DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a biasing member that biases the valve body” in claims 1 and 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nishosono et alia (US Patent Number 8.382,064), hereinafter “Nishosono”.
Re claim 1, Nishosono discloses a valve, comprising: a casing (41); a valve body (spool 60) that is operable inside the casing; a biasing member (42) that biases the valve body; and a retainer (45) that holds the biasing member, wherein the retainer is caulked and fixed to the casing by a caulking end provided at one axial end portion of the casing (see Fig. 2B and col. 6, lines 31-38), wherein the retainer includes a cylindrical portion which has a seat surface of the biasing member (see any of Figs. 1-2B with the spring seated against the center of the cylindrical portion) and an expanded diameter portion which expands radially outward in a tapered shape from one axial end of the cylindrical portion on a side of the casing (both of the curved portions at the corners of 45 taper outwardly (i.e. the leftmost portion of 45 as shown in Figs. 1-2B tapers at the curve and also the rightmost portion of 45 that tapers to the flange 45f show this tapered shape)), and wherein the caulking end is locked to an outer peripheral portion of the expanded diameter portion while a connection portion between the cylindrical portion and the expanded diameter portion is elastically deformable (due to the thin plate material).
Re claim 2, Nishosono discloses the valve according to claim 1, wherein a space that expands radially inward is formed between the expanded diameter portion and the casing (see Fig. 2B showing the space between 45f and 71).
Re claim 3, Nishosono discloses the valve according to claim 1, wherein a flange portion that extends radially outward along an end surface of the casing is formed at the expanded diameter portion (see Fig. 2B where 45f extends outward by the end of the casing).
Re claim 4, Nishosono discloses the valve according to claim 3, wherein a connection portion between the expanded diameter portion and the flange portion is formed to be elastically deformable (see Fig. 2B and col. 6, lines 31-50 showing and describing the deformation).
Re claim 5, Nishosono discloses the valve according to claim 1, wherein an outer peripheral surface of the expanded diameter portion is a flat truncated conical surface (see 45f).
Re claim 6, Nishosono discloses the valve according to claim 1, wherein the retainer is made of a thin plate (see any of Figs. 1-2B showing the retainer to be a thin plate at least with respect to the casing).
Re claim 7, Nishosono discloses a method of assembling a valve including a casing (41), a valve body (spool 60) operable inside the casing, a biasing member (42) that biases the valve body, and a retainer (45) that holds the biasing member, the retainer being caulked and fixed to the casing by a caulking end provided at one axial end portion of the casing (see Fig. 2B and col. 6, lines 31-38), the retainer including a cylindrical portion which has a seat surface of the biasing member (see any of Figs. 1-2B with the spring seated against the center of the cylindrical portion) and an expanded diameter portion which expands radially outward in a tapered shape from one axial end of the cylindrical portion on a side of the casing (both of the curved portions at the corners of 45 taper outwardly (i.e. the leftmost portion of 45 as shown in Figs. 1-2B tapers at the curve and also the rightmost portion of 45 that tapers to the flange 45f show this tapered shape)), wherein the method comprising a step of locking the caulking end to an outer peripheral surface of the expanded diameter portion (see Fig. 2B and col. 6, lines 31-50 showing and describing the locking) while a connection portion between the cylindrical portion and the expanded diameter portion is elastically deformable (due to the thin plate material).
Re claim 8, Nishosono discloses the valve according to claim 2, wherein a flange portion that extends radially outward along an end surface of the casing is formed at the expanded diameter portion (see Fig. 2B where 45f extends outward by the end of the casing).
Re claim 9, Nishosono discloses the valve according to claim 8, wherein a connection portion between the expanded diameter portion and the flange portion is formed to be elastically deformable (see Fig. 2B and col. 6, lines 31-50 showing and describing the deformation).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Tsujimoto discloses a similar valve but with the retainer caulked around the outside of the casing.
/ERIC KEASEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753