DETAILED ACTION
This communication is a non-Final office action in merits. Claims 1-8, after preliminary amendment, are presently pending and have been elected and considered below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/30/2024, 8/6/2025, 2/3/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Invocation of 35 USC § 112(f)
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a first location information acquisition unit that acquires; a second location information acquisition unit that acquires; an individual identification unit that associates and records, in claim 1; an appearance determination unit that executes; in claim 2; the appearance determination unit determines in claims 3-4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim 8 does not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because
Claim 8 recites: “A program that causes an information processing device to execute the processing of …”
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim recites a program that encompasses pure software, which does not fall within the definition of a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
nonobviousness.
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2018/0228129 A1, YAJIMA et al. (hereinafter YAJIMA).
As to claim 1, YAJIMA discloses an information processing device, comprising:
a first location information acquisition unit that acquires a captured image including an animal being bred within a predetermined breeding area (Abstract; Figs 1, 3, 10; pars 0008-0011, 0013, 0057, 0099, 0110, 0112, 0114, an image data acquisition unit capturing an image of a target livestock animal by cameras), and acquires, as first location information, a location of the animal within the breeding area, calculated based on the image of the animal in the captured image (Figs 1, 3; pars 0008-0009, 0143, 0159, determining a position of an animal in predetermined area (barn) based on images captured by camera(s));
a second location information acquisition unit that acquires, from a terminal device provided on the animal, identification information on the animal and second location information indicating the location of the animal within the breeding area (Figs 1, 3; pars 0014, 0057, 0059-0061, 0143, 0160, 196, 0215, 0223, acquires individual animals position information based on identification information from radio identification device attached on the animals); and
an individual identification unit that, in a case of determining that a difference between the first location information and the second location information is below or equal to a predetermined threshold, associates and records the first location information and the identification information related to the second location information (Figs 4, 17; pars 0010, 0114, 0214-0215, 0231-0236, when position captured by camaras and obtained from terminal attached on an animal being within a predetermined position range, then ID and position being registered and stored).
Although YAJIMA teaches above limitations in one or more embodiments, consider YAJIMA’s teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to an ordinary skill in the art to consider YAJIMA’s teachings as a whole to provide an animal monitoring and tracking device and system to obtain predictable performance and results.
As to claim 2, YAJIMA as modified discloses the information processing device according to claim 1, further comprising an appearance determination unit that executes determination on preset appearance determination items regarding an appearance of the animal, based on the captured image of the animal, uses a determination result thereof as appearance information on the animal, acquires the first location information calculated from the image of the animal that is a target of the determination, and associates and records the identification information related to the first location information and the appearance information (Figs 36-37; pars 0450-0451, utilize position information, images captured at different times/locations to determine target animal’s weight, body size changes, etc. (e.g. predetermined terms for animal appearance parameters)).
As to claim 3, YAJIMA discloses the information processing device according to claim 2, wherein the appearance determination unit determines an appearance of the animal using a trained model that has been pre-trained with a relationship between an image acquired of the animal and appearance information that is the determination result for the preset appearance determination items (pars 0306-0307, 0334, 0427, machine learning model and algorithm being stored and utilized for training).
As to claim 4, YAJIMA discloses the information processing device according to claim 2, wherein the appearance determination unit determines an appearance of the animal, based on an image acquired of the animal and a preset criterion for determining a feature of the animal in the image related to the appearance determination items (Figs 5, 21-24, feature extraction; pars 0127, 0137-0138, 0159, 0177, satisfy predetermined condition/criterion).
As to claim 5, YAJIMA discloses the information processing device according to claim 1 where in the second location information is calculated based on a direction of arrival of radio waves transmitted from the terminal device provided on the animal (Fig 10; pars 0372, 0442).
As to claim 6, YAJIMA discloses the information processing device according to claim 2, wherein the appearance information on each individual animal chronologically recorded by the appearance determination unit is used for predicting a point in time of at least one of disease, estrus, calving, growth, or weaning of the animal (par 0435, disease).
As to claim 7, it is a method claim necessitated claim 1. Rejection of claim 1 is therefore incorporated herein.
As to claim 8, it recites a program executed to perform functions and features of claim 7. Claim 8 is rejected with the same reason as set forth in claim 7.
Examiner’s Note
Examiner has cited particular column, line number, paragraphs and/or figure(s) in the reference(s) as applied to the claims for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the reference(s) in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
Contact Information
/QUN SHEN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2662