DETAILED ACTION
This Action is in response to communications filed 09/27/2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1-20 are rejected.
Priority
Applicant’s priority claim to foreign document CN 202210351941.4 filed 04/02/2022 and as a 371 National Stage entry from PCT/CN2023/085534 filed 03/31/2024 is herein acknowledged.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
As required by M.P.E.P. 609(C), the applicant’s submission of the Information Disclosure Statement dated 09/27/2024 is acknowledged by the examiner and the cited references have been considered in the examination of the claims now pending. As required by M.P.E.P 609 C(2), a copy of the PTOL-1449 initialed and dated by the examiner is attached to the instant office action.
Drawings
The applicant’s drawings and replacement drawing submitted on 09/27/2024 are acceptable for examination purposes.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3 recites “If the high threshold is reached…” wherein the conjunction “if” is improperly capitalized and should be amended as lowercase.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “in the case that a state transition occurs in the first memory area” wherein “a state transition” lacks proper antecedent basis with respect to the prior recitation of “judging whether a state transition occurs in the first memory area”. Respective dependent claims 2-7 and 15-18 do not resolve this issue.
Claim 2 recites “judging whether a ratio of the number of used item to the total number of item…” wherein recitations of “item” should be made plural “items” for clarity purposes as the number includes the plural scope and therefore associated recitations should properly maintain this scope. All subsequent recitations of “item” should be reviewed in the claims and be made plural as “items” as appropriate. Additionally, the limitation is suggested to be amended to “judging whether a ratio of a number of used items to a total number of items” in order to establish proper antecedent basis when referencing each respective “number” as these are the initial presentation of the terms.
Claim 3 recites “judging whether a ratio of the number of used item” wherein the identification of “a ratio” lacks proper distinction from the recitation of “a ratio” as used in claim 2 from which claim 3 depends. It is suggested to amend the term to “a second ratio” to address the issue.
Claim 6 recites “if there are mergeable items, performing a merging operation on the items” wherein “the items” lacks proper antecedent basis with the directly previous recitation of “mergeable items” which should be identified by the merging operation.
Claim 8 recites the same issue identified above as claim 1 regarding the “a state transition”. Respective dependent claims 9-13 and 19-20 do not resolve this issue.
Claim 14 recites the same issue identified above as claim 1 regarding the “a state transition”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jadon et al. (US 10,552,058) in view of Zaarur (US 2013/0073886) and further in view of Brahmadesam et al. (US 12,130,798) and still further in view of Iuliano et al. (US 2019/0087229).
Regarding claim 1, Jadon discloses, in the italicized portions, a method for recording a cold/hot state of a memory, comprising: determining a first cold/hot state set (Col. 8 ln 13-19, tracking state information and metadata for each physical and/virtual unit of memory), wherein the first cold/hot state set is configured for recording a first cold/hot state type of a reserved memory of a host machine, wherein a plurality of cold/hot state sets are maintained in the host machine, and each cold/hot state set corresponds to one cold/hot state type (Col. 8 ln 32-40, tracking state information stored internal to the memory controller of the host machine, Figure 1A); scanning sequentially an item in the first cold/hot state set, wherein the first cold/hot state set comprises at least one item, and the at least one item forms an out-of-order array (Figure 1A, array control circuitry and corresponding tracked state information), and each item comprises a memory slice serial number, memory size information, a next field and a process field; the scanning sequentially an item in the first cold/hot state set comprises: scanning a first memory area in a first item, and judging whether a state transition occurs in the first memory area, wherein the first item is any one item in the first cold/hot state set, and the first memory area comprises one or more continuous memory slices; in the case that a state transition occurs in the first memory area, deleting data recording the first memory area from the first item, and creating a second item in a second cold/hot state set, wherein the second item is configured for recording a cold/hot state of the first memory area, and the second cold/hot state set corresponds to a second cold/hot state type of the first memory