DETAILED ACTION
Claims 18-39 are pending in the application.
Examiner’s Note: The examiner has cited particular passages including column and line numbers, paragraphs as designated numerically and/or figures as designated numerically in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claims, other passages, paragraphs and figures of any and all cited prior art references may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing an eventual response, to fully consider the context of the passages, paragraphs and figures as taught by the prior art and/or cited by the examiner while including in such consideration the cited prior art references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention. MPEP 2141.02 VI: “PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS."
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/30/2024 was filed after the mailing date of the first office action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: The claim recites “wherein the control system is configured, during runtime of the technical installation, upon instigation of a first operator for the operation and observation of the technical installation, at at least one first time point”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 18-23, 26-29, 31-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nixon et al. US Pub. No. 2014/0277595 (“Nixon”).
Regarding claim 18, Nixon discloses a control system for a technical installation, comprising [See fig. 1 or 8]:
at least one operator station server [150]; and
at least one operator station client [112] connected to the operator station server;
wherein the operator station server is configured to transfer visualization information to the operator station client [See further par. 58];
[0053] In operation of the UI device 112, the UI device 112 may, in some embodiments, execute a user interface ("UI"), allowing the UI device 112 to accept input via an input interface and provide output at a display. The UI device 112 may receive data (e.g., process related data such as process parameters, log data, sensor data, and/or any other data that may be captured and stored in the big data appliance 102), from the server 150. In other embodiments, the UI may be executed, in whole or in part, at the server 150, where the server 150 may transmit display data to the UI device 112. The UI device 112 may receive UI data (which may include display data and process parameter data) via the backbone 105 from other nodes in the process control network 100, such as the controller 11, the wireless gateway 35, or the server 150. Based on the UI data received at the UI device 112, the UI device 112 provides output (i.e., visual representations or graphics) representing aspects of the process associated with the process control network 100, allowing the user to monitor the process. The user may also affect control of the process by providing input at the UI device 112. To illustrate, the UI device 112 may provide graphics representing, for example, a tank filling process. In such a scenario, the user may read a tank level measurement and decide that the tank needs to be filled. The user may interact with an inlet valve graphic displayed at the UI device 112 and input a command causing the inlet valve to open.
wherein the operator station client is configured to generate a visualization for an operator for operation and observation of the technical installation based on the visualization information [See par. 53 above; further par. 54-56, 58 and fig. 10];
wherein the control system is configured, during runtime of the technical installation, upon instigation of a first operator for the operation and observation of the technical installation, at [[at]] least one first time point, to acquire a current state of the visualization of an installation state which is generated at this time point by a first of the operator station clients and to deposit said current state of the visualization in a, non-volatile, first memory store [See further fig. 12];
[0057] In certain embodiments, the UI device 112 may implement any type of client, such as a thin client, web client, or thick client. For example, the UI device 112 may depend on other nodes, computers, or servers for the bulk of the processing necessary for operation of the UI device 112. In such an example, the UI device 112 may communicate with the server 150, where the server 150 may communicate with one or more other nodes on the process control network 100 and may determine the display data and/or process data to transmit to the UI device 112. Furthermore, the UI device 112 may pass any data related to received user input to the server 150 so that the server 150 may process the data related to user input and operate accordingly. In other words, the UI device 112 may do little more than render graphics and act as a portal to one or more nodes or servers that store the data and execute the routines necessary for operation of the UI device 112. A thin client UI device offers the advantage of minimal hardware requirements for the UI device 112.
