the cell supporting energy harvesting as indicated by the inclusion of the POW preamble in the ZE measurement reference signal. The network may coordinate the transmission of the ZE measurement reference signal among the neighboring cells in such a way that only the cell ID part of ZE measurement reference signal may be transmitted in a time multiplexed manner so that at any one time only one cell transmits its cell ID. In another example, the cell ID can be transmitted in different frequencies in a frequency multiplexed manner such that the passive receiver will tune to different frequencies to decode the cell ID.)
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Haque, in view of Ishida teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: identifying a cell identifier for the cell based at least in part on a mapping between a set of cell identifiers and a corresponding set of resources used for the one or more messages, wherein the set of resources comprise frequency resources, time resources, or a combination thereof.
([Haque, ¶145-¶146] The ZE measurement reference signal is transmitted in a multiplexed manner and includes a signaling part representative of transmitting the Cell ID of the cell supporting energy harvesting as indicated by the inclusion of the POW preamble in the ZE measurement reference signal. The network may coordinate the transmission of the ZE measurement reference signal among the neighboring cells in such a way that only the cell ID part of ZE measurement reference signal may be transmitted in a time multiplexed manner so that at any one time only one cell transmits its cell ID. In another example, the cell ID can be transmitted in different frequencies in a frequency multiplexed manner such that the passive receiver will tune to different frequencies to decode the cell ID. Thereby indicating a mapping of the Cell ID part of the ZE measurement reference signal to its corresponding time resource when time multiplexed or indicating a mapping of the Cell ID part of the ZE measurement reference signal to its corresponding frequency resource when frequency multiplexed.)
Regarding claim 7, Haque, in view of Ishida teaches the method of claim 1, wherein receiving the one or more messages comprises: receiving the one or more messages from the respective one or more energy transmitter devices, each message of the one or more messages indicating a configuration of the reference signal, the configuration indicating a periodicity of the reference signal, a quantity of reference signals to be transmitted by the energy transmitter device, or a combination thereof; receiving the reference signal on the one or more resources in accordance with the configuration; and selecting the cell based at least in part on the configuration and the periodicity of the reference signal.
([Haque, ¶112-¶116 and ¶153 (ZE reference signal measurement and cell selection)] According to Haque the WTRU with a passive receiver receives configured transmission schedules for the ZE reference signals, further comprising an indication of the repetition period or duration of ZE reference signal transmissions. Receiving the ZE reference signal on the transmission scheduled resource in time/frequency in accordance with the configuration; and selecting a cell based in part of the configuration and period of the reference signal as these elements are used to receive the ZE reference signal a perform measurements to (re)select to best cell/network node.)
Regarding claim 9, Haque, in view of Ishida teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
decoding the one or more messages received from the respective one or more energy transmitter devices; and
([Haque, ¶145-¶146 and ¶154] The ZE measurement reference signals from the network nodes are received/decoded, where in the physical cell ID (PCI) is determined as part of this process along with measurements of the reference signals (signal strengths) and a determination to (re)select the corresponding network node/cell with the best measurement.)
transmitting the second message based at least in part on successfully decoding the one or more messages.
([Ishida, Fig. 6, ¶84-¶85] the MT/WTRU receives (interpreted as decoding as noted by Haque above) PCI information and selects the best cell/PCI per the measurement process and then as a result of the process including the previous steps the MT/WTRU transmits the PCI in a report message to the network node/eNB.)
The motivation to combine and the rationale of obviousness to combine the above prior art is the same as that which is expressed in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Haque, in view of Ishida teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: transmitting the second message based at least in part on a signal strength value of a measurement of the reference signal exceeding a threshold.
[Haque, ¶154-¶155 (The measurement of the received/decoded ZE reference signal produces reference signal received power (RSRP) level(s)/signal strengths utilized for cell (re)selection to determine the best cell and its corresponding cell identity to be selected by the WTRU.) and Ishida, ¶44-¶45 (Measured values satisfying a threshold value includes being greater than the threshold.) and ¶126-¶127 (the PCI is transmitted in the report message to the network node/eNB.)]
