DETAILED ACTION
Applicant(s) Response to Official Action
The response filed on 1/21/2025 has been entered and made of record.
Response to Arguments/Amendments
Presented arguments have been fully considered, but are rendered moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection necessitated by amendment(s) initiated by the applicant(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 26-33, 39, and 45-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Florian Maurer et al. [Overview Of MPEG-5 Part 2 – Low Complexity Enhancement Video Coding (LCEVC): already of record] in view of Miska Hannuksela et al. [US 20080095228 A1: already of record] and further in view of Joo Sanghyun et al. [US 20030099373 A1].
Regarding claim 26, Florian teaches:
26. (New) A method of signal processing (i.e. The encoding process to create an LCEVC conformant bitstream is shown in Fig. 2 and can be depicted in three major steps- section 5.1), the method comprising:
processing a first signal by at least sending the first signal to an encoder (i.e. base encoder- fig. 2) to generate an encoded signal (i.e. encoded base- fig. 2);
obtaining a second signal; processing at least the second signal to generate residual data (i.e. L-1 residuals- fig. 2, section 5.1.2); and
encoding the residual data to generate encoded residual data (i.e. L-1 Coefficient Layers- fig. 2, section 5.1.2); and
outputting at least the encoded residual data (i.e. The LCEVC bitstream contains a base layer, which may be at a lower resolution, and an enhancement layer consisting of up to two sub-layers- section 4).
However, Florian does not teach explicitly:
the second signal comprising an overlay region, the overlay region of the second signal comprising overlay content.
In the same field of endeavor, Miska teaches:
the second signal comprising an overlay region, the overlay region of the second signal comprising overlay content (i.e. An enhancement layer 410 (i.e., a second coded picture) is coded such that the area covered by the logo 420 is coded as one or more slices- ¶0054).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Florian with the teachings of Miska to insert a logo into a compressed bitstream without re-encoding the entire video sequence (Miska- ¶0053).
However, Florian and Miska do not teach explicitly:
wherein: the second signal is generated by applying an overlay signal to an input signal, where the overlay signal includes the overlay content, applying the overlay signal to the input signal includes replacing, in the overlay region, signal element values of signal elements of the input signal with signal element values of signal elements of the overlay signal, and an amount of the signal element values that are replaced in the input signal are at most half of the signal element values in the input signal.
In the same field of endeavor, Joo teaches:
wherein: the second signal is generated by applying an overlay signal to an input signal, where the overlay signal includes the overlay content, applying the overlay signal to the input signal includes replacing, in the overlay region, signal element values of signal elements of the input signal with signal element values of signal elements of the overlay signal., andan amount of the signal element values that are replaced in the input signal are at most half of the signal element values in the input signal (i.e. At step S412, the watermark embedding unit 304 replaces the pixel data value LL (idx(i)) of the target image LL with the pixel data value obtained by adding the predetermined interval factor INTERVAL to the pixel data value LL' (idx(i)) of the mirror image LL' at the same position. Accordingly, the watermarking operation is conducted under the condition in which there is a difference between the pixel data value LL (idx(i)) of the target image LL and the pixel data value LL' (idx(i)) of the mirror image LL' corresponding to the predetermined interval factor INTERVAL- ¶0042, fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Florian and Miska with the teachings Joo to provide a method for embedding and extracting digital watermarks using a blind mode based on wavelet transform which is capable of extracting watermarks without using original data (Joo- ¶0001).
Regarding claim 27, Florian, Miska and Joo teach all the limitations of claim 26 and Florian further teaches:
wherein the processing of at least the second signal to generate the residual data comprises processing the second signal and a third signal to generate the residual data (i.e. The reconstructed base picture may be upscaled to undo the downscaling process and is then subtracted from the first-order downscaled input sequence in order to generate the Layer 1 (L-1) residuals- section 5.1.2).
Regarding claim 28, Florian, Miska and Joo teach all the limitations of claim 27 and Florian further teaches:
comprising receiving a decoded version of the encoded signal, wherein the third signal is based on the decoded version of the encoded signal (i.e. (i.e. The reconstructed base picture may be upscaled to undo the downscaling process and is then subtracted from the first-order downscaled input sequence in order to generate the Layer 1 (L-1) residuals- section 5.1.2, fig. 2).
