Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
A) Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DA SILVA (US 2024/0098588 A1) in view of DELSOL (US 2015/0312788 A1).
As per claim 1, DA SILVA teaches a user equipment (UE) (Fig.5, UE 200), comprising: at least one memory (Fig.5, memory 215); and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE (Fig.5, processor 201 coupled with the memory 215) to: receive a first configuration for triggering a measurement reporting procedure for one or more cells (¶0083, receive configuration for triggering of a measurement report associated target candidate cells), and initiate the measurement reporting procedure and transmit a measurement report (¶0083 and table 1, initiate the measurement reporting procedure and transmits the measurement report).
However, DA SILVA does not explicitly teach wherein the first configuration includes one of the following: a first indication associated with triggering the measurement reporting procedure when a second configuration for multiple cell measurement report trigger extension is available; a second indication associated with an update of triggered cells measurement results; or a third indication associated with a reference area of the UE.
In the same field of endeavor, DELSOL teaches wherein the first configuration includes one of the following: a first indication associated with triggering the measurement reporting procedure when a second configuration for multiple cell measurement report trigger extension is available; a second indication associated with an update of triggered cells measurement results; or a third indication associated with a reference area of the UE (¶0162, message/indication a ‘MeasConfig’ information element (IE), which specifies updated conditions/triggers under which the measurements need to be initiated by the mobile telephone 3-1, and an updated list of cells which the mobile telephone 3-1 should take measurements for (i.e. a second indication associated with an update of triggered cells measurement results)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify DA SILVA’s invention in order to provide coverage extension within the cell(s) operated by base stations, as a tool to improve, the coverage of high data rates for user equipment, temporary network deployment, cell edge throughput and/or to provide coverage in new cell areas.
As per claim 2 as applied to claim 1 above, the combination teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to initiate the measurement reporting procedure when a first cell as a first one which fulfills an entry condition of a configured measurement trigger event according to the first indication, wherein the measurement report of the measurement reporting procedure includes a measurement result of the first cell (please note that claim 2, recites configured measurement trigger event according to the first indication and depends on claim 1 which is optional (e.g. includes one of the following) but does not require the steps to be performed, therefore, these limitations are disregarded as they belong to optional steps in the previous claim, language that suggests or makes a feature or step optional but does not require that feature or step does not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable claim interpretation (MPEP 2103 (C)).
As per claim 3 as applied to claim 1 above, the combination teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to initiate the measurement reporting procedure periodically according to the first indication after the measurement reporting procedure is initiated based on the second configuration for multiple cell measurement report trigger extension (please note that claim 3, recites the measurement reporting procedure is initiated based on the second configuration for multiple cell measurement report trigger extension and depends on claim 1 which is optional (e.g. includes one of the following) but does not require the steps to be performed, therefore, these limitations are disregarded as they belong to optional steps in the previous claim).
As per claim 4 as applied to claim 3 above, the combination teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to use a timer for periodically initiating the measurement report according to the first indication (please note that claim 4, recites the measurement report according to the first indication and depends on claim 3 that depends on claim 1 which is optional (e.g. includes one of the following) but does not require the steps to be performed, therefore, these limitations are disregarded as they belong to optional steps in the previous claim).
As per claim 5 as applied to claim 1 above, the combination teaches, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to disable the second configuration for multiple cell measurement report trigger extension in response to a first condition being fulfilled according to the first indication (please note that claim 5, recites disable the second configuration and depends on claim 1 which is optional (e.g. includes one of the following) but does not require the steps to be performed, therefore, these limitations are disregarded as they belong to optional steps in the previous claim).
As per claim 6 as applied to claim 5 above, the combination teaches wherein the first condition includes the measurement result of a serving cell of the UE being below a first threshold, or a variation of the measurement result of the serving cell being above a second threshold (please note that claim 6, recites first condition and depends on claim 5 that depends on claim 1 which is optional (e.g. includes one of the following) but does not require the steps to be performed, therefore, these limitations are disregarded as they belong to optional steps in the previous claim).
As per claim 7 as applied to claim 1 above, the combination teaches, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to enable the second configuration for multiple cell measurement report trigger extension in response to a second condition being fulfilled according to the first indication (please note that claim 7, recites enable the second configuration and depends on claim 1 which is optional (e.g. includes one of the following) but does not require the steps to be performed, therefore, these limitations are disregarded as they belong to optional steps in the previous claim).