area after the state transition occurs. Herein Jadon discloses the structure for maintaining and tracking memory utilization via hot and cold data designations. The memory cells of the array each have a corresponding information and metadata entry describing the data. The Examiner notes this metadata is determined as analogous to the items as claimed. Jadon does not explicitly address that the memory being tracked includes reserved memory of a host machine or the limitations including: scanning sequentially an item in the first cold/hot state set, wherein the first cold/hot state set comprises at least one item…, and each item comprises a memory slice serial number, memory size information, a next field and a process field; the scanning sequentially an item in the first cold/hot state set comprises: scanning a first memory area in a first item, and judging whether a state transition occurs in the first memory area, wherein the first item is any one item in the first cold/hot state set, and the first memory area comprises one or more continuous memory slices; in the case that a state transition occurs in the first memory area, deleting data recording the first memory area from the first item, and creating a second item in a second cold/hot state set, wherein the second item is configured for recording a cold/hot state of the first memory area, and the second cold/hot state set corresponds to a second cold/hot state type of the first memory area after the state transition occurs. Regarding the memory being reserved memory of the machine, Zaarur disclose in Paragraphs [0028-29] that allocated reserved memory may be monitored and managed based on activity level. In particular, this management enables the system to modify the arrangement of data in the allocations. In this manner, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to monitor reserved memory activity as discussed by Zaarur in order to enable management operations performed thereon to address system operation. Regarding the remaining limitations including sequential scanning of an item of the first cold/hot state set, judging whether a state transition occurs, deleting data recording the first memory area from the first item, creating a second item in a second cold/hot data set, Brahmadesam discloses in Column 20, line 39 – Column 21, line 8 “As discussed above, log records may be moved from the hot log 720 to store the log records 730 in the cold log 740. The cold log zone may be populated by copying log records from the hot log zone. In some embodiments, only log records whose LSN is less than or equal to some threshold LSN value may be eligible to be copied to the cold log zone... In some embodiments, once a given hot zone page or data block has been completely written to cold log 740 and is no longer the newest hot zone data block, and all log records on the hot zone data block have been successfully copied to the cold log zone, the hot zone data block may be freed and reused. For example, a log record may describe an update/change/modification for some portion, or all, of the user page, such as change relative to a previous record or version of the data page (e.g., a DULR). In some embodiments, log records may be stored sequentially in data blocks or pages. Thus, the latest LSN in the ordering of log records maintained in a data block may indicate that all log records in the log page are prior to the latest LSN.” Herein Brahmadesam discloses transfer of log records, determined analogous to metadata as discussed in Jadon, regarding data that is transitioned from a hot log zone to a cold log zone. The records are demonstrated as being sequentially processed and upon transfer from zone to the other, the original zone is cleared of the log record. In this manner, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that when reflecting updates of activity of data which involves transferring records between activity zones, the original location storing the information is freed and designated for reuse and records are updated to reflect a state transition of data.as best understood of a state transition occurring in the first memory area for data organizational purposes. Brahmadesam does not disclose the structure of the log records as reciting the elements of the items as claimed; however, regarding this aspect of the limitation, Iuliano discloses in Paragraph [0112] that memory slices of reserved memory are allocated to requestors for task execution and it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that when handling allocated storage from reserved memory, as discussed by Zaarur and Iuliano, the associated metadata would include the recited elements of the slices including serial number, size and next and process fields. Jadon, Zaarur, Brahmadesam, and Iuliano are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of managing storage utilization according to system performance.
