DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of 1-10 in the reply filed on 07/09/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 11-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 and 8-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. U.S. Pat. No. 12,735,328. (hereafter ‘328) in view of Rani et al. (J. Mater. Sci. Technol., 2014 30(5), 459-465). (cited in the IDS filed on 09/29/2024).
Regarding claims 1-3,‘328 claims niobium oxide comprising molybdenum oxide. (claim 1).
‘328 does not claim that the niobate has the formula of claim 1.
Rani et al. discloses niobate particles having the general formula (K0.5Na0.5)Nb(1-x)MoxO3 (Abstract, Fig. 2) which is a K0.5Na0.5NbO3 material including Mo, where x = 0.5, y = 1 and z = 3, as claimed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select K0.5Na0.5NbO3 as the niobium oxide material in view of the advantageous structural, electrical and optical properties thereof.
Regarding claim 4, the particles of Rani et al. have a cube shape and a particle size of 5-7 micrometers. (Fig 2(a)-(b), see and p. 461, right side).
Regarding claims 8-10, Rani et al. teaches niobate particles having the general formula (K0.5Na0.5)Nb(1-x)MoxO3 (Abstract, Fig. 2) where x = 0.02, 0.04 and 0.06. With a molecular weight (g/mol) for each of the elements as follows: Nb: 92.9, O 16, Mo: 96.0, Na: 23 and K39.1 for a total of 177.1 g/mol for (K0.5Na0.5)Nb(1-x)MoxO3, the content of Mo at 0.02 would be 0.01% ((96x0.02)/(177.1)) to 0.03% by weight at x = 0.06, overlapping with the presently claimed range. The content of Nb is about 53% by weight with x = 0.02 – 0.06 ((92.9x99.8)/(177.1)) and the content of Na+K being about 17% by weight.
Claim 5 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. U.S. Pat. No. 12,735,328. (hereafter ‘328) in view of Qiu et al. (Preparation of nitrogen doped K2Nb4O11 with high photocatalytic activity for degradation of organic pollutants, Applied Catalysis A: General,Volume 402, Issues 1–2, 2011, Pages 23-30).
‘329 does not claim K2Nb4O11 particles as claimed.
Qiu et al. teaches nitrogen doped-K2Nb4O11 particles having photocatalytic activity (Abstract) which has a columnar shape having length, diameter and aspect ratio overlapping with the presently claimed range (see Fig. 2(a)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the K2Nb4O11 columnar particles in ‘328.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use K2Nb4O11 columnar as materials to be doped with Mo in order to alter the electrical and optical properties which would improve the photocatalytic and emission spectra properties.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. U.S. Pat. No. 12,735,328. (hereafter ‘328) in view of Ide et al. (Hydrothermal Conversion of Layered Niobate K4Nb6O17·3H2O to Rare Microporous Niobate K6Nb10.8O30, Inorg. Chem. 2017, 56, 10848-10851).
‘329 does not claim K4Nb6O17 particles as claimed.
Ide et al. teaches a method of hydrothermal conversion of layered niobate having the general formula K4Nb6O17 having dimensions lying inside the presently claimed range. (Abstract, Fig. 1a). Ide et al. teaches that K4Nb6O17 is a piezoelectric material that has unique properties including microchannels. (p. 10848, left col.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use K4Nb6O17 as the niobate material that is doped with Mo in ‘329
One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use K4Nb6O17 in view of the unique plate-like morphology having microchannels therein which would be of interest in applications involving phototcatlaysis, piezeoelectrics or adsorbents.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. U.S. Pat. No. 12,735,328. (hereafter ‘328) iin view of Souza (Layered niobate KNb3O8 synthesized by the polymeric precursor method, Cerâmica 64 (2018) 104-108).
‘329 does not claim does not disclose KNb3O8 particles as claimed.
Souza et al. discloses a layered niobate material of KNb3O8 having electro-optic, dielectric, piezoelectric and photocatalytic properties and length, diameter and aspect ratio overlapping with the presently claimed range. (Abstract, page 104 and Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the KNb3O8 layered particles disclosed in ‘329 as materials to be doped with Mo.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use KNb3O8 layered as materials to be doped with Mo in order to alter the electrical and optical properties which would improve the photocatalytic and emission spectra properties of the material.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2-3 contain the limitation “the niobate particles comprise” and K2Nb4O11 and K4Nb6O17. These formulas are incongruent with the formula of claim 1 of KxNa(1-x)NbyOz because x in these formulas of claims 2-3 is greater than 1.