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Haque, in view of Ishida teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: performing a measurement procedure of a reference signal from a plurality of cells that include the cell; and transmitting the second message indicating the cell based at least in part on the indicated cell having a highest signal strength among the plurality of cells.
[Haque, ¶154-¶155 (The measurement of the received/decoded ZE reference signals from the current cell and neighboring cells produces reference signal received power (RSRP) level(s)/signal strengths utilized for cell (re)selection to determine the best cell having the greatest/highest signal strength and its corresponding cell identity to be selected by the WTRU.) and Ishida, ¶44-¶45 (Measured values satisfying a threshold value includes being greater than the threshold.) and ¶126-¶127 (the PCI is transmitted in the report message to the network node/eNB)]
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Haque, in view of Ishida teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: generating a metric for each cell associated with the one or more energy transmitter devices based at least in part on an average measured reference signal received power for one or more reference signals received in a time period, a highest measured reference signal received power of a reference signal in a time window, an average measured reference signal received power of one or more highest measured reference signal received powers for one or more reference signals, or an averaged measured reference signal received power of one or more reference signal received powers above a threshold for one or more reference signals; and selecting the cell based at least in part on the metric.
([Haque, ¶120-¶121] average power of a power-optimized waveform (POW) of a ZE reference signal, wherein procedures for cell measurements using ZE signal waveforms/reference signals may be time-domain based and as such the passive receiver in a WTRU may determine a cell measurement while processing a received ZE reference signal using characteristics including average of time distribution for an energy level to reach a threshold for a number of measurement samples taken on the ZE waveforms. [Haque, ¶153-¶154] Wherein the selecting of the cell is based in part on the cell having the strongest signals.)
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Haque, in view of Ishida teaches the method of claim 1, wherein transmitting the second message comprises: transmitting the second message that indicates a physical cell identifier associated with the cell selected by the energy receiver device, wherein each message of the one or more messages indicates a physical cell identifier.
[Haque, ¶154-¶155 (The measurement of the received/decoded ZE reference signal produces reference signal received power (RSRP) level(s)/signal strengths utilized for cell (re)selection to determine the best cell and its corresponding cell identity to be selected by the WTRU.) and Ishida, ¶44-¶45 (Measured values satisfying a threshold value includes being greater than the threshold.) and ¶126-¶127 (the PCI is transmitted in the report message, interpreted as the claimed second message, by the MT/WTRU to the network node/eNB.)]
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Haque, in view of Ishida teaches the method of claim 14, wherein transmitting the one or more messages comprises: transmitting the one or more messages from respective one or more energy transmitter devices, each message of the one or more messages indicating whether the energy transmitter device supports energy harvesting.
([Haque Fig. 11, ¶103-¶105, ¶144-¶146 and also note Fig. 13A-D and ¶151-¶152] Fig. 11 depicts a type of messages that may be transmitted from the network nodes which indicates by the presence of a transmission of a power-optimized waveform (POW) part that the network nodes are energy transmitter devices that supports energy harvesting.)
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Haque, in view of Ishida teaches the method of claim 14, wherein each of the one or more energy transmitter devices is associated with resources of a set of resources that include the one or more resources, and the one or more resources comprises a frequency resource, a time resource, or a combination thereof.
([Haque, ¶145-¶146] The ZE measurement reference signal is transmitted in a multiplexed manner and includes a signaling part representative of transmitting the Cell ID of the cell supporting energy harvesting as indicated by the inclusion of the POW preamble in the ZE measurement reference signal. The network may coordinate the transmission of the ZE measurement reference signal among the neighboring cells in such a way that only the cell ID part of ZE measurement reference signal may be transmitted in a time multiplexed manner so that at any one time only one cell transmits its cell ID. In another example, the cell ID can be transmitted in different frequencies in a frequency multiplexed manner such that the passive receiver will tune to different frequencies to decode the cell ID.)