Regarding claim 29, Florian, Miska and Joo teach all the limitations of claim 28 and Florian further teaches:
comprising up-sampling the decoded version of the encoded signal to generate an up-sampled signal, wherein the third signal comprises the up- sampled signal (i.e. The reconstructed base picture may be upscaled to undo the downscaling process and is then subtracted from the first-order downscaled input sequence in order to generate the Layer 1 (L-1) residuals- section 5.1.2, fig. 2).
Regarding claim 30, Florian, Miska and Joo teach all the limitations of claim 27 and Florian further teaches:
wherein the processing of the second signal and the third signal to generate the residual data comprises: calculating differences between values of signal elements in at least the overlay region of the second signal and values of corresponding signal elements in the third signal (i.e. The reconstructed base picture may be upscaled to undo the downscaling process and is then subtracted from the first-order downscaled input sequence in order to generate the Layer 1 (L-1) residuals- section 5.1.2, fig. 2).
Regarding claim 31, Florian, Miska and Joo teach all the limitations of claim 30 and Florian further teaches:
wherein the corresponding signal elements in the third signal are comprised in an overlay region of the third signal (i.e. The reconstructed base picture may be upscaled to undo the downscaling process and is then subtracted from the first-order downscaled input sequence in order to generate the Layer 1 (L-1) residuals- section 5.1.2, fig. 2).
Regarding claim 32, Florian, Miska and Joo teach all the limitations of claim 30 and Florian further teaches:
wherein the corresponding signal elements in the third signal are comprised in a non-overlay region of the third signal (i.e. The reconstructed base picture may be upscaled to undo the downscaling process and is then subtracted from the first-order downscaled input sequence in order to generate the Layer 1 (L-1) residuals- section 5.1.2, fig. 2).
Regarding claim 33, Florian, Miska and Joo teach all the limitations of claim 30 and Florian further teaches:
wherein the processing of the second signal and the third signal to generate the residual data comprises: combining values of signal elements in at least the overlay region of the second signal and values of corresponding signal elements in the third signal to generate a combined signal; and calculating differences between values of signal elements in at least an overlay region of the combined signal and values of corresponding signal elements in the third signal, wherein the overlay region of the combined signal corresponds to the overlay region of the second signal(i.e. The reconstructed base picture may be upscaled to undo the downscaling process and is then subtracted from the first-order downscaled input sequence in order to generate the Layer 1 (L-1) residuals- section 5.1.2, fig. 2).
Regarding claim 39, Florian, Miska and Joo teach all the limitations of claim 26 and Florian further teaches:
wherein the first signal does not comprise said overlay content (i.e. see fig. 2).
Regarding claim 45, apparatus claim 45 is drawn to the apparatus using/performing the same method as claimed in claim 26. Therefore, apparatus claim 45 corresponds to method claim 26, and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Regarding claim 46, one or more hardware storage devices that store instructions claim 46 is drawn to the one or more hardware storage devices that store instructions performing the same method as claimed in claim 26. Therefore, one or more hardware storage devices that store instructions claim 46 corresponds to method claim 26, and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Claims 34-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Florian Maurer et al. [Overview Of MPEG-5 Part 2 – Low Complexity Enhancement Video Coding (LCEVC) : already of record] in view of Miska Hannuksela et al. [US 20080095228 A1: already of record] further in view of Joo Sanghyun et al. [US 20030099373 A1] even further in view of Yan Ye et al. [US 20070223825 A1: already of record].
Regarding claim 34, Florian, Miska and Joo teach all the limitations of claim 33.
However, Florian, Miska and Joo do not teach explicitly:
wherein the second signal comprises a nonoverlay region, and wherein the non-overlay region of the second signal is a blank region.