Regarding claim 8, Jadon discloses, in the italicized portions, an apparatus for recording a cold/hot state of a memory, comprising: a processor and a memorizer in communication with the processor; the memorizer stores a computer-executed instruction; the processor executes the computer-executed instruction stored in the memorizer to implement the following steps (Col. 3 ln. 55 – Col. 4 ln. 14): determining a first cold/hot state set (Col. 8 ln 13-19), wherein the first cold/hot state set is configured for recording a first cold/hot state type of a reserved memory of a host machine, wherein a plurality of cold/hot state sets are maintained in the host machine, and each cold/hot state set corresponds to one cold/hot state type (Col. 8 ln 32-40); scanning sequentially an item in the first cold/hot state set, wherein the first cold/hot state set comprises at least one item, and the at least one item forms an out-of-order array (Figure 1A, array control circuitry and corresponding tracked state information), and each item comprises a memory slice serial number, memory size information, a next field and a process field; regard to the aspect that the scanning sequentially an item in the first cold/hot state set, the processor is specifically configured to: scan a first memory area in a first item, and judge whether a state transition occurs in the first memory area, wherein the first item is any one item in the first cold/hot state set, and the first memory area comprises one or more continuous memory slices; in the case that a state transition occurs in the first memory area, delete data recording the first memory area from the first item, and create a second item in a second cold/hot state set, wherein the second item is configured for recording a cold/hot state of the first memory area, and the second cold/hot state set corresponds to a second cold/hot state type of the first memory area after the state transition occurs. Herein Jadon discloses the structure for maintaining and tracking memory utilization via hot and cold data designations. The memory cells of the array each have a corresponding information and metadata entry describing the data. The Examiner notes this metadata is determined as analogous to the items as claimed. The Examiner additionally notes that “memorizer” is interpreted as memory as appears to the intended recitation as supported by the originally filed Specification. Jadon does not explicitly address that the memory being tracked includes reserved memory of a host machine or the limitations including: scanning sequentially an item in the first cold/hot state set, wherein the first cold/hot state set comprises at least one item…, and each item comprises a memory slice serial number, memory size information, a next field and a process field; the scanning sequentially an item in the first cold/hot state set comprises: scanning a first memory area in a first item, and judging whether a state transition occurs in the first memory area, wherein the first item is any one item in the first cold/hot state set, and the first memory area comprises one or more continuous memory slices; in the case that a state transition occurs in the first memory area, deleting data recording the first memory area from the first item, and creating a second item in a second cold/hot state set, wherein the second item is configured for recording a cold/hot state of the first memory area, and the second cold/hot state set corresponds to a second cold/hot state type of the first memory area after the state transition occurs. Regarding the memory being reserved memory of the machine, Zaarur disclose in Paragraphs [0028-29] that allocated reserved memory may be monitored and managed based on activity level. In particular, this management enables the system to modify the arrangement of data in the allocations. Regarding the remaining limitations including sequential scanning of an item of the first cold/hot state set, judging whether a state transition occurs, deleting data recording the first memory area from the first item, creating a second item in a second cold/hot data set, Brahmadesam discloses in Column 20, line 39 – Column 21, line 8 transfer of log records, determined analogous to metadata as discussed in Jadon, regarding data that is transitioned from a hot log zone to a cold log zone. The records are demonstrated as being sequentially processed and upon transfer from zone to the other, the original zone is cleared of the log record. Brahmadesam does not disclose the structure of the log records as reciting the elements of the items as claimed; however, regarding this aspect of the limitation, Iuliano discloses in Paragraph [0112] that memory slices of reserved memory are allocated to requestors for task execution and it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that when handling allocated storage from reserved memory, as discussed by Zaarur and Iuliano, the associated metadata would include the recited elements of the slices including serial number, size and next and process fields. Claim 8 is rejected on a similar basis as claim 1.
Regarding claim 14, Jadon discloses, in the italicized portions, a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium for storing a computer program, wherein the computer program comprises codes for performing implement the following steps (Col. 6 ln. 9-31, instructions stored on non-transitory machine readable media): determining a first cold/hot state set (Col. 8 ln 13-19), wherein the first cold/hot state set is configured for recording a first cold/hot state type of a reserved memory of a host machine, wherein a plurality of cold/hot state sets are maintained in the host machine, and each cold/hot state set corresponds to one cold/hot state type (Col. 8 ln 32-40); scanning sequentially an item in the first cold/hot state set, wherein the first cold/hot state set comprises at least one item, and the at least one item forms an out-of-order array (Figure 1A, array control circuitry and corresponding tracked state information), and each item comprises a memory slice serial number, memory size