Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-9, 17-20, 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Iwahara et al. (US2008/0081139A1) hereinafter Iwahara.
Regarding claim 1, Iwahara discloses a hybrid tube (Abstract: “multilayer tube”, Figure 1: Tube 1) for use in industrial (paragraph [0016]: provides an example use for chemical solution piping for semiconductor industry) and hydraulic hoses, comprising:
an interior tube layer (paragraph [0024]: “inner layer 10”, Figure 1: 10) having a hollow passage extending therethrough (paragraph [0024]: “hollow passage 40”, Figure 1: 40), the interior tube layer configured to have chemical resistance to a fluid conveyed through or present in the hollow passage (paragraph [0026]: describes inner layer 10 composed of fluororesin having excellent chemical resistance; paragraph [0040]: describes inner layer 10 being configured to have chemical and corrosion
resistance); and
an outer tube layer (paragraph [0024]: “outer layer 30”, Figure 1: 30) formed on and coaxially aligned with the interior tube layer (Figure 1 demonstrates formation and coaxial alignment), the outer tube layer configured to provide structure and flexibility (paragraph [0040]: mentions thickness and composition of tube outer layer being configured to provide flexibility) to the hybrid tube (Figure 1: 1).
Regarding claim 2, Iwahara discloses a hybrid tube according to claim 1 as set forth above. Iwahara further discloses that thickness of the outer tube layer is greater than the thickness of the interior tube layer (paragraph [0040] mentions thickness of outer layer 30 to be in the range of 100 to 900 µm and inner layer 10 to be in the range of 50 to 400 µm demonstrating outer layer preferably being thicker than inner layer).
Regarding claim 5, Iwahara discloses a hybrid tube according to claim 1 as set forth above. Iwahara further discloses material of interior tube layer (10) is selected from the group consisting of a thermoplastic (paragraph [0026] mentions layer 10 being selected from tetrafluoroethylene-perfluoroalkylvinylether copolymer (PFA) having a fluorinated terminal group (having terminal groups that are fluorinated), a tetrafluoroethylene-hexafluoropropylene copolymer (FEP), a tetrafluoroethylene-ethylene copolymer (ETFE), a chlorotrifluoroethylene (CTFE)-tetrafluoroethylene (TFE) copolymer, and a chlorotrifluoroethylene (CTFE)-tetrafluoroethylene (TFE)-perfluoroalkylvinylether copolymer. All of these are thermoplastics.), a thermoset, a ceramic, a metal, and carbon.
Regarding claim 6, Iwahara discloses a hybrid tube according to claim 1 as set forth above. Iwahara further discloses the material of outer tube layer is selected from the group consisting of a thermoplastic (paragraph [0039] mentions out layer 30 being composed of polyamide-based resins, which is thermoplastic), a thermoset, a ceramic, a metal, and carbon.
Regarding claim 7, Iwahara discloses a hybrid tube according to claim 1 as set forth above.
Iwahara further discloses the material of the interior tube layer is selected from the group consisting of a polyamide, high density polyethylene (HDPE), cross-linked HDPE, cross-linked low density polyethylene (LDPE), an ethylene propylene diene terpolymer (EPDM)/polypropylene (PP) blend, polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF), and fluorinated ethylene propylene (FEP) (paragraph [0026] mentions FEP).
Regarding claim 8, Iwahara discloses a hybrid tube according to claim 1 as set forth above.
Iwahara further discloses the material of the outer tube layer is selected from the group consisting of a polyamide (paragraph [0039] mentions out layer 30 being composed of polyamide-based resins), high density polyethylene (HDPE), cross-linked HDPE, low density polyethylene (LDPE), polypropylene, polyethylene terephthalate (PET), and polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF).
Regarding claim 9, Iwahara discloses a hybrid tube according to claim 1 as set forth above.
Iwahara further discloses the interior tube layer (Figure 1: 10) is adhered to the outer tube layer (Figure 1: 30) via one or more of chemical bonding, intermolecular attraction, and mechanical adhesion (paragraph [0025] describes and Figure 1 shows inner layer 10 and out layer 30 are bonded by adhering on either side of the intermediate layer 20 and paragraph; [0028] describes intermediate layer having better adhesive property because of base fluororesin being incorporated with a functional group consisting an acid anhydride group, a carboxy group, an acyl halide group, and a carbonate group).
Regarding claim 17, Iwahara discloses a hybrid tube according to claim 1 as set forth above. Iwahara further discloses the hybrid tube is free of a reinforcement layer (Iwahara does not disclose any reinforcement layer, Figure 1 shows inner layer 10, intermediate layer 20 and outer layer 30).
