FDETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Carminati (WO 2018154496 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Carminati discloses a brake disc (1) comprising a bell (9) having a bell base (10) and a tubular wall (unnumbered peripheral wall of 9) protruding axially from said bell base (see Fig. 9), said brake disc further comprising a braking band (5) having a band opening (central opening of 5; see Fig. 7), wherein the tubular wall of said bell comprises a cup toothing system (11) extending along an outer circumference of said tubular wall and having cup teeth (outward teeth of 11) protruding outwardly in a radial direction (see Fig. 7), said cup teeth are circumferentially spaced by empty cup gaps (recess between the teeth of 11), wherein each empty cup gap is located in the circumferential direction between adjacent cup teeth (see Fig. 7), the braking band comprises a ring toothing system (8) having an annular ring body (annular body of 8) from which ring teeth (inward teeth of 8) radially protrude inwardly at the band opening (see Fig. 7), wherein said ring teeth are circumferentially spaced by ring tooth gaps (spaces between the teeth of 8), wherein each ring tooth gap is located in the circumferential direction between ring teeth (see Fig. 7); and wherein the cup toothing system (11) and the ring toothing system (8) are mutually meshing (see ¶ 0052), and wherein said braking band is a ventilated braking band comprising a first wheel-side band plate (unnumbered plate toward base 10) and a second vehicle-side band plate (opposed unnumbered plate) mutually facing and spaced apart by a ventilation duct (interpalte space) and mutually connected by plate connecting elements (unnumbered interplate members; see Fig. 9); characterized in that said annular ring body (8) of said ring toothing system is at least partially facing said ventilation duct (interplate space) forming at least one annular channel (recess above the inclined web of 8) at the base of said first or second plate (plate carrying braking surface 6) delimited by said tubular wall of said bell (peripheral wall of 9) at least on one side thereof (see Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 12, Carminati discloses a brake disc, according to claim 11, wherein said annular ring body (annular body of 8) is a single continuous body in the circumferential direction (see Fig. 7); and wherein said annular ring body is connected to one of said first or second plate (plate carrying braking surface 7) by at least one inclined connecting element (unnumbered annular web) which forms said annular channel (recess above the web) at the base of said first or second plate (see Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 13, Carminati discloses a brake disc, according to claim 11, wherein said annular ring body (8) is connected to one of said first or second plates (plate carrying braking surface 7) by at least one circumferentially continuous inclined connecting element (unnumbered annular web, see Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 20, Carminati discloses a brake disc according to claim 11, wherein said bell (9) is obtained from at least one deformed and shaped sheet metal (see ¶ 0058).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carminati (WO 2018154496 A1) in view of Eggleston et al. (US 20180058523 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Carminati discloses a brake disc according to claim 11, wherein said annular ring body (annular body of connection portion 8) comprises a flared ring wall (unnumbered inclined wall extending from the toothed region toward the plate carrying braking surface 7) facing said tubular wall of said bell (peripheral wall of bell 9; see Fig. 9).
Carminati does not expressly disclose wherein said flared ring wall is frustoconical.
Eggleston teaches a flared ring wall (wall of annular flange 8010) which is frustoconical (see ¶ 0091 and Fig. 28A). Eggleston identifies the frustoconical form as accommodating a vehicle-hub configuration and potentially reducing flange weight (see ¶ 0092).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the flared wall of Carminati's annular connection portion 8 to have a frustoconical profile, as taught by Eggleston (see ¶ 0091 and Figs. 28A-28B), as a known alternative geometry for spanning the radial and axial offset between the braking plate and bell-engaging region. Carminati already uses this connection to transmit braking torque to the bell (9) (see ¶¶ 0033-35 and Fig. 9). Substituting a continuous, inclined frustoconical wall while retaining the tooth engagement and annular-channel clearance would predictably maintain the same supporting and torque-transmitting function.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carminati (WO 2018154496 A1) in view of Zhang et al. (CN 215908286 U).
Regarding claim 15, Carminati discloses a brake disc according to claim 11, and an annular ring body (annular body of connection portion 8) connected through an inclined connecting element (unnumbered annular web) to one plate (plate carrying braking surface 7), with an opposite plate (plate carrying braking surface 6; Fig. 9).
Carminati does not expressly disclose annular ring body connected in a discontinuous manner to an opposite plate relative to said first or second plate.
Zhang teaches the connection arrangement of an annular ring body (annular torque-transmitting portion 200) connected in a discontinuous manner (through circumferentially separated root supports 210) to an opposite plate relative to said first or second plate (opposed plates of disc portion 100) (see Zhang, ¶¶ 0039 and 0049 of the Chinese publication and corresponding English machine translation; and Figs. 5-6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the brake disc of Carminati to connect annular connection portion 8 to the opposite plate carrying braking surface 6 through circumferentially separated root supports, as taught by Zhang, in order to transmit braking loads from both plates directly to the torque-transmitting connection portion and reduce stress concentration and one-sided cracking associated with support through one plate. Carminati's existing inclined connection to the plate carrying surface 8 would remain, and the separated supports would leave intervening spaces for ventilation (see Zhang, ¶ 0040 of the Chinese publication and corresponding English machine translation).
