DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status: Claims 1-6 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: “Wi-Fi” and “Bluetooth technology”. To avoid possibly claiming a trademark, Examiner suggests deleting the limitation “utilizing Wi-Fi or Bluetooth technology”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: there is a grammatical error in “connected the local communication network”. Examiner suggest amending the limitation to “connected to the local communication network”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gobeyn (EP2146635B1) in view of Trau et al. (US 2022/0117525A1) and Butler (US 2004/0008523 A1).
Re Claim 1, Gobeyn discloses a computer vision-based jaundice monitoring system, comprising:
a. a camera configured to capture an image of a patient (para. [0084], fig. 4, cameras 120 can have an image sensor array 124 (commonly a CCD or CMOS) including sensing pixels overlaid with a patterned color filter array (often RGB));
b. a computing device in communication with the camera, the computing device is programmed to process the captured image (fig. 4, computer 340, image processor 320, memory 345), the processing comprising:
i. identifying the patient's skin region within the captured image (para. [0084], Considering Table 2, skin color changes and localized or mottled skin color changes can be detected if camera 120 has color specific detection devices. For example, cameras 120 can have an image sensor array 124 (commonly a CCD or CMOS) including sensing pixels overlaid with a patterned color filter array (often RGB). To some extent, the native resolution of the camera 120 will impact the ability to image some of the conditions on Table 2; Table 1. Skin color (by location, averaged)),
ii. analyzing the dominant colors present in the patient's skin region (para. [0084], Considering Table 2, skin color changes and localized or mottled skin color changes can be detected if camera 120 has color specific detection devices. For example, cameras 120 can have an image sensor array 124 (commonly a CCD or CMOS) including sensing pixels overlaid with a patterned color filter array (often RGB). To some extent, the native resolution of the camera 120 will impact the ability to image some of the conditions on Table 2; Table 1. Skin color (by location, averaged)),
iii. determining the presence of yellow pigmentation based on the dominant colors (Table 2, Skin color, Yellow: jaundice), and
iv. generating and transmitting a notification upon detection of yellow pigmentation (fig. 2A, network 360, para. [0037], [0079], when the physiological monitoring system 300 detects a potential issue, which may reflect a gradual or abrupt physiological change, it is supposed to provide one or more alerts, which can be communicated differently depending on the circumstances. For example, an electronic imaging device 100 can provide an alert locally, via a display 110 (with an icon, for example) or a flashing light, an audio tone, but the detailed data may only be accessible at another location (to a lead user) on the network 360.); and
d. a local communication network facilitating connectivity between the camera, the computing device (fig. 2A, network 360; para. [0022], Electronic imaging device 100 is interconnected to image processing electronics 320, a system controller 330, a computer 340, memory or data storage 345, a communications controller 355, and a network 360.).
Gobeyn is silent regarding a light panel integrated with the camera for administering phototherapy to the patient; and a local communication network facilitating connectivity between the camera, the computing device, and the light panel.
However, Trau discloses sensor and system for neonatal jaundice monitoring and management (abstract) and teaches a light panel for administering phototherapy to the patient and a local communication network facilitating connectivity between the camera, the computing device, and the light panel (para. [0054], On the phototherapy box 13, there are power 14 and switch 15 that could initiate the sensing module 9 and phototherapy box 13. LEDs 16 are used for the treatment purpose. The intensity of the illumination module or LEDs 16 is controlled by the microprocessor 19, based on the signals sent through a wired/wireless communication 12 from sensing module 9; para. [0021], FIG. 3 schematic illustrating a system to manage jaundice composed of the sensor, a control box and a light module.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify Gobeyn, by adding a light panel for administering phototherapy to the patient and a local communication network facilitating connectivity between the camera, the computing device, and the light panel, as taught by Trau, for the purpose of treating jaundice (para. [0021]).
Trau is silent regarding a light panel integrated with the camera.
However, Butler discloses an apparatus for light therapy (abstract) and teaches a light panel integrated with the camera (fig. 3A, para. [0047], the camera 110′ is a charge coupled device (CCD) based digital camera that is located in an interior opening 310 of the LED array 102′).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify Gobeyn as modified by Trau, by configuring a light panel to be integrated with the camera, as taught by Butler, for the purpose of having a compact design of the system.
Re Claim 6, Gobeyn discloses a method for monitoring jaundice using a computer-based system, comprising the steps of:
a. capturing images of a patient using a camera (para. [0084], fig. 4, cameras 120 can have an image sensor array 124 (commonly a CCD or CMOS) including sensing pixels overlaid with a patterned color filter array (often RGB));
b. processing the captured images by a computing device in communication with the camera (fig. 4, computer 340, image processor 320, memory 345), the processing comprising:
i. identifying the patient’s skin region within the captured image (para. [0084], Considering Table 2, skin color changes and localized or mottled skin color changes can be detected if camera 120 has color specific detection devices. For example, cameras 120 can have an image sensor array 124 (commonly a CCD or CMOS) including sensing pixels overlaid with a patterned color filter array (often RGB). To some extent, the native resolution of the camera 120 will impact the ability to image some of the conditions on Table 2; Table 1. Skin color (by location, averaged)),
ii. analyzing the dominant colors within the patient’s skin region (para. [0084], Considering Table 2, skin color changes and localized or mottled skin color changes can be detected if camera 120 has color specific detection devices. For example, cameras 120 can have an image sensor array 124 (commonly a CCD or CMOS) including sensing pixels overlaid with a patterned color filter array (often RGB). To some extent, the native resolution of the camera 120 will impact the ability to image some of the conditions on Table 2; Table 1. Skin color (by location, averaged)),
iii. determining whether the dominant colors exhibit yellow pigmentation indicative of jaundice (Table 2, Skin color, Yellow: jaundice), and
iv. generating a notification upon detection of yellow pigmentation (fig. 2A, network 360, para. [0037], [0079], when the physiological monitoring system 300 detects a potential issue, which may reflect a gradual or abrupt physiological change, it is supposed to provide one or more alerts, which can be communicated differently depending on the circumstances. For example, an electronic imaging device 100 can provide an alert locally, via a display 110 (with an icon, for example) or a flashing light, an audio tone, but the detailed data may only be accessible at another location (to a lead user) on the network 360.).