In the same field of endeavor, Yan teaches:
wherein the second signal comprises a nonoverlay region, and wherein the non-overlay region of the second signal is a blank region (i.e. FIG. 6 illustrates an example of how to classify coefficients. A base layer coefficient block 602 and an enhancement layer coefficient block 604 are provided. The blank spaces in the base layer 602 and the enhancement layer 604 represent coefficients of zero. These coefficients are referred to as non-significant coefficients. The remaining spaces, 606, 608, 608a, and 608b each represent a coefficient that may have a nonzero value. In one configuration, the base layer coefficient block 602 is in a previous enhancement layer using the FGS video coding format. As previously explained, during the encoding method 300 of FIG. 3, transform coefficients are quantized. After quantization, the nonzero coefficients in the enhancement layer coefficient block 604 with corresponding coefficients in the base layer coefficient block 602 equal to zero are referred to as significant coefficients 606. Coefficients whose corresponding coefficients in the base layer are nonzero are referred to as refinement coefficients 608. Because significant coefficients 606 and refinement coefficients 608 have different statistics, they are coded separately in the enhancement layer 604 following the FGS coding format- ¶0057, fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Florian, Miska and Joo with the teachings of Yan to reduce spatial redundancy (Yan- ¶0050).
Regarding claim 35, Florian, Miska and Joo teach all the limitations of claim 27.
However, Florian, Miska and Joo do not teach explicitly:
wherein the third signal comprises a reference signal, wherein the reference signal is independent of the first signal, and wherein the reference signal is a blank signal.
In the same field of endeavor, Yan teaches:
wherein the third signal comprises a reference signal, wherein the reference signal is independent of the first signal, and wherein the reference signal is a blank signal (i.e. FIG. 6 illustrates an example of how to classify coefficients. A base layer coefficient block 602 and an enhancement layer coefficient block 604 are provided. The blank spaces in the base layer 602 and the enhancement layer 604 represent coefficients of zero. These coefficients are referred to as non-significant coefficients. The remaining spaces, 606, 608, 608a, and 608b each represent a coefficient that may have a nonzero value. In one configuration, the base layer coefficient block 602 is in a previous enhancement layer using the FGS video coding format. As previously explained, during the encoding method 300 of FIG. 3, transform coefficients are quantized. After quantization, the nonzero coefficients in the enhancement layer coefficient block 604 with corresponding coefficients in the base layer coefficient block 602 equal to zero are referred to as significant coefficients 606. Coefficients whose corresponding coefficients in the base layer are nonzero are referred to as refinement coefficients 608. Because significant coefficients 606 and refinement coefficients 608 have different statistics, they are coded separately in the enhancement layer 604 following the FGS coding format- ¶0057, fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Florian, Miska and Joo with the teachings of Yan to reduce spatial redundancy (Yan- ¶0050).
Regarding claim 36, Florian, Miska, Joo and Yan teach all the limitations of claim 35 and Florian further teaches:
wherein the residual data comprises substitutive residual data, the substitutive residual data comprising signal element values to be substituted in place of corresponding signal element values in another signal (i.e. transform & quantized- fig. 2).
Claims 37-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Florian Maurer et al. [Overview Of MPEG-5 Part 2 – Low Complexity Enhancement Video Coding (LCEVC) : already of record] in view of Miska Hannuksela et al. [US 20080095228 A1: already of record] further in view of Joo Sanghyun et al. [US 20030099373 A1] even further in view of Shinobu Hattori et al. [US 20150103919 A1: already of record]
Regarding claim 37, Florian, Miska and Joo teach all the limitations of claim 26.
However, Florian, Miska and Joo do not teach explicitly:
wherein the first signal comprises content having a first dynamic range, wherein the second signal comprises content having a second dynamic range, and wherein the second dynamic range is higher than the first dynamic range.
In the same field of endeavor, Shinobu teaches:
wherein the first signal comprises content having a first dynamic range, wherein the second signal comprises content having a second dynamic range, and wherein the second dynamic range is higher than the first dynamic range (i.e. Further, as a parameter which gives scalability, a dynamic range of luminance may be used (DR scalability). In a case of the DR scalability, a dynamic range of luminance is different for each layer. In this case, for example, a base layer is formed by an SDR image, and an enhancement layer is added thereto so that an HDR image can be obtained… In a case of applying the above-described series of processes to the dynamic range scalability, for example, information regarding knee decompression from an SDR image to an HDR image is set in a coded stream of a base layer image as DR conversion information. In addition, information regarding knee compression of a dynamic range of luminance of a HDR image is set in a coded stream of an enhancement layer image as DR conversion information- ¶0493-0494).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Florian, Miska and Joo with the teachings of Shinobu since a compression ratio of knee compression during generation of a coding target image is lower than in a case where a coding target image is an SDR image, quality of a display image can be improved (Shinobu- ¶0249).