information, a next field and a process field; the scanning sequentially an item in the first cold/hot state set comprises: scanning a first memory area in a first item, and judging whether a state transition occurs in the first memory area, wherein the first item is any one item in the first cold/hot state set, and the first memory area comprises one or more continuous memory slices; in the case that a state transition occurs in the first memory area, deleting data recording the first memory area from the first item, and creating a second item in a second cold/hot state set, wherein the second item is configured for recording a cold/hot state of the first memory area, and the second cold/hot state set corresponds to a second cold/hot state type of the first memory area after the state transition occurs. Herein Jadon discloses the structure for maintaining and tracking memory utilization via hot and cold data designations. The memory cells of the array each have a corresponding information and metadata entry describing the data. The Examiner notes this metadata is determined as analogous to the items as claimed. Jadon does not explicitly address that the memory being tracked includes reserved memory of a host machine or the limitations including: scanning sequentially an item in the first cold/hot state set, wherein the first cold/hot state set comprises at least one item…, and each item comprises a memory slice serial number, memory size information, a next field and a process field; the scanning sequentially an item in the first cold/hot state set comprises: scanning a first memory area in a first item, and judging whether a state transition occurs in the first memory area, wherein the first item is any one item in the first cold/hot state set, and the first memory area comprises one or more continuous memory slices; in the case that a state transition occurs in the first memory area, deleting data recording the first memory area from the first item, and creating a second item in a second cold/hot state set, wherein the second item is configured for recording a cold/hot state of the first memory area, and the second cold/hot state set corresponds to a second cold/hot state type of the first memory area after the state transition occurs. Regarding the memory being reserved memory of the machine, Zaarur disclose in Paragraphs [0028-29] that allocated reserved memory may be monitored and managed based on activity level. In particular, this management enables the system to modify the arrangement of data in the allocations. Regarding the remaining limitations including sequential scanning of an item of the first cold/hot state set, judging whether a state transition occurs, deleting data recording the first memory area from the first item, creating a second item in a second cold/hot data set, Brahmadesam discloses in Column 20, line 39 – Column 21, line 8 transfer of log records, determined analogous to metadata as discussed in Jadon, regarding data that is transitioned from a hot log zone to a cold log zone. The records are demonstrated as being sequentially processed and upon transfer from zone to the other, the original zone is cleared of the log record. Brahmadesam does not disclose the structure of the log records as reciting the elements of the items as claimed; however, regarding this aspect of the limitation, Iuliano discloses in Paragraph [0112] that memory slices of reserved memory are allocated to requestors for task execution and it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that when handling allocated storage from reserved memory, as discussed by Zaarur and Iuliano, the associated metadata would include the recited elements of the slices including serial number, size and next and process fields. Claim 14 is rejected on a similar basis as claim 1.
Claims 2-3, 7, and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jadon in view of Zaarur and further in view of Brahmadesam and still further in view of Iuliano and Bhardwaj (US 2022/0035735).
Regarding claim 2, Jadon, Zaarur, Brahmadesam, and Iuliano do not explicitly disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: judging whether a ratio of the number of used item to the total number of item in the first cold/hot state set reaches a low threshold, before the scanning sequentially an item in the first cold/hot state set; if the low threshold is reached, performing capacity-expanding operation on the first cold/hot state set. Regarding this limitations, Bhardwaj discloses in Paragraph [0056] “In some implementations, the heat map component 113 can identify a source block for performing the GC operation using the heat map. The heat map component 113 can determine that a metric in the heat map that is associated with a particular L2P region satisfies a data migration criterion for performing a GC operation… In that case, both regions R1 and R2 can be selected for further consideration for selecting, as a source block, a particular physical block associated with the regions R1 and R2. The particular block selected can be selected based on amount of valid data in the block (e.g., the block having the least amount of valid data). In other examples, the data migration criterion can indicate that the value of the metric is more than or equal to a threshold value, or that the value of the metric is the highest or lowest value out of all regions, etc.” Herein Bhardwaj discloses the process of identifying blocks based on metrics including the amount of valid data in order to perform a data migration operation. As best understood, the data migration performed in Bhardwaj is determined as analogous to a capacity-expanding operation as claimed. In this manner, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a threshold comparison when determining to perform a migration operation in order to enable allocated memory to be more effectively utilized by redistributing data as necessary between regions. Jadon, Zaarur, Brahmadesam, Iuliano and Bhardwaj are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of managing storage utilization according to system performance.
