DETAILED ACTION
DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment filed on 8/28/2026 has been entered. Applicant has amended claims 1 and 11. Currently claims 1-12 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1 and 11 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rainer et al. (EP 3557463 (A1), Note: Machine translation was provided with the previous office action), hereinafter, “Rainer” in view of Dotan (US 2005/0223239 A1), hereinafter, “Dotan” and Joy et al. (US 2019/0116200 A1), hereinafter, “Joy”.
Regarding Claim 1, Rainer discloses a method for executing workloads in an execution environment, the method comprising:
determining approval of a workload for execution using an admissibility list of admissible workloads (See, Paragraph 0070);
in response to the determining the workload for execution, executing the workload in the execution environment (See, Paragraphs 0008, 0010 and 0070);
determining information identifying an IT security risk of the execution environment (See, Paragraph 0068 and 0070);
changing admissibility list of admissible workloads
stopping the workload depending on the IT security risk of execution environment (See, Paragraph 0095).
Rainer does not explicitly disclose changing admissibility list of admissible workloads depending on the determined risk information and migrating an already started workload to a different host because the execution thereof is no longer admissible based on the changed admissibility list.
Dotan discloses amending admissibility list of admissible workloads depending on a determined risk information and depending on whether the admissibility list of admissible workloads has been changed stopping the workload or run it in an untrusted mode because the execution thereof is no longer admissible based on the changed admissibility list (See, Paragraphs 0111, “If the technician determines that the program presents a high risk to the users computers, the client servers may remove the program from the white list and may disable the program or have it run in an untrusted mode”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to amend, in the system of Dotan, admissibility list of admissible workloads depending on the determined risk information as taught by Dotan for determining that the program presents a high risk to the users computers, the client servers may remove the program from the white list and may disable the program or have it run in an untrusted mode (See, Dotan, Paragraph 0111).
While both Rainer and Dotan provide options to stopping the workload or have it run in an untrusted mode, the combination fails to disclose migrating an already started workload to a different host because the execution thereof is no longer admissible.
Joy discloses migrating an already started workload to a different host because the execution thereof is no longer admissible (See, Fig. 2, Numerals 225, 230 and 235 and Paragraphs 0028, 0039-0041).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to migrate, in the system of Rainer and Dotan, an already started workload to a different host because the execution thereof is no longer admissible as taught by Joy so that in response to determining that the updated threat score of the selected host exceeds the threshold threat score (e.g., meaning that the first host no longer meets the acceptable minimum security requirements), the workload itself or one or more other workloads are moved from the selected host to another host from the plurality of hosts that meets the requirements (See, Joy, Paragraph 0041). Furthermore, it would have been obvious to perform migration upon change in the admissibility list of admissible workloads as already taught by Rainer and Dotan to reflect the workload are not be permitted on the current host.
Regarding Claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and the combination of Rainer, Dotan, and Joy further discloses wherein the workload comprises: one or more of a virtual machine, an operating system container, a native operating system application, a service, and an operating system module (See, Rainer, Paragraph 0021).
Regarding Claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and the combination of Rainer, Dotan, and Joy further discloses comprising determining the risk information of the execution environment during ongoing operation of the execution environment (See, Rainer, Paragraphs 0023 and 0066).
Regarding Claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and the combination of Rainer, Dotan, and Joy further discloses wherein the execution environment comprises a runtime environment (See, Rainer, Paragraphs 0023 and 0066).
Regarding Claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and the combination of Rainer, Dotan, and Joy further discloses wherein the execution environment comprises an operating system, an input-output module, a signal connection, a switch, and/or a router (See, Rainer, Paragraph 0020).
Regarding Claim 6, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and the combination of Rainer, Dotan, and Joy further discloses wherein: the risk information is determined using the execution environment or a device in which the execution environment is situated, or software that runs in the execution environment; or wherein the risk information is determined by means of a component communicatively connected to the execution environment (See, Rainer, Paragraphs 0020, 0023 and 0066).