wherein the acquisition of the state of the visualization comprises an acquisition of inputs by the first operator for generating the current state of the visualization and wherein the deposition of the state comprises a deposition of the acquired inputs; and
[0060] In operation, a user may interact with the UI device 112 to monitor or control one or more devices in the process control network 100, such as any of the field devices 15-22 or the devices 40-48. The user may interact with the UI device 112, for example, to modify or change a parameter associated with a control routine stored in the controller 11. The processor 30 of the controller 11 implements or oversees one or more process control routines (stored in a memory 32), which may include control loops. The processor 30 may communicate with the field devices 15-22 and 40-46 and with other nodes that are communicatively connected to the backbone 105. It should be noted that any control routines or modules (including quality prediction and fault detection modules or function blocks) described herein may have parts thereof implemented or executed by different controllers or other devices if so desired. [Read further par. 61]
[0054] In further operation, the UI device 112 may execute a number of routines, modules, or services in addition to the UI. In one embodiment the UI device 112 may execute a context awareness routine, which may include, for example, various routines or sub-routines related to location awareness, equipment awareness, or scheduling awareness (as shown in FIG. 27). These context routines may enable the UI device 112 to render a graphical user interface configuration ("GUI configuration") suited to a particular environment or context in which the UI device 112 is operating. The UI device 112 may also execute a state determination routine, enabling the UI device 112 to track and save the state of the UI device 112, including the state of the applications being executed at the UI device 112 (such as the UI). By tracking the state of applications on the UI device 112, the UI device 112 may allow a user to, for example, initiate a session on a first UI device 112 and start using a second UI device 112, resuming work flow from his previous session with minimal interruption. [Read further par. 83-88, 95, 99, 113. 124, 131, 134]
[0141] The server 150 may save UI state information (e.g., to the database 151) periodically or in response to a triggering event. The UI state information may represent the state of the UI device at the time of capture. The UI state information may include information relating to the user or operator interacting with the UI device; the applications, programs, routines, or modules executing with respect to the UI device; the graphics or sound being presented at the UI device; the portion(s) of the plant about which data displayed pertain; or any other information relating to operation of the UI device. When the server 150 receives a request for a state transfer, the server 150 may access locally saved UI state information at the database 151 and may transmit the UI state information to the appropriate UI executing at the server 150. The UI may transmit corresponding display data to the appropriate UI device. For example, the UI device 112b may request state information from UI device 112a (where the user 901 may wish to switch UI devices from 112a to 112b without disrupting workflow, for example). In some embodiments, the UI device 112a and 112b may each have a UI executing at the server 150. The server 150 may access locally stored UI state information at the database 151 and may pass the UI state information to the UI for the UI device 112b. The UI for the UI device 112b may determine what should be displayed at the UI device 112b based on the saved UI state information, and transfer display data to the UI device 112b. [Read further par. 142-144]
[0145] In some embodiments, the capture of UI state information may occur automatically. For example, the UI device 112a may capture state information on a predetermined, periodic basis (e.g., capturing state information every 5, 10, or 30 minutes). The UI device 112a may also capture state information in reaction to a triggering event or activity. The triggering event may be related to user input (e.g., capturing state information any time user input is received, or on a schedule correlated to receiving user input) or the information provided at the UI device 112a (e.g., capturing state information any time there is an alarm, or any time a particular measurement or value reaches a specified threshold). Alternatively, or additionally, the UI device 112a may capture UI state information manually, in response to user input representing a command to capture or to transfer the UI state information. For example, the display 920 may provide a graphic that the user 901 may interact with that causes a capture to occur. The input interface 930 may also have a mechanism (such as a button, key, or trackpad) allowing the user 901 to initiate a capture. In certain instances, a request by another UI device (such as one of the UI devices 112b-k) may also trigger capture at the UI device 112a. As another example, the UI devices 112a-112k may capture and transfer state information when two UI devices are touched (or brought within close proximity--e.g., within a 5 cm, 2 cm, 1 cm, etc.--to each other (e.g., via near-field communication).
wherein the control system is further configured to receive from the first operator, via the first operator station client, an information item relating to at least one second operator for the operation and observation of the technical installation as a recipient for the deposited state of the visualization and to assign the state of the visualization deposited in the first memory store to this second operator.
[0088] While the first user increases air flow at the furnace, the second user may run a query on the furnace to see if previous users have also been increasing air flow over the past several shifts. The query confirms that they have. The second user may pull up a graph showing air flow through the furnace with event information for each time air flow was increased, who made the changes, etc., all of which has been stored in the big data appliance. The second user may share this information with the first user, for example by requesting a shared user-interface (UI) session. The first user may receive, via the server, the request for the UI session. If the first user accepts the request, the server may capture state information associated with the UI displayed to the second user, and may cause the display of the tablet the first user is using to display data according to the state information from the second user. Together, the first and second users may review the data regarding the furnace and may determine that the furnace frequently experiences similar problems. The second user may then query the big data system about low O2 gas measurement events at the furnace. The big data system may provide a number of events, devices, users, times, and other factors that correlate to low O2 gas measurement events at the furnace.
