Claim Status
Claims 1-10 are pending.
Claims 1-10 have been examined.
Claims 1-10 are rejected.
Drawings
The present application contains no drawings.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for priority under 35 U.S.C. § 371 based on PCT Application No. PCT/CN2022/084278, filed 03/31/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/30/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (“Wang”) (CN101658469A, 03/03/2010) in view of Fiore et al. (“Fiore”) (EP3922235A1, 12/15/2021), further in view of INCIDecoder (Purell Hand Sanitizer Ingredients, 03/06/2020), and as evidenced by Lubrizol (Carbopol® Ultrez 20 Polymer, published 06/02/2006).
In regard to claims 1-9, Wang teaches a transparent hand sanitizer gel comprising 47%-56% absolute ethanol, 0.1%-0.3% Carbomer U20, 0.01%-10% glycerin, 0.02%-0.11% acid-base modifier, including triethanolamine, 20%-50% deionized water, and additional cosmetic ingredients (see, Abstract; claims 1-2 and 8, inter alia). Lubrizol evidences that Carbopol® Ultrez 20 Polymer (Carbomer U20) is an acrylates/C10-30 alkyl acrylate crosspolymer having a viscosity of approximately 54,000 mPa.s), thereby teaching the claimed carbomer based thickener, the crosslinked acrylates/C10-30 alkyl acrylate copolymer of instant claim 4, and a viscosity falling within the claimed range of instant claim 5. Wang further teaches use of triethanolamine as the acid-base modifier used to neutralize the carbomer gel system (see, claim 2, inter alia). Triethanolamine corresponds to the claimed neutralizer and inherently satisfies the claimed elemental formula limitations of instant claims 1 and 6. Wang additionally teaches glycerin, which inherently corresponds to the claimed moisturizer of instant claims 8-9. Wang further teaches the preparation of a transparent hydroalcoholic gel sanitizer (see, claim 8, inter alia). However, Wang does not explicitly teach hydrogen peroxide in the claimed amount, alcohol concentration specifically within 75-85%, or caprylyl glycol.
Fiore teaches a hydroalcoholic gel composition comprising at least 70% alcohol, including ethanol or isopropanol, 0.15-6% gelling agent, 0.01-0.1% pH adjusting agent including triethanolamine, 0.05-2.0% carbomer, 0.1-4.5% cellulose polymer, 0.1%-6% disinfecting ingredient including hydrogen peroxide, 12-18% water, and additional cosmetic ingredients (Abstract; claims 1-2, 6-7, 10-12; paragraphs [0010], [0028], inter alia). Fiore therefore teaches hydrogen peroxide in an amount overlapping the claimed range and alcohol concentrations overlapping and encompassing the claimed 75-85% range.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the instant effective filing date, to modify the sanitizer gel composition of Wang to incorporate the hydrogen peroxide taught by Fiore and to adjust the alcohol concentration to a value within the claimed 75-85% range. The references are directed to the same field of endeavor, namely hydroalcoholic hand sanitizer gels, and address the same objective of providing effective sanitizing compositions. Fiore explicitly teaches incorporation of hydrogen peroxide into hydroalcoholic carbomer-based gel systems as a disinfecting ingredient (see, paragraph [0028]). Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have been motivated to incorporate the hydrogen peroxide taught by Fiore into the sanitizer composition of Wang in order to provide additional disinfecting capability and to obtain the predictable benefits associated with the use of known sanitizer ingredients for their established functions. Further, modification of the relative amounts of the known formulation ingredients, including adjustment of concentrations within the ranges taught or suggested by the prior art, would have been an obvious matter of routine formulation optimization. A person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have been capable of selecting suitable concentrations to achieve desired formulation properties as such parameters constitute result-effective variables whose optimization is ordinarily within the level of ordinary skill of the art (see MPEP §2144.05).
INCIDecoder teaches a commercial hand sanitizer gel comprising ethyl alcohol, water, isopropyl alcohol, caprylyl glycol, glycerin, acrylates/C10-30 alkyl acrylate crosspolymer, aminomethyl propanol, and additional cosmetic ingredients (see, ingredients overview). INCIDecoder therefore teaches caprylyl glycol in a hydroalcoholic sanitizer gel composition.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the instant effective filing date, to incorporate caprylyl glycol into the composition of Wang, as modified by Fiore, because caprylyl glycol was a known cosmetic additive used in hand sanitizer formulations. Substitution of one known formulation additive for another to obtain its recognized advantages represents the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions. Accordingly, claims 1-9 would have been obvious over Wang in view of Fiore and further in view of INCIDecoder, and as evidenced by Lubrizol.
In regard to claim 10, Wang teaches a method for preparing a hand sanitizer gel comprising preparing separate alcohol and aqueous mixtures, including a carbomer containing aqueous mixture, combining the mixtures, optionally adding additional ingredients, and adding an acid-base modifier to obtain a homogeneous transparent gel (see, claims 8-10). Fiore similarly teaches a method of preparing a hydroalcoholic gel comprising preparing an alcohol containing aqueous solution, sequentially adding gel-forming and viscosity modifying components, and subsequently adding a pH adjusting agent to obtain the hydroalcoholic gel (see, claims 16-18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the instant effective filing date, to employ the preparation method of Wang in manufacturing the modified sanitizer composition because the claimed method merely recites mixing known ingredients according to their established functions using conventional formulation techniques. The combination would have yielded no more than predictable results. Therefore, claim 10 would have been obvious over Wang in view of Fiore and further in view of INCIDecoder, and as evidenced by Lubrizol.
Conclusion
/ALI M. ALAOUIE/Examiner, Art Unit 1614
/Robert A Wax/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1615