Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 5 in the reply filed on 5/9/26 is acknowledged.
The claims 1-2 are claiming the structure of the elected Species 5.
Claims 1-2, 5, 8, 11-17, 22, 24-26, 47-48 are elected for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 11-15, 17, 22, 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, the limitation “the first electrical element being disposed along an aperture surface of the fixture body, the aperture surface defining the anchor aperture” is unclear while also claims “the fixture body defining an anchor aperture”.
The examiner interprets as “the first electrical element being disposed along an aperture surface of the for examination.
Claim 1, the limitation “the contact portion being shaped and arranged to be disposed in the anchor aperture when the anchor lock is selectively inserted in the anchor fixture” is unclear.
The examiner interprets as “the contact portion being shaped and arranged to be disposed in the anchor aperture when the anchor lock is selectively inserted in the anchor fixture” for examination.
Claim 22, the limitations “a fixture body configured to be connected to one of the accessory and the item” and “an anchor base configured to be connected to an other one of the accessory and the item” are unclear.
The disclosure and drawing disclosed the fixture body only connected to the item and the anchor base only connected to the accessory.
The examiner interprets as “a fixture body configured to be connected to the item” and “an anchor base configured to be connected to the accessory” for examination.
Claim 25, the limitation “a fixture power connector configured to electrically connect the anchor fixture to an other one of the accessory and the power source” is unclear.
The disclosure and drawing disclosed the power connector only connected to the power source.
The examiner interprets as “a fixture power connector configured to electrically connect the anchor fixture to for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 11, 15, 22-24, 26, 47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeller et al. (US 2011/0223802).
Regarding claim 1, Zeller et al. disclose a system for connecting an accessory (D) to an item (1), the system comprising:
an anchor fixture comprising:
a fixture body (12) configured to be connected to the item, the fixture body defining an anchor (30);
and a first electrical element (16) connected to the fixture body; and
an anchor (14) comprising:
an anchor base (42) configured to be connected to the accessory, the anchor base including a second electrical element (18), the second electrical element being configured and arranged to contact the first electrical element to electrically connect the anchor fixture to the anchor when the anchor is connected to the anchor fixture;
an anchor lock (inner aperture of 50) connected to the anchor base, the anchor lock being configured to be inserted through the anchor of the anchor fixture, the anchor lock being movable relative to the anchor fixture between an unlocked position and a locked position, in the unlocked position, the anchor lock being free to pass through the anchor aperture, in the locked position, the anchor lock being prevented by the anchor fixture from passing through the anchor aperture;
and the anchor being selectively secured to the anchor fixture by inserting at least a portion of the anchor into the anchor fixture through the anchor aperture, the first electrical element being disposed along an aperture surface of the anchor aperture, the anchor including a contact portion extending from the anchor base in a same direction as the anchor lock, the contact portion being shaped and arranged to be disposed in the anchor aperture when the anchor lock is selectively inserted in the anchor fixture, the second electrical element being disposed on the contact portion, the first and second electrical elements being in contact when the contact portion is inserted into the anchor aperture.
Zeller et al. substantial disclosed the claimed invention except the anchor fixture has anchor aperture for the anchor lock to be inserted therein. However, Zeller et al. disclosed the anchor has anchor aperture and the anchor fixture has anchor lock.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to reverse the anchor aperture and the anchor lock to the anchor fixture and the anchor respectively, since it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167.
Regarding claim 2, in the modified system, Zeller et al. disclose the first electrical element (16) has plurality of contacts; and the second electrical element (18) has plurality of contacts. Zeller et al. did not disclose the first and second electrical element are first and second pair electrical contacts.
Whether first and second electrical element are the first and second pair electrical contacts would have been an matter of design absent the criticality, since the operation of the first and second electrical elements are still the same.
Regarding claim 11, in the modified system, Zeller et al. disclose the anchor lock is rotated relative to the anchor base when moved between the unlocked position and the locked position.
Regarding claim 15, in the modified system, Zeller et al. disclose the anchor fixture defines an anchor chamber, the anchor aperture opening into the anchor chamber; the anchor lock is configured to be inserted through the anchor aperture into the anchor chamber; and in the locked position, the anchor lock is disposed in the anchor chamber.
Regarding claim 47. The system of claim 1, wherein the anchor is selectively secured to the anchor fixture by inserting the anchor lock through the anchor aperture and moving the anchor lock relative to the anchor fixture to place the anchor lock in the locked position.
Regarding claim 22, Zeller et al. disclose a system for connecting an accessory (D) to an item (1), the system comprising:
an anchor fixture comprising:
a fixture body (12) configured to be connected to the item, the fixture body defining an anchor (30); and
a first electrical element (16) connected to the fixture body; and
an anchor (14) comprising:
an anchor base configured to be connected to the accessory;
an anchor lock connected to the anchor base, the anchor lock being configured to be inserted through the anchor aperture of the anchor fixture, the anchor lock being movable relative to the anchor fixture between an unlocked position and a locked position, in the unlocked position, the anchor lock being free to pass through the anchor aperture, in the locked position, the anchor lock being prevented by the anchor fixture from passing through the anchor aperture, the anchor being selectively secured to the anchor fixture by inserting the anchor lock through the anchor aperture and moving the anchor lock relative to the anchor fixture to place the anchor lock in the locked position; and
a second electrical element (18) configured to contact the first electrical element to electrically connect the anchor fixture to the anchor, the second electrical element being disposed on one of the anchor base and the anchor lock,
a given one of the first electrical element and the second electrical element that is configured to be connected to the accessory being configured to be electrically connected to the accessory.
Zeller et al. substantial disclosed the claimed invention except the anchor fixture has anchor aperture for the anchor lock to be inserted therein. However, Zeller et al. disclosed the anchor has anchor aperture and the anchor fixture has anchor lock.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to reverse the anchor aperture and the anchor lock to the anchor fixture and the anchor respectively, since it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167.
Regarding claim 24, in the modified system, Zeller et al. disclose the anchor further comprises an anchor power connector (44) configured to electrically connect the anchor to one of the accessory and a power source, the anchor power connector being electrically connected to the second electrical element to conduct electricity between the second electrical element and the one of the accessory and the power source.
Regarding claim 25, in the modified system, Zeller et al. disclose the anchor fixture comprises a fixture power connector (not shown, at the end of electrical wire 26) configured to electrically connect the anchor fixture to the power source, the fixture power connector being electrically connected to the first electrical element to conduct electricity between the first electrical element and the other one of the accessory and the power source.
Regarding claim 26, in the modified system, Zeller et al. disclose the anchor fixture defines an anchor chamber, the anchor aperture opening into the anchor chamber; the anchor lock is configured to be inserted through the anchor aperture into the anchor chamber; and in the locked position, the anchor lock is disposed in the anchor chamber.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 8, 16 are allowed.
Claim 5, the prior art of record failed to teach the anchor comprising a magnetic contact disposed on the anchor body; the anchor fixture comprising at least one magnetic switch operatively connected to the first electrical element; the at least one magnetic switch being configured to permit operation of the first electrical element when activated by the magnetic contact.
Claim 8, the prior art of record failed to teach the anchor fixture defining a tongue aperture in one side of the fixture body, the tongue aperture being configured to receive therethrough a toe-in portion of a tongue bracket.
Claim 16, the prior art of record failed to teach the anchor fixture comprising at least one switch operatively connected to the first electrical element; and the at least one switch being configured to change polarity of the first electrical element in response to an orientation of the anchor connected to the anchor fixture.
Claims 12-14, 17, 48 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TRUC T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834