Regarding claim 38, Florian, Miska and Joo teach all the limitations of claim 26.
However, Florian, Miska and Joo do not teach explicitly:
wherein: the overlay content comprises or consists of high dynamic range (HDR) content; and/or the first signal comprises or consists of standard dynamic range (SDR) content.
In the same field of endeavor, Shinobu teaches:
wherein: the overlay content comprises or consists of high dynamic range (HDR) content; and/or the first signal comprises or consists of standard dynamic range (SDR) content (i.e. Further, as a parameter which gives scalability, a dynamic range of luminance may be used (DR scalability). In a case of the DR scalability, a dynamic range of luminance is different for each layer. In this case, for example, a base layer is formed by an SDR image, and an enhancement layer is added thereto so that an HDR image can be obtained… In a case of applying the above-described series of processes to the dynamic range scalability, for example, information regarding knee decompression from an SDR image to an HDR image is set in a coded stream of a base layer image as DR conversion information. In addition, information regarding knee compression of a dynamic range of luminance of a HDR image is set in a coded stream of an enhancement layer image as DR conversion information- ¶0493-0494).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Florian, Miska and Joo with the teachings of Shinobu since a compression ratio of knee compression during generation of a coding target image is lower than in a case where a coding target image is an SDR image, quality of a display image can be improved (Shinobu- ¶0249).
Claim 40 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Florian Maurer et al. [Overview Of MPEG-5 Part 2 – Low Complexity Enhancement Video Coding (LCEVC) : already of record] in view of Miska Hannuksela et al. [US 20080095228 A1: already of record] further in view of Joo Sanghyun et al. [US 20030099373 A1] even further in view of Dae-Hee Kim et al. [US 20080056352 A1: already of record].
Regarding claim 40, Florian, Miska and Joo teach all the limitations of claim 26.
However, Florian, Miska and Joo do not teach explicitly:
wherein a first codec is used to generate the encoded signal and a second, different codec is used to generate the encoded residual data, wherein the first codec is unable to encode the overlay region of the second signal.
In the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches:
wherein a first codec is used to generate the encoded signal and a second, different codec is used to generate the encoded residual data, wherein the first codec is unable to encode the overlay region of the second signal (i.e. In addition, in the embodiments described above, the supporting of two codecs in which at least one of a bit-depth and a video format is different is explained based on the example of the scalable bitstream formed by one base layer bitstream and one enhancement layer bitstream. However, the present invention can also support two or more codecs by using a plurality of enhancement layer bitstreams. Also, although the example of the bit-depth, in which the base bit-depth is smaller than the extended bit-depth, is explained in the above embodiments, the present invention can also be applied to a different conversion direction of the bit-depth, i.e., when the base bit-depth are greater than the extended bit-depth, in various ways of changing the design. Also, in the above embodiments, the refined QP (R) is allocated in the picture level, but when necessary, the refined QP (R) can be allocated in a slice level, a macroblock level, or a block level- ¶0118).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Florian, Miska and Joo with the teachings of Kim to provide a new video codec guaranteeing forward compatibility, a video encoder generates a scalable bitstream formed with a base layer bitstream and an enhancement layer bitstream (Kim- ¶0119).
Claim 41 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Florian Maurer et al. [Overview Of MPEG-5 Part 2 – Low Complexity Enhancement Video Coding (LCEVC) : already of record] in view of Miska Hannuksela et al. [US 20080095228 A1: already of record] further in view of Joo Sanghyun et al. [US 20030099373 A1] even further in view of Hayder Radha et al.[US 6292512 B1].
Regarding claim 41, Florian, Miska and Joo teach all the limitations of claim 26.
However, Florian, Miska and Joo do not teach explicitly:
wherein the second signal has a given level of quality and wherein the given level of quality of the second signal is maintained during the processing of the second signal.
