DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because of the poor image quality of Figures 16A, 16B, and 27. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Nucleotide and/or Amino Acid Sequence Disclosures
Summary of Requirements for Patent Applications Filed On Or After July 1, 2022, That Have Sequence Disclosures
37 CFR 1.831(a) requires that patent applications which contain disclosures of nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences that fall within the definitions of 37 CFR 1.831(b) must contain a “Sequence Listing XML”, as a separate part of the disclosure, which presents the nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences and associated information using the symbols and format in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.831-1.835. This “Sequence Listing XML” part of the disclosure may be submitted:
1. In accordance with 37 CFR 1.831(a) using the symbols and format requirements of 37 CFR 1.832 through 1.834 via the USPTO patent electronic filing system (see Section I.1 of the Legal Framework for Patent Electronic System (https://www.uspto.gov/PatentLegalFramework), hereinafter “Legal Framework”) in XML format, together with an incorporation by reference statement of the material in the XML file in a separate paragraph of the specification (an incorporation by reference paragraph) as required by 37 CFR 1.835(a)(2) or 1.835(b)(2) identifying:
a. the name of the XML file
b. the date of creation; and
c. the size of the XML file in bytes; or
2. In accordance with 37 CFR 1.831(a) using the symbols and format requirements of 37 CFR 1.832 through 1.834 on read-only optical disc(s) as permitted by 37 CFR 1.52(e)(1)(ii), labeled according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(5), with an incorporation by reference statement of the material in the XML format according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(8) and 37 CFR 1.835(a)(2) or 1.835(b)(2) in a separate paragraph of the specification identifying:
a. the name of the XML file;
b. the date of creation; and
c. the size of the XML file in bytes.
SPECIFIC DEFICIENCIES AND THE REQUIRED RESPONSE TO THIS NOTICE ARE AS FOLLOWS:
Specific deficiency - This application fails to comply with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.831-1.834 because it does not contain a “Sequence Listing XML” as a separate part of the disclosure. A “Sequence Listing XML” is required because Figure 3 contains three amino acid sequences with at least 4 specifically defined amino acids in each of the sequences.
Required response - Applicant must provide:
• A “Sequence Listing XML” part of the disclosure, as described above in item 1. or 2.; together with
o A statement that indicates the basis for the amendment, with specific references to particular parts of the application as originally filed, as required by 37 CFR 1.835(a)(3);
o A statement that the “Sequence Listing XML” includes no new matter as required by 37 CFR 1.835(a)(4)
AND
• A substitute specification in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52, 1.121(b)(3), and 1.125 inserting the required incorporation by reference paragraph as required by 37 CFR 1.835(a)(2), consisting of:
o A copy of the previously-submitted specification, with deletions shown with strikethrough or brackets and insertions shown with underlining (marked-up version);
o A copy of the amended specification without markings (clean version); and
o A statement that the substitute specification contains no new matter.
Claim Objections
Claim 59 is objected to because of the following informalities: missing the statement, “wherein the,” in line 2 of the claim before the phrase, “compound having the formula”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 40 – 44, 46 – 47, 49 – 51, 53 – 55, and 58 – 59 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication Number US 2019/0375743 A1 to Hudson et. al. (Hudson’743; cited on the IDS dated 12/23/2024) in view of Mobasher et. al. ((2019), OT18 A Phase 1/1B Dose Escalation Trial Evaluating CPI-818, an Oral Interleukin-2-Inducible T-Cell Kinase Inhibitor, in Patients with Relapsed/Refractory T-cell Lymphoma, Hematological Oncology, Supplemental Article, Abstract, 37, 563 – 564) and as evidenced by National Center for Biotechnology Information (2026). PubChem Compound Summary for CID 134517711, Soquelitinib. Retrieved October 5, 2026 from https://pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/compound/Soquelitinib.
Regarding claims 40 – 44, 46 – 47, 49 – 51, 53 – 55, and 58 – 59, Hudson’743 teach compounds capable of modulating the level of activity of lnterleukin-2-inducible T-cell kinase (ITK, TSK) and methods of using the same. See page 1 paragraph 0003. Furthermore, Hudson’743 teach embodiments where compounds of this disclosure are used in methods of treating cancer, an inflammatory disease, an autoimmune disease, infectious disease, or a disease associated with ITK. See page 2 paragraphs 0006 – 0010. See claim 40 limitation for a method for treating an allergy, a cancer, or an autoimmune disease. Moreover, Hudson’743 teach embodiments where compounds of this disclosure are used in methods of inhibiting lnterleukin-2-inducible T-cell kinase activity. See page 2 paragraph 0011. See claim 50 limitation for a method for treating a Th2/ITK-mediated disease comprising administering to the patient an effective amount of an ITK inhibitor. Specifically, Hudson’743 teach compound 44 of structure
. See page 304 Table 1 Row 1 compound 44 See claim 40 limitation for a method for treating an allergy, a cancer, or an autoimmune disease comprising administering a compound of Formula (A) where the compound is
. See claim 58 limitation for the method of claim 50 where the ITK inhibitor is a compound of Formula (A) or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof:
. Moreover, Hudson’743 teach compound 4 of structure
where ring A = phenyl; R3 = R2 = R1 = R4 = H; R5 = cyclopropyl; L1 = -CH2-; L2 = -NHC(O)-; L3 = -C(O)-; L4 =
; and E =
. See page 323 Table 1 Row 3 compound 4. See claim 59 limitation for a method of claim 50 where the ITK inhibitor is a compound of Formula (I) or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof compound having the formula:
where ring A =
; R1 = R2 = R3 = R4 = H; R5 = unsubstituted cycloalkyl; L1 = unsubstituted C1 alkylene; L2 = -NHC(O)-; L3 = -C(O)-; L4 = unsubstituted heterocycloalkylene; and E =
where R15 = R16 = R17 = H.
Additionally, Hudson’743 teach an embodiment of pharmaceutical composition comprising compounds of the disclosure, which includes compound 44, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, and a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient. See page 188 paragraph 0620. See claim 49 limitation for a pharmaceutical composition comprising a compound of Formula (A)
or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof and a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient. Hudson’743 teach an embodiment for a method of treating cancer where the cancer is a leukemia or lymphoma. See page 189 paragraph 0624. See claim 46 limitation for the method of claim 40 where the cancer is lymphoma or leukemia. Moreover, Hudson’743 teach an embodiment for a method of treating an inflammatory disease where the inflammatory disease is psoriasis, allergic asthma, inflammatory bowel disease, or atopic dermatitis. See claim 43 limitation for the method of claim 40 where the allergy is psoriasis, allergic asthma, inflammatory bowel disease, or atopic dermatitis. See claim 44 limitation for the method of claim 43 where the allergy is atopic dermatitis. See claim 47 limitation for the method of claim 40 where the autoimmune disease is inflammatory bowel disease. See claim 51 limitation for the method of claim 50 where the TH2/ITK-mediated disease is psoriasis, or atopic dermatitis. See claim 53 limitation for the method of claim 50 where the TH2/ITK-mediated disease is atopic dermatitis.
Furthermore, Hudson’743 teach that the “effective amount,” The exact amounts will depend on the purpose of the treatment, and will be ascertainable by one skilled in the art using known techniques (see, e.g., Lieberman, Pharmaceutical Dosage Forms (vols. 1-3, 1992); Lloyd, The Art, Science and Technology of Pharmaceutical Compounding (1999); Pickar, Dosage Calculations (1999); and Remington: The Science and Practice of Pharmacy, 20th Edition, 2003, Gennaro, Ed., Lippincott, Williams & Wilkins). See page 13 paragraph 0093. Additionally, Hudson’743 teach that dosages may be varied depending upon the requirements of the patient and the compound being employed. See page 13 paragraph 0096. Hudson’743 teach that the dose administered to a patient, in the context of the present invention, should be sufficient to effect a beneficial therapeutic response in the patient over time, and that the size of the dose also will be determined by the existence, nature, and extent of any adverse side-effects. See page 13 paragraph 0096. Moreover, Hudson’743 teach that the determination of the proper dosage for a particular situation is within the skill of the practitioner. See page 13 paragraph 0096. Additionally, Hudson’743 teach that Compound 44 had IC50 values of < 10 nM against ITK; 100 nM ≤ x< 1000 nM against TXK, TXK/ITK ratio of 116.56 nM; 1000 nm≤ x < 10000 nM against JAK3; and 100 nM ≤ x< 1000 nM against BTK. See page 357 Table 2 row 2.
However, Hudson’743 fails to teach a method for treating an allergy, a cancer, or an autoimmune disease in a patient in need thereof, the method comprising administering to the patient about 250 mg to about 1,000 mg per day of a compound of Formula (A) or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof. See claim 40 limitation. Moreover, Hudson’743 fails to teach a pharmaceutical composition comprising a compound of Formula (A) where the pharmaceutical composition comprises (i) about 200 mg of the compound of Formula (A) or (ii) about 400 mg of the compound of Formula (A) in a single or divided dose. See claim 49 limitation.
Nevertheless, Mobasher et. al. teach that CPI-818 is a first-in-class, irreversible, covalent-binding ITK inhibitor with a high degree of selectivity for ITK. See page 563 column 2 paragraph 1. Furthermore, as evidenced by NCBI, CPI-818 has the structure of
which is identical to compound 44 of prior art Hudson’743. Mobasher et. al. teach that a dose escalation trail will be performed with 3 + 3 (+ optional 3) design will consist of up to 6 ascending dose levels (100, 200, 400, 600, 900, and 1200 mg BID) of CPI-818 to patients with various types of T-cell lymphomas that have progressed on, refractory to, relapsed, or intolerant to at least 2 standard therapies. See page 563 column 2 paragraph 1. See claim 40 limitation for a method for treating an allergy, a cancer, or an autoimmune disease in a patient in need thereof, the method comprising administering to the patient about 250 mg to about 1,000 mg per day of a compound of Formula (A) or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof. See claim 41 limitation for the method of claim 40 comprising administering to the patient about 125 mg to about 500 mg twice per day per day of the compound of Formula (A) or the pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof. See claim 42 limitation for the method of claim 40 comprising administering to the patient about 200 mg twice per day per day of the compound of Formula (A) or the pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof. See claim 49 limitation a pharmaceutical composition comprising a compound of Formula (A) where the pharmaceutical composition comprises (i) about 200 mg of the compound of Formula (A) or (ii) about 400 mg of the compound of Formula (A) in a single or divided dose.
Regarding claims 54 and 55 limitations for the method of either claim 50 or claim 54 where the effective amount is about 0.6 mmole to about 1.6 mmole of ITK inhibitor per day or about 0.3 mmole to about 0.8 mmole of the ITK inhibitor twice per day; these values would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art view given the skill level of such artisan and the teachings of Mobasher et. al.. The skill level of one of ordinary skill in the pharmaceutical arts is relatively high being that of an MD, PhD, or PharmD it would have been within the purview of such artisan to use the molecule weight (as evidenced by NCBI is 514.7 g/mol) of the compound and the amount administered to convert the effective amount between concentration, milligrams per day, and mmoles. Thus the teaching of Mobasher et. al. of the administration of 6 ascending doses of CPI-818 at 100, 200, 400, 600, 900, and 1200 mg BID would be converted by one of ordinary skill in the art to mmoles = 200 mg/ (514.7 g/mol) ≈ 0.4 mmol which falls within the recited range of about 0.3 mmole to about 0.8 mmole of the ITK inhibitor twice per day. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2144.05.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the examined application to modify the method and composition of Hudson’743 for a method of treating an allergy, a cancer, or an autoimmune disease or a method of treating a Th2/ITK mediated disease in a patient in need thereof, or a pharmaceutical composition in view of Mobasher et. al. that is comprising administering a compound of Formula (A) to the patient about 250 mg to about 1,000 mg per day or about 200 to 400 mg per day. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to mediate ITK diseases. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Compound 44 had IC50 values of < 10 nM against ITK; 100 nM ≤ x< 1000 nM against TXK, TXK/ITK ratio of 116.56 nM; 1000 nm≤ x < 10000 nM against JAK3; and 100 nM ≤ x< 1000 nM against BTK. Moreover, the formulation of pharmaceutical compositions is well known in the pharmaceutical arts thus one of ordinary skill in the arts would have a reasonable expectation of accomplishing such formations.