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Haque, in view Ishida teaches the method of claim 14, wherein each message of the one or more messages identifies the cell based at least in part on a mapping between a set of cell identifiers and a corresponding set of resources used for the one or more messages, wherein the set of resources comprise frequency resources, time resources, or a combination thereof.
([Haque, ¶145-¶146] The ZE measurement reference signal is transmitted in a multiplexed manner and includes a signaling part representative of transmitting the Cell ID of the cell supporting energy harvesting as indicated by the inclusion of the POW preamble in the ZE measurement reference signal. The network may coordinate the transmission of the ZE measurement reference signal among the neighboring cells in such a way that only the cell ID part of ZE measurement reference signal may be transmitted in a time multiplexed manner so that at any one time only one cell transmits its cell ID. In another example, the cell ID can be transmitted in different frequencies in a frequency multiplexed manner such that the passive receiver will tune to different frequencies to decode the cell ID. Thereby indicating a mapping of the Cell ID part of the ZE measurement reference signal to its corresponding time resource when time multiplexed or indicating a mapping of the Cell ID part of the ZE measurement reference signal to its corresponding frequency resource when frequency multiplexed.)
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Haque, in view of Ishida teaches the method of claim 14, wherein transmitting the one or more messages comprises: transmitting the one or more messages from respective one or more energy transmitter devices, each message of the one or more messages indicating a configuration of the reference signal, the configuration indicating a periodicity of the reference signal, a quantity of reference signals to be transmitted by the energy transmitter device, or a combination thereof; and transmitting the reference signal on the one or more resources in accordance with the configuration.
([Haque, ¶112-¶116 and ¶153 (ZE reference signal measurement and cell selection)] According to Haque the WTRU with a passive receiver receives transmissions from the eNB/network node/cell of configured transmission schedules for the ZE reference signals, further comprising an indication of the repetition period or duration of ZE reference signal transmissions. The eNB/network node/cell transmits to the WTRU the ZE reference signal on the transmission scheduled resource in time/frequency in accordance with the configuration.)
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Haque, in view of Ishida teaches the method of claim 14, wherein receiving the second message comprises: receiving the second message based at least in part on the energy receiver device successfully decoding the one or more messages.
([Ishida, Fig. 6, ¶84-¶85] The MT/WTRU receives (interpreted as decoding as noted by Haque above) PCI information and selects the best cell/PCI per the measurement process and then as a result of the process including the previous steps the MT/WTRU transmits the PCI in a report message to be received by the network node/eNB.)
The motivation to combine and the rationale of obviousness to combine the above prior art is the same as that which is expressed in the rejection of claim 14 above.
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Haque, in view of Ishida teaches the method of claim 14, wherein receiving the second message comprises: receiving the second message based at least in part on a signal strength value of a measurement of the reference signal exceeding a threshold.
[Haque, ¶154-¶155 (The measurement of the received/decoded ZE reference signal produces reference signal received power (RSRP) level(s)/signal strengths utilized for cell (re)selection to determine the best cell and its corresponding cell identity to be selected by the WTRU.) and Ishida, ¶44-¶45 (Measured values satisfying a threshold value includes being greater than the threshold.) and ¶126-¶127 (the PCI is transmitted in the report message to the network node/eNB.)]
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Haque, in view of Ishida teaches the method of claim 14, wherein receiving the second message comprises: receiving the second message indicating the cell selected by the energy receiver device based at least in part on the cell having a highest signal strength among a plurality of cells.
[Haque, ¶154-¶155 (The measurement of the received/decoded ZE reference signals from the current cell and neighboring cells produces reference signal received power (RSRP) level(s)/signal strengths utilized for cell (re)selection to determine the best cell having the greatest/highest signal strength and its corresponding cell identity to be selected by the WTRU.) and Ishida, ¶44-¶45 (Measured values satisfying a threshold value includes being greater than the threshold.) and ¶126-¶127 (the PCI is transmitted in the report message to the network node/eNB)]
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Haque, in view of Ishida teaches the method of claim 14, wherein receiving the second message comprises: receiving the second message that indicates a physical cell identifier associated with the cell selected by the energy receiver device, wherein each message of the one or more messages indicates a physical cell identifier.