Regarding claim 18, Iwahara discloses a method for forming a hybrid tube (paragraph [0024], Figure 1), comprising:
coextruding an interior tube layer material and an outer tube layer material (paragraphs [0041-0042] discuss about coextruding first and second fluororesin layer and polyamide-based resin layer coextrusion) through an annular die ([paragraph [0045]: “first die 50”; Figure 2: 50) to thereby form a hybrid tube comprising an interior tube layer having a hollow passage formed therein and an outer tube layer formed on and coaxially aligned with the interior tube layer (paragraphs [0042-0050] explain how the molten fluororesin and polyamide resins flow through the die through different paths, the different layers eventually merge and extruded through a merging path to form a multilayer tube with the layers coaxially aligned).
Regarding claim 19, Iwahara discloses a method for forming a hybrid tube according to claim 18 as set forth above. Iwahara further discloses the material of the interior tube layer is selected from the group consisting of a polyamide, high density polyethylene (HDPE), cross-linked HDPE, cross-linked low density polyethylene (LDPE), an ethylene propylene diene terpolymer (EPDM)/polypropylene (PP) blend, polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF), and fluorinated ethylene propylene (FEP) (paragraph [0026] mentions FEP).
Regarding claim 20, Iwahara discloses a method for forming a hybrid tube according to claim 18 as set forth above. Iwahara further discloses the material of the outer tube layer is selected from the group consisting of a polyamide (paragraph [0039] mentions out layer 30 being composed of polyamide-based resins), high density polyethylene (HDPE), cross-linked HDPE, low density polyethylene (LDPE), polypropylene, polyethylene terephthalate (PET), and polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF).
Regarding claim 22, Iwahara discloses a method for forming a hybrid tube according to claim 18 as set forth above. Iwahara further discloses the coextruded hybrid tube passes out of the annular die freely and without support from a support mandrel (paragraphs [0088 - 0091] provide an example 1 embodiment explaining coextruded tube passing to through annular die section 70 having a mandrel 100d within and no additional supporting mandrel support post extrusion).
Regarding claim 23, Iwahara discloses a method for forming a hybrid tube according to claim 18 as set forth above. Iwahara further discloses the coextruded hybrid tube (Figure 1: Tube 1) exiting the annular die (Figure 2: 50, Figure 3: 70, Figure 4: 100) has sufficient structural integrity such that the hollow passage (Figure 1: 40) does not collapse after exiting the annular die (Examples 1- 4 provided between paragraphs [0068-0083] describe method of forming multilayer hybrid tube through coextrusion process and does not mention of having tube wall collapsing after exiting extrusion dies).
Regarding claim 24, Iwahara discloses a method for forming a hybrid tube according to claim 18 as set forth above. Iwahara further inherently discloses the method is free of any curing steps after coextrusion of the interior tube layer material and the outer tube layer material through the annular die (Iwahara does not mention need for any curing step and discloses method of forming multilayer tube successfully withing needing a curing step).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 & 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwahara.
Regarding claim 3, Iwahara discloses a hybrid tube according to claim 1 as set forth above.
Iwahara does not explicitly disclose interior tube layer is from about 5 to about 50% of the thickness of the hybrid tube and the outer tube layer is from about 50 to about 95% of the thickness of the hybrid tube.
Iwahara discloses the interior tube layer thickness to be within ~4% to ~73% of the hybrid tube thickness (paragraph [0040] mentions inner layer being from 50-400 µm, intermediate layer being from 50-400 µm and outer layer being from 100-900 µm. Considering a 3-layer tube, this makes the total thickness range 200-1700 µm. This means interior tube layers is within ~4% to ~73% of the hybrid tube thickness);
and, the outer tube layer thickness to be within ~11% to ~90% of the hybrid tube thickness (paragraph [0040] mentions inner layer being from 50-400 µm, intermediate layer being from 50-400 µm and outer layer being from 100-900 µm. Considering a 3-layer tube, this makes the total thickness range 200-1700 µm. This means outer tube layers is within ~11% to ~90% of the hybrid tube thickness).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the inner layer thickness of Iwahara from between ~4% to ~73% to 5% to 50% of the hybrid tube thickness and, to modify the outer layer thickness of Iwahara from between ~11% to ~90% to 50% to 95% of the hybrid tube thickness since it has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 4, Iwahara discloses a hybrid tube according to claim 1 as set forth above.
Iwahara does not explicitly disclose the interior tube layer is about 10% of the thickness of the hybrid tube.