Claims 45 and 52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication Number US 2019/0375743 A1 to Hudson et. al. (Hudson’743; cited on the IDS dated 12/23/2024), Mobasher et. al. ((2019), OT18 A Phase 1/1B Dose Escalation Trial Evaluating CPI-818, an Oral Interleukin-2-Inducible T-Cell Kinase Inhibitor, in Patients with Relapsed/Refractory T-cell Lymphoma, Hematological Oncology, Supplemental Article, Abstract, 37, 563 – 564) and as evidenced by National Center for Biotechnology Information (2026). PubChem Compound Summary for CID 134517711, Soquelitinib. Retrieved October 5, 2026 from https://pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/compound/Soquelitinib as applied to claims 40, and 50 – 51, above, and further in view of Bao et.al. ((2013), IL-4 up-regulates epidermal chemotactic, angiogenic, and pro-inflammatory genes and down-regulates antimicrobial genes in vivo and in vitro: Relevant in the pathogenesis of atopic dermatitis, Cytokine, 61, 419 – 425).
The teachings of Hudson’743 and Mobasher et. al. as they relate to claims 40 and 50 – 51, from which claims 45 and 52 depend, are given previously in this office action and are fully incorporated here.
However, the prior art of Hudson’743 and Mobasher et. al. fail to teach a method of claims 40 or 51 further comprising measuring an increased level of IL-4, relative to a control, in a biological sample obtained from the subject. See claims 45, and 52 limitation.
Nevertheless, Bao et. al. teach that atopic dermatitis (AD), a chronic inflammatory skin disease, affects 10–20% of children and 1–3% of adults in developed countries. See page 419 column 1 paragraph 1. Moreover, Bao et. al. teach that IL-4 might play an important role in the pathogenesis of AD. See page 419 column 1 paragraph 1. Likewise, Bao et. al. teach that there is a significant increase of IL-4-expressing T cells is detected in the early human AD skin lesions. See page 419 column 1 paragraph 1. Additionally, Bao et. al. teach that over-expressing IL-4 in the basal epidermis using a basal keratinocyte-specific keratin-14 promoter/enhancer, generated a mouse AD animal model, IL-4 transgenic (Tg) mice which satisfy the clinical and histological diagnostic criteria for human AD, while the non-Tg littermates are lesion-free. See page 419 column 2 paragraph 1.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the examined application to modify the method of Hudson’743 for a method of treating an atopic dermatitis in view of Mobasher et. al. that is comprising administering the compound to the patient about 250 mg to about 1,000 mg per day or about 200 to 400 mg per day in further view of Bao et. al. that is further comprising a step of measuring increased level of IL-4. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to monitor the disease progression. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because the over-expressing IL-4 in the basal epidermis of mice lead to the development of atopic dermatitis.
Claim 48 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication Number US 2019/0375743 A1 to Hudson et. al. (Hudson’743; cited on the IDS dated 12/23/2024), Mobasher et. al. ((2019), OT18 A Phase 1/1B Dose Escalation Trial Evaluating CPI-818, an Oral Interleukin-2-Inducible T-Cell Kinase Inhibitor, in Patients with Relapsed/Refractory T-cell Lymphoma, Hematological Oncology, Supplemental Article, Abstract, 37, 563 – 564) and as evidenced by National Center for Biotechnology Information (2026). PubChem Compound Summary for CID 134517711, Soquelitinib. Retrieved October 5, 2026 from https://pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/compound/Soquelitinib as applied to claims 40, and 50 – 51, above, and further in view of Granlund et.al. ((1995), Cyclosporin in atopic dermatitis: time to relapse and effect of intermittent therapy, British Journal of Dermatology, 132, 106 – 112).
The teachings of Hudson’743 and Mobasher et. al. as they relate to claims 40 and 50 – 51, from which claim 48 depend, are given previously in this office action and are fully incorporated here.
However, the prior art of Hudson’743 and Mobasher et. al. fail to teach a method of claims 40 comprising the steps of in order:(i) administering the compound of Formula (A) or the pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof for about 4 weeks to about 12 weeks;(ii) discontinuing administration of the compound of Formula (A) or the pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof for about 1 week to about 8 weeks, and (iii) administering the compound of Formula (A) or the pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof for at least 4 weeks. See claim 48 limitation.
Nevertheless, Granlund et. al. teach that atopic dermatitis usually responds adequately to treatment with topical corticosteroids and emollients, and phototherapy. See page 106 column 1 paragraph 1. Moreover, Granlund et. al. teach that these treatments are not very effective in some patients, especially in those with atopic dermatitis continuing into adult life. See page 106 column 1 paragraph 1. Likewise, Granlund et. al. teach that cyclosporin (CyA) is effective in the treatment of atopic dermatitis and induction of short-term remission of atopic dermatitis by CyA has been documented in two placebo-controlled studies. See page 106 column 2 paragraph 2. Specifically, Granlund et. al. teach that a study was conducted in two parts, both with a treatment period of 6 weeks with CyA at a daily dose of 5 mg/kg. administered twice daily, followed by a follow-up period of 6-26 weeks, depending on the time-point of relapse, was interposed between the two treatment periods, and also after the second treatment. See page 107 column 2 paragraph 2. Moreover, Granlund et. al. teach that the overall efficacy of treatment was rated as very good or good by 37 of 42 (88%) patients after the first part and by 25 of 32 (78%) patients after the second part of the study. See page 108 column 2 paragraph 4. Additionally, Granlund et. al. teach that all seven patients who did not relapse after the first or second treatment period were still in remission with a mean activity score of only 32% (range 10-69) of their baseline scores. See page 110 column 1 paragraph 3.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the examined application to modify the method of Hudson’743 for a method of treating an atopic dermatitis in view of Mobasher et. al. that is comprising administering the compound to the patient about 250 mg to about 1,000 mg per day or about 200 to 400 mg per day in further view of Granlund et. al. that is comprising the steps of in order:(i) administering the compound of Formula (A) or the pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof for about 4 weeks to about 12 weeks;(ii) discontinuing administration of the compound of Formula (A) or the pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof for about 1 week to about 8 weeks, and (iii) administering the compound of Formula (A) or the pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof for at least 4 weeks. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to avoid potential treatment relapse. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because all seven patients who did not relapse after the first or second treatment period were still in remission with a mean activity score of only 32% (range 10-69) of their baseline scores.
Claims 56 – 57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication Number US 2019/0375743 A1 to Hudson et. al. (Hudson’743; cited on the IDS dated 12/23/2024) as applied to claim 50 above, and further in view of Lechner et.al. ((2020), Role of the IL-2 inducible tyrosine kinase ITK and its inhibitors in disease pathogenesis, J Mol Med., 98, 1385 – 1395).
The teachings of Hudson’743 as they relate to claim 50, from which claims 56 – 57 depend, are given previously in this office action and are fully incorporated here.
Moreover the prior art of Hudson’743 fail to teach a method of claim 50 further comprising measuring a decreased level of IFNγ. See claims 56 and 57 limitation.
Nevertheless, Lechner et.al. teach that ITK (IL-2-inducible tyrosine kinase) alongside with Rlk and Tec, is preferentially expressed in T lymphocytes whereas ITK shows the highest level of expression. See page 1385 column 2 paragraph 1. Moreover, Lechner et.al. teach that ITK is also expressed in mast cells, natural killer cells, and invariant natural killer T cells (iNKT). See page 1385 column 2 paragraph 1. Additionally, Lechner et.al. teach that treatment with a specific ITK inhibitor and using siRNA against ITK could also reduce the inflammatory symptoms in mice. See page 1388 column 1 paragraph 1. Furthermore, Lechner et.al. teach that in human cells, both approaches of blocking ITK, that is with a specific ITK inhibitor and using siRNA, led to a reduced IFNγ and IL-2 production alongside with less proliferation. See page 1388 column 1 paragraph 1. See claims 56 and 57 limitation for a method of claim 50 further comprising measuring a decreased level of IFNγ.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the examined application to modify the method of Hudson’743 for a method of treating reversing T cell exhaustion and treating a patient having deficient Th1 activity in view of Lechner et. al. that is further comprising measuring a decreased level of IFNγ. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to monitor the disease progression. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because in human cells, the blocking of ITK, with a specific ITK inhibitor and using siRNA, led to a reduced IFNγ levels.
Double Patenting
Claims 40 – 44, 46 – 47, 49 – 51, 53 – 55, and 58 – 59 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 – 30 of U.S. Patent No. US 11008314 B2 to Hudson et. al. (Hudson’314; cited on the IDS dated 12/23/2024) in view of US 2019/0375743 A1 to Hudson et. al. (Hudson’743; cited on the IDS dated 12/23/2024), Mobasher et. al. ((2019), OT18 A Phase 1/1B Dose Escalation Trial Evaluating CPI-818, an Oral Interleukin-2-Inducible T-Cell Kinase Inhibitor, in Patients with Relapsed/Refractory T-cell Lymphoma, Hematological Oncology, Supplemental Article, Abstract, 37, 563 – 564) and as evidenced by National Center for Biotechnology Information (2026). PubChem Compound Summary for CID 134517711, Soquelitinib. Retrieved October 5, 2026 from https://pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/compound/Soquelitinib.
Specifically, Hudson’314 recite a compound of having the formula:
. See reference claim 1. See examined claim 59. Additionally, Hudson’314 recite structural features that overlap with those of examined claim 59. See reference claims 2 – 27. See examined claim 59. More specifically, Hudson’314 recite the compound of (reference) claim 17 having the structure:
. See reference claim 17 and 27. See examined claims 40, 49, and 58 – 59. Furthermore, Hudson’314 recite a pharmaceutical composition comprising the compound of (reference) claim 1 and a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient. See reference claim 28. See examined claim 58. Additionally, Hudson’314 recite a method of treating T-cell lymphoma, said method comprising administering to a subject in need thereof an effective amount of a compound of (reference) claim 1. See reference claim 29 – 30. See examined claims 40, and 46.
However, Hudson’314 fails to recite a method for treating an allergy, a cancer, or an autoimmune disease in a patient in need thereof, the method comprising administering to the patient about 250 mg to about 1,000 mg per day of a compound of Formula (A) or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof. See examined claim 40. Moreover, Hudson’314 fails to recite a pharmaceutical composition comprising a compound of Formula (A) where the pharmaceutical composition comprises (i) about 200 mg of the compound of Formula (A) or (ii) about 400 mg of the compound of Formula (A) in a single or divided dose. See examined claim 49. Furthermore, Hudson’314 fails to recite a method for treating a Th2/ITK-mediated disease in a patient in need thereof, treating a patient having deficient Th1 activity in need thereof, reversing T cell exhaustion in a patient in need thereof, or treating cancer in a patient having T cell exhaustion in need thereof, the method comprising administering to the patient an effective amount of an ITK inhibitor. See examined claim 50.