Regarding claim 3, Jadon, Zaarur, Brahmadesam, Iuliano and Bhardwaj in combination further disclose the method according to claim 2, wherein the method further comprises: judging whether a ratio of the number of used item to the total number of item in the second cold/hot state set reaches a high threshold, before the creating a second item in a second cold/hot state set, wherein the low threshold is smaller than the high threshold; If the high threshold is reached, performing a capacity-expanding operation on the second cold/hot state set (Bhardwaj [0056]). As similarly presented in the rejection of claim 2, herein Bhardwaj identifies performing a region determination of whether data may be transferred based on a threshold value corresponding to a region prior to moving data. In this case, a capacity-expanding operation may be performed in association with a second cold/hot state set based on these threshold values as determined by the system.
Regarding claim 7, Jadon, Zaarur, Brahmadesam, and Iuliano do not explicitly disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: determining that an error occurs during scanning the first cold/hot state set; releasing each cold/hot state set maintained by the host machine; reallocating each cold/hot state set. Regarding this limitation, Bhardwaj discloses in Paragraph [0043] “The memory sub-system can maintain a pool of victim blocks. In some examples, the victim blocks can be selected for GC in the order the blocks were placed in the pool, such as a “first in, first out” (FIFO) order. Examples of priority victim blocks can include blocks selected due to error handling (EH), read disturb (RD), data retention (DR), background scan (BG), asynchronous power loss (APL), etc. As depicted in block 212, the memory sub-system can select the source block for the GC operation in such circumstances to be the victim block which was already identified as a candidate source.” Herein Bhardwaj discloses the process for identifying victim blocks from which to migrate data. Specifically as part of the process, error handling is conducted to identify suitable victim blocks wherein the data stored therein is migrated from previously allocated blocks to newly allocated blocks. As best understood of the limitation, this is determined to be analogous to releasing each set and reallocating each set as determined by the new destination blocks in Bhardwaj. In this manner, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to migrate data in view of errors in order to ensure the reliability of data access as known in the art.
Regarding claim 9, Jadon, Zaarur, Brahmadesam, and Iuliano do not explicitly disclose the apparatus according to claim 8, wherein the processor is further configured to: judge whether a ratio of the number of used item to the total number of item in the first cold/hot state set reaches a low threshold before the scan sequentially an item in the first cold/hot state set; if the low threshold is reached, perform a capacity-expanding operation on the first cold/hot state set. Regarding this limitations, Bhardwaj discloses in Paragraph [0056] the process of identifying blocks based on metrics including the amount of valid data in order to perform a data migration operation. As best understood, the data migration performed in Bhardwaj is determined as analogous to a capacity-expanding operation as claimed. Claim 9 is rejected on a similar basis as claim 2. The Examiner notes within the context of the apparatus claim 8, that all subsequent limitations recited as “if” clauses are interpreted as contingent limitations which are not required, under broadest reasonable interpretation, to occur and that only the structure is sufficient as to performing the operation. See MPEP 2111.01(II) regarding contingent limitations. The Examiner suggests recited the limitation in affirmative language in order to indicate that the required steps occur if intended.
Regarding claim 10, Jadon, Zaarur, Brahmadesam, Iuliano and Bhardwaj in combination further disclose the apparatus according to claim 9, wherein the processor is further configured to: judge whether a ratio of the number of used item to the total number of item in the second cold/hot state set reaches a high threshold before the create a second item in a second cold/hot state set, wherein the low threshold is smaller than the high threshold; if the high threshold is reached, perform a capacity-expanding operation on the second cold/hot state set (Bhardwaj [0056]). Claim 10 is rejected on a similar basis as claim 3.
Regarding claim 18, Bhardwaj further discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein the method further comprises: determining that an error occurs during scanning the first cold/hot state set; releasing each cold/hot state set maintained by the host machine; reallocating each cold/hot state set ([0043]). Claim 18 is rejected on a similar basis as claim 7.
Claims 4-5, 11-12, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jadon in view of Zaarur and further in view of Brahmadesam and still further in view of Iuliano and Kong et al. (US 2014/0115239) and Stabrawa et al. (US 2020/0371700).