[0171] Each UI device 112 may include data representing a user ID 1205, a session ID 1210, a client device ID 1215, and/or a UI type 1220. The user ID 1205 may correspond to a single user or operator and operates as a unique identifier. Similarly, the session ID 1210 may function as a unique identifier of a particular user session at the UI device 112. A user session is generally considered a period of use by a particular user without any extended breaks.
[0118] FIG. 8 is a block diagram of a UI device 803 in the context of a mobile control room 800. The mobile control room 800 may enable the UI device 803 to transmit a state of operation to another system or device and/or receive a UI state of operation from another system or device. The mobile control room 800 also includes a UI device 803a, the server 150, and a UI device 803b. Each of the UI devices 803, 803a, 803b may be any one of a variety of UI device types, as described below with reference to FIG. 9B. The server 150 may include a web service or web routine 152, which may be stored at a memory at the server 150 and executed by a processor at the server 150.
[0132] In an embodiment of the present disclosure, state information is seamlessly transferred from a first UI device to a second UI device, allowing a user to resume on, or transfer to, the second UI device a session from the first UI device without any interruption in work flow. The state transfer may also allow a first user of a first UI device to collaborate with a second user of a second UI device, so that the two users may work on tasks or work items in a cooperative manner.
[0134] The mobile control room 900a may enable the user 901 to synchronize the UI devices 912a and 912b by transferring the state of the UI device 912a to the UI device 912b. The UI state transfer may cause the UI device 912b to display similar information to the information displayed at the UI device 912a. The state transfer may also cause the UI device 912b to execute similar routines or applications executing at the UI device 912a. Furthermore, the similar routines or applications on the UI device 912b may execute at the same state as the routines or applications executing at the UI device 92a. By transferring the UI state of operation from UI device 912a to UI device 912b, the user 901 may stop using UI device 912a and start using UI device 912b without any loss in workflow.
[0135] Similarly, the control room 900a may enable a secure collaboration session to be established between at least two UI devices. In an embodiment, the secure collaboration session may be established automatically when the two devices 912 move into each other's proximity and become mutually aware of one another. Once the session is established, synchronization of data between the UI devices during a collaborative work session may be performed. More particularly, the user 901 may collaborate with the user 902, where the UI device 912b may transfer state information to the UI device 912c. By transferring state information from UI device 912b to UI device 912c, the UI device 912c may identify the state of operation of the UI device 912b. For example, the UI device 912c may depict the same or similar information being displayed at the UI device 912b. The UI devices 912b and 912c may also launch communication routines, allowing the users 901 and 902 to exchange information (such as text, video, and Voice over IP) via the UI devices 912b and 912c. For example, the UI devices 912b and 912c may exchange information pertaining to work items or tasks, allowing the users 901 and 902 to work on an item or task in a coordinated manner, even if the users 901 and 902 are not viewing the same displays on the respective UI devices 912b and 912c. In one example, the users may be able to checkout a device via the UI devices, so that others user knows the device is being addressed. [Read further par. 136-137]
[0151] In another embodiment, the UI devices 112a-112k may transfer state information to each other through the network 100 or through some other network or communication, such as a personal area network (e.g., a Bluetooth network) or near field communication. In some embodiments, the receiving UI device may initiate the transfer of UI state information, while in other embodiments the transferring UI device initiates said transfer. In yet another embodiment, the state transfer may occur by saving the UI state information to a memory (such as a the memory on a USB thumb drive) and accessing the memory to retrieve the UI state information at a second UI device.
[0201] The first UI device 112, or the server 150, may transfer the stored state of the one or more first routines to a second UI device 112 (block 1620). In some embodiments, the state information may be passed via an Internet connection. In other embodiments, the state information may be passed from the first UI device 112 or server 150 to the second UI device 112 via point-to-point wireless connection. The state information may also be transferred from the first UI device 112 to the second UI device 112 via an intermediary device or server 150. In some instances, the state information may be passed via wireless communication according to a protocol such as the Bluetooth protocol or the near field communication protocol. In certain embodiments, the state may be transferred to the second UI device 112 upon detection of the first UI device 112 by the second UI device 112, or upon detection of the second UI device 112 by the first UI device 112. Transferring the stored state to the second UI device 112 may include transferring the stored state upon an instruction received at the first UI device 112, where the instruction instructs the first UI device 112 to pass the stored state to the second UI device 112.