Iwahara discloses the interior tube layer thickness to be within ~4% to ~73% of the hybrid tube thickness (paragraph [0040] mentions inner layer being from 50-400 µm, intermediate layer being from 50-400 µm and outer layer being from 100-900 µm. Considering a 3-layer tube, this makes the total thickness range 200-1700 µm. This means interior tube layers is within ~4% to ~73% of the hybrid tube thickness).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the inner layer thickness of Iwahara from between ~4% to ~73% to 10% of the hybrid tube thickness since it has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP 2144.05(I).
Claim(s) 10-16 & 25-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwahara in view of Clark et al. (US2018/0080584A1) hereinafter Clark.
Regarding claim 10, Iwahara discloses a hybrid tube according to claim 1 as set forth above.
Iwahara does not disclose the hybrid tube comprising a reinforcement layer formed on and coaxially aligned with the outer tube layer.
Clark teaches a hose with multiple layers having a reinforcement layer (Clark, paragraph [0037]: “reinforcement layer 108”, Figure 1: 108) formed on and coaxially aligned with the outer tube layer (Clark, demonstrated in Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tube of Iwahara to incorporate a reinforcement layer as taught by Clark. Motivation to do so would be to have a highly flexible tube that can be suitable for applications ranging from low pressure to high pressure.
Regarding claim 11, Iwahara in view of Clark discloses a hybrid tube according to claim 10 as set forth above.
Iwahara in view of Clark further discloses the reinforcement layer is applied to the outer tube layer (Clark, paragraph [0037]: rubber backing layer 106; Figure 1 shows braided reinforcement layer 108 applied over rubber backing layer 106) in a braided (Clark, paragraph [0094]: “braided reinforcement layer”), spiral wrapped or linear pattern.
Regarding claim 12, Iwahara in view of Clark discloses a hybrid tube according to claim 10 as set forth above.
Iwahara in view of Clark further discloses the material of the reinforcement layer is selected from the group consisting of textiles (Clark, paragraph [0062] describes reinforcement layer comprising textiles made from aramid, polyester braid, nylon, cotton, and rayon), wire, ceramic or carbon material.
Regarding claim 13, Iwahara in view of Clark discloses a hybrid tube according to claim 10 as set forth above.
Iwahara in view of Clark further discloses the hybrid tube further comprising a cover layer formed on and coaxially aligned with the reinforcement layer (Clark, paragraph [0062]: “cover layer 110”, Figure 1 shows 110 formed on and coaxially aligned with reinforcement layer 108).
Regarding claim 14, Iwahara in view of Clark discloses a hybrid tube according to claim 10 as set forth above.
Iwahara in view of Clark further discloses the material of the cover layer is selected from the group consisting of an elastomer (paragraph [0061] mentions layer 110 comprising EPDM which is an elastomer) or thermoplastic.
Regarding claim 15, Iwahara discloses a hybrid tube according to claim 1 as set forth above.
Iwahara does not disclose the hybrid tube comprising a cover layer formed on and coaxially aligned with the outer tube layer.
Clark teaches a hose having a cover layer (Clark, paragraph [0062]: “cover layer 110”, Figure 1 shows 110 coaxially aligned with all the layers of the hose). While Clark’s cover layer 110, is applied on reinforcement layer 108 (Clark, Figure 1: 108 and 110), Clark mentions this as a preferred embodiment (Clark, [paragraph 0099]). Clark also mentions that various inventive aspects taught by Clark can be used and adapted for other embodiments of hose as well (Clark, [paragraph 0099]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a cover layer taught by Clark on the outer tube layer of Iwahara. Motivation to do so would be to extend the application temperature range of the tube and also to provide physical barrier to protect from corrosive environment.
Regarding claim 16, Iwahara in view of Clark discloses a hybrid tube according to claim 15 as set forth above. Iwahara in view of Clark further discloses material of the cover layer is selected from the group consisting of an elastomer (paragraph [0061] mentions layer 110 comprising EPDM which is an elastomer) or thermoplastic.
Regarding claim 25, Iwahara discloses a method for forming a hybrid tube according to claim 18 as set forth above. Iwahara does not disclose adding a reinforcement layer to the coextruded hybrid tube, the reinforcement layer formed on the outer tube layer and being coaxially aligned with the interior tube layer and the outer tube layer.
Clark teaches adding a reinforcement layer (Clark, paragraph [0037]: “reinforcement layer 108”, Figure 1: 108) to the coextruded hybrid tube, the reinforcement layer formed on the outer tube layer (Clark, paragraph [0019] mentions applying a reinforcement layer over the rubber backing layer which is equivalent to outer layer, Figure 1: 108 applied over 106) and being coaxially aligned with the interior tube layer and the outer tube layer (Clark, Figure 1 shows coaxial alignment of all the layers).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tube formation method of Iwahara to incorporate a reinforcement layer as taught by Clark. Motivation to do so would be to have a highly flexible tube that can be suitable for applications ranging from low pressure to high pressure.
