DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A (figures 1-3) in the reply filed on 07/10/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 7-8, 10-13, and 17-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 07/10/2026.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “monitoring unit” (claim 4), “monitoring device” (claim 5), “a measurement means” (claim 6), and “a management device” (claim 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6, 9, and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 states “at least one high pressure gas-consuming device” and “at least one low-pressure gas-consuming device” which are found to be indefinite as it is unclear what sort of pressures would be considered low and high pressure. It is also pointed out further for the prior art rejection that the specific pressure gas-consuming devices are not positively recited or part of the gas supply system being claimed.
Claim 1 states “them” in line 16 which is found to be indefinite as it is unclear what “them” is previously referring to. It will be assumed to states ---of the first heat exchanger and second heat exchanger---.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the vapor-state gas flowing through the gas return line" in lines 16-17. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the liquid-state gas flowing through the first gas supply circuit" in lines 17-18. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Additionally it is unclear how a gas can be in liquid state.
Claim 1 states in lines 19-20 that “the gas supply system comprises a heat treatment branch of the vapor-state gas through the gas return line” which is found indefinite as it is unclear what is meant by the wording of this limitation or how you can get a branch of the gas.
Claims 2-6, 9, and 14-16 depend from claim 1 and therefore inherit the 35 USC 112 deficiencies of their parent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by EP 3483419 A1 Kawasaki.
Regarding claim 1, Kawasaki (figure 7) discloses a gas supply system of at least one high-pressure gas-consuming device 16 and at least one low-pressure gas-consuming device 13 for a floating structure (ship, abstract) comprising at least a tank 11 configured to contain the gas at least in liquid state, wherein the gas supply system comprises: at least a first gas supply circuit for the high-pressure gas-consuming device (14/31/32); at least a high pressure evaporator 53/35 configured to evaporate the gas that flows through the first gas supply circuit, at least a second gas supply circuit 78/21/22 for the low-pressure gas-consuming device comprising at least a compressor 12 configured to compress some gas removed from the tank in vapor state up to a pressure that is compatible with the needs of the low- pressure gas-consuming device (functional language and the gas would be compressed to be used by 13 or the system wouldn’t work), at least a gas return line 41 connected to the second supply circuit downstream from the compressor and extending to the tank, at least a first heat exchanger 52 and at least a second heat exchanger 53, wherein each of them is configured to implement a heat exchange between the vapor-state gas flowing through the gas return line and the liquid-state gas flowing through the first gas supply circuit, characterized in that wherein the gas supply system comprises a heat treatment branch (from 78 through 63/64) of the vapor-state gas through the gas return line, wherein the heat treatment branch is connected to the second supply circuit upstream from the compressor (connected to circuit 77), the gas supply system comprising a third heat exchanger 64 configured to implement a heat exchange between the vapor-state gas through the heat treatment branch and the vapor-state gas through the gas return line (in 61 from 23 and 72).
Regarding claim 2, Kawasaki discloses wherein the third heat exchanger 64 comprises a first line on the gas return line (from 76) between the first heat exchanger 52 and the second heat exchanger 53, and a second line on the heat treatment branch (from 78).
Regarding claim 3, Kawasaki discloses wherein the second supply circuit comprises a divergence zone where the heat treatment branch and the second supply circuit separate (at 78), and a convergence zone (77 rejoins the stream from 63/64) where the heat treatment branch and the second supply circuit join, wherein the heat treatment branch extends between the divergence zone and the convergence zone (path through 63/64).
Regarding claim 4, Kawasaki further discloses comprising a monitoring unit for the circulation of the gas through the second supply circuit, wherein the heat treatment branch is mounted parallel to the monitoring unit (valve 78 runs a stream parallel to the heat branch through 63/64).
Regarding claim 5, Kawasaki further discloses wherein the heat treatment branch comprises a monitoring device configured to monitor the flow of the vapor-state gas through the heat treatment branch (valve 76).
Regarding claim 6, Kawasaki discloses comprising a measurement means for the temperature of the gas removed in vapor state from the tank, and a management device that commands the monitoring unit and the monitoring device (see 8, see paragraphs 66-67, both control valves utilize temperature sensors and controller 8).
Regarding claim 15, Kawasaki discloses wherein: at a measurement step, the temperature of the vapor-state gas removed from the tank is measured, then the vapor-state gas is circulated through the second gas supply circuit if the temperature of the vapor-state gas as measured at the measurement step is higher than a temperature threshold, or the vapor-state gas is circulated through the heat treatment branch if the temperature of the vapor-state gas as measured at the measurement step is lower than the temperature threshold (see paragraphs 66-68 and figure 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawasaki.
Regarding claim 9, Kawasaki discloses the limitations of parent claim 1. Kawasaki does not explicitly disclose wherein at least the second heat exchanger, the third heat exchanger and the high-pressure evaporator constitute a single heat exchanger module however the examiner goes on official notice that providing multiple heat exchangers in a single module or cold box is well known in the art and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to utilize multiple heat exchangers in a single module to save on space and complexity of the system. Additionally by combining heat exchangers in a single module or cold box, this allows for less heat leak to atmosphere by flowing said supply circuits externally between heat exchangers.
Regarding claim 16, Kawasaki discloses the limitations of parent claim 15. Kawasaki does not explicitly disclose where the temperature threshold is -110°C. The specific temperature threshold utilized in Kawaski if considered a result effective variable that can be optimized through routine experimentation. Kawasaki discloses the specific structures of the control gas supply system in addition to the process of measuring temperature and controlling flow rate through the bypasses and heat treatment branch based on temperature. The specific temperature utilized for said threshold is dependent on the use of the gas system and what the preferred temperatures, pressures, and heat exchanges are at based on the gas consuming devices and composition of the gas supply. Setting the temperature at -110 would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in order to optimize the downstream temperatures and pressures being fed to the use devices. Additionally Kawasaki also provides phase change ranges for solidifying points to be in the range of -140 to -100 Celsius (see paragraph 78). It would have been obvious to utilize the heat treatment branch at lower temperatures to avoid freezing of any of the materials and clearly the -100 degrees Celsius being claimed by the applicant is well within known ranges dependent on composition of the boil off.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawasaki as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. 2008/0190352 Lee et al. (hereinafter Lee).
Regarding claim 14, Kawasaki discloses the limitations of claim 1 above. Kawasaki does not explicitly disclose wherein the first gas supply circuit comprises a pump between the first heat exchanger and the second heat exchanger. Lee discloses a similar boil off treatment system onboard a ship and further provides that the removed (see figure 11, liquid removed and pumped in 52 L11, and then heated in heat exchanger 53 prior to further pumping in 54 before further heat exchange in 55. It would have been obvious to provide for pumps downstream of heat exchangers as disclosed by Lee in the first gas supply circuit of Kawasaki in order to ensure the liquid is brought up to the proper pressures and to avoid needing a larger pump upstream. The addition of a pump along these lines are further found to be well known in the art and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of applicant’s filing to apply pumps to the supply circuits in order to bring stream sup to proper optimized pressures for downstream heat exchange and to ensure proper pressures are acquired for feeding into the gas consuming devices.
Conclusion
/KEITH RAYMOND/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3798