Regarding claim 19, Nixon discloses the control system is further configured, at the runtime of the technical installation at the instigation of the first operator, at a plurality of different first time points, to acquire, at each time point on the first operator station client, a respective current state of the visualization of an installation state in the technical installation and to deposit said respective current state of the visualization in the memory store; wherein the memory store is configured to store all states of the visualization of the plurality of different first time points; and wherein the control system is further configured to receive from the first operator, via the first operator station client, for each of the deposited states of the visualization, an information item relating to a second operator as the recipient of the deposited state of the visualization and to assign the state of the visualization deposited in the memory store to this second operator [See fig. 10 – Session 1270s and par. 145, 172, 177-178, 240. 248 - permission information].
Regarding claim 20, Nixon discloses the control system is further configured, on a request by the second operator at a second time point which is different from the first time point or from the plurality of first different time points, to retrieve the state of the visualization from the first memory store or from a second memory store replicated with the first memory store and to bring a visualization currently being presented at the second time point to the second operator by one of the operator station clients to the state retrieved from the memory store [See par. 227-229, 232-233].
Regarding claim 21, Nixon discloses the control system is further configured to retrieve automatically the state of the visualization from the first memory store or from a second memory store replicated with the first memory store and to bring the visualization currently being presented at the second time point to the second operator by one of the operator station clients to the state retrieved from the memory store; and wherein the control system is further configured, before the updating, to generate a request to the second operator as to whether the updating should be performed [par. 88 - The first user may receive, via the server, the request for the UI session. If the first user accepts the request… may cause the display of the tablet the first user is using to display data according to the state information from the second user].
Regarding claim 22, Nixon discloses the control system is further configured to retrieve automatically the state of the visualization from the first memory store or from a second memory store replicated with the first memory store and to bring the visualization currently being presented at the second time point to the second operator by one of the operator station clients to the state retrieved from the memory store; and wherein the control system is further configured, before the updating, to generate a request to the second operator as to whether the updating should be performed [par. 88 - The first user may receive, via the server, the request for the UI session. If the first user accepts the request… may cause the display of the tablet the first user is using to display data according to the state information from the second user].
Regarding claim 23, Nixon discloses the state of the visualization comprises at least one of a graphical reproduction, occurring at the first time point, of an installation image of the technical installation, a trend indication of a measurement value from the technical installation, a faceplate, a notification sequence indication, an unsecured input by the first operator in a text field and a setpoint value of a regulator set by the first operator [See fig. 10, and par. 160, 218, 223, 240].
Regarding claim 26, Nixon discloses the control system is further configured to establish states of visualizations deposited by the first operator in the memory store, to generate an information item for each of the established deposited states, and to represent this information item visually to the first operator [See fig. 10 – Session and par. 143, 148].
Regarding claim 27, Nixon discloses the control system is further configured to establish states of visualizations deposited in the memory store for the second operator as recipient, to generate an information item for each of the established deposited states, and to represent this information item visually to the second operator [See fig. 10 – Session and par. 143, 148].
Regarding claim 28, Nixon discloses the control system includes a user selection service, a first part of which is implemented on the at least one operator station server and a second part of which is implemented on the at least one operator station client, and where the control system is further configured to establish the states deposited in the memory store of visualizations, to generate an information item for each of the established deposited states, and to represent this information item visually to the operator [See fig. 11 and par. 178, 178-186].
Regard claim 29, Nixon discloses the first memory store is a non-volatile storage region of the operator station server [See fig. 1, 3, 12A, 26].
Regarding claim 31, Nixon discloses the at least one operator station client is configured to present, in a plurality of fields which are arranged at least one of beside and under one another, respectively different visualizations and to receive, from the second operator, an information item regarding in which of the fields a visualization currently being presented there to the second operator by the operator station client is to be brought into the state retrieved from the memory store [See fig. 10 and par. 4, 53, 58, 61, 126, 141-142, 154].
Regarding claim 32, Nixon discloses the technical installation comprises a production or processing installation [See fig. 1A and 10].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 24-25, 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nixon as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Lutz Benjamin WO2020074653 (“Lutz”).
Regarding claim 24, Nixon discloses the control system is further configured to automatically establish operators registered in the control system at the runtime of the installation [par. 146, 248 - the UI device 112b may force the user 201 to enter a user ID and password in order to log on to the UI device 112b]. Nixon does not expressly teach and to offer them to the first operator as recipients for the deposited state of the visualization for selection.