Nevertheless, the prior art of Hudson’743 and Mobasher et. al. as they relate to the prior art rejections of examined claims 40 – 44, 46 – 47, 49 – 51, 53 – 55, and 58 – 59, are given previously in this office action and are incorporated here.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the examined application to use the compound of invention Hudson’314 for the compound of (reference) claim 17 having the structure:
in view of Hundson’743, that is to use the compound in a method and composition of Hudson’743 for a method of treating an allergy, a cancer, or an autoimmune disease or a method of treating a Th2/ITK mediated disease in a patient in need thereof, or a pharmaceutical composition in further view of Mobasher et. al. that is comprising administering a compound of Formula (A) to the patient about 250 mg to about 1,000 mg per day or about 200 to 400 mg per day. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to mediate ITK diseases. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Compound 44 had IC50 values of < 10 nM against ITK; 100 nM ≤ x< 1000 nM against TXK, TXK/ITK ratio of 116.56 nM; 1000 nm≤ x < 10000 nM against JAK3; and 100 nM ≤ x< 1000 nM against BTK. Moreover, the formulation of pharmaceutical compositions is well known in the pharmaceutical arts thus one of ordinary skill in the arts would have a reasonable expectation of accomplishing such formations.
Claims 45 and 52 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 – 30 of U.S. Patent No. US 11008314 B2 to Hudson et. al. (Hudson’314; cited on the IDS dated 12/23/2024) in view of US Patent Application Publication Number US 2019/0375743 A1 to Hudson et. al. (Hudson’743; cited on the IDS dated 12/23/2024), Mobasher et. al. ((2019), OT18 A Phase 1/1B Dose Escalation Trial Evaluating CPI-818, an Oral Interleukin-2-Inducible T-Cell Kinase Inhibitor, in Patients with Relapsed/Refractory T-cell Lymphoma, Hematological Oncology, Supplemental Article, Abstract, 37, 563 – 564), as evidenced by National Center for Biotechnology Information (2026). PubChem Compound Summary for CID 134517711, Soquelitinib. Retrieved October 5, 2026 from https://pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/compound/Soquelitinib, and further in view of Bao et.al. ((2013), IL-4 up-regulates epidermal chemotactic, angiogenic, and pro-inflammatory genes and down-regulates antimicrobial genes in vivo and in vitro: Relevant in the pathogenesis of atopic dermatitis, Cytokine, 61, 419 – 425).
With regard to examined claims 45, and 52, Hudson’314 recite the compound of (reference) claim 17 having the structure:
. See reference claim 17 and 27. See examined claims 40, 49, and 58 – 59.
However, Hudson’314 fail to recite a method of examined claims 40 or 51 further comprising measuring an increased level of IL-4, relative to a control, in a biological sample obtained from the subject. See examined claims 45, and 52.
Nevertheless, the prior art of Hudson’743, Mobasher et. al., and Bao et.al. as they relate to the prior art rejections of examined claims 40 – 47, 49 – 55, and 58 – 59, are given previously in this office action and are incorporated here.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the examined application to use the compound of invention Hudson’314 for the compound of (reference) claim 17 having the structure:
in view of Hundson’743, that is to use the compound in a method and composition in view of Hudson’743 for treating an atopic dermatitis in view of Mobasher et. al. that is comprising administering the compound to the patient about 250 mg to about 1,000 mg per day or about 200 to 400 mg per day in view of Mobasher et. al. that is comprising administering the compound to the patient about 250 mg to about 1,000 mg per day or about 200 to 400 mg per day in further view of Bao et. al. that is further comprising a step of measuring increased level of IL-4. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to monitor the disease progression. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because the over-expressing IL-4 in the basal epidermis of mice lead to the development of atopic dermatitis.
Claim 48 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 – 30 of U.S. Patent No. US 11008314 B2 to Hudson et. al. (Hudson’314; cited on the IDS dated 12/23/2024) in view of US Patent Application Publication Number US 2019/0375743 A1 to Hudson et. al. (Hudson’743; cited on the IDS dated 12/23/2024), Mobasher et. al. ((2019), OT18 A Phase 1/1B Dose Escalation Trial Evaluating CPI-818, an Oral Interleukin-2-Inducible T-Cell Kinase Inhibitor, in Patients with Relapsed/Refractory T-cell Lymphoma, Hematological Oncology, Supplemental Article, Abstract, 37, 563 – 564), as evidenced by National Center for Biotechnology Information (2026). PubChem Compound Summary for CID 134517711, Soquelitinib. Retrieved October 5, 2026 from https://pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/compound/Soquelitinib, and further in view of Granlund et.al. ((1995), Cyclosporin in atopic dermatitis: time to relapse and effect of intermittent therapy, British Journal of Dermatology, 132, 106 – 112).
With regard to examined claim 48, Hudson’314 recite the compound of (reference) claim 17 having the structure:
. See reference claim 17 and 27. See examined claims 40, 49, and 58 – 59.
However, Hudson’314 fail to recite a method of examine claim 40 comprising the steps of in order:(i) administering the compound of Formula (A) or the pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof for about 4 weeks to about 12 weeks;(ii) discontinuing administration of the compound of Formula (A) or the pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof for about 1 week to about 8 weeks, and (iii) administering the compound of Formula (A) or the pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof for at least 4 weeks. See examined claim 48.
Nevertheless, the prior art of Hudson’743, Mobasher et. al., and Granlund et. al. as they relate to the prior art rejections of examined claims 40 – 47, 49 – 55, and 58 – 59, are given previously in this office action and are incorporated here.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the examined application to use the compound of invention Hudson’314 for the compound of (reference) claim 17 having the structure:
in view of Hudson’743 for a method of treating an atopic dermatitis in view of Mobasher et. al. that is comprising administering the compound to the patient about 250 mg to about 1,000 mg per day or about 200 to 400 mg per day in further view of Granlund et. al. that is comprising the steps of in order:(i) administering the compound of Formula (A) or the pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof for about 4 weeks to about 12 weeks;(ii) discontinuing administration of the compound of Formula (A) or the pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof for about 1 week to about 8 weeks, and (iii) administering the compound of Formula (A) or the pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof for at least 4 weeks. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to avoid potential treatment relapse. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because all seven patients who did not relapse after the first or second treatment period were still in remission with a mean activity score of only 32% (range 10-69) of their baseline scores.
Claims 56 – 57 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 – 30 of U.S. Patent No. US 11008314 B2 to Hudson et. al. (Hudson’314; cited on the IDS dated 12/23/2024) in view of US 2019/0375743 A1 to Hudson et. al. (Hudson’743; cited on the IDS dated 12/23/2024) and Lechner et.al. ((2020), Role of the IL-2 inducible tyrosine kinase ITK and its inhibitors in disease pathogenesis, J Mol Med., 98, 1385 – 1395).
With regard to examined claims 56 – 57, Hudson’314 recite the compound of (reference) claim 17 having the structure:
. See reference claim 17 and 27. See examined claims 40, 49, and 58 – 59.
However, Hudson’314 fail to recite a method of examined claim 50 further comprising measuring a decreased level of IFNγ. See examined claims 56 and 57.
Nevertheless, the prior art of Hudson’743, and Lechner et.al. as they relate to the prior art rejections of examined claim 50, are given previously in this office action and are incorporated here.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the examined application to use the compound of invention Hudson’314 for the compound of (reference) claim 17 having the structure:
in view of Hudson’743 for a method of treating reversing T cell exhaustion and treating a patient having deficient Th1 activity in view of Lechner et. al. that is further comprising measuring a decreased level of IFNγ. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to monitor the disease progression. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because in human cells, the blocking of ITK, with a specific ITK inhibitor and using siRNA, led to a reduced IFNγ levels.
Claims 40 – 44, 46 – 47, 49 – 51, 53 – 55, and 58 – 59 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 29 of U.S. Patent No. US 11897874 B2 to Hudson et. al. (Hudson’874; cited on the IDS dated 12/23/2024) in view of US 2019/0375743 A1 to Hudson et. al. (Hudson’743; cited on the IDS dated 12/23/2024), Mobasher et. al. ((2019), OT18 A Phase 1/1B Dose Escalation Trial Evaluating CPI-818, an Oral Interleukin-2-Inducible T-Cell Kinase Inhibitor, in Patients with Relapsed/Refractory T-cell Lymphoma, Hematological Oncology, Supplemental Article, Abstract, 37, 563 – 564) and as evidenced by National Center for Biotechnology Information (2026). PubChem Compound Summary for CID 134517711, Soquelitinib. Retrieved October 5, 2026 from https://pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/compound/Soquelitinib.
Specifically, Hudson’874 recite a compound of having the formula:
. See reference claim 1. See examined claim 59. Additionally, Hudson’874 recite structural features that overlap with those of examined claim 59. See reference claims 2 – 11. See examined claim 59. More specifically, Hudson’874 recite a method of treating T-cell lymphoma in a patient in need thereof, the method comprising administering to the patient an effective amount of a compound; where the compound is
. See reference claims 15, 21, and 26. See examined claims 40, 49, and 58 – 59. Furthermore, Hudson’314 recite a pharmaceutical composition comprising the compound of (reference) claim 1 and a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient. See reference claims 18, and 25. See examined claim 58. Additionally, Hudson’314 recite a method of treating T-cell lymphoma, said method comprising administering to a subject in need thereof an effective amount of a compound of (reference) claim 1. See reference claims 13 – 17, 21 – 24, and 26 – 29. See examined claims 40, and 46.
However, Hudson’874 fails to recite a method for treating an allergy, a cancer, or an autoimmune disease in a patient in need thereof, the method comprising administering to the patient about 250 mg to about 1,000 mg per day of a compound of Formula (A) or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof. See examined claim 40. Moreover, Hudson’874 fails to recite a pharmaceutical composition comprising a compound of Formula (A) where the pharmaceutical composition comprises (i) about 200 mg of the compound of Formula (A) or (ii) about 400 mg of the compound of Formula (A) in a single or divided dose. See examined claim 49. Furthermore, Hudson’874 fails to recite a method for treating a Th2/ITK-mediated disease in a patient in need thereof, treating a patient having deficient Th1 activity in need thereof, reversing T cell exhaustion in a patient in need thereof, or treating cancer in a patient having T cell exhaustion in need thereof, the method comprising administering to the patient an effective amount of an ITK inhibitor. See examined claim 50.
Nevertheless, the prior art of Hudson’743 and Mobasher et. al. as they relate to the prior art rejections of examined claims 40 – 44, 46 – 47, 49 – 51, 53 – 55, and 58 – 59, are given previously in this office action and are incorporated here.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the examined application to use the compound of invention Hudson’874 for the compound of (reference) claim 17 having the structure:
in view of Hundson’743, that is to use the compound in a method and composition of Hudson’743 for a method of treating an allergy, a cancer, or an autoimmune disease or a method of treating a Th2/ITK mediated disease in a patient in need thereof, or a pharmaceutical composition in further view of Mobasher et. al. that is comprising administering a compound of Formula (A) to the patient about 250 mg to about 1,000 mg per day or about 200 to 400 mg per day. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to mediate ITK diseases. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Compound 44 had IC50 values of < 10 nM against ITK; 100 nM ≤ x< 1000 nM against TXK, TXK/ITK ratio of 116.56 nM; 1000 nm≤ x < 10000 nM against JAK3; and 100 nM ≤ x< 1000 nM against BTK. Moreover, the formulation of pharmaceutical compositions is well known in the pharmaceutical arts thus one of ordinary skill in the arts would have a reasonable expectation of accomplishing such formations.