Regarding claim 4, Jadon, Zaarur, Brahmadesam, and Iuliano do not explicitly disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein before the scanning sequentially an item in the first cold/hot state set, the method further comprises: judging whether a used item in the first cold/hot state set is empty; if the used item in the first cold/hot state set is empty, judging whether capacity-expanding has been performed on the first cold/hot state set; if capacity-expanding has been performed on the first cold/hot state set, performing a capacity- shrinking operation on the first cold/hot state set. Regarding this limitation, Kong discloses in Paragraph [0053] “Referring to FIG. 7, it is determined whether the number of the invalid pages is greater than or equal to a first threshold value (operation S220). When the number of the invalid pages in the cold region is greater than or equal to the first threshold value, valid pages remaining in the cold region are merged (operation S230), so that only valid data exists in the cold region. Referring to FIG. 9, when the number of the invalid pages of the cold region is equal to or greater than the first threshold value, valid pages remaining in the cold region are merged.” Herein Kong identifies reducing the capacity of a region based on a threshold being satisfied. In particular, the identification of invalid data, determined analogous to a used item being empty, results in migrating data to only retain valid data which. In this manner, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consolidate valid data and remove invalid data as a known function of storage management in the art. Kong does not explicitly address determining whether expanding has been performed or specifically performing a capacity-shrinking operation. Regarding these details, Stabrawa discloses in Paragraph [0105] “Upon receiving the request to resize the existing region 214, if the region 214 is being contracted, the region access logic 212 may update the region metadata 215 to remove references to a portion of the memory allocated to the region 214 and/or may de-allocate the portion of the memory. De-allocating may include listing the de-allocated portion on the free list.” Herein Stabrawa discloses the process that a previously allocated portion to a region may be subsequently deallocated as determined necessary by the system to resize the region. In this manner, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform this resizing in order to prevent data that is not present from being accessed by the system (Stabrawa [0105]). Jadon, Zaarur, Brahmadesam, Iuliano, Kong, and Stabrawa are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of managing storage utilization according to system performance.
Regarding claim 5, Jadon, Zaarur, Brahmadesam, Iuliano, Kong, and Stabrawa in combination further disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: judging whether a size of the second cold/hot state set reaches a warning threshold, before the creating a second item in a second cold/hot state set; in the case that the warning threshold is reached, sorting the second cold/hot state set, wherein the sorting comprises: performing a merging operation on mergeable items in the second cold/hot state set (Kong [0053]). Herein Kong discloses using a threshold value, determined analogous to a warning threshold, to instigate a merging of valid data in the region wherein the valid data is determined analogous to mergeable items as claimed. In this manner, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to merge data where applicable based on a size threshold being met.
Regarding claim 11, Jadon, Zaarur, Brahmadesam, and Iuliano do not explicitly disclose the apparatus according to claim 8, wherein, before the scanning sequentially an item in the first cold/hot state set, the processor is further configured to: judge whether a used item in the first cold/hot state set is empty; if the used item in the first cold/hot state set is empty, judge whether capacity-expanding has been performed on the first cold/hot state set; if capacity- expanding has been performed on the first cold/hot state set, perform a capacity-shrinking operation on the first cold/hot state set. Regarding this limitation, Kong discloses in Paragraph [0053] reducing the capacity of a region based on a threshold being satisfied. In particular, the identification of invalid data, determined analogous to a used item being empty, results in migrating data to only retain valid data which. In this manner, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consolidate valid data and remove invalid data as a known function of storage management in the art. Kong does not explicitly address determining whether expanding has been performed or specifically performing a capacity-shrinking operation. Regarding these details, Stabrawa discloses in Paragraph [0105] the process that a previously allocated portion to a region may be subsequently deallocated as determined necessary by the system to resize the region. Claim 11 is rejected on a similar basis as claim 4.
Regarding claim 12, Jadon, Zaarur, Brahmadesam, Iuliano, Kong, and Stabrawa in combination further disclose the apparatus according to claim 8, wherein the processor is further configured to: judge whether a size of the second cold/hot state set reaches a warning threshold before the create a second item in a second cold/hot state set; in the case that the warning threshold is reached, sort the second cold/hot state set, wherein the sort comprises: perform a merging operation on mergeable items in the second cold/hot state set (Kong [0053]). Claim 12 is rejected on a similar basis as claim 5.