Lutz teaches another invention relates to a Method for transmitting operating information of a first operator of a first operator station client of an operator station server to a second operator of a second operation station client. Specifically, Lutz teaches offer them to the first operator as recipients for the deposited state of the visualization for selection.
The second operator grants the first operator write rights on the memory part of the memory 14, 15 assigned to him. The write rights do not have to be limited to the first operator, rather a large number of operators can have write rights on the corresponding memory part.
The first operator uses the first operator station client 4 and, with the help of the first operator station client 4, defines operating information in the form of a system picture which is intended for transmission or forwarding to the second operator. The operating information is stored with the help of a user service 16 on the memory part of the memory 14 of the first operator station server 4 assigned to the second operator. From there, the operating information is transferred to the memory 15 of the second operator station server 3 by means of an automatic replication of the memory content, so that the memory part of the memory 15 assigned to the second operator also contains the operating information stored by the first operator. The first operator station server 4 and the second operator station server 3 can, but do not have to be operated redundantly [pages 6-8].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Nixon with offer them to the first operator as recipients for the deposited state of the visualization for selection of Lutz. The motivation for doing so would has been to prevent user input and eliminate manual entry error since the first operator would not need to enter information to identify the second operator.
Regarding claim 25, Lutz teaches the operators are assigned access rights for visualizations and the control system is further configured to offer to the first operator only those operators as recipients for selection who have an access right for the respective deposited visualization [page 6-8 - write rights].
Regarding claim 30, Lutz teaches the control system comprises a plurality of operator station servers [2 and 3 – Fig. 2], each operator station server having a memory store for depositing states of visualizations; and wherein the memory stores are replicated with one another [See page 7 - The two operator station servers 2, 3 are laid out redundantly at least with regard to the two memories 14, 15. This means that in both memories 14, 15 the same information is stored. When new information is written into one of the two memories 14, 15, the memory content is compared by means of an automatic replication.].
Claim(s) 33-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nixon in view of Lutz.
Regarding claim 33, Nixon discloses a method for operating a control system of a technical installation which comprises at least one operator station server [150] and at least one operator station client [112], the operator station server being configured to transfer visualization information to the operator station client and the operator station client being configured to generate a visualization for an operator for operation and observation of the technical installation of the technical installation based on the visualization information [See par. 53, 141, 178, and Fig. 10-11], the method comprising:
a) receiving, at a first time point, a request from a first operator for the operation and observation of the technical installation to acquire a current state of the visualization of an installation state [See par. 141-145 and Fig. 13], and
b) depositing the acquired state in a first memory store, See par. 54, 60, 141-145, 159-163].
Nixon does not expressly teach receiving an information item regarding at least one second operator for the operation and observation of the technical installation as the recipient of the state of the visualization.
However, Nixon explicitly teaches the first UI device 112, or the server 150, may transfer the stored state of the one or more first routines to a second UI device 112 (block 1620). Transferring the stored state to the second UI device 112 may include transferring the stored state upon an instruction received at the first UI device 112, where the instruction instructs the first UI device 112 to pass the stored state to the second UI device 112. Nixon further teaches
[0132] In an embodiment of the present disclosure, state information is seamlessly transferred from a first UI device to a second UI device, allowing a user to resume on, or transfer to, the second UI device a session from the first UI device without any interruption in work flow. The state transfer may also allow a first user of a first UI device to collaborate with a second user of a second UI device, so that the two users may work on tasks or work items in a cooperative manner.
[0151] In another embodiment, the UI devices 112a-112k may transfer state information to each other through the network 100 or through some other network or communication, such as a personal area network (e.g., a Bluetooth network) or near field communication. In some embodiments, the receiving UI device may initiate the transfer of UI state information, while in other embodiments the transferring UI device initiates said transfer. In yet another embodiment, the state transfer may occur by saving the UI state information to a memory (such as a the memory on a USB thumb drive) and accessing the memory to retrieve the UI state information at a second UI device.
[0152] In certain embodiments, state transfers may be automatic and transparent to users of any of the UI devices 112a-112k. For example, a state transfer may initiate automatically when a UI device is brought within proximity of another UI device. The UI devices may include circuitry, such as NFC circuitry, allowing the UI devices to detect one another. Proximity may also be detected by location data, received at a GPS receiver, for example, that may be included on one or more of the UI devices. The UI devices may transmit location data to the server 150, where the server 150 may use the location data to determine proximity and initiate a state transfer. In some embodiments, one or more of the UI devices may display an indicator graphic that indicates the respective UI device is receiving or transmitting state information. The indicator graphic may also indicate that a UI device is collaborating with another UI device.