Regarding Claim 7, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and the combination of Rainer, Dotan, and Joy further discloses wherein the admissibility list comprises a positive list (See, Rainer, Paragraph 0070).
Regarding Claim 8, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and the combination of Rainer, Dotan, and Joy further discloses wherein the admissibility list has two or more entries of admissible workloads (See, Rainer, Paragraph 0070).
Regarding Claim 10, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and the combination of Rainer, Dotan, and Joy further discloses wherein the risk information is determined repeatedly and the admissibility list of admissible workloads is changed in each case depending on the repeatedly determined risk information (See, Rainer, Paragraphs 0068-0069 and Dotan, Paragraphs 0066 and 0111).
Regarding Claim 11, Rainer discloses a system, configured for executing a workload in accordance with an admissibility list of admissible workloads, comprising:
an execution environment to execute the workload in which the admissibility list of admissible workloads is present (See, Paragraphs 0070 and 0020);
a processor (See, Paragraph 0012); and
a memory that includes instruction, executable by the processor to (See, Paragraph 0013):
execute the workload in the execution environment (See, Paragraphs 0008, 0010 and 0070);
determine risk information identifying an IT security risk of the execution environment (See, Paragraph 0068 and 0070); and
change the admissibility list
stopping the workload depending on the IT security risk of execution environment (See, Paragraph 0095).
Rainer does not explicitly disclose changing admissibility list of admissible workloads depending on the determined risk information and migrating an already started workload to a different host because the execution thereof is no longer admissible based on the changed admissibility list.
Dotan discloses amending admissibility list of admissible workloads depending on a determined risk information and depending on whether the admissibility list of admissible workloads has been changed stopping the workload or run it in an untrusted mode because the execution thereof is no longer admissible based on the changed admissibility list (See, Paragraphs 0111, “If the technician determines that the program presents a high risk to the users computers, the client servers may remove the program from the white list and may disable the program or have it run in an untrusted mode”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to amend, in the system of Dotan, admissibility list of admissible workloads depending on the determined risk information as taught by Dotan for determining that the program presents a high risk to the users computers, the client servers may remove the program from the white list and may disable the program or have it run in an untrusted mode (See, Dotan, Paragraph 0111).
While both Rainer and Dotan provide options to stopping the workload or have it run in an untrusted mode, the combination fails to disclose migrating an already started workload to a different host because the execution thereof is no longer admissible.
Joy discloses migrating an already started workload to a different host because the execution thereof is no longer admissible (See, Fig. 2, Numerals 225, 230 and 235 and Paragraphs 0028, 0039-0041).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to migrate, in the system of Rainer and Dotan, an already started workload to a different host because the execution thereof is no longer admissible as taught by Joy so that in response to determining that the updated threat score of the selected host exceeds the threshold threat score (e.g., meaning that the first host no longer meets the acceptable minimum security requirements), the workload itself or one or more other workloads are moved from the selected host to another host from the plurality of hosts that meets the requirements (See, Joy, Paragraph 0041). Furthermore, it would have been obvious to perform migration upon change in the admissibility list of admissible workloads as already taught by Rainer and Dotan to reflect the workload are not be permitted on the current host.
Regarding Claim 12, the rejection of claims 11 is incorporated and the combination of Rainer, Dotan, and Joy further discloses wherein the system comprises an integral or unipartite or integrally or unipartitely handleable device (See, Rainer, Paragraph 0011).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rainer in view of Dotan and Joy and further in view of Ashkenazi et al. (US 2018/0357416 A1), hereinafter, “Ashkenazi”.
Regarding Claim 9, the rejection of claims 1 is incorporated and the combination of Rainer, Dotan and Joy does not explicitly disclose wherein the admissibility list is cryptographically protected.
Ashkenazi discloses cryptographically protecting an admissibility list (See, Paragraph 0013).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to cryptographically protecting, in the system of Rainer, Dotan and Joy, admissibility list as taught by Ashkenazi to protect it from tampering (See, Ashkenazi, Paragraph 0013).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YOGESH PALIWAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2435