Claims 45 and 52 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 29 of U.S. Patent No. US 11897874 B2 to Hudson et. al. (Hudson’874; cited on the IDS dated 12/23/2024) in view of US Patent Application Publication Number US 2019/0375743 A1 to Hudson et. al. (Hudson’743; cited on the IDS dated 12/23/2024), Mobasher et. al. ((2019), OT18 A Phase 1/1B Dose Escalation Trial Evaluating CPI-818, an Oral Interleukin-2-Inducible T-Cell Kinase Inhibitor, in Patients with Relapsed/Refractory T-cell Lymphoma, Hematological Oncology, Supplemental Article, Abstract, 37, 563 – 564), as evidenced by National Center for Biotechnology Information (2026). PubChem Compound Summary for CID 134517711, Soquelitinib. Retrieved October 5, 2026 from https://pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/compound/Soquelitinib, and further in view of Bao et.al. ((2013), IL-4 up-regulates epidermal chemotactic, angiogenic, and pro-inflammatory genes and down-regulates antimicrobial genes in vivo and in vitro: Relevant in the pathogenesis of atopic dermatitis, Cytokine, 61, 419 – 425).
With regard to examined claims 45, and 52, Hudson’874 recite a method of treating T-cell lymphoma in a patient in need thereof, the method comprising administering to the patient an effective amount of a compound; where the compound is
. See reference claim 15. See examined claims 40, 49, and 58 – 59.
However, Hudson’874 fail to recite a method of examined claims 40 or 51 further comprising measuring an increased level of IL-4, relative to a control, in a biological sample obtained from the subject. See examined claims 45, and 52.
Nevertheless, the prior art of Hudson’743, Mobasher et. al., and Bao et.al. as they relate to the prior art rejections of examined claims 40 – 47, 49 – 55, and 58 – 59, are given previously in this office action and are incorporated here.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the examined application to use the compound of invention Hudson’874 having the structure:
in view of Hundson’743, that is to use the compound in a method and composition in view of Hudson’743 for treating an atopic dermatitis in view of Mobasher et. al. that is comprising administering the compound to the patient about 250 mg to about 1,000 mg per day or about 200 to 400 mg per day in further view of Bao et. al. that is further comprising a step of measuring increased level of IL-4. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to monitor the disease progression. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because the over-expressing IL-4 in the basal epidermis of mice lead to the development of atopic dermatitis.
Claim 48 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 29 of U.S. Patent No. US 11897874 B2 to Hudson et. al. (Hudson’874; cited on the IDS dated 12/23/2024) in view of US Patent Application Publication Number US 2019/0375743 A1 to Hudson et. al. (Hudson’743; cited on the IDS dated 12/23/2024), Mobasher et. al. ((2019), OT18 A Phase 1/1B Dose Escalation Trial Evaluating CPI-818, an Oral Interleukin-2-Inducible T-Cell Kinase Inhibitor, in Patients with Relapsed/Refractory T-cell Lymphoma, Hematological Oncology, Supplemental Article, Abstract, 37, 563 – 564), as evidenced by National Center for Biotechnology Information (2026). PubChem Compound Summary for CID 134517711, Soquelitinib. Retrieved October 5, 2026 from https://pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/compound/Soquelitinib, and further in view of Granlund et.al. ((1995), Cyclosporin in atopic dermatitis: time to relapse and effect of intermittent therapy, British Journal of Dermatology, 132, 106 – 112).
With regard to examined claim 48, Hudson’874 recite a method of treating T-cell lymphoma in a patient in need thereof, the method comprising administering to the patient an effective amount of a compound; where the compound is
. See reference claim 15. See examined claims 40, 49, and 58 – 59.
However, Hudson’874 fail to recite a method of examine claim 40 comprising the steps of in order:(i) administering the compound of Formula (A) or the pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof for about 4 weeks to about 12 weeks;(ii) discontinuing administration of the compound of Formula (A) or the pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof for about 1 week to about 8 weeks, and (iii) administering the compound of Formula (A) or the pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof for at least 4 weeks. See examined claim 48.
Nevertheless, the prior art of Hudson’743, Mobasher et. al., and Granlund et. al. as they relate to the prior art rejections of examined claims 40 – 47, 49 – 55, and 58 – 59, are given previously in this office action and are incorporated here.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the examined application to use the compound of invention Hudson’874 having the structure:
in view of Hudson’743 for a method of treating an atopic dermatitis in view of Mobasher et. al. that is comprising administering the compound to the patient about 250 mg to about 1,000 mg per day or about 200 to 400 mg per day in further view of Granlund et. al. that is comprising the steps of in order:(i) administering the compound of Formula (A) or the pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof for about 4 weeks to about 12 weeks;(ii) discontinuing administration of the compound of Formula (A) or the pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof for about 1 week to about 8 weeks, and (iii) administering the compound of Formula (A) or the pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof for at least 4 weeks. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to avoid potential treatment relapse. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because all seven patients who did not relapse after the first or second treatment period were still in remission with a mean activity score of only 32% (range 10-69) of their baseline scores.
Claims 56 – 57 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 29 of U.S. Patent No. US 11897874 B2 to Hudson et. al. (Hudson’874; cited on the IDS dated 12/23/2024) in view of US 2019/0375743 A1 to Hudson et. al. (Hudson’743; cited on the IDS dated 12/23/2024) and Lechner et.al. ((2020), Role of the IL-2 inducible tyrosine kinase ITK and its inhibitors in disease pathogenesis, J Mol Med., 98, 1385 – 1395).
With regard to examined claims 56 – 57, Hudson’874 recite a method of treating T-cell lymphoma in a patient in need thereof, the method comprising administering to the patient an effective amount of a compound; where the compound is
. See reference claim 15. See examined claims 40, 49, and 58 – 59.
However, Hudson’874 fail to recite a method of examined claim 50 further comprising measuring a decreased level of IFNγ. See examined claims 56 and 57.
Nevertheless, the prior art of Hudson’743, and Lechner et.al. as they relate to the prior art rejections of examined claim 50, are given previously in this office action and are incorporated here.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the examined application to use the compound of invention Hudson’874 having the structure:
in view of Hudson’743 for a method of treating reversing T cell exhaustion and treating a patient having deficient Th1 activity in view of Lechner et. al. that is further comprising measuring a decreased level of IFNγ. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to monitor the disease progression. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because in human cells, the blocking of ITK, with a specific ITK inhibitor and using siRNA, led to a reduced IFNγ levels.
Claims 40 – 44, 46 – 47, 49 – 51, 53 – 55, and 58 – 59 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 – 20 of U.S. Patent No. US 12686677 B2 to Hudson et. al. (Hudson’677) in view of US 2019/0375743 A1 to Hudson et. al. (Hudson’743; cited on the IDS dated 12/23/2024), Mobasher et. al. ((2019), OT18 A Phase 1/1B Dose Escalation Trial Evaluating CPI-818, an Oral Interleukin-2-Inducible T-Cell Kinase Inhibitor, in Patients with Relapsed/Refractory T-cell Lymphoma, Hematological Oncology, Supplemental Article, Abstract, 37, 563 – 564) and as evidenced by National Center for Biotechnology Information (2026). PubChem Compound Summary for CID 134517711, Soquelitinib. Retrieved October 5, 2026 from https://pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/compound/Soquelitinib.
Hudson’677 recite a compound of having the formula:
. See reference claim 1. See examined claim 59. Additionally, Hudson’677 recite structural features that overlap with those of examined claim 59. See reference claims 2 – 17. See examined claim 59. More specifically, Hudson’677 recite method of treating cancer in a subject in need thereof, the method comprising administering to the subject an effective amount of the compound of (reference) claim 1, wherein the cancer is chronic lymphocytic leukemia, lymphoblastic T cell leukemia, or T cell lymphoma. See reference claim 20. See examined claims 40, 49, and 58 – 59. Furthermore, Hudson’677 recite a pharmaceutical composition comprising the compound of (reference) claim 1 and a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient. See reference claim 19. See examined claim 58.
However, Hudson’677 fails to recite a method for treating an allergy, a cancer, or an autoimmune disease in a patient in need thereof, the method comprising administering to the patient about 250 mg to about 1,000 mg per day of a compound of Formula (A) or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof. See examined claim 40. Moreover, Hudson’677 fails to recite a pharmaceutical composition comprising a compound of Formula (A) where the pharmaceutical composition comprises (i) about 200 mg of the compound of Formula (A) or (ii) about 400 mg of the compound of Formula (A) in a single or divided dose. See examined claim 49. Furthermore, Hudson’677 fails to recite a method for treating a Th2/ITK-mediated disease in a patient in need thereof, treating a patient having deficient Th1 activity in need thereof, reversing T cell exhaustion in a patient in need thereof, or treating cancer in a patient having T cell exhaustion in need thereof, the method comprising administering to the patient an effective amount of an ITK inhibitor. See examined claim 50.
Nevertheless, the prior art of Hudson’743 and Mobasher et. al. as they relate to the prior art rejections of examined claims 40 – 44, 46 – 47, 49 – 51, 53 – 55, and 58 – 59, are given previously in this office action and are incorporated here.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the examined application to use the compound of invention Hudson’677 having the structure
in view of Hundson’743, that is to use the compound in a method and composition of Hudson’743 for a method of treating an allergy, a cancer, or an autoimmune disease or a method of treating a Th2/ITK mediated disease in a patient in need thereof, or a pharmaceutical composition in further view of Mobasher et. al. that is comprising administering a compound of Formula (A) to the patient about 250 mg to about 1,000 mg per day or about 200 to 400 mg per day. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to mediate ITK diseases. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Compound 44 had IC50 values of < 10 nM against ITK; 100 nM ≤ x< 1000 nM against TXK, TXK/ITK ratio of 116.56 nM; 1000 nm≤ x < 10000 nM against JAK3; and 100 nM ≤ x< 1000 nM against BTK. Moreover, the formulation of pharmaceutical compositions is well known in the pharmaceutical arts thus one of ordinary skill in the arts would have a reasonable expectation of accomplishing such formations.
Claims 45 and 52 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 – 20 of U.S. Patent No. US 12686677 B2 to Hudson et. al. (Hudson’677) in view of US Patent Application Publication Number US 2019/0375743 A1 to Hudson et. al. (Hudson’743; cited on the IDS dated 12/23/2024), Mobasher et. al. ((2019), OT18 A Phase 1/1B Dose Escalation Trial Evaluating CPI-818, an Oral Interleukin-2-Inducible T-Cell Kinase Inhibitor, in Patients with Relapsed/Refractory T-cell Lymphoma, Hematological Oncology, Supplemental Article, Abstract, 37, 563 – 564), as evidenced by National Center for Biotechnology Information (2026). PubChem Compound Summary for CID 134517711, Soquelitinib. Retrieved October 5, 2026 from https://pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/compound/Soquelitinib, and further in view of Bao et.al. ((2013), IL-4 up-regulates epidermal chemotactic, angiogenic, and pro-inflammatory genes and down-regulates antimicrobial genes in vivo and in vitro: Relevant in the pathogenesis of atopic dermatitis, Cytokine, 61, 419 – 425).
With regard to examined claims 45, and 52, Hudson’677 recite a compound of having the formula:
. See reference claim 1. See examined claim 59. Additionally, Hudson’677 recite structural features that overlap with those of examined claim 59. See reference claims 2 – 17. See examined claim 59. More specifically, Hudson’677 recite method of treating cancer in a subject in need thereof, the method comprising administering to the subject an effective amount of the compound of (reference) claim 1, wherein the cancer is chronic lymphocytic leukemia, lymphoblastic T cell leukemia, or T cell lymphoma. See reference claim 20. See examined claims 40, 49, and 58 – 59.