[Haque, ¶154-¶155 (The measurement of the received/decoded ZE reference signal produces reference signal received power (RSRP) level(s)/signal strengths utilized for cell (re)selection to determine the best cell and its corresponding cell identity to be selected by the WTRU.) and Ishida, ¶44-¶45 (Measured values satisfying a threshold value includes being greater than the threshold.) and ¶126-¶127 (the PCI is transmitted in the report message, interpreted as the claimed second message, by the MT/WTRU to the network node/eNB.)]
Regarding claim 27, the combination of Haque, in view of Ishida teaches the apparatus of claim 26, wherein the instructions to receive the one or more messages are executable by the at least one processor to cause the energy receiver device to: receive the one or more messages from the respective one or more energy transmitter devices, each message of the one or more messages indicating whether the energy transmitter device supports energy harvesting.
([Haque Fig. 11, ¶103-¶105, ¶144-¶146 and also note Fig. 13A-D and ¶151-¶152] Fig. 11 depicts a type of message that may be received from the network nodes which indicates by the presence of a transmission of a power-optimized waveform (POW) part that the network nodes are energy transmitter devices that supports energy harvesting)
Regarding claim 30, the combination of Haque, in view of Ishida teaches the apparatus of claim 29, wherein the instructions to transmit the one or more messages are executable by the at least one processor to cause the energy transmitter device to: transmit the one or more messages from respective one or more energy transmitter devices, each message of the one or more messages indicating whether the energy transmitter device supports energy harvesting.
([Haque Fig. 11, ¶103-¶105, ¶144-¶146 and also note Fig. 13A-D and ¶151-¶152] Fig. 11 depicts a type of messages that may be transmitted from the network nodes which indicates by the presence of a transmission of a power-optimized waveform (POW) part that the network nodes are energy transmitter devices that supports energy harvesting.)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 6, 8, 16, 19, 21 and 28 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The Examiner has conducted a search of the available Patent and Non-Patent Literature and was unable to find any prior art which teaches either solely or in combination with another reference the claim limitations of claim 3) “The method of claim 1, further comprising: identifying the cell associated with the energy transmitter device based at least in part on an orthogonal sequence of the one or more messages, wherein each of the one or more energy transmitter devices is associated with one of a set of orthogonal sequences that include the orthogonal sequence”, claim 6) “The method of claim 1, wherein receiving the one or more messages comprises: receiving the one or more messages from the respective one or more energy transmitter devices, each message of the one or more messages indicating at least one type of energy receiver device supported by the energy transmitter device transmitting the message”, claim 8) “The method of claim 1, wherein receiving the one or more messages comprises: receiving the one or more messages from the respective one or more energy transmitter devices, each message of the one or more messages indicating a maximum repetition associated with the second message”, claim 16) “The method of claim 14, wherein each of the one or more energy transmitter devices is associated with one of a set of orthogonal sequences”, claim 19) “The method of claim 14, wherein transmitting the one or more messages comprises: transmitting the one or more messages from respective one or more energy transmitter devices, each message of the one or more messages indicating at least one type of energy receiver device supported by the energy transmitter device transmitting the message”, claim 21) “The method of claim 14, wherein transmitting the one or more messages comprises: transmitting the one or more messages from respective one or more energy transmitter devices, each message of the one or more messages indicating a maximum repetition associated with the second message” and claim 28) “The apparatus of claim 26, wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the energy receiver device to: identify the cell associated with the energy transmitter device based at least in part on an orthogonal sequence of the one or more messages, wherein each of the one or more energy transmitter devices is associated with one of a set of orthogonal sequences that include the orthogonal sequence”, in combination with all their other respective claim limitations of their corresponding base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/LONNIE V SWEET/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467