DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the hinge portion claimed in claim 4, see 112 2nd paragraph rejection below, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 requires that the device further comprises a hinge portion configured to extend passing the protruding piece formed at the other end of the locker shaft and to rotatably connect to the body cover.
At the instant, it is unclear what is claimed here. According to the specification, the hinge portion is defined as element 230. However, as shown in fig 2, element 230 is the hook that is engaged by the locker.
Therefore, in order to continue with the examination, a broad interpretation will be given. Correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2022030720 to Suh et al (Suh) in view of US Pat No 10,676,962 to Weinerman et al (Weinerman).
Regarding claim 1, Suh discloses an automatic opening (auto-open) door-lock device comprising a body cover (10) with a space inside and a motor (20) installed inside the body cover to provide a driving force.
The auto-open door-lock device comprises a locker (110) configured to couple with or decouple from a hook coming in from outside through rotation; a locker shaft (120) having it’s one end connected to the locker and formed at the center of rotation of the locker; a protruding piece (122) configured to connect to another end of the locker shaft and to induce rotation of the locker; a locker spring (130) configured to connect to one side of the locker and to provide a rotational restoring force to the locker; a rack slide (210) configured to provide a rotational force of the motor to the locker; and a pinion gear (310) configured to transmit the rotational force of the motor to the rack slide.
The rack slide comprises a rack gear configured to mesh with the pinion gear in a predetermined area of another end.
Suh fails to disclose that the rack slide comprises a track hole that is a space formed to rotate the protruding piece in a predetermined area of one end; and a stopper formed at one end of the track hole to induce the protruding piece to rotate.
Suh discloses a different mechanical way to operatively connect the protruding piece to the rack slide, by means of a secondary rack gear and a clutch gear on the protruding piece.
Weinerman teaches that it is well known in the art to provide a locker lever (120) with a protruding piece (126) that is configured to engage a track hole (229) of a rack slide (174), and a stopper formed at one end of the track hole to induce the protruding piece to rotate.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the connection between the locker and the rack slide described by Suh as a track hole on the rack slide, as taught by Weinerman, in order to provide a simpler way to operate the locker with less members and design.
As to claim 2, Suh discloses that the device further comprises a slide spring (240) having its one end coupling with the body cover and having another end connected to the rack slide and configured to linearly move the rack slide in the direction of the locker.
As to claim 3, Suh discloses that the device further comprises a locker locking slide (410) configured to insert into a locker fastening groove formed in the locker and to block rotation of the locker.
As to claim 4, Suh discloses that the device further comprises a hinge portion configured to extend passing the protruding piece formed at the other end of the locker shaft and to rotatably connect to the body cover.
As to claim 5, Suh discloses that the pinion gear (310) includes a first pinion gear (311) and a second pinion gear (312) configured to share the center of rotation and to couple in a longitudinal direction, and the second pinion gear has gear teeth only in a predetermined area on the outer circumferential surface.
As to claim 6, Suh discloses that the second pinion gear (312) is configured to mesh with the rack gear.
Conclusion
/Carlos Lugo/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3675
March 23, 2026