Claims 5-6 are rejected for substantially the same reason as claims 2-3 above
Claims 4-7 are rejected as being dependent on claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rani et al. (J. Mater. Sci. Technol., 2014 30(5), 459-465). (cited in the IDS filed on 09/29/2024).
Regarding claims 1-3, Rani et al. discloses niobate particles having the general formula (K0.5Na0.5)Nb(1-x)MoxO3 (Abstract, Fig. 2) which is a K0.5Na0.5NbO3 material including Mo, where x = 0.5, y = 1 and z = 3, as claimed.
Regarding claim 4, the particles of Rani et al. have a cube shape and a particle size of 5-7 micrometers. (Fig 2(a)-(b), see and p. 461, right side).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rani et al. (J. Mater. Sci. Technol., 2014 30(5), 459-465). (cited in the IDS filed on 09/29/2024).
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claims 8-10, Rani et al. teaches niobate particles having the general formula (K0.5Na0.5)Nb(1-x)MoxO3 (Abstract, Fig. 2) where x = 0.02, 0.04 and 0.06. With a molecular weight (g/mol) for each of the elements as follows: Nb: 92.9, O 16, Mo: 96.0, Na: 23 and K39.1 for a total of 177.1 g/mol for (K0.5Na0.5)Nb(1-x)MoxO3, the content of Mo at 0.02 would be 0.01% ((96x0.02)/(177.1)) to 0.03% by weight at x = 0.06, overlapping with the presently claimed range. The content of Nb is about 53% by weight with x = 0.02 – 0.06 ((92.9x99.8)/(177.1)) and the content of Na+K being about 17% by weight.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rani et al. (J. Mater. Sci. Technol., 2014 30(5), 459-465). (cited in the IDS filed on 09/29/2024) in view of Qiu et al. (Preparation of nitrogen doped K2Nb4O11 with high photocatalytic activity for degradation of organic pollutants, Applied Catalysis A: General,Volume 402, Issues 1–2, 2011, Pages 23-30).
Rani is relied upon as described in the rejection of claims 1-2, above.
Rani et al. does not disclose K2Nb4O11 particles as claimed.
Qiu et al. teaches nitrogen doped-K2Nb4O11 particles having photocatalytic activity (Abstract) which has a columnar shape having length, diameter and aspect ratio overlapping with the presently claimed range (see Fig. 2(a)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the K2Nb4O11 columnar particles disclosed in Qiu et al. as materials to be doped with Mo.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use K2Nb4O11 columnar as materials to be doped with Mo in order to alter the electrical and optical properties which would improve the photocatalytic and emission spectra properties.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rani et al. (J. Mater. Sci. Technol., 2014 30(5), 459-465) (cited in the IDS filed on 09/29/2024) in view of Ide et al. (Hydrothermal Conversion of Layered Niobate K4Nb6O17·3H2O to Rare Microporous Niobate K6Nb10.8O30, Inorg. Chem. 2017, 56, 10848-10851).
Rani is relied upon as described in the rejection of claims 1-2, above.
Rani et al. does not disclose K4Nb6O17 particles as claimed.
Ide et al. teaches a method of hydrothermal conversion of layered niobate having the general formula K4Nb6O17 having dimensions lying inside the presently claimed range. (Abstract, Fig. 1a). Ide et al. teaches that K4Nb6O17 is a piezoelectric material that has unique properties including microchannels. (p. 10848, left col.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use K4Nb6O17 as the niobate material that is doped with Mo in Rani et al.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use K4Nb6O17 in view of the unique plate-like morphology having microchannels therein which would be of interest in applications involving phototcatlaysis, piezeoelectrics or adsorbents.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rani et al. (J. Mater. Sci. Technol., 2014 30(5), 459-465). (cited in the IDS filed on 09/29/2024) in view of Souza (Layered niobate KNb3O8 synthesized by the polymeric precursor method, Cerâmica 64 (2018) 104-108).
Rani is relied upon as described in the rejection of claims 1-2, above.
Rani et al. does not disclose KNb3O8 particles as claimed.
Souza et al. discloses a layered niobate material of KNb3O8 having electro-optic, dielectric, piezoelectric and photocatalytic properties and length, diameter and aspect ratio overlapping with the presently claimed range. (Abstract, page 104 and Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the KNb3O8 layered particles disclosed in Qiu et al. as materials to be doped with Mo.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use KNb3O8 layered as materials to be doped with Mo in order to alter the electrical and optical properties which would improve the photocatalytic and emission spectra properties of the material.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDRE F FERRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1788 09/03/2026