However, Hudson’677 fail to recite a method of examined claims 40 or 51 further comprising measuring an increased level of IL-4, relative to a control, in a biological sample obtained from the subject. See examined claims 45, and 52.
Nevertheless, the prior art of Hudson’743, Mobasher et. al., and Bao et.al. as they relate to the prior art rejections of examined claims 40 – 47, 49 – 55, and 58 – 59, are given previously in this office action and are incorporated here.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the examined application to use the compound of invention Hudson’677 having the structure
in view of Hundson’743, that is to use the compound in a method and composition in view of Hudson’743 for treating an atopic dermatitis in view of Mobasher et. al. that is comprising administering the compound to the patient about 250 mg to about 1,000 mg per day or about 200 to 400 mg per day in further view of Bao et. al. that is further comprising a step of measuring increased level of IL-4. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to monitor the disease progression. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because the over-expressing IL-4 in the basal epidermis of mice lead to the development of atopic dermatitis.
Claim 48 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 – 20 of U.S. Patent No. US 12686677 B2 to Hudson et. al. (Hudson’677) in view of US Patent Application Publication Number US 2019/0375743 A1 to Hudson et. al. (Hudson’743; cited on the IDS dated 12/23/2024), Mobasher et. al. ((2019), OT18 A Phase 1/1B Dose Escalation Trial Evaluating CPI-818, an Oral Interleukin-2-Inducible T-Cell Kinase Inhibitor, in Patients with Relapsed/Refractory T-cell Lymphoma, Hematological Oncology, Supplemental Article, Abstract, 37, 563 – 564), as evidenced by National Center for Biotechnology Information (2026). PubChem Compound Summary for CID 134517711, Soquelitinib. Retrieved October 5, 2026 from https://pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/compound/Soquelitinib, and further in view of Granlund et.al. ((1995), Cyclosporin in atopic dermatitis: time to relapse and effect of intermittent therapy, British Journal of Dermatology, 132, 106 – 112).
With regard to examined claim 48, Hudson’677 recite a compound of having the formula:
. See reference claim 1. See examined claim 59. Additionally, Hudson’677 recite structural features that overlap with those of examined claim 59. See reference claims 2 – 17. See examined claim 59. More specifically, Hudson’677 recite method of treating cancer in a subject in need thereof, the method comprising administering to the subject an effective amount of the compound of (reference) claim 1, wherein the cancer is chronic lymphocytic leukemia, lymphoblastic T cell leukemia, or T cell lymphoma. See reference claim 20. See examined claims 40, 49, and 58 – 59.
However, Hudson’677 fail to recite a method of examine claim 40 comprising the steps of in order:(i) administering the compound of Formula (A) or the pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof for about 4 weeks to about 12 weeks;(ii) discontinuing administration of the compound of Formula (A) or the pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof for about 1 week to about 8 weeks, and (iii) administering the compound of Formula (A) or the pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof for at least 4 weeks. See examined claim 48.
Nevertheless, the prior art of Hudson’743, Mobasher et. al., and Granlund et. al. as they relate to the prior art rejections of examined claims 40 – 47, 49 – 55, and 58 – 59, are given previously in this office action and are incorporated here.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the examined application to use the compound of invention Hudson’677 having the structure
in view of Hudson’743 for a method of treating an atopic dermatitis in view of Mobasher et. al. that is comprising administering the compound to the patient about 250 mg to about 1,000 mg per day or about 200 to 400 mg per day in further view of Granlund et. al. that is comprising the steps of in order:(i) administering the compound of Formula (A) or the pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof for about 4 weeks to about 12 weeks;(ii) discontinuing administration of the compound of Formula (A) or the pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof for about 1 week to about 8 weeks, and (iii) administering the compound of Formula (A) or the pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof for at least 4 weeks. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to avoid potential treatment relapse. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because all seven patients who did not relapse after the first or second treatment period were still in remission with a mean activity score of only 32% (range 10-69) of their baseline scores.
Claims 56 – 57 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 – 20 of U.S. Patent No. US 12686677 B2 to Hudson et. al. (Hudson’677) in view of US 2019/0375743 A1 to Hudson et. al. (Hudson’743; cited on the IDS dated 12/23/2024) and Lechner et.al. ((2020), Role of the IL-2 inducible tyrosine kinase ITK and its inhibitors in disease pathogenesis, J Mol Med., 98, 1385 – 1395).
With regard to examined claims 56 – 57, Hudson’677 recite a compound of having the formula:
. See reference claim 1. See examined claim 59. Additionally, Hudson’677 recite structural features that overlap with those of examined claim 59. See reference claims 2 – 17. See examined claim 59. More specifically, Hudson’677 recite method of treating cancer in a subject in need thereof, the method comprising administering to the subject an effective amount of the compound of (reference) claim 1, wherein the cancer is chronic lymphocytic leukemia, lymphoblastic T cell leukemia, or T cell lymphoma. See reference claim 20. See examined claims 40, 49, and 58 – 59.
However, Hudson’677 fail to recite a method of examined claim 50 further comprising measuring a decreased level of IFNγ. See examined claims 56 and 57.
Nevertheless, the prior art of Hudson’743, and Lechner et.al. as they relate to the prior art rejections of examined claim 50, are given previously in this office action and are incorporated here.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the examined application to use the compound of invention Hudson’677 having the structure:
in view of Hudson’743 for a method of treating reversing T cell exhaustion and treating a patient having deficient Th1 activity in view of Lechner et. al. that is further comprising measuring a decreased level of IFNγ. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to monitor the disease progression. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because in human cells, the blocking of ITK, with a specific ITK inhibitor and using siRNA, led to a reduced IFNγ levels.
Claims 40 – 44, 46 – 47, 49 – 51, 53 – 55, and 58 – 59 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 20 of copending Application No. 19/528624 to Miller et. al. (reference application; Miller’624) in view of US 2019/0375743 A1 to Hudson et. al. (Hudson’743; cited on the IDS dated 12/23/2024), Mobasher et. al. ((2019), OT18 A Phase 1/1B Dose Escalation Trial Evaluating CPI-818, an Oral Interleukin-2-Inducible T-Cell Kinase Inhibitor, in Patients with Relapsed/Refractory T-cell Lymphoma, Hematological Oncology, Supplemental Article, Abstract, 37, 563 – 564) and as evidenced by National Center for Biotechnology Information (2026). PubChem Compound Summary for CID 134517711, Soquelitinib. Retrieved October 5, 2026 from https://pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/compound/Soquelitinib.
Miller’624 recite a method of producing an immune response in a patient in need thereof, the method comprising administering to the patient: (a) an effective amount of an interleukin-2-inducible T-cell kinase inhibitor, and an effective amount of an antigen: or (b) an effective amount of an interleukin-2-inducible T-cell kinase inhibitor, and a vaccine comprising an effective amount of an antigen and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier; thereby producing the immune response in the patient. See reference claim 1. Moreover, Miller’624 recite the method of (reference) claim 1 where the interleukin-2-inducible T-cell kinase inhibitor is Soquelitinib or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof. See reference claim 2. See examined claims 40, 49, and 58 – 59. More specifically, Miller’624 recite the method of (reference) claim 1 comprising administering to the patient about 250 mg to about 1,000 mg of the interleukin-2-inducible T-cell kinase inhibitor per day for a period of time; or administering to the patient about 300 mg to about 500 mg of the interleukin-2-inducible T-cell kinase inhibitor per day for a period of time; or administering to the patient about 400 mg of the interleukin-2-inducible T-cell kinase inhibitor per day per day for a period of time. See reference claim 9. See examined claims 40 – 42, 49, and 54 – 55. Furthermore, Miller’624 recite the method of (reference) claim 1 wherein the interleukin-2-inducible T-cell kinase inhibitor is a compound of Formula (I) or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, wherein the compound of Formula (I) is:
. See reference claim 11. See examined claims 40, 49, and 58 – 59. Additionally, Miller’624 recite A vaccine comprising an antigen and an interleukin-2-inducible T-cell kinase inhibitor. See reference claim 12.
However, Miller’624 fails to recite a method for treating an allergy, a cancer, or an autoimmune disease in a patient in need thereof, the method comprising administering to the patient about 250 mg to about 1,000 mg per day of a compound of Formula (A) or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof. See examined claim 40. Moreover, Miller’624 fails to recite a pharmaceutical composition comprising a compound of Formula (A) where the pharmaceutical composition comprises (i) about 200 mg of the compound of Formula (A) or (ii) about 400 mg of the compound of Formula (A) in a single or divided dose. See examined claim 49. Furthermore, Miller’624 fails to recite a method for treating a Th2/ITK-mediated disease in a patient in need thereof, treating a patient having deficient Th1 activity in need thereof, reversing T cell exhaustion in a patient in need thereof, or treating cancer in a patient having T cell exhaustion in need thereof, the method comprising administering to the patient an effective amount of an ITK inhibitor. See examined claim 50.
Nevertheless, the prior art of Hudson’743 and Mobasher et. al. as they relate to the prior art rejections of examined claims 40 – 44, 46 – 47, 49 – 51, 53 – 55, and 58 – 59, are given previously in this office action and are incorporated here.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the examined application to modify the method of copending Miller’624 for producing an immune response in a patient in need thereof using Soquelitinib in view of Hundson’743, that is to use Soquelitinib in a method and composition of Hudson’743 for a method of treating an allergy, a cancer, or an autoimmune disease or a method of treating a Th2/ITK mediated disease in a patient in need thereof, or a pharmaceutical composition in further view of Mobasher et. al. that is comprising administering Soquelitinib to the patient about 250 mg to about 1,000 mg per day or about 200 to 400 mg per day. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to mediate ITK diseases. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Compound 44 had IC50 values of < 10 nM against ITK; 100 nM ≤ x< 1000 nM against TXK, TXK/ITK ratio of 116.56 nM; 1000 nm≤ x < 10000 nM against JAK3; and 100 nM ≤ x< 1000 nM against BTK. Moreover, the formulation of pharmaceutical compositions is well known in the pharmaceutical arts thus one of ordinary skill in the arts would have a reasonable expectation of accomplishing such formations.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 45 and 52 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 20 of copending Application No. 19/528624 to Miller et. al. (reference application; Miller’624) in view of US Patent Application Publication Number US 2019/0375743 A1 to Hudson et. al. (Hudson’743; cited on the IDS dated 12/23/2024), Mobasher et. al. ((2019), OT18 A Phase 1/1B Dose Escalation Trial Evaluating CPI-818, an Oral Interleukin-2-Inducible T-Cell Kinase Inhibitor, in Patients with Relapsed/Refractory T-cell Lymphoma, Hematological Oncology, Supplemental Article, Abstract, 37, 563 – 564), as evidenced by National Center for Biotechnology Information (2026). PubChem Compound Summary for CID 134517711, Soquelitinib. Retrieved October 5, 2026 from https://pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/compound/Soquelitinib, and further in view of Bao et.al. ((2013), IL-4 up-regulates epidermal chemotactic, angiogenic, and pro-inflammatory genes and down-regulates antimicrobial genes in vivo and in vitro: Relevant in the pathogenesis of atopic dermatitis, Cytokine, 61, 419 – 425).
With regard to examined claims 45, and 52, Miller’624 recite a method of producing an immune response in a patient in need thereof, the method comprising administering to the patient: (a) an effective amount of an interleukin-2-inducible T-cell kinase inhibitor, and an effective amount of an antigen: or (b) an effective amount of an interleukin-2-inducible T-cell kinase inhibitor, and a vaccine comprising an effective amount of an antigen and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier; thereby producing the immune response in the patient. See reference claim 1. Moreover, Miller’624 recite the method of (reference) claim 1 where the interleukin-2-inducible T-cell kinase inhibitor is Soquelitinib or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof. See reference claim 2. See examined claims 40, 49, and 58 – 59.