Gobeyn is silent regarding administering phototherapy to the patient using a light panel integrated with the camera.
However, Trau discloses sensor and system for neonatal jaundice monitoring and management (abstract) and teaches administering phototherapy to the patient using a light panel (para. [0054], On the phototherapy box 13, there are power 14 and switch 15 that could initiate the sensing module 9 and phototherapy box 13. LEDs 16 are used for the treatment purpose. The intensity of the illumination module or LEDs 16 is controlled by the microprocessor 19, based on the signals sent through a wired/wireless communication 12 from sensing module 9; para. [0021], FIG. 3 schematic illustrating a system to manage jaundice composed of the sensor, a control box and a light module.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify Gobeyn, by adding a step of administering phototherapy to the patient using a light panel, as taught by Trau, for the purpose of treating jaundice (para. [0021]).
Trau is silent regarding a light panel integrated with the camera.
However, Butler discloses an apparatus for light therapy (abstract) and teaches a light panel integrated with the camera (fig. 3A, para. [0047], the camera 110′ is a charge coupled device (CCD) based digital camera that is located in an interior opening 310 of the LED array 102′).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify Gobeyn as modified by Trau, by configuring a light panel to be integrated with the camera, as taught by Butler, for the purpose of having a compact design of the system.
Re Claim 2, Gobeyn discloses a monitoring device, connected the local communication network, for receiving the notification and patient data (fig. 2A, network 360, para. [0037], [0079], when the physiological monitoring system 300 detects a potential issue, which may reflect a gradual or abrupt physiological change, it is supposed to provide one or more alerts, which can be communicated differently depending on the circumstances. For example, an electronic imaging device 100 can provide an alert locally, via a display 110 (with an icon, for example) or a flashing light, an audio tone, but the detailed data may only be accessible at another location (to a lead user) on the network 360.).
Re Claim 3, Gobeyn discloses that the computing device utilizes machine learning algorithms for improved accuracy in determining yellow pigmentation (para. [0037], The wellness parameters 410 are principally physiological metrics, which can be input by users 10, or derived from the image data captured by cameras 120, or calculated during subsequent analyses. Generally the wellness parameters 410 quantify various wellness, health, and medical conditions or attributes. Once these wellness parameters 410 are calculated and stored to a memory 345, an inference engine 400 (which is functionally supported by a computer 340) is utilized in the subsequent step to assess the status of physiological conditions. The inference engine 400, which can be algorithm based, or utilize artificial intelligence (AI) or learning methods, is tasked to follow and assess previously identified physiological trends for its subjects (users 10). It is also intended to look for changes, in the physiological data (wellness parameters 410), subtle or otherwise, that might be indicative of previously unidentified physiological changes; para. [0084], As shown in Table 2, there is a wide range of wellness, health, and medical conditions that can potentially be monitored using this system, using one or more wellness parameters 410 (see Table 1). Table 2, Skin color, Yellow: jaundice.).
Re Claim 4, Gobeyn as modified by Trau and Butler discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claim 1.
Gobeyn discloses that the local communication network is a wireless network (fig. 2A, network 360; para. [0022], Communication controller 355 acts as interface to a communication channel, such as a wireless or wired network 360, for transferring image and other data from one site to the other.).
Gobeyn is silent regarding Wi-Fi or Bluetooth technology.
However, Trau discloses that the local communication network is a wireless network utilizing Wi-Fi (para. [0054], The data mentioned above from sensing module 9 and phototherapy box 13 may permit sharing between doctor's offices and wards, through USB 23 or WIFI/BLE 21.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify Gobeyn as modified by Trau and Butler, by configuring the local communication network to be a wireless network utilizing Wi-Fi, as taught by Trau, for the purpose of transmitting data between devices for treatment and because such a modification would have been obvious to try.
Re Claim 5, Gobeyn as modified by Trau and Butler discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claim 1.
Gobeyn is silent regarding wherein the light panel is adjustable in intensity to provide controlled phototherapy to the patient.
However, Trau discloses sensor and system for neonatal jaundice monitoring and management (abstract) and teaches that the light panel is adjustable in intensity to provide controlled phototherapy to the patient (para. [0054], On the phototherapy box 13, there are power 14 and switch 15 that could initiate the sensing module 9 and phototherapy box 13. LEDs 16 are used for the treatment purpose. The intensity of the illumination module or LEDs 16 is controlled by the microprocessor 19, based on the signals sent through a wired/wireless communication 12 from sensing module 9. Para. [0056], The sensing module will provide the bilirubin concentration or the change of the bilirubin in the body, thus, provide guidance or instructions to the phototherapy device which could regulate the intensity of the light treatment to a subject, the and inform caregivers by a buzzer when there is any change of the intensity.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify Gobeyn as modified by Trau and Butler, by configuring the light panel to be adjustable in intensity to provide controlled phototherapy to the patient, as taught by Trau, for the purpose of providing proper dose to the patient (para. [0054], [0056]).
Conclusion
/Benjamin J Klein/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3792
/V.V.H./
Vynn Huh, September 16, 2026Examiner, Art Unit 3792