DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, applicant claims an “avoidance slot” with any context in the claim or specification to determine a limiting definition of “avoidance”. It is unclear whether applicant intends for the term to particularly limit the size, shape or purpose of the slot.
For the purposes of this action the office will interpret the claim such that “avoidance” does not convey any further limitation on the claim.
Claims 3-10 depend from claim 2.
Regarding claim 10, applicant claims the position-limiting plate and the first lens are “integrated”. It is unclear how the office should interpret “integrated”. The term could mean that the two parts are fixed together, where one part is within another part, where they adjacent or near one another, where their functions, not position, work together and so on.
For the purposes of this action the office will interpret the claim such that the two elements are located within the same device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ho et al. (PGPUB 20200249424, of record).
Regarding claim 1, Ho discloses a camera module, comprising a first camera device (Abst. and Figs. 1-2),
wherein the first camera device comprises a position-limiting block ([0066], Figs. 2 and 10, 1-213 or 1-214A/B), a position-limiting plate ([0067], 1-320), and a first lens assembly (1-100 holds a lens),
the first camera device is provided with a first accommodation space (Fig. 2, opening created by the depth and width defined by 1-120, 1-122 and 1-123),
the position-limiting block is fixed on an inner wall of the first accommodation space (Figs. 2 and 10),
the position-limiting block comprises a first long side and a second long side which are arranged in parallel (Figs. 2 and 10),
the position-limiting plate is fixed to an outer side surface of the first lens assembly, a portion of the position-limiting plate protrudes from the first lens assembly and is disposed between the first long side and the second long side (Fig. 10 shows 1-320 fixed to an edge of the lens assembly between long sides of 1-214A/B),
the first lens assembly drives the position-limiting plate to move along a first direction ([0080]), and
the first long side and the second long side limit a movement range of the position-limiting plate ([0080]).
Regarding claim 2, as best understood, Ho discloses wherein the first lens assembly comprises a first lens barrel (Fig. 10 where the barrel-shaped assembly is within 1-100), the first lens barrel is disposed in the first accommodation space (Fig. 10), an avoidance slot is disposed on an outer side surface of the first lens barrel (1-213/1-214), and the position-limiting plate is partially disposed in the avoidance slot and partially protrudes from the avoidance slot and is disposed between the first long side and the second long side (Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 3, Ho discloses wherein the avoidance slot is rectangular (Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 4, Ho discloses wherein the first lens assembly further comprises a first lens ([067]), the first lens barrel is further provided with a first assembly hole (1-310), the first assembly hole extends from a top of the first lens barrel to a bottom of the first lens barrel (Fig. 10), and the first lens is partially disposed in the first assembly hole and partially protrudes from the first assembly hole and is disposed outside the first accommodation space (Figs. 2-10 where the lens would protrude through the hole and is located outside the accommodation space).
Regarding claim 5, Ho discloses wherein an inner wall of the first assembly hole is provided with a slot (Figs. 2 and 5 show a slot in 1-310), and an edge of the first lens is assembled with the slot to connect and fix the first lens barrel and the first lens ([0067]).
Regarding claim 7, Ho discloses wherein the first camera device further comprises a first retaining spring and a second retaining spring, both the first retaining spring and the second retaining spring are fixed in the first accommodation space, the first retaining spring is disposed above the first lens barrel, and the second retaining spring is disposed below the first lens barrel (1-700 and 1-800 are elastic structures that function as first and second springs and located within the accommodation space as shown in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 8, Ho discloses wherein the first camera device further comprises a first driving coil and a first magnetic element, the first driving coil is fixed on the inner wall of the first accommodation space, the first magnetic element is fixed on the outer side surface of the first lens barrel, and the first driving coil and the first magnetic element drive the first lens barrel to move along the first direction ([0068] two driving coils 1-410 and magnets 1-520 as shown in Figs. 2-3).
Regarding claim 9, Ho discloses wherein the first camera device further comprises a first retaining spring, a second retaining spring, a first driving coil, and a first magnetic element, the first retaining spring and the second retaining spring are both fixed in the first accommodation space, the first retaining spring is disposed above the first lens barrel, and the second retaining spring is disposed below the first lens barrel ([0068] two driving coils 1-410 and magnets 1-520 as shown in Figs. 2-3); the first driving coil is fixed on the inner wall of the first accommodation space, the first magnetic element is fixed on the outer side surface of the first lens barrel, and the first driving coil and the first magnetic element drive the first lens barrel to move along the first direction ([0068] two driving coils 1-410 and magnets 1-520 as shown in Figs. 2-3).