Claims 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carminati (WO 2018154496 A1) in view of Zhang et al. (CN 215908286 U), and further in view of Seuser et al. (US 20110100774 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Carminati discloses a brake disc according to claim 11, including said annular ring body (annular body of connection portion 8) adjacent said ventilation duct (interplate space) and said opposite plate (plate carrying braking surface 6; see Fig. 9).
Carminati does not expressly disclose annular ring body connected in a discontinuous manner to an opposite plate relative to said first or second plate by means of a plurality of ring column elements which extend mainly in an axial direction.
Zhang teaches an annular ring body (annular torque-transmitting portion 200) connected in a discontinuous manner to the opposed plates (plates of disc portion 100) by means of a plurality of connecting supports (root supports 210; see ¶ 0039 and Fig. 5).
Seuser teaches a plurality of column elements (supports 36) which extend mainly in an axial direction (longitudinal axes perpendicular to disc center plane 32; see ¶ 0048 and Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Carminati's annular connection portion 8 by connecting it to the opposite plate carrying braking surface 6 through spaced root supports, as taught by Zhang, and to form those supports as axially extending columns, as taught by Seuser, in order to provide a direct load path from the opposite plate to the torque-transmitting ring while spanning the axial separation with discrete supports that preserve cooling-air spaces. Connecting both plates would reduce one-sided stress, and the axial column configuration would support the spaced members while permitting air circulation (see Zhang ¶ 0040 of the Chinese publication and corresponding English machine translation; and Seuser ¶ 0044).
Regarding claim 17, Carminati discloses a brake disc according to claim 11. The discontinuous connection of its annular ring body (8) to the opposite plate (plate carrying braking surface 6) through mainly axial ring column elements is provided by the modification of Carminati in view of Zhang and Seuser discussed above regarding claim 16.
Carminati does not expressly disclose that said ring column elements have a shape enlarged at their ends and tapered toward a portion of lesser size located between said ends.
Seuser teaches said column elements (supports 36) have a shape enlarged at their ends (widened end portions adjoining the opposed friction-path plates) and tapered toward a portion of lesser size located between said ends (narrower region at the casting-core parting plane, from which the conical portions widen in opposite directions; see ¶0057).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the columns connecting Carminati's annular connection portion 8 to the opposite plate, as provided by Zhang and Seuser, to have enlarged ends tapering toward a narrower intermediate portion, as taught by Seuser, in order to control conductive heat flow through the columns by selecting their end cross sections and taper angles, thereby reducing thermal gradients and associated distortion. Seuser expressly relates the opposed conical portions and their selected cone angles to heat flow control (see Seuser ¶¶ 0049-51 and 0057).
Regarding claim 18, Carminati discloses a brake disc according to claim 11. The discontinuous connection of its annular ring body (8) to the opposite plate (plate carrying braking surface 6) through mainly axial ring column elements is provided by the modification of Carminati in view of Zhang and Seuser discussed above regarding claim 16.
Carminati does not expressly disclose that ventilation openings are formed between ring column elements which connect said band opening with said ventilation duct.
Zhang teaches ventilation openings (radial air inlets 201) formed between column elements (root supports 210) which connect the central opening with the ventilation passage (inlets 201 communicate with suction duct 131 and the internal airflow passages; see ¶¶ 0041, 0042, and 0044 of the Chinese publication and corresponding English machine translation; Fig. 6). Seuser supplies the mainly axial column configuration (supports 36; see ¶ 0048 and Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the brake disc of Carminati, using the ring to opposite plate column arrangement discussed above regarding claim 16, to leave ventilation openings between those columns communicating from the central band opening to the ventilation duct, as taught by Zhang, in order to admit cooling air through the inner circumference while supporting the opposite plate. The openings would permit incoming cooling air to pass through the added support arrangement into the ventilation duct (see Zhang ¶¶ 0042 and 0044 of the Chinese publication and corresponding English machine translation).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carminati (WO 2018154496 A1) in view of Modl (DE 102019126445 A1).
Regarding claim 19, Carminati discloses a brake disc according to claim 11, wherein said bell (9) comprises axial blocking prominences (16) which limit displacement of said braking band (5) in the axial direction (see ¶ 0036).
Carminati does not expressly disclose at least one of said cup teeth or at least one tubular wall portion of said bell which delimits said empty cup gap comprises at least one radial cup deformation or radial and circumferential cup deformation which forms at least one axial abutment which delimits the displacement in axial direction of at least one ring tooth at least in one direction.
Modl teaches at least one of said cup teeth or at least one tubular wall portion (254) of said bell which delimits said empty cup gap (246; see Fig. 6) comprises at least one radial cup deformation (radially reshaped retaining element 314; see ¶ 0178) or radial and circumferential cup deformation which forms at least one axial abutment (bridge part 342) which delimits the displacement in axial direction of at least one ring tooth (194) at least in one direction (see ¶ 0168 and Fig. 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the brake disc of Carminati to form its axial blocking prominences as integral, radially deformed bridge-shaped retaining elements in the bell wall portions delimiting the cup gaps, as taught by Modl, in order to provide stable axial stops for positioning the braking band during assembly and resisting its axial displacement (see Modl ¶ 0172).
Conclusion
/K.A/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3616
/Robert A. Siconolfi/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3616