[0171] Each UI device 112 may include data representing a user ID 1205, a session ID 1210, a client device ID 1215, and/or a UI type 1220. The user ID 1205 may correspond to a single user or operator and operates as a unique identifier. Similarly, the session ID 1210 may function as a unique identifier of a particular user session at the UI device 112.
[0172] The profile data 1245 may include user profiles 1250a-1250d. Each of the user profiles 1250a-1250d may correspond to a unique user or operator. The user profile 1250a may include data representing a user ID 1252, a user role 1254, and user history data 1256. The user profiles 1250b-1250d may include similar elements. The user ID 1250a may represent a unique identifier for a particular user and may correspond to the user ID 1205a at the client device 112a. The user role 1254 may represent a particular user's responsibility, title, or role at the process plant. For example, the user role 1254 may limit the areas of the plant that the user has permission to control. The user role 1254 may also limit the extent of control the user can implement, or the types of programs the user may access. In some embodiments the user role 1254 may also limit the user's permissions for accessing and controlling entities in the process plant based on a schedule.
In other words, Nixon teaches that each operator is uniquely identified by user ID and that the server receives a request for transfer of UI state information before transmitting the stored UI state information to the appropriate UI device. Because the server must identify the intended recipient operator in order to determine the appropriate destination device and retrieve or deliver the corresponding UI state information, receipt of information identifying the recipient operator is necessarily performed during execution of Nixon’s teachings of state transfer process. Accordingly, although Nixon does not expressly state that the request includes an information item regarding the second operator, such information is necessarily received by the server and is therefore inherently disclosed.
Nixon further does not teach deposited state being assigned to the second operator.
Lutz teaches another invention relates to a Method for transmitting operating information of a first operator of a first operator station client of an operator station server to a second operator of a second operation station client. Specifically, Lutz teaches depositing the acquired state in a first memory store, the deposited state being assigned to the second operator.
The first operation station server 2 has a memory 14, a certain part of which is assigned to the first operator of the first operator station client 4 and the second operator of the second operator station client 5, and in which operating information such as specific plant images or the like can be deposited. Correspondingly, the second operator station server 3 has a memory 15, of which a certain part is assigned to one of the two operators and in which operating information such as specific plant images or the like can be stored.
The two operator station servers 2, 3 are laid out redundantly at least with regard to the two memories 14, 15. This means that in both memories 14, 15 the same information is stored. When new information is written into one of the two memories 14, 15, the memory content is compared by means of an automatic replication
The second operator grants the first operator write rights on the memory part of the memory14, 15 assigned to him. The write rights do not have to be limited to the first operator, rather a large number of operators can have write rights on the corresponding memory part.
The first operator uses the first operator station client 4 and, with the help of the first operator station client 4, defines operating information in the form of a system picture which is intended for transmission or forwarding to the second operator. The operating information is stored with the help of a user service 16 on the memory part of the memory 14 of the first operator station server 4 assigned to the second operator. From there, the operating information is transferred to the memory 15 of the second operator station server 3 by means of an automatic replication of the memory content, so that the memory part of the memory 15 assigned to the second operator also contains the operating information stored by the first operator. [page 7, Read further page 8].
Note: Lutz further teaches the operating information of the first operator stored on the memory part of the memory assigned to the second operator can include information about an identity of the first operator. The second operator thereby learns which first operator has transmitted the information to him. As a result, the second operator can specifically request further information from the first operator and, if necessary, initiate a transmission of operating information in reverse order.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Nixon with the deposited state being assigned to the second operator of Lutz. As Nixon expressly teaches transferring UI state to facilitate collaboration between operator and to minimize interruption in workflow. Associating the deposited state with the recipient operator would have been a predictable implementation that slows the recipient operator to subsequently retrieve, modify, and continue the transferred visualization state under the operator’s own user profile and permissions, thereby improving session management, maintaining accurate user ownership of the transferred state, and facilitating continued collaboration.