However, Miller’624 fail to recite a method of examined claims 40 or 51 further comprising measuring an increased level of IL-4, relative to a control, in a biological sample obtained from the subject. See examined claims 45, and 52.
Nevertheless, the prior art of Hudson’743, Mobasher et. al., and Bao et.al. as they relate to the prior art rejections of examined claims 40 – 47, 49 – 55, and 58 – 59, are given previously in this office action and are incorporated here.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the examined application to modify the method of copending Miller’624 for producing an immune response in a patient in need thereof using Soquelitinib in view of Hudson’743 for treating an atopic dermatitis in view of Mobasher et. al. that is comprising administering Soquelitinib to the patient about 250 mg to about 1,000 mg per day or about 200 to 400 mg per day in further view of Bao et. al. that is further comprising a step of measuring increased level of IL-4. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to monitor the disease progression. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because the over-expressing IL-4 in the basal epidermis of mice lead to the development of atopic dermatitis.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 48 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 20 of copending Application No. 19/528624 to Miller et. al. (reference application; Miller’624) in view of US Patent Application Publication Number US 2019/0375743 A1 to Hudson et. al. (Hudson’743; cited on the IDS dated 12/23/2024), Mobasher et. al. ((2019), OT18 A Phase 1/1B Dose Escalation Trial Evaluating CPI-818, an Oral Interleukin-2-Inducible T-Cell Kinase Inhibitor, in Patients with Relapsed/Refractory T-cell Lymphoma, Hematological Oncology, Supplemental Article, Abstract, 37, 563 – 564), as evidenced by National Center for Biotechnology Information (2026). PubChem Compound Summary for CID 134517711, Soquelitinib. Retrieved October 5, 2026 from https://pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/compound/Soquelitinib, and further in view of Granlund et.al. ((1995), Cyclosporin in atopic dermatitis: time to relapse and effect of intermittent therapy, British Journal of Dermatology, 132, 106 – 112).
With regard to examined claim 48, Miller’624 recite a method of producing an immune response in a patient in need thereof, the method comprising administering to the patient: (a) an effective amount of an interleukin-2-inducible T-cell kinase inhibitor, and an effective amount of an antigen: or (b) an effective amount of an interleukin-2-inducible T-cell kinase inhibitor, and a vaccine comprising an effective amount of an antigen and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier; thereby producing the immune response in the patient. See reference claim 1. Moreover, Miller’624 recite the method of (reference) claim 1 where the interleukin-2-inducible T-cell kinase inhibitor is Soquelitinib or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof. See reference claim 2. See examined claims 40, 49, and 58 – 59.
However, Miller’624 fail to recite a method of examine claim 40 comprising the steps of in order:(i) administering the compound of Formula (A) or the pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof for about 4 weeks to about 12 weeks;(ii) discontinuing administration of the compound of Formula (A) or the pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof for about 1 week to about 8 weeks, and (iii) administering the compound of Formula (A) or the pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof for at least 4 weeks. See examined claim 48.
Nevertheless, the prior art of Hudson’743, Mobasher et. al., and Granlund et. al. as they relate to the prior art rejections of examined claims 40 – 47, 49 – 55, and 58 – 59, are given previously in this office action and are incorporated here.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the examined application to modify the method of copending Miller’624 for producing an immune response in a patient in need thereof using Soquelitinib in view of Hudson’743 for a method of treating an atopic dermatitis in view of Mobasher et. al. that is comprising administering the compound to the patient about 250 mg to about 1,000 mg per day or about 200 to 400 mg per day in further view of Granlund et. al. that is comprising the steps of in order:(i) administering Soquelitinib or the pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof for about 4 weeks to about 12 weeks;(ii) discontinuing administration of Soquelitinib or the pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof for about 1 week to about 8 weeks, and (iii) administering Soquelitinib or the pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof for at least 4 weeks. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to avoid potential treatment relapse. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because all seven patients who did not relapse after the first or second treatment period were still in remission with a mean activity score of only 32% (range 10-69) of their baseline scores.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 56 – 57 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 20 of copending Application No. 19/528624 to Miller et. al. (reference application; Miller’624) in view of US 2019/0375743 A1 to Hudson et. al. (Hudson’743; cited on the IDS dated 12/23/2024) and Lechner et.al. ((2020), Role of the IL-2 inducible tyrosine kinase ITK and its inhibitors in disease pathogenesis, J Mol Med., 98, 1385 – 1395).
With regard to examined claims 56 – 57, Miller’624 recite a method of producing an immune response in a patient in need thereof, the method comprising administering to the patient: (a) an effective amount of an interleukin-2-inducible T-cell kinase inhibitor, and an effective amount of an antigen: or (b) an effective amount of an interleukin-2-inducible T-cell kinase inhibitor, and a vaccine comprising an effective amount of an antigen and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier; thereby producing the immune response in the patient. See reference claim 1. Moreover, Miller’624 recite the method of (reference) claim 1 where the interleukin-2-inducible T-cell kinase inhibitor is Soquelitinib or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof. See reference claim 2. See examined claims 40, 49, and 58 – 59.
However, Hudson’874 fail to recite a method of examined claim 50 further comprising measuring a decreased level of IFNγ. See examined claims 56 and 57.
Nevertheless, the prior art of Hudson’743, and Lechner et.al. as they relate to the prior art rejections of examined claim 50, are given previously in this office action and are incorporated here.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the examined application to modify the method of copending Miller’624 for producing an immune response in a patient in need thereof using Soquelitinib in view of Hudson’743 for a method of treating reversing T cell exhaustion and treating a patient having deficient Th1 activity in further view of Lechner et. al. that is further comprising measuring a decreased level of IFNγ. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to monitor the disease progression. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because in human cells, the blocking of ITK, with a specific ITK inhibitor and using siRNA, led to a reduced IFNγ levels.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 40 – 44, 46 – 47, 49 – 51, 53 – 55, and 58 – 59 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 20 of copending Application No. 19/569194 to Miller et. al. (reference application; Miller’194) in view of US 2019/0375743 A1 to Hudson et. al. (Hudson’743; cited on the IDS dated 12/23/2024), Mobasher et. al. ((2019), OT18 A Phase 1/1B Dose Escalation Trial Evaluating CPI-818, an Oral Interleukin-2-Inducible T-Cell Kinase Inhibitor, in Patients with Relapsed/Refractory T-cell Lymphoma, Hematological Oncology, Supplemental Article, Abstract, 37, 563 – 564) and as evidenced by National Center for Biotechnology Information (2026). PubChem Compound Summary for CID 134517711, Soquelitinib. Retrieved October 5, 2026 from https://pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/compound/Soquelitinib.
Miller’194 recite a compound of having the formula:
. See reference claim 1. See examined claim 59. Additionally, Miller’194 recite structural features that overlap with those of examined claim 59. See reference claims 2 – 18. See examined claim 59. Furthermore, Miller’194 recite a pharmaceutical composition comprising the compound of (reference) claim 1 and a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient. See reference claim 19. See examined claim 58. Additionally, Miller’194 recite a method of treating cancer in a subject in need thereof, the method comprising administering to a subject in need thereof an effective amount of a compound of (reference) claim 1. See reference claim 20. See examined claims 40, and 46.
However, Miller’194 fails to recite a method for treating an allergy, a cancer, or an autoimmune disease in a patient in need thereof, the method comprising administering to the patient about 250 mg to about 1,000 mg per day of a compound of Formula (A) or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof. See examined claim 40. Moreover, Miller’194 fails to recite a pharmaceutical composition comprising a compound of Formula (A) where the pharmaceutical composition comprises (i) about 200 mg of the compound of Formula (A) or (ii) about 400 mg of the compound of Formula (A) in a single or divided dose. See examined claim 49. Furthermore, Miller’194 fails to recite a method for treating a Th2/ITK-mediated disease in a patient in need thereof, treating a patient having deficient Th1 activity in need thereof, reversing T cell exhaustion in a patient in need thereof, or treating cancer in a patient having T cell exhaustion in need thereof, the method comprising administering to the patient an effective amount of an ITK inhibitor. See examined claim 50.
Nevertheless, the prior art of Hudson’743 and Mobasher et. al. as they relate to the prior art rejections of examined claims 40 – 44, 46 – 47, 49 – 51, 53 – 55, and 58 – 59, are given previously in this office action and are incorporated here.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the examined application to use the compound of copending Miller’194 for a compound having the structure:
in view of Hundson’743, that is to use the compound in a method and composition for treating an allergy, a cancer, or an autoimmune disease or a method of treating a Th2/ITK mediated disease in a patient in need thereof, or a pharmaceutical composition in further view of Mobasher et. al. that is comprising administering a compound of Formula (A) to the patient about 250 mg to about 1,000 mg per day or about 200 to 400 mg per day. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to mediate ITK diseases. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Compound 44 had IC50 values of < 10 nM against ITK; 100 nM ≤ x< 1000 nM against TXK, TXK/ITK ratio of 116.56 nM; 1000 nm≤ x < 10000 nM against JAK3; and 100 nM ≤ x< 1000 nM against BTK. Moreover, the formulation of pharmaceutical compositions is well known in the pharmaceutical arts thus one of ordinary skill in the arts would have a reasonable expectation of accomplishing such formations.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 45 and 52 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 20 of copending Application No. 19/569194 to Miller et. al. (reference application; Miller’194) in view of US Patent Application Publication Number US 2019/0375743 A1 to Hudson et. al. (Hudson’743; cited on the IDS dated 12/23/2024), Mobasher et. al. ((2019), OT18 A Phase 1/1B Dose Escalation Trial Evaluating CPI-818, an Oral Interleukin-2-Inducible T-Cell Kinase Inhibitor, in Patients with Relapsed/Refractory T-cell Lymphoma, Hematological Oncology, Supplemental Article, Abstract, 37, 563 – 564), as evidenced by National Center for Biotechnology Information (2026). PubChem Compound Summary for CID 134517711, Soquelitinib. Retrieved October 5, 2026 from https://pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/compound/Soquelitinib, and further in view of Bao et.al. ((2013), IL-4 up-regulates epidermal chemotactic, angiogenic, and pro-inflammatory genes and down-regulates antimicrobial genes in vivo and in vitro: Relevant in the pathogenesis of atopic dermatitis, Cytokine, 61, 419 – 425).
With regard to examined claims 45, and 52, Miller’194 recite a compound of having the formula:
. See reference claim 1. See examined claim 59. Additionally, Miller’194 recite structural features that overlap with those of examined claim 59. See reference claims 2 – 18. See examined claim 59.
However, Miller’194 fail to recite a method of examined claims 40 or 51 further comprising measuring an increased level of IL-4, relative to a control, in a biological sample obtained from the subject. See examined claims 45, and 52.