As per claim 8 as applied to claim 7 above, the combination teaches, wherein the second condition includes a measurement result of a serving cell of the UE being above a first threshold, or a variation of a cell quality of the serving cell being less than a second threshold (please note that claim 8, recites second condition and depends on claim 7 that depends on claim 1 which is optional (e.g. includes one of the following) but does not require the steps to be performed, therefore, these limitations are disregarded as they belong to optional steps in the previous claim).
As per claim 9 as applied to claim 1 above, DA SILVA teaches, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to initiate the measurement reporting procedure in response to a triggered non-serving cell with a best measurement result being changed according to the second indication (¶0028-30 and ¶0042, initiate the measurement reporting procedure in response to a change the triggered target cell candidate (i.e. non-serving cell) with the best in measurement reports based on the indication).
As per claim 10 as applied to claim 1 above, DA SILVA teaches, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to initiate the measurement reporting procedure in response to a status change of the measurement results of triggered non-serving cells being above a third threshold according to the second indication (¶0076 and ¶0104, initiate the measurement reporting procedure based on sorting quality has changes of the measurement results of target cell candidate (i.e. non-serving cell) being above thresholds (i.e. first, second, third, or more) based on the indication).
As per claim 11 as applied to claim 1 above, the combination teaches, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to initiate the measurement reporting procedure in response to a location of the UE is within the reference area according to the third indication (please note that claim 11, recites the reference area according to the third indication and depends on claim 1 which is optional (e.g. includes one of the following) but does not require the steps to be performed, therefore, these limitations are disregarded as they belong to optional steps in the previous claim).
As per claim 12, DA SILVA teaches, a base station (Fig.10, base station 520), comprising: at least one memory (Fig.10, memory 521); and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (Fig.10, processor 528 coupled to memory 521) and configured to cause the base station to: transmit a first configuration for triggering a measurement reporting procedure for one or more cells at a user equipment (UE) (¶0083, transmit configuration for triggering of a measurement report associated target candidate cells at the UE), and receive a measurement report of the measurement reporting procedure (¶0083 and table 1, receive the measurement report of the measurement reporting procedure).
However, DA SILVA does not explicitly teach wherein the first configuration includes one of the following: a first indication associated with triggering the measurement reporting procedure when a second configuration for multiple cell measurement report trigger extension is available; a second indication associated with an update of triggered cells measurement results; or a third indication associated with a reference area of the UE.
In the same field of endeavor, DELSOL teaches wherein the first configuration includes one of the following: a first indication associated with triggering the measurement reporting procedure when a second configuration for multiple cell measurement report trigger extension is available; a second indication associated with an update of triggered cells measurement results; or a third indication associated with a reference area of the UE (¶0162, message/indication a ‘MeasConfig’ information element (IE), which specifies updated conditions/triggers under which the measurements need to be initiated by the mobile telephone 3-1, and an updated list of cells which the mobile telephone 3-1 should take measurements for (i.e. a second indication associated with an update of triggered cells measurement results)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify DA SILVA’s invention in order to provide coverage extension within the cell(s) operated by base stations, as a tool to improve, the coverage of high data rates for user equipment, temporary network deployment, cell edge throughput and/or to provide coverage in new cell areas.
As per claim 13 as applied to claim 12 above, the combination teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to initiate the measurement reporting procedure when a first cell as a first one which fulfills an entry condition of a configured measurement trigger event according to the first indication, wherein the measurement report of the measurement reporting procedure includes a measurement result of the first cell (please note that claim 13, recites configured measurement trigger event according to the first indication and depends on claim 12 which is optional (e.g. includes one of the following) but does not require the steps to be performed, therefore, these limitations are disregarded as they belong to optional steps in the previous claim).
As per claim 14 as applied to claim 12 above, the combination teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to initiate the measurement reporting procedure periodically according to the first indication after the measurement reporting procedure is initiated based on the second configuration for multiple cell measurement report trigger extension (please note that claim 14, recites the measurement reporting procedure is initiated based on the second configuration for multiple cell measurement report trigger extension and depends on claim 12 which is optional (e.g. includes one of the following) but does not require the steps to be performed, therefore, these limitations are disregarded as they belong to optional steps in the previous claim).
As per claim 15, DA SILVA teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE) (Fig.5, method performed by the UE 200), the method comprising: receiving a first configuration for triggering a measurement reporting procedure for one or more cells (¶0083, receive configuration for triggering of a measurement report associated target candidate cells), and a transmitting a measurement report of the measurement reporting procedure (¶0083 and table 1, transmit the measurement report of the measurement reporting procedure).
