Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
748In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 1, 2, 5-7, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shirahase et al. (JP 2020-023691, JPlatPat English translation, attached).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 5-7, and 10, Shirahase teaches a carbon fiber composite comprising layers of carbon fiber sheets which further comprise carbon fiber bundles oriented in parallel (Shirahase para 8, 55) with layer(s) of porous resin in the form of a non-woven layer of polyamide between layers of carbon fiber (Shirahase para 15-17) where the non-woven may be made by melt-blowing with a fiber diameter of 10-60 µm (Shirahase para 16) impregnated with an epoxy (Shirahase para 26-42). Prior art which teaches a range within, overlapping, or touching the claimed range anticipates if the prior art range discloses the claimed range with sufficient specificity, see MPEP 2131.03. Further, as these are the same materials as claimed, they would be expected to possess the same properties as claimed, such as a thickness direction volume resistivity of 0.05-10 Ω∙m, thickness direction conductivity of 1-40 S/m, a thickness direction opening rate of 60-95%, and openings in the porous resin sheet with diameters of 2-5 mm at intervals of 25 mm or less. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977), see MPEP 2112.01.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shirahase as applied to claim 1, above.
Regarding claim 8, Shirahase teaches a carbon fiber composite as above for claim 1. Shirahase further teaches that the carbon fiber bundles contain the porous resin in an amount of 1-20% by weight of the carbon fiber bundles (Shirahase para 18). One of ordinary skill in the art would have considered the invention to have been obvious because the weight % taught by Shirahase overlaps with the instantly claimed weight % and therefore is considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select any portion of the disclosed ranges including the instantly claimed ranges from the ranges disclosed in the prior art reference, see MPEP 2144.05.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shirahase as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kibayashi et al. (US 2012/0123053).
Regarding claim 4, Shirahase teaches a carbon fiber composite as above for claim 1. Shirahase further teaches that the carbon fibers formed from PAN are present in bundles of 12000-24000 filament with a tensile strength (average strand strength) of 6.0 GPa (Shirahase para 55-56, 87). ). Prior art which teaches a range within, overlapping, or touching the claimed range anticipates if the prior art range discloses the claimed range with sufficient specificity, see MPEP 2131.03.
Shirahase is silent with respect to the diameter of the carbon fiber filaments.
Shirahase and Kibayashi are related in the field of carbon fiber reinforced plastic composite laminates.
Kibayashi teaches that PAN carbon fibers may come in filament bundles of 1000-48000 with a strand strength of 5.0 GPa or greater, and a diameter of 3-8 µm from a perspective of preventing single filament breakage during production (Kibayashi para 53-54). It would therefore be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select PAN carbon fibers with a filament diameter of 3-8 µm as taught by Kibayashi as the carbon fibers of Shirahase because filaments with this thickness resist single filament breakage.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record does not teach that the resin layer comprise regions of differing epoxy thickness, and particularly does not teach regions of differing epoxy thickness where one region is 10 µm or greater and the other is 10 µm or less. Additionally, and separately, the prior art of record does not teach or suggest that the ‘narrowed’ thinner region of epoxy is 10-50% the full width of the resin layer.
Conclusion
/LAURA B FIGG/Examiner, Art Unit 1781 6/27/26