Regarding claim 19, Jadon, Zaarur, Brahmadesam, and Iuliano do not explicitly disclose the apparatus according to claim 9, wherein, before the scanning sequentially an item in the first cold/hot state set, the processor is further configured to: judge whether a used item in the first cold/hot state set is empty; if the used item in the first cold/hot state set is empty, judge whether capacity-expanding has been performed on the first cold/hot state set; if capacity-expanding has been performed on the first cold/hot state set, perform a capacity-shrinking operation on the first cold/hot state set. Regarding this limitation, Kong discloses in Paragraph [0053] reducing the capacity of a region based on a threshold being satisfied. In particular, the identification of invalid data, determined analogous to a used item being empty, results in migrating data to only retain valid data which. In this manner, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consolidate valid data and remove invalid data as a known function of storage management in the art. Kong does not explicitly address determining whether expanding has been performed or specifically performing a capacity-shrinking operation. Regarding these details, Stabrawa discloses in Paragraph [0105] the process that a previously allocated portion to a region may be subsequently deallocated as determined necessary by the system to resize the region. Claim 19 is rejected on a similar basis as claim 4.
Regarding claim 20, Jadon, Zaarur, Brahmadesam, Iuliano, Kong, and Stabrawa in combination further disclose the apparatus according to claim 9, wherein the processor is further configured to: judge whether a size of the second cold/hot state set reaches a warning threshold before the create a second item in a second cold/hot state set; in the case that the warning threshold is reached, sort the second cold/hot state set, wherein the sort comprises: perform a merging operation on mergeable items in the second cold/hot state set (Kong [0053]). Claim 20 is rejected on a similar basis as claim 5..
Claims 6 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jadon in view of Zaarur and further in view of Brahmadesam and still further in view of Iuliano and Kong and Stabrawa and Jung et al. (US 2020/0012454).
Regarding claim 6, Jadon, Zaarur, Brahmadesam, Iuliano, Kong, and Stabrawa do not explicitly disclose the method according to claim 5, wherein the sorting the second cold/hot state set comprises: establishing a temporary set; inserting sequentially an item in the second cold/hot state set into the temporary set, and traversing and judging whether there are mergeable items in the temporary set when inserting the item; if there are mergeable items, performing a merging operation on the items; if there are no mergeable items, inserting the item into the temporary set according to an order of physical address; clearing the second cold/hot state set to zero after all items in the second cold/hot state set are inserted into the temporary set; copying items in the temporary set into the second cold/hot state set after cleared to zero, and releasing the temporary set. Regarding these limitations, Jung discloses in Paragraph [0159-168] the process by which two regions are merged by using a merged region, determined analogous to the temporary set, and sequentially replacing data which is merged and retaining data that is not merged to replace the data stored region 1. In this manner, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to merge data by overwriting previously written data in order to reduce the required space to the store data as known in the art being performed for management operations including well known techniques such as garbage collection. Jadon, Zaarur, Brahmadesam, Iuliano, Kong, Stabrawa and Jung are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of managing storage utilization according to system performance.
Regarding claim 13, Jadon, Zaarur, Brahmadesam, Iuliano, Kong, and Stabrawa do not explicitly disclose the apparatus according to claim 12, wherein, regard to the aspect that the sort the second cold/hot state set, the processor is specifically configured to: establish a temporary set; insert sequentially an item in the second cold/hot state set into the temporary set, and traverse and judge whether there are mergeable items in the temporary set when inserting the item; if there are mergeable items, perform a merging operation on the items; if there are no mergeable items, insert the item into the temporary set according to an order of physical address; clear the second cold/hot state set to zero after all items in the second cold/hot state set are inserted into the temporary set; copy items in the temporary set into the second cold/hot state set after cleared to zero, and release the temporary set. Regarding these limitations, Jung discloses in Paragraph [0159-168] the process by which two regions are merged by using a merged region, determined analogous to the temporary set, and sequentially replacing data which is merged and retaining data that is not merged to replace the data stored in region 1. Claim 13 is rejected on a similar basis as claim 6.
Claims 15-16 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jadon in view of Zaarur and further in view of Brahmadesam and still further in view of Iuliano and Bhardwaj and Kong and Stabrawa.