Regarding claim 34, Nixon teaches
[0141] The server 150 may save UI state information (e.g., to the database 151) periodically or in response to a triggering event. The UI state information may represent the state of the UI device at the time of capture. The UI state information may include information relating to the user or operator interacting with the UI device; the applications, programs, routines, or modules executing with respect to the UI device; the graphics or sound being presented at the UI device
[0142] In some embodiments, each of the UI devices 112a-112k may capture and store UI state information at the database 151 when a user interacts with the respective UI device. The UI device may transmit the UI state information to the server 150 over the network 100. The server 150 may transmit the UI state information to any of the UI devices 112a-112k so that, for example, upon receiving a request from a particular one of the UI devices 112a-112k, the particular UI device may operate in a manner consistent with the received UI state information.
[0151] In another embodiment, the UI devices 112a-112k may transfer state information to each other through the network 100 or through some other network or communication, such as a personal area network (e.g., a Bluetooth network) or near field communication. In some embodiments, the receiving UI device may initiate the transfer of UI state information, while in other embodiments the transferring UI device initiates said transfer. In yet another embodiment, the state transfer may occur by saving the UI state information to a memory (such as a the memory on a USB thumb drive) and accessing the memory to retrieve the UI state information at a second UI device.
[0183] The method 1300 begins when the server 150 receives a session request from the UI device 112 (block 1305). The server 150 may determine whether the UI device 112 is providing a user ID (block 1310) and may request a user ID when one has not been provided (block 1315). Once the user ID has been provided, the server 150 may identify the data associated with the user ID (block 1320). For example, there may be one or more user profiles, sessions, or UI devices 112 associated with the user ID. In alternative embodiments, the server 150 may receive a UI device ID and identify data associated with the UI device ID (rather than the user ID).
[0185] When the server 150 receives a request to resume previous work flow, the server 150 may determine whether a particular session has been identified by the UI device 112 (block 1335). When no particular session has been identified, the server 150 may identify the most recently saved session associated with the user ID (or UI device ID in alternative embodiments) as the "target session" that will be provided to the UI device 112 (block 1340). The server 150 may transmit the recent session data to the UI device 112 (block 1350). When the server 150 receives a particular session associated with the request to resume workflow, the server 150 may identify the stored session data for that particular session (stored in the memory 1203 of the server 150 shown in FIG. 12A, for example) as the data for the "target session" that will be provided to the UI device 112 (block 1345). The server 150 may transmit the particular session data to the UI device 112 (block 1350).
Therefore, it is obvious to of ordinary skill in the art, Nixon in view of Lutz teaches steps a) to d) are executed ion sequence for a plurality of different first time points; and wherein all conditions of the visualization are deposited in the memory store.
Regarding claim 35, Nixon teaches upon a request by the second operator at a second time point which is different from the first time point or from the plurality of first different time points, the state of the visualization is retrieved from the first memory store or from a second memory store replicated with the first memory store and the visualization currently being presented at the second time point to the second operator by one of the operator station clients is brought into the state retrieved from the memory store [See par. 0183-0185].
Regarding claim 36, Nixon teaches upon a request by the second operator at a second time point which is different from the first time point or from the plurality of first different time points, the state of the visualization is retrieved from the first memory store or from a second memory store replicated with the first memory store and the visualization currently being presented at the second time point to the second operator by one of the operator station clients is brought into the state retrieved from the memory store [See par. 0183-0185].
Regarding claim 37, Lutz teaches wherein the control system automatically retrieves the state of the visualization from the first memory store or from a second memory store replicated with the first memory store and brings the visualization currently being presented to the second operator by one of the operator station clients into the state retrieved from the memory store; and wherein the control system generates a request to the second operator as to whether the updating should be performed before the updating [See pages 7-8].
Regarding claim 38, Lutz teaches wherein the control system automatically retrieves the state of the visualization from the first memory store or from a second memory store replicated with the first memory store and brings the visualization currently being presented to the second operator by one of the operator station clients into the state retrieved from the memory store; and wherein the control system generates a request to the second operator as to whether the updating should be performed before the updating [See pages 7-8].
Regarding claim 39, Nixon teaches the technical installation comprises a production or processing installation [See fig. 1 and 10].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US Pub. No. 2009/0210386 to Cahill teaches methods and apparatus to create process plant operator interfaces are disclosed. A disclosed example method to create a process plant operator interface comprises receiving a search criterion, identifying a user interface module based on the search criterion, and adding the identified user interface module to the process plant operator interface.
VINCENT H TRAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2115
/VINCENT H TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2115