Regarding claim 26, Iwahara in view of Clark discloses a method for forming a hybrid tube according to claim 25 as set forth above. Iwahara in view of Clark further discloses the material of the reinforcement layer is selected from the group consisting of textiles (Clark, paragraph [0062] describes reinforcement layer comprising textiles made from aramid, polyester braid, nylon, cotton, and rayon), wire, ceramic or carbon material.
Regarding claim 27, Iwahara in view of Clark discloses a method for forming a hybrid tube according to claim 25 as set forth above.
Iwahara in view of Clark further discloses adding a cover layer to the hybrid tube, the cover layer formed on the reinforcement layer and being coaxially aligned with the interior tube layer, the outer tube layer and the reinforcement layer (Clark, paragraph [0062]: “cover layer 110”, Figure 1 shows 110 formed on reinforcement layer 108 and all layers being coaxially aligned).
Regarding claim 28, Iwahara in view of Clark discloses a method for forming a hybrid tube according to claim 27 as set forth above.
Iwahara in view of Clark further discloses the material of the cover layer is selected from the group consisting of an elastomer (Clark, paragraph [0061] mentions layer 110 comprising EPDM which is an elastomer) or thermoplastic.
Regarding claim 29, Iwahara discloses a method for forming a hybrid tube according to claim 18 as set forth above. Iwahara does not disclose adding a cover layer to the hybrid tube, the cover layer formed on the outer tube layer and being coaxially aligned with the interior tube layer and the outer tube layer.
Clark teaches a hose having a cover layer (Clark, paragraph [0062]: “cover layer 110”, Figure 1 shows 110 coaxially aligned with all the layers of the hose). While Clark’s cover layer 110, is applied on reinforcement layer 108 (Clark, Figure 1 shows 110 added on 108), Clark mentions this as a preferred embodiment (Clark, [paragraph 0099]). Clark also mentions that various inventive aspects taught by Clark can be used and adapted for other embodiments of hose as well (Clark, [paragraph 0099]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a cover layer taught by Clark on the outer tube layer of Iwahara where all the layers are coaxially aligned. Motivation to do so would be to extend the application temperature range of the tube and also to provide physical barrier to protect from corrosive environment.
Regarding claim 30, Iwahara in view of Clark discloses a method for forming a hybrid tube according to claim 29 as set forth above.
Iwahara in view of Clark further discloses the material of the cover layer is selected from the group consisting of an elastomer (Clark, paragraph [0061] mentions layer 110 comprising EPDM which is an elastomer) or thermoplastic.
Claim(s) 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwahara as applied to claim18 above, and further in view of Fauble et al. (US5641445A) hereinafter Fauble.
Regarding claim 21, Iwahara discloses a method for forming a hybrid tube according to claim 18 as set forth above. While Iwahara discloses tube forming setup with mandrels being positioned with the extrusion dies (Figure 2-4: mandrels 50d, 70d, 100d), Iwahara does not disclose the coextruded hybrid tube being transferred on to a supporting mandrel after being extruded through the annular die, the supporting mandrel extending through the hollow passage of the hybrid tube.
Fauble teaches coextruded hybrid tube (Fauble, col 6, ln 52: composite tube 200, Figure 3: 200) is transferred on to a supporting mandrel after being extruded through the annular die (Fauble, col 5, ln 63- col 6, ln 51: describes how molten material for different layers of the tube 200 are introduced and extruded through the dies and carried onto mandrel 16 assisted by compressed air; Figure 1 & 2 show the extrusion and mandrel setup, Figure 3 shows the manufacture multilayered tube), the supporting mandrel extending through the hollow passage of the hybrid tube (Fauble, column 3, lines 50-55 : describes mandrel extending through extrusion dies for creating tubular shape during extrusion).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tube forming setup of Iwahara as per the teachings of Fauble to have the coextruded tube transferred onto a supporting mandrel after being coextruded through dies. Both setups disclosed by Iwara and taught by Fauble are known alternatives in the art. Either of them can be chosen based on suitability of application and other factors including setup cost, space restriction, etc. Also having a mandrel supported tube formation method will provide more flexibility of forming tubes with larger dimensions.
Conclusion
/FAISAL AHMED/Examiner, Art Unit 3753
/CRAIG M SCHNEIDER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3753