Nevertheless, the prior art of Hudson’743, Mobasher et. al., and Bao et.al. as they relate to the prior art rejections of examined claims 40 – 47, 49 – 55, and 58 – 59, are given previously in this office action and are incorporated here.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the examined application to use the compound of copending Miller’194 for a compound having the structure:
in view of Hundson’743, that is to use the compound in a method and composition in view of Hudson’743 for treating an atopic dermatitis in view of Mobasher et. al. that is comprising administering the compound to the patient about 250 mg to about 1,000 mg per day or about 200 to 400 mg per day in further view of Bao et. al. that is further comprising a step of measuring increased level of IL-4. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to monitor the disease progression. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because the over-expressing IL-4 in the basal epidermis of mice lead to the development of atopic dermatitis.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 48 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 20 of copending Application No. 19/569194 to Miller et. al. (reference application; Miller’194) in view of US Patent Application Publication Number US 2019/0375743 A1 to Hudson et. al. (Hudson’743; cited on the IDS dated 12/23/2024), Mobasher et. al. ((2019), OT18 A Phase 1/1B Dose Escalation Trial Evaluating CPI-818, an Oral Interleukin-2-Inducible T-Cell Kinase Inhibitor, in Patients with Relapsed/Refractory T-cell Lymphoma, Hematological Oncology, Supplemental Article, Abstract, 37, 563 – 564), as evidenced by National Center for Biotechnology Information (2026). PubChem Compound Summary for CID 134517711, Soquelitinib. Retrieved October 5, 2026 from https://pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/compound/Soquelitinib, and further in view of Granlund et.al. ((1995), Cyclosporin in atopic dermatitis: time to relapse and effect of intermittent therapy, British Journal of Dermatology, 132, 106 – 112).
With regard to examined claim 48, Miller’194 recite a compound of having the formula:
. See reference claim 1. See examined claim 59. Additionally, Miller’194 recite structural features that overlap with those of examined claim 59. See reference claims 2 – 18. See examined claim 59.
However, Miller’194 fail to recite a method of examine claim 40 comprising the steps of in order:(i) administering the compound of Formula (A) or the pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof for about 4 weeks to about 12 weeks;(ii) discontinuing administration of the compound of Formula (A) or the pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof for about 1 week to about 8 weeks, and (iii) administering the compound of Formula (A) or the pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof for at least 4 weeks. See examined claim 48.
Nevertheless, the prior art of Hudson’743, Mobasher et. al., and Granlund et. al. as they relate to the prior art rejections of examined claims 40 – 47, 49 – 55, and 58 – 59, are given previously in this office action and are incorporated here.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the examined application to use the compound of copending Miller’194 for a compound having the structure:
in view of Hudson’743 for a method of treating an atopic dermatitis in view of Mobasher et. al. that is comprising administering the compound to the patient about 250 mg to about 1,000 mg per day or about 200 to 400 mg per day in further view of Granlund et. al. that is comprising the steps of in order:(i) administering the compound of Formula (A) or the pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof for about 4 weeks to about 12 weeks;(ii) discontinuing administration of the compound of Formula (A) or the pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof for about 1 week to about 8 weeks, and (iii) administering the compound of Formula (A) or the pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof for at least 4 weeks. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to avoid potential treatment relapse. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because all seven patients who did not relapse after the first or second treatment period were still in remission with a mean activity score of only 32% (range 10-69) of their baseline scores.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 56 – 57 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 20 of copending Application No. 19/569194 to Miller et. al. (reference application; Miller’194) in view of US 2019/0375743 A1 to Hudson et. al. (Hudson’743; cited on the IDS dated 12/23/2024) and Lechner et.al. ((2020), Role of the IL-2 inducible tyrosine kinase ITK and its inhibitors in disease pathogenesis, J Mol Med., 98, 1385 – 1395).
With regard to examined claims 56 – 57, Miller’194 recite a compound of having the formula:
. See reference claim 1. See examined claim 59. Additionally, Miller’194 recite structural features that overlap with those of examined claim 59. See reference claims 2 – 18. See examined claim 59.
However, Miller’194 fail to recite a method of examined claim 50 further comprising measuring a decreased level of IFNγ. See examined claims 56 and 57.
Nevertheless, the prior art of Hudson’743, and Lechner et.al. as they relate to the prior art rejections of examined claim 50, are given previously in this office action and are incorporated here.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the examined application to use the compound of copending Miller’194 for a compound having the structure:
view of Hudson’743 for a method of treating reversing T cell exhaustion and treating a patient having deficient Th1 activity in view of Lechner et. al. that is further comprising measuring a decreased level of IFNγ. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to monitor the disease progression. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because in human cells, the blocking of ITK, with a specific ITK inhibitor and using siRNA, led to a reduced IFNγ levels.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 40 – 44, 46 – 47, 49 – 51, 53 – 55, and 58 – 59 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 35 – 36, 38 – 48, and 49 – 54 of copending Application No. 19/595394 to Miller et. al. (reference application; Miller’394) in view of US 2019/0375743 A1 to Hudson et. al. (Hudson’743; cited on the IDS dated 12/23/2024), Mobasher et. al. ((2019), OT18 A Phase 1/1B Dose Escalation Trial Evaluating CPI-818, an Oral Interleukin-2-Inducible T-Cell Kinase Inhibitor, in Patients with Relapsed/Refractory T-cell Lymphoma, Hematological Oncology, Supplemental Article, Abstract, 37, 563 – 564) and as evidenced by National Center for Biotechnology Information (2026). PubChem Compound Summary for CID 134517711, Soquelitinib. Retrieved October 5, 2026 from https://pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/compound/Soquelitinib.
Miller’394 recite a method of treating cancer in a patient in need thereof, the method comprising (a) administering to the patient: (i) an effective amount of an interleukin-2-inducible Tcell kinase inhibitor and (ii) an effective amount of CART-cells, thereby treating cancer in the patient; or (b) contacting CART-cells with an effective amount of an interleukin-2-inducible T-cell kinase inhibitor in vitro, thereby producing ITK-contacted CART-cells; and administering to the patient an effective amount of the ITK-contacted CART-cells, thereby treating cancer in the patient. See reference claims 35, 39 – 43, and 49 . See examined claim 40 and 46. Moreover, Miller’394 recite the method of (reference) claim 35 where the interleukin-2-inducible T-cell kinase inhibitor is Soquelitinib or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof. See reference claims 36, 50, and 52. See examined claims 40, 49, and 58 – 59. Furthermore, Miller’394 recite the method of (reference) claim 35 wherein the interleukin-2-inducible T-cell kinase inhibitor is a compound of Formula (I) or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, wherein the compound of Formula (I) is:
. See reference claim 53. See examined claims 40, 49, and 58 – 59. Specifically, Miller’394 recite the method of (reference) claim 35 wherein the interleukin-2-inducible T-cell kinase inhibitor is a compound of Formula (I I) or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, having the formula
. See reference claim 54. See examined claim 59.
However, Miller’394 fails to recite a method for treating an allergy, a cancer, or an autoimmune disease in a patient in need thereof, the method comprising administering to the patient about 250 mg to about 1,000 mg per day of a compound of Formula (A) or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof. See examined claim 40. Moreover, Miller’394 fails to recite a pharmaceutical composition comprising a compound of Formula (A) where the pharmaceutical composition comprises (i) about 200 mg of the compound of Formula (A) or (ii) about 400 mg of the compound of Formula (A) in a single or divided dose. See examined claim 49. Furthermore, Miller’394 fails to recite a method for treating a Th2/ITK-mediated disease in a patient in need thereof, treating a patient having deficient Th1 activity in need thereof, reversing T cell exhaustion in a patient in need thereof, or treating cancer in a patient having T cell exhaustion in need thereof, the method comprising administering to the patient an effective amount of an ITK inhibitor. See examined claim 50.
Nevertheless, the prior art of Hudson’743 and Mobasher et. al. as they relate to the prior art rejections of examined claims 40 – 44, 46 – 47, 49 – 51, 53 – 55, and 58 – 59, are given previously in this office action and are incorporated here.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the examined application to modify the method of copending Miller’394 for using Soquelitinib in view of Hundson’743, that is to use Soquelitinib in a method and composition of Hudson’743 for a method of treating an allergy, a cancer, or an autoimmune disease or a method of treating a Th2/ITK mediated disease in a patient in need thereof, or a pharmaceutical composition in further view of Mobasher et. al. that is comprising administering Soquelitinib to the patient about 250 mg to about 1,000 mg per day or about 200 to 400 mg per day. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to mediate ITK diseases. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Compound 44 had IC50 values of < 10 nM against ITK; 100 nM ≤ x< 1000 nM against TXK, TXK/ITK ratio of 116.56 nM; 1000 nm≤ x < 10000 nM against JAK3; and 100 nM ≤ x< 1000 nM against BTK. Moreover, the formulation of pharmaceutical compositions is well known in the pharmaceutical arts thus one of ordinary skill in the arts would have a reasonable expectation of accomplishing such formations.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 45 and 52 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 35 – 36, 38 – 48, and 49 – 54 of copending Application No. 19/595394 to Miller et. al. (reference application; Miller’394) in view of US Patent Application Publication Number US 2019/0375743 A1 to Hudson et. al. (Hudson’743; cited on the IDS dated 12/23/2024), Mobasher et. al. ((2019), OT18 A Phase 1/1B Dose Escalation Trial Evaluating CPI-818, an Oral Interleukin-2-Inducible T-Cell Kinase Inhibitor, in Patients with Relapsed/Refractory T-cell Lymphoma, Hematological Oncology, Supplemental Article, Abstract, 37, 563 – 564), as evidenced by National Center for Biotechnology Information (2026). PubChem Compound Summary for CID 134517711, Soquelitinib. Retrieved October 5, 2026 from https://pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/compound/Soquelitinib, and further in view of Bao et.al. ((2013), IL-4 up-regulates epidermal chemotactic, angiogenic, and pro-inflammatory genes and down-regulates antimicrobial genes in vivo and in vitro: Relevant in the pathogenesis of atopic dermatitis, Cytokine, 61, 419 – 425).
With regard to examined claims 45, and 52, Miller’394 recite a method of treating cancer in a patient in need thereof, the method comprising (a) administering to the patient: (i) an effective amount of an interleukin-2-inducible Tcell kinase inhibitor and (ii) an effective amount of CART-cells, thereby treating cancer in the patient; or (b) contacting CART-cells with an effective amount of an interleukin-2-inducible T-cell kinase inhibitor in vitro, thereby producing ITK-contacted CART-cells; and administering to the patient an effective amount of the ITK-contacted CART-cells, thereby treating cancer in the patient. See reference claims 35, 39 – 43, and 49 . See examined claim 40 and 46. Moreover, Miller’394 recite the method of (reference) claim 35 where the interleukin-2-inducible T-cell kinase inhibitor is Soquelitinib or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof. See reference claims 36, 50, and 52. See examined claims 40, 49, and 58 – 59.
However, Miller’394 fail to recite a method of examined claims 40 or 51 further comprising measuring an increased level of IL-4, relative to a control, in a biological sample obtained from the subject. See examined claims 45, and 52.
Nevertheless, the prior art of Hudson’743, Mobasher et. al., and Bao et.al. as they relate to the prior art rejections of examined claims 40 – 47, 49 – 55, and 58 – 59, are given previously in this office action and are incorporated here.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the examined application to modify the method of copending Miller’394 for using Soquelitinib in view of Hundson’743, that is to use Soquelitinib in a method and composition in view of Hudson’743 for treating an atopic dermatitis in view of Mobasher et. al. that is comprising administering the compound to the patient about 250 mg to about 1,000 mg per day or about 200 to 400 mg per day in further view of Bao et. al. that is further comprising a step of measuring increased level of IL-4. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to monitor the disease progression. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because the over-expressing IL-4 in the basal epidermis of mice lead to the development of atopic dermatitis.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 48 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 35 – 36, 38 – 48, and 49 – 54 of copending Application No. 19/595394 to Miller et. al. (reference application; Miller’394) in view of US Patent Application Publication Number US 2019/0375743 A1 to Hudson et. al. (Hudson’743; cited on the IDS dated 12/23/2024), Mobasher et. al. ((2019), OT18 A Phase 1/1B Dose Escalation Trial Evaluating CPI-818, an Oral Interleukin-2-Inducible T-Cell Kinase Inhibitor, in Patients with Relapsed/Refractory T-cell Lymphoma, Hematological Oncology, Supplemental Article, Abstract, 37, 563 – 564), as evidenced by National Center for Biotechnology Information (2026). PubChem Compound Summary for CID 134517711, Soquelitinib. Retrieved October 5, 2026 from https://pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/compound/Soquelitinib, and further in view of Granlund et.al. ((1995), Cyclosporin in atopic dermatitis: time to relapse and effect of intermittent therapy, British Journal of Dermatology, 132, 106 – 112).