However, DA SILVA does not explicitly teach wherein the first configuration includes one of the following: a first indication associated with triggering the measurement reporting procedure when a second configuration for multiple cell measurement report trigger extension is available; a second indication associated with an update of triggered cells measurement results; or a third indication associated with a reference area of the UE.
In the same field of endeavor, DELSOL teaches wherein the first configuration includes one of the following: a first indication associated with triggering the measurement reporting procedure when a second configuration for multiple cell measurement report trigger extension is available; a second indication associated with an update of triggered cells measurement results; or a third indication associated with a reference area of the UE (¶0162, message/indication a ‘MeasConfig’ information element (IE), which specifies updated conditions/triggers under which the measurements need to be initiated by the mobile telephone 3-1, and an updated list of cells which the mobile telephone 3-1 should take measurements for (i.e. a second indication associated with an update of triggered cells measurement results)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify DA SILVA’s invention in order to provide coverage extension within the cell(s) operated by base stations, as a tool to improve, the coverage of high data rates for user equipment, temporary network deployment, cell edge throughput and/or to provide coverage in new cell areas.
As per claim 16, DA SILVA teaches a processor for wireless communication (Fig.5, processor 201 for wireless communication), comprising: at least one controller coupled with at least one memory (Fig.5, processor 201 coupled with the memory 215and configured to cause the processor to: receive a first configuration for triggering a measurement reporting procedure for one or more cells (¶0083, receive configuration for triggering of a measurement report associated target candidate cells), and initiate the measurement reporting procedure and transmit a measurement report (¶0083 and table 1, initiate the measurement reporting procedure and transmits the measurement report).
However, DA SILVA does not explicitly teach wherein the first configuration includes one of the following: a first indication associated with triggering the measurement reporting procedure when a second configuration for multiple cell measurement report trigger extension is available; a second indication associated with an update of triggered cells measurement results; or a third indication associated with a reference area of a user equipment (UE).
In the same field of endeavor, DELSOL teaches wherein the first configuration includes one of the following: a first indication associated with triggering the measurement reporting procedure when a second configuration for multiple cell measurement report trigger extension is available; a second indication associated with an update of triggered cells measurement results; or a third indication associated with a reference area of a user equipment (UE) (¶0162, message/indication a ‘MeasConfig’ information element (IE), which specifies updated conditions/triggers under which the measurements need to be initiated by the mobile telephone 3-1, and an updated list of cells which the mobile telephone 3-1 should take measurements for (i.e. a second indication associated with an update of triggered cells measurement results)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify DA SILVA’s invention in order to provide coverage extension within the cell(s) operated by base stations, as a tool to improve, the coverage of high data rates for user equipment, temporary network deployment, cell edge throughput and/or to provide coverage in new cell areas.
As per claim 17 as applied to claim 16 above, the combination teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to initiate the measurement reporting procedure when a first cell as a first one which fulfills an entry condition of a configured measurement trigger event according to the first indication, wherein the measurement report of the measurement reporting procedure includes a measurement result of the first cell (please note that claim 17, recites configured measurement trigger event according to the first indication and depends on claim 16 which is optional (e.g. includes one of the following) but does not require the steps to be performed, therefore, these limitations are disregarded as they belong to optional steps in the previous claim, please see MPEP 2103 (C)).
As per claim 18 as applied to claim 16 above, the combination teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to initiate the measurement reporting procedure periodically according to the first indication after the measurement reporting procedure is initiated based on the second configuration for multiple cell measurement report trigger extension (please note that claim 18, recites the measurement reporting procedure is initiated based on the second configuration for multiple cell measurement report trigger extension and depends on claim 16 which is optional (e.g. includes one of the following) but does not require the steps to be performed, therefore, these limitations are disregarded as they belong to optional steps in the previous claim).
As per claim 19 as applied to claim 18 above, the combination teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to use a timer for periodically initiating the measurement report according to the first indication (please note that claim 19, recites the measurement report according to the first indication and depends on claim 18 that depends on claim 16 which is optional (e.g. includes one of the following) but does not require the steps to be performed, therefore, these limitations are disregarded as they belong to optional steps in the previous claim).
As per claim 20 as applied to claim 16 above, the combination teaches, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to disable the second configuration for multiple cell measurement report trigger extension in response to a first condition being fulfilled according to the first indication (please note that claim 20, recites disable the second configuration and depends on claim 16 which is optional (e.g. includes one of the following) but does not require the steps to be performed, therefore, these limitations are disregarded as they belong to optional steps in the previous claim).
Conclusion
/FARIDEH MADANI/Examiner, Art Unit 2643
/JINSONG HU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2643