DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 15, 31, 36, 66, 79 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to non-elected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on June 17, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9, 2, 5-7, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lutolf, et al. (WO 2016/096054).
In reference to Claim 9, Lutolf discloses mixing liquids (Abstract) (a device for mixing liquids), the device comprising: micro dispensing devices (page 3, lines 1-5) (a plurality of liquid dispensers configured to dispense drops), wherein the droplets collide and fuse (page 4, lines 10-11) (at least a carrier drop sequentially collides and merges with drops dispensed from a sub-plurality of liquid dispensers, so that liquids from the sub-plurality of liquid dispensers are located in the carrier drop); the merged droplets landing on a support (page 11, lines 1-20 and Fig. 1) (a support surface being positioned so that the carrier drop lands on the support surface); and the dispensing devices are above the support surface (page 11, lines 1-20 and Fig. 1) (a mixing chamber, which is a partially or a fully closed compartment of the device wherein the plurality of liquid dispensers and the support surface are positioned), and the system where the droplets mix is contained (page 10, lines 25-27 and Fig. 2) (the mixing chamber is the fully closed compartment during the time in which the drops are in-flight).
In reference to Claim 2, Lutolf discloses the device of Claim 9, as described above.
Lutolf discloses at least one second dispenser for generating at least one second stream of droplets (page 8, lines 22-27) (at least one liquid dispenser is configured to dispense the carrier drop, and/or the carrier drop has a trajectory that passes by at least two liquid dispensers configured to dispense drops towards the trajectory of the carrier drop in a synchronized manner, so that the carrier drop sequentially collides with at least all drops that include liquids from the sub-plurality of liquid dispensers and are dispensed by at least some of the at least two liquid dispensers).
In reference to Claim 5, Lutolf discloses the device of Claim 9, as described above.
Lutolf discloses droplet generation in the picoliter volume range (page 4, line 30 – page 5, line 2) (each of the liquid dispensers in the plurality of liquid dispensers is configured to dispense up to a hundred thousand (100,000) drops per second, and/or is configured to dispense drops with a volume in a range between 1 picoliter to 100 nanoliters; and/or the plurality of liquid dispensers comprises fifty or more, or five hundred or more, or ten thousands or more liquid dispensers).
In reference to Claim 6, Lutolf discloses the device of Claim 9, as described above.
Lutolf discloses the droplets are collected into a liquid bath, or deposited onto a substrate, such as a scaffold with tissue-like characteristics (page 5, line 29 – page 6, line 4) (the support surface is: made of a bendable material or a non-bendable material, and/or is detachable or non-detachable relative to the device, and/or is a container filled with a liquid in which the carrier drops land, and/or is a surface).
In reference to Claim 7, Lutolf discloses the device of Claim 9, as described above.
Lutolf discloses droplets that do not mix by conventional methods, but have mixing-homogeneity because of the method used (page 10, lines 5-8) (the plurality of liquid dispensers are configured to dispense drops of a first liquid, and the support surface is filled or covered with a second liquid, and the first liquid and the second liquid are immiscible).
In reference to Claim 13, Lutolf discloses the device of Claim 9, as described above.
Lutolf discloses each dispenser has liquids (page 8, lines 22-25) (each of the liquid dispensers in the plurality of liquid dispensers comprises at least a container for holding liquids to dispense, a drop generating element positioned and configured to cause at least one drop to dispense), the nozzle (page 9, lines 14-16) (a nozzle through which the at least one drop is ejected from, a capillary which connects the container with the nozzle so that the liquid runs from the container through the capillary and out through the nozzle for the at least one drop to be dispensed), and synchronizing the operation (page 8, line 32 – page 9, line 3) (synchronisation means, which enable each of the liquid dispensers to operate in a synchronised manner with other liquid dispensers in the plurality of liquid dispensers); and/or holding means for holding the dispensers (page 8, lines 26-27) (a single container is configured to supply liquids to two or more nozzles in the plurality of liquid dispensers; and/or two or more containers are configured to supply liquids to a single nozzle in the plurality of liquid dispensers).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4, 10, and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 3 would be allowable because the prior art of record does not disclose a first carrier drop, a second carrier drop, and at least a third carrier drop, and the plurality of liquid dispensers is configured so that the first carrier drop collides with drops from a first sub-plurality of liquid dispensers, the second carrier drop collides with drops from a second sub-plurality of liquid dispensers, the third carrier drop collides with drops from a third sub-plurality of liquid dispensers, and so on, until all of the carrier drops in the stream collide with at least some drops dispensed from at least some liquid dispensers from the plurality of liquid dispensers, and all of the carrier drops in the stream land on the support surface.
Claim 4 would be allowable because the prior art of record does not disclose the second array is configured to dispense drops towards a second stream of carrier drops.
Claim 10 would be allowable because the prior art of record does not disclose electric plates arranged perpendicularly to a path of at least one drop dispensed from at least one liquid dispenser, … the electric plates are configured so that the electric plates exert electric fields on the at least one drop in a synchronized manner, so that the at least one drop is manipulated with the electric fields exerted by the electric plates during the time in which the at least one drop passes through the electric fields exerted by the electric plates.
Claim 12 would be allowable because the prior art of record does not disclose configured to move the support surface in at least one direction relative to the plurality of liquid dispensers, and/or move the plurality of liquid dispensers in at least one direction relative to the support surface, and/or move the support surface from the mixing chamber to the processing chamber.
Conclusion
KELSEY C. GRACE
Examiner
Art Unit 1742
/CHRISTINA A JOHNSON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1742