With regard to examined claim 48, Miller’394 recite a method of treating cancer in a patient in need thereof, the method comprising (a) administering to the patient: (i) an effective amount of an interleukin-2-inducible Tcell kinase inhibitor and (ii) an effective amount of CART-cells, thereby treating cancer in the patient; or (b) contacting CART-cells with an effective amount of an interleukin-2-inducible T-cell kinase inhibitor in vitro, thereby producing ITK-contacted CART-cells; and administering to the patient an effective amount of the ITK-contacted CART-cells, thereby treating cancer in the patient. See reference claims 35, 39 – 43, and 49 . See examined claim 40 and 46. Moreover, Miller’394 recite the method of (reference) claim 35 where the interleukin-2-inducible T-cell kinase inhibitor is Soquelitinib or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof. See reference claims 36, 50, and 52. See examined claims 40, 49, and 58 – 59.
However, Miller’394 fail to recite a method of examine claim 40 comprising the steps of in order:(i) administering the compound of Formula (A) or the pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof for about 4 weeks to about 12 weeks;(ii) discontinuing administration of the compound of Formula (A) or the pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof for about 1 week to about 8 weeks, and (iii) administering the compound of Formula (A) or the pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof for at least 4 weeks. See examined claim 48.
Nevertheless, the prior art of Hudson’743, Mobasher et. al., and Granlund et. al. as they relate to the prior art rejections of examined claims 40 – 47, 49 – 55, and 58 – 59, are given previously in this office action and are incorporated here.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the examined application to modify the method of copending Miller’394 for using Soquelitinib in view of Hudson’743 for a method of treating an atopic dermatitis in view of Mobasher et. al. that is comprising administering the compound to the patient about 250 mg to about 1,000 mg per day or about 200 to 400 mg per day in further view of Granlund et. al. that is comprising the steps of in order:(i) administering the compound of Formula (A) or the pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof for about 4 weeks to about 12 weeks;(ii) discontinuing administration of the compound of Formula (A) or the pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof for about 1 week to about 8 weeks, and (iii) administering the compound of Formula (A) or the pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof for at least 4 weeks. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to avoid potential treatment relapse. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because all seven patients who did not relapse after the first or second treatment period were still in remission with a mean activity score of only 32% (range 10-69) of their baseline scores.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 56 – 57 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 35 – 36, 38 – 48, and 49 – 54 of copending Application No. 19/595394 to Miller et. al. (reference application; Miller’394) in view of US 2019/0375743 A1 to Hudson et. al. (Hudson’743; cited on the IDS dated 12/23/2024) and Lechner et.al. ((2020), Role of the IL-2 inducible tyrosine kinase ITK and its inhibitors in disease pathogenesis, J Mol Med., 98, 1385 – 1395).
With regard to examined claims 56 – 57, Miller’394 recite a method of treating cancer in a patient in need thereof, the method comprising (a) administering to the patient: (i) an effective amount of an interleukin-2-inducible Tcell kinase inhibitor and (ii) an effective amount of CART-cells, thereby treating cancer in the patient; or (b) contacting CART-cells with an effective amount of an interleukin-2-inducible T-cell kinase inhibitor in vitro, thereby producing ITK-contacted CART-cells; and administering to the patient an effective amount of the ITK-contacted CART-cells, thereby treating cancer in the patient. See reference claims 35, 39 – 43, and 49 . See examined claim 40 and 46. Moreover, Miller’394 recite the method of (reference) claim 35 where the interleukin-2-inducible T-cell kinase inhibitor is Soquelitinib or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof. See reference claims 36, 50, and 52. See examined claims 40, 49, and 58 – 59.
However, Miller’394 fail to recite a method of examined claim 50 further comprising measuring a decreased level of IFNγ. See examined claims 56 and 57.
Nevertheless, the prior art of Hudson’743, and Lechner et.al. as they relate to the prior art rejections of examined claim 50, are given previously in this office action and are incorporated here.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the examined application to modify the method of copending Miller’394 for using Soquelitinib in view of Hudson’743 for a method of treating reversing T cell exhaustion and treating a patient having deficient Th1 activity in view of Lechner et. al. that is further comprising measuring a decreased level of IFNγ. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to monitor the disease progression. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because in human cells, the blocking of ITK, with a specific ITK inhibitor and using siRNA, led to a reduced IFNγ levels.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 40 – 47, and 49 – 59 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 62 of copending Application No. 19/610145 to Verner et. al. (reference application; Verner’145) in view of US 2019/0375743 A1 to Hudson et. al. (Hudson’743; cited on the IDS dated 12/23/2024), Mobasher et. al. ((2019), OT18 A Phase 1/1B Dose Escalation Trial Evaluating CPI-818, an Oral Interleukin-2-Inducible T-Cell Kinase Inhibitor, in Patients with Relapsed/Refractory T-cell Lymphoma, Hematological Oncology, Supplemental Article, Abstract, 37, 563 – 564) and as evidenced by National Center for Biotechnology Information (2026). PubChem Compound Summary for CID 134517711, Soquelitinib. Retrieved October 5, 2026 from https://pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/compound/Soquelitinib.
Verner’145 recite a compound or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, having the formula:
. See reference claim 1. See examined claim 59. Additionally, Verner’145 recite structural features that overlap with those of examined claim 59. See reference claims 2 – 35. See examined claim 59. Furthermore, Verner’145 recite a pharmaceutical composition comprising the compound of (reference) claim 1 to 35, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, and a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient. See reference claim 36. See examined claims 49 and 58. More specifically, Verner’145 recite a method of treating a cancer, an autoimmune disease, or an allergy in a subject in need thereof, said method comprising administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of the compound of one of (reference) claims 1 to 35, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof. See reference claims 37 – 40. See examined claims 40, 46 – 47, and 58 – 59. Additionally, Verner’145 recite a method of treating a subject having deficient Th1 activity, said method comprising administering to the subject the compound of one of (reference ) claims 1 to 35, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, at an effective amount to increase Th1 activity. See reference claims 41 – 56. Furthermore, Verner’145 recite a method of treating a Th2/ITK-mediated disease in a subject in need thereof, said method comprising administering to the subject the compound of one of (reference) claims 1 to 35, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, at an effective amount to increase Th1 activity. See reference claim 57 – 62. See examined claims 45, 50 – 52, and 56 – 57.
However, Verner’145 fails to recite a method for treating an allergy, a cancer, or an autoimmune disease in a patient in need thereof, the method comprising administering to the patient about 250 mg to about 1,000 mg per day of a compound of Formula (A) or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof. See examined claim 40. Moreover, Verner’145 fails to recite a pharmaceutical composition comprising a compound of Formula (A) where the pharmaceutical composition comprises (i) about 200 mg of the compound of Formula (A) or (ii) about 400 mg of the compound of Formula (A) in a single or divided dose. See examined claim 49.
Nevertheless, the prior art of Hudson’743 and Mobasher et. al. as they relate to the prior art rejections of examined claims 40 – 47, 49 – 59, are given previously in this office action and are incorporated here.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the examined application to use the compound of invention Verner’145 for the compound having the structure:
in view of Hundson’743, that is to use the compound in a method and composition of Hudson’743 for a method of treating an allergy, a cancer, or an autoimmune disease or a method of treating a Th2/ITK mediated disease in a patient in need thereof, or a pharmaceutical composition in further view of Mobasher et. al. that is comprising administering a compound of Formula (A) to the patient about 250 mg to about 1,000 mg per day or about 200 to 400 mg per day. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to mediate ITK diseases. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Compound 44 had IC50 values of < 10 nM against ITK; 100 nM ≤ x< 1000 nM against TXK, TXK/ITK ratio of 116.56 nM; 1000 nm≤ x < 10000 nM against JAK3; and 100 nM ≤ x< 1000 nM against BTK. Moreover, the formulation of pharmaceutical compositions is well known in the pharmaceutical arts thus one of ordinary skill in the arts would have a reasonable expectation of accomplishing such formations.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 48 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 62 of copending Application No. 19/610145 to Verner et. al. (reference application; Verner’145) in view of US Patent Application Publication Number US 2019/0375743 A1 to Hudson et. al. (Hudson’743; cited on the IDS dated 12/23/2024), Mobasher et. al. ((2019), OT18 A Phase 1/1B Dose Escalation Trial Evaluating CPI-818, an Oral Interleukin-2-Inducible T-Cell Kinase Inhibitor, in Patients with Relapsed/Refractory T-cell Lymphoma, Hematological Oncology, Supplemental Article, Abstract, 37, 563 – 564), as evidenced by National Center for Biotechnology Information (2026). PubChem Compound Summary for CID 134517711, Soquelitinib. Retrieved October 5, 2026 from https://pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/compound/Soquelitinib, and further in view of Granlund et.al. ((1995), Cyclosporin in atopic dermatitis: time to relapse and effect of intermittent therapy, British Journal of Dermatology, 132, 106 – 112).
With regard to examined claim 48, Verner’145 recite a compound or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, having the formula:
. See reference claim 1. See examined claim 59. Additionally, Verner’145 recite structural features that overlap with those of examined claim 59. See reference claims 2 – 35. See examined claim 59. More specifically, Verner’145 recite a method of treating a cancer, an autoimmune disease, or an allergy in a subject in need thereof, said method comprising administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of the compound of (reference) claims 1 to 35, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof. See reference claims 37 – 40. See examined claims 40, 46 – 47, and 58 – 59.
However, Verner’145 fail to recite a method of examine claim 40 comprising the steps of in order:(i) administering the compound of Formula (A) or the pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof for about 4 weeks to about 12 weeks;(ii) discontinuing administration of the compound of Formula (A) or the pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof for about 1 week to about 8 weeks, and (iii) administering the compound of Formula (A) or the pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof for at least 4 weeks. See examined claim 48.
Nevertheless, the prior art of Hudson’743, Mobasher et. al., and Granlund et. al. as they relate to the prior art rejections of examined claims 40 – 47, and 48, are given previously in this office action and are incorporated here.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the examined application to use the compound of invention Verner’145 for the compound having the structure:
in view of Hudson’743 for a method of treating an atopic dermatitis in view of Mobasher et. al. that is comprising administering the compound to the patient about 250 mg to about 1,000 mg per day or about 200 to 400 mg per day in further view of Granlund et. al. that is comprising the steps of in order:(i) administering the compound of Formula (A) or the pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof for about 4 weeks to about 12 weeks;(ii) discontinuing administration of the compound of Formula (A) or the pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof for about 1 week to about 8 weeks, and (iii) administering the compound of Formula (A) or the pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof for at least 4 weeks. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to avoid potential treatment relapse. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because all seven patients who did not relapse after the first or second treatment period were still in remission with a mean activity score of only 32% (range 10-69) of their baseline scores.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
Claims 40 – 59 are rejected.
/DAWANNA SHAR-DAY WHITE/Examiner, Art Unit 1627