DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment filed on 06/05/2026 has been entered. Applicant has amended claims 1, 2, 8, 10 and 11. Currently claims 1-12 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1 and 12 have been considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argued:
In response, examiner would like to point out that primary reference Rainer already discloses stopping the workload when the IT security risk of the execution environment is high (See, Paragraph 0095) and Dotan further discloses depending on whether the admissibility list of admissible workloads has been changed: stopping the workload; or migrating the workload to a different host (See, Paragraphs 0111, “If the technician determines that the program presents a high risk to the users computers, the client servers may remove the program from the white list and may disable the program or have it run in an untrusted mode”). As a result, the arguments are not persuasive and the rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rainer et al. (EP 3557463 (A1), Note: Machine translation was provided with the last office action), hereinafter, “Rainer” in view of Dotan (US 2005/0223239 A1), hereinafter, “Dotan”.
Regarding Claim 1, Rainer discloses a method for executing workloads in an execution environment, the method comprising:
determining approval of a workload for execution using an admissibility list of admissible workloads (See, Paragraph 0070);
in response to the determining the workload for execution, executing the workload in the execution environment (See, Paragraphs 0008, 0010 and 0070);
determining information identifying an IT security risk of the execution environment (See, Paragraph 0068 and 0070);
changing admissibility list of admissible workloads
stopping the workload or migrating the workload to a different host depending on the IT security risk of execution environment (See, Paragraph 0095).
Rainer does not explicitly disclose amending admissibility list of admissible workloads depending on the determined risk information and depending on whether the admissibility list of admissible workloads has been changed: stopping the workload; or migrating the workload to a different host.
Dotan discloses amending admissibility list of admissible workloads depending on a determined risk information and depending on whether the admissibility list of admissible workloads has been changed: stopping the workload; or migrating the workload to a different host (See, Paragraphs 0111, “If the technician determines that the program presents a high risk to the users computers, the client servers may remove the program from the white list and may disable the program or have it run in an untrusted mode”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to amend, in the system of Dotan, admissibility list of admissible workloads depending on the determined risk information as taught by Dotan for determining that the program presents a high risk to the users computers, the client servers may remove the program from the white list and may disable the program or have it run in an untrusted mode (See, Dotan, Paragraph 0111).
Regarding Claim 2, the rejection of claims 1 is incorporated and the combination of Rainer and Dotan further discloses wherein the workload comprises: one or more of a virtual machine, an operating system container, a native operating system application, a service, and an operating system module (See, Rainer, Paragraph 0021).
Regarding Claim 3, the rejection of claims 1 is incorporated and the combination of Rainer and Dotan further discloses comprising determining the risk information of the execution environment during ongoing operation of the execution environment (See, Rainer, Paragraphs 0023 and 0066).
Regarding Claim 4, the rejection of claims 1 is incorporated and the combination of Rainer and Dotan further discloses wherein the execution environment comprises a runtime environment (See, Rainer, Paragraphs 0023 and 0066).
Regarding Claim 5, the rejection of claims 1 is incorporated and the combination of Rainer and Dotan further discloses wherein the execution environment comprises an operating system, an input-output module, a signal connection, a switch, and/or a router (See, Rainer, Paragraph 0020).
Regarding Claim 6, the rejection of claims 1 is incorporated and the combination of Rainer and Dotan further discloses wherein: the risk information is determined using the execution environment or a device in which the execution environment is situated, or software that runs in the execution environment; or wherein the risk information is determined by means of a component communicatively connected to the execution environment (See, Rainer, Paragraphs 0020, 0023 and 0066).
Regarding Claim 7, the rejection of claims 1 is incorporated and the combination of Rainer and Dotan further discloses wherein the admissibility list comprises a positive list (See, Rainer, Paragraph 0070).
Regarding Claim 8, the rejection of claims 1 is incorporated and the combination of Rainer and Dotan further discloses wherein the admissibility list has two or more entries of admissible workloads (See, Rainer, Paragraph 0070).
Regarding Claim 10, the rejection of claims 1 is incorporated and the combination of Rainer and Dotan further discloses wherein the risk information is determined repeatedly and the admissibility list of admissible workloads is changed in each case depending on the repeatedly determined risk information (See, Rainer, Paragraphs 0068-0069 and Dotan, Paragraphs 0066 and 0111).
Regarding Claim 11, Rainer discloses a system, configured for executing a workload in accordance with an admissibility list of admissible workloads, comprising:
an execution environment to execute the workload in which the admissibility list of admissible workloads is present (See, Paragraphs 0070 and 0020);
a processor (See, Paragraph 0012); and
a memory that includes instruction, executable by the processor to (See, Paragraph 0013):
execute the workload in the execution environment (See, Paragraphs 0008, 0010 and 0070);
determine risk information identifying an IT security risk of the execution environment (See, Paragraph 0068 and 0070); and
change the admissibility list
stopping the workload or migrating the workload to a different host depending on the IT security risk of execution environment (See, Paragraph 0095).
Rainer does not explicitly disclose amending admissibility list of admissible workloads depending on the determined risk information and depending on whether the admissibility list of admissible workloads has been changed: stopping the workload; or migrating the workload to a different host.
Dotan discloses amending admissibility list of admissible workloads depending on a determined risk information and depending on whether the admissibility list of admissible workloads has been changed: stopping the workload; or migrating the workload to a different host (See, Paragraphs 0111, “If the technician determines that the program presents a high risk to the users computers, the client servers may remove the program from the white list and may disable the program or have it run in an untrusted mode”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to amend, in the system of Dotan, admissibility list of admissible workloads depending on the determined risk information as taught by Dotan for determining that the program presents a high risk to the users computers, the client servers may remove the program from the white list and may disable the program or have it run in an untrusted mode (See, Dotan, Paragraph 0111).
Regarding Claim 12, the rejection of claims 11 is incorporated and the combination of Rainer and Dotan further discloses wherein the system comprises an integral or unipartite or integrally or unipartitely handleable device (See, Rainer, Paragraph 0011).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rainer in view of Dotan and further in view of Ashkenazi et al. (US 2018/0357416 A1), hereinafter, “Ashkenazi”.
Regarding Claim 9, the rejection of claims 1 is incorporated and the combination of Rainer and Dotan does not explicitly disclose wherein the admissibility list is cryptographically protected.
Ashkenazi discloses cryptographically protecting an admissibility list (See, Paragraph 0013).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to cryptographically protecting, in the system of Rainer and Dotan, admissibility list as taught by Ashkenazi to protect it from tampering (See, Ashkenazi, Paragraph 0013).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YOGESH PALIWAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2435