In the same field of endeavor, Hayder teaches:
wherein the second signal has a given level of quality and wherein the given level of quality of the second signal is maintained during the processing of the second signal (i.e. see fig. 6 & 11).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Florian, Miska and Joo with the teachings of Hayder to accommodate different bit rates, and hence different quality images (Hayder- Field of the Invention).
Claim 42 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Florian Maurer et al. [Overview Of MPEG-5 Part 2 – Low Complexity Enhancement Video Coding (LCEVC)] in view of Miska Hannuksela et al. [US 20080095228 A1: already of record] further in view of Joo Sanghyun et al. [US 20030099373 A1] even further in view of Tony E. Piotrowski [US 6496217 B1: already of record].
Regarding claim 42, Florian, Miska and Joo teach all the limitations of claim 26.
However, Florian, Miska and Joo do not teach explicitly:
comprising generating the second signal by applying an overlay signal to an input signal, the overlay signal comprising the overlay region.
In the same field of endeavor, Tony teaches:
comprising generating the second signal by applying an overlay signal to an input signal, the overlay signal comprising the overlay region (i.e. In another embodiment, a masking technique of the view may be used. As shown in FIG. 6, all but the objects with a high priority are first masked. Conventional layered source encoding can be used for resulting image. The remainder (i.e., the masked portion) can then be coded and sent via one of the enhancement layers. Multiple layers of masking may also be used in the embodiment- col 4, line 66-67, fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Florian, Miska and Joo with the teachings of Tony so that a higher quality video signal can be obtained (Tony- col 1, line 55-62).
Claim 43 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Florian Maurer et al. [Overview Of MPEG-5 Part 2 – Low Complexity Enhancement Video Coding (LCEVC) : already of record] in view of Miska Hannuksela et al. [US 20080095228 A1: already of record] further in view of Joo Sanghyun et al. [US 20030099373 A1] even further in view of Wei Jia [US 8804819 B1: already of record].
Regarding claim 43, Florian, Miska and Joo teach all the limitations of claim 26 and Florian further teaches:
comprising:
obtaining a further signal (i.e. As a last step of the encoding process, the enhancement data for Layer 2 needs to be generated. In order to create the residuals, the coefficients from Layer 1 are processed by an in-loop decoder to achieve the corresponding reconstructed picture. Since Layer 1 might have a different resolution than the input sequence, the reconstructed picture is processed by an upscaler, again depending on the chosen scaling mode. Finally, the residuals are calculated by a subtraction of the input sequence and the upscaled reconstruction- section 5.1.3),
processing at least the further signal to generate further residual data (i.e. L-2 residuals- fig. 2);
encoding the further residual data to generate further encoded residual data (i.e. L-2 coefficient layers- fig. 2); and outputting the further encoded residual data, wherein the further encoded residual data is output in association with the encoded signal or is output with the encoded residual data, and wherein the residual data is indicative of the overlay content of the overlay region of the second signal (i.e. The entropy encoded quantized transform coefficients of Layer 2, as well as a temporal layer specifying the use of the temporal prediction on a block basis, are included in the LCEVC bitstream- 5.1.3).
However, Florian, Miska and Joo do not teach explicitly:
the further signal comprising a further overlay region, and the further overlay region comprising further overlay content, the further overlay content being different from the overlay content comprised in the overlay region of the second signal.
In the same field of endeavor, Wei teaches:
the further signal comprising a further overlay region, and the further overlay region comprising further overlay content, the further overlay content being different from the overlay content comprised in the overlay region of the second signal (i.e. FIG. 8 is a schematic illustrative of a method to encode the enhancement layer portion. An exemplary frame 150 is shown to illustrate the method. The exemplary frame 150 is separated into a base layer portion 152 (white area) and enhancement layer portions 154, 156, and 158 (black areas). The color and configuration of the layers are shown in such a way to illustrate an exemplary method of encoding an enhancement layer within the encoding and decoding system. As such, actual frames for encoding may be more complex and include enhancement pixels in other configurations, for example, not in contiguous blocks as shown- Col 7, line 50-60).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Florian, Miska and Joo with the teachings of Wei to provide a better decoded digital video signal for the base layer by eliminating or greatly reducing the encoding artifacts that can be introduced using other techniques (Wei- Col 4, line 48-50).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
CLIFFORD HILAIRE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2488
/CLIFFORD HILAIRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488