Regarding claim 10, as best understood, Ho discloses wherein the position-limiting plate and the first lens barrel are integrated (Figs. 2 and 10).
Regarding claim 11, Ho discloses wherein the position-limiting block further comprises a short side, and one end of the first long side and one end of the second long side are respectively connected to two ends of the short side, so that the position-limiting block is a rectangular frame structure with one short side less (Fig. 10 where 1-214A/B each have a short side and long side).
Regarding claim 12, Ho discloses wherein the first camera device comprises a first housing and a first base, the first housing is a hollow structure, and the first base and the first housing are enclosed together to form the first accommodation space (Fig. 2 where the housing includes 1-122 and 1-110).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ho.
Regarding claim 6, Ho does not specifically disclose in the first embodiment wherein an inner wall of the first assembly hole is provided with a thread, the first lens is correspondingly provided with another thread, and the thread on the first lens cooperates with the thread in the first assembly hole to connect and fix the first lens barrel and the first lens.
However, Ho teaches similar embodiments throughout their disclosure and specifically that the lens and lens holder may be threaded ([0109] and Fig. 31).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to combine the threaded holder and lens assembly of the embodiment shown in Fig. 31 with the first embodiment motivated by improving lens fit.
Claims 13-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ho in view of Koyama et al. (PGPUB 20160282580).
Regarding claim 13, Ho does not disclose wherein the camera module further comprises a second camera device, the second camera device comprises a second lens barrel and a second lens, the second camera device is provided with a second accommodation space, the second accommodation space is connected to the first accommodation space, the second lens barrel is disposed in the second accommodation space, the second lens and the second lens barrel are assembled, the second lens is partially disposed in the second accommodation space and partially protrudes from the second accommodation space and is disposed in the first accommodation space, and the second lens is disposed below the first lens assembly.
However. Koyama teaches a lens barrel design wherein the camera module further comprises a second camera device (Fig. 5 3a and 3b), the second camera device comprises a second lens barrel and a second lens (1a/b and then 2a), the second camera device is provided with a second accommodation space (Fig. 5defined by 8c), the second accommodation space is connected to the first accommodation space (Fig. 5 by 8), the second lens barrel is disposed in the second accommodation space (Fig. 5), the second lens and the second lens barrel are assembled, the second lens is partially disposed in the second accommodation space and partially protrudes from the second accommodation space and is disposed in the first accommodation space, and the second lens is disposed below the first lens assembly (Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to combine Ho and Koyama such that there was a first and second lens camera device motivated by improving the optical performance of the camera.
Regarding claim 14, modified Ho disclose wherein the first camera device and the second camera device are connected by means of adhesive ([0007] and [0062] of Koyama).
Regarding claim 15, modified Ho discloses wherein the second lens barrel is provided with a second assembly hole, the second assembly hole extends from a top of the second lens barrel to a bottom of the second lens barrel, the second assembly hole is provided with a first thread, an outer side surface of the second lens is provided with a second thread, and the first thread and the second thread cooperate with each other (Fig. 5 of Koyama and Fig. 31 of Ho where the lenses are assembled via threads).
Regarding claims 16-17, modified Ho does not disclose wherein the second camera device further comprises a second magnetic element, an outer side surface of the second lens barrel is provided with a matching slot, and the second magnetic element is installed in the matching slot; and
wherein the second camera device further comprises a second driving coil, the second driving coil is fixed on an inner wall of the second accommodation space, and the second driving coil and the second magnetic element drive the second lens barrel to move along the first direction.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to duplicate the first lens assembly magnetic element and driving coil movement parts to the second lens assembly to allow movement, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art, St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8 (1977), in order to improve the focusing effect of the camera.
Regarding claims 18-19, modified Ho does not disclose wherein the second camera device further comprises a first elastic member, the first elastic member is fixed in the second accommodation space, and the first elastic member is disposed above the second lens barrel; and
wherein the second camera device further comprises a second elastic body, the second elastic body is fixed in the second accommodation space, and the second elastic body is disposed below the second lens barrel.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to duplicate the first and second elastic assemblies from the first camera lens barrel to be used in the second camera lens barrel, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art, St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8 (1977), in order to improve the focusing effect of the camera.
Regarding claim 20, modified Ho discloses wherein the second camera device comprises a second housing (8c of Koyama) and a second base (8d), the second housing is a hollow structure (Fig. 5), and the second base and the second housing are enclosed together to form the second accommodation space (Fig. 5 of Koyama).
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Conclusion
/TRAVIS S FISSEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872