Regarding claim 15, Jadon, Zaarur, Brahmadesam, Iuliano and Bhardwaj do not explicitly disclose the method according to claim 2, wherein before the scanning sequentially an item in the first cold/hot state set, the method further comprises: judging whether a used item in the first cold/hot state set is empty; if the used item in the first cold/hot state set is empty, judging whether capacity-expanding has been performed on the first cold/hot state set; if capacity-expanding has been performed on the first cold/hot state set, performing a capacity- shrinking operation on the first cold/hot state set. Regarding this limitation, Kong discloses in Paragraph [0053] reducing the capacity of a region based on a threshold being satisfied. In particular, the identification of invalid data, determined analogous to a used item being empty, results in migrating data to only retain valid data which. In this manner, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consolidate valid data and remove invalid data as a known function of storage management in the art. Kong does not explicitly address determining whether expanding has been performed or specifically performing a capacity-shrinking operation. Regarding these details, Stabrawa discloses in Paragraph [0105] the process that a previously allocated portion to a region may be subsequently deallocated as determined necessary by the system to resize the region. Claim 15 is rejected on a similar basis as claim 4. The Examiner notes the limitations of claim 15 are substantially similar to that of claim 4 and that the introduction of the Bhardwaj reference as presented for the rejection of claim 2, from which claim 15 depends, does not demonstrably alter the combination of references that would otherwise prevent the techniques of Kong and Stabrawa from being applied. The Examiner notes this basis is applied to all subsequent rejections involving this association of references. Jadon, Zaarur, Brahmadesam, Iuliano, Bhardwaj, Kong, Stabrawa and Jung are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of managing storage utilization according to system performance.
Regarding claim 16, Jadon, Zaarur, Brahmadesam, Iuliano, Bhardwaj, Kong, and Stabrawa in combination further disclose the method according to claim 2, wherein the method further comprises: judging whether a size of the second cold/hot state set reaches a warning threshold, before the creating a second item in a second cold/hot state set; in the case that the warning threshold is reached, sorting the second cold/hot state set, wherein the sorting comprises: performing a merging operation on mergeable items in the second cold/hot state set (Kong [0053]). Claim 16 is rejected on a similar basis as claim 5.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jadon in view of Zaarur and further in view of Brahmadesam and still further in view of Iuliano and Bhardwaj, Kong, Stabrawa, and Jung.
Regarding claim 17, Jadon, Zaarur, Brahmadesam, Iuliano, Bhardwaj, Kong, and Stabrawa do not explicitly disclose the method according to claim 16, wherein the sorting the second cold/hot state set comprises: establishing a temporary set; inserting sequentially an item in the second cold/hot state set into the temporary set, and traversing and judging whether there are mergeable items in the temporary set when inserting the item; if there are mergeable items, performing a merging operation on the items; if there are no mergeable items, inserting the item into the temporary set according to an order of physical address; clearing the second cold/hot state set to zero after all items in the second cold/hot state set are inserted into the temporary set; copying items in the temporary set into the second cold/hot state set after cleared to zero, and releasing the temporary set. Regarding these limitations, Jung discloses in Paragraph [0159-168] the process by which two regions are merged by using a merged region, determined analogous to the temporary set, and sequentially replacing data which is merged and retaining data that is not merged to replace the data stored region 1. In this manner, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to merge data by overwriting previously written data in order to reduce the required space to the store data as known in the art being performed for management operations including well known techniques such as garbage collection. The Examiner notes the limitations of claim 17 are substantially similar to that of claim 6 and that the introduction of the Bhardwaj reference as presented for the rejection of claim 2, from which claim 15 depends, does not demonstrably alter the combination of references that would otherwise prevent the techniques of Kong and Stabrawa from being applied. Jadon, Zaarur, Brahmadesam, Iuliano, Bhardwaj, Kong, Stabrawa and Jung are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of managing storage utilization according to system performance.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ki et al. (US 2016/0055097) – Paragraph [0025] wherein shrinking or expanding allocations is discussed.
Shin (US 2017/0277476) – Paragraph [0152] wherein reserved regions for data is discussed.
/ALEXANDER YOON/
Examiner, Art Unit 2135
/JARED I RUTZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2135