DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. CN202210450377.1, filed on 04/24/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/04/2024, 09/10/2025, 02/11/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: On page 1, line 6, recites “”which is based on Chinese Patent Application No. CN 202210450377.1 filed on April 24, 2002, and it should be “which is based on Chinese Patent Application No. CN 202210450377.1 filed on April 24, 2022,”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a first acquiring module, a path determination module, a generation module, a second acquiring module and a control module in claims 10-11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Singh (US 20210081052 A1, Filed Date: Sep. 17, 2020) in view of LIM (US 20210192837 A1, Filed Date: Mar. 3, 2020).
Regarding independent claim 1, Singh teaches: A method for generating an operation interface, comprising:
acquiring movement information of an operation hand of a user; (Singh − [0017] In some or all examples of the first embodiment of the first aspect, the confirmation input is a designated hand gesture. [0047] The computer vision system receives images of the user's arm and hand and processes the images using known image processing techniques to detect the location of the elbow and wrist, and determine the three-dimensional arm vector and track the three-dimensional arm vector across frames to determine that an elbow-anchored gesture was performed. [0054] the hand motion may be defined by a sphere centered at the elbow joint O with radius the length of the forearm shown in FIG. 4)
determining a three-dimensional movement path of the operation hand according to the movement information of the operation hand; (Singh − [0009] A three-dimensional (3D) arm vector extending from the spatial location of the elbow to the spatial location of the wrist is then determined. A VUI element in the VUI screen corresponding to the 3D arm vector is then determined based on a predetermined 3D spatial mapping between 3D arm vectors and VUI elements for the VUI screen. [0047] he computer vision system receives images of the user's arm and hand and processes the images using known image processing techniques to detect the location of the elbow and wrist, and determine the three-dimensional arm vector and track the three-dimensional arm vector across frames to determine that an elbow-anchored gesture was performed. [0054] the hand motion may be defined by a sphere centered at the elbow joint O with radius the length of the forearm shown in FIG. 4)
and mapping the three-dimensional movement path of the operation hand (Singh − [0009] A three-dimensional (3D) arm vector extending from the spatial location of the elbow to the spatial location of the wrist is then determined. A VUI element in the VUI screen corresponding to the 3D arm vector is then determined based on a predetermined 3D spatial mapping between 3D arm vectors and VUI elements for the VUI screen.)
Singh does not explicitly teach: to a preset curved mesh model
However, LIM teaches: to a preset curved mesh model to generate an operation interface, (LIM − Fig. 7 [0170] The processor 180 may generate a 3D human model that matches the human object image to convert the human object image, which is a 2D image, into a 3D image. [0171] The 3D human model may be a model of which a texture is mapped to the 3D mesh model. [0175] The processor 180 may acquire a 3D human mesh model matching the human information from a 3D mesh model database storing at least one 3D human mesh model classified by age, gender, and body size (S602).) stored 3d human mesh model – preset curved mesh model
wherein the preset curved mesh model is a model determined on the basis of a preset wiring method and a preset angle. (LIM − [0275] Accordingly, the processor 180 may change the angle at which the 3D human model is viewed, change the area of the 3D human model, and change the distance from the reference object image, thus acquiring a synthesis location at which the 3D human model is to be disposed in the street view data. Fig. 7 [0170] The processor 180 may generate a 3D human model that matches the human object image to convert the human object image, which is a 2D image, into a 3D image. [0171] The 3D human model may be a model of which a texture is mapped to the 3D mesh model. [0175] The processor 180 may acquire a 3D human mesh model matching the human information from a 3D mesh model database storing at least one 3D human mesh model classified by age, gender, and body size (S602).)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify Singh’s to include LIM’s 3D human mesh model because LIM teaches representing a human subject using a stored mesh or acquired mesh model, thereby improving visualization and interaction within the user interface.
Regarding dependent claim 2, depends on claim 1, Singh teaches: wherein determining the three-dimensional movement path of the operation hand according to the movement information of the operation hand comprises: determining boundary displacement information and boundary angle information according to the movement information of the operation hand; (Singh − [0010] In some or all examples of the first embodiment of the first aspect, determining the VUI element in the VUI screen corresponding to the 3D arm vector comprises determining a forward inclination angle formed between the 3D arm vector and a horizontal reference plane, and determining a lateral inclination angle formed between the 3D arm vector and a vertical reference plane, and determining a VUI element in the VUI screen based on the forward inclination angle and the lateral inclination angle.)
and determining the three-dimensional movement path of the operation hand according to the boundary displacement information and the boundary angle information. (Singh − [0021] detecting a direction for a lateral displacement of the wrist and based on the direction, detecting selection of the particular menu item user interface element, where the particular menu item user interface element is associated with the direction and the current level user interface element.)
Regarding dependent claim 3, depends on claim 1, Singh teaches: wherein the movement information of the operation hand comprises: displacement information of a palm based on a closed route, and/or displacement information of the palm based on the preset number of swings. (Singh – [0078] [0092] The designated hand gesture may be, for example, a pinch gesture in the form of a pinching action with the user's fingers, a closing of the user's palm or a “dwell” gesture in the form of maintaining the arm position at a given position (within tolerance) for a duration of time equal to, or greater than, a threshold duration. [0021] detecting a direction for a lateral displacement of the wrist and based on the direction, detecting selection of the particular menu item user interface element, where the particular menu item user interface element is associated with the direction and the current level user interface element.)
Regarding dependent claim 4, depends on claim 1, Singh teaches: wherein after mapping the three-dimensional movement path of the operation hand to the preset curved mesh model to generate the operation interface, the method further comprises: in a case of determining that a preset part of the user moves, acquiring movement information of the preset part; updating the movement information of the operation hand according to the movement information of the preset part; updating the three-dimensional movement path of the operation hand on the basis of the updated movement information of the operation hand; and updating the operation interface according to the updated three-dimensional movement path of the operation hand. (Singh – [0078] [0092] The designated hand gesture may be, for example, a pinch gesture in the form of a pinching action with the user's fingers, a closing of the user's palm or a “dwell” gesture in the form of maintaining the arm position at a given position (within tolerance) for a duration of time equal to, or greater than, a threshold duration. [0021] detecting a direction for a lateral displacement of the wrist and based on the direction, detecting selection of the particular menu item user interface element, where the particular menu item user interface element is associated with the direction and the current level user interface element.)
Regarding dependent claim 5, depends on claim 1, Singh teaches: wherein before acquiring the movement information of the operation hand of the user, the method further comprises: acquiring attribute information of the operation hand of the user, wherein the attribute information of the operation hand of the user comprises: arm attribute information of the user and position information of a shoulder joint of the user; (Singh – [0005] The present disclosure provides methods of user interface control based on elbow-anchored arm gestures. The method includes determining a three-dimensional arm vector based on the spatial location of an elbow of an arm of a user and the spatial location of a wrist of the arm of the user. The determined three-dimensional arm vector is compared and matched to a corresponding elbow-anchored arm gesture. An executable action mapped to the matching elbow-anchored arm gesture is determined and the determined executable action may be performed. The methods are used to control or interact with a user interface including, but not limited to, a visual user interface (VUI) and VUI elements of VUIs.)
Singh does not explicitly teach: to a preset curved mesh model
However, LIM teaches: and constructing the preset curved mesh model according to the position information of the shoulder joint of the user and the arm attribute information of the user. (LIM − [0275] Accordingly, the processor 180 may change the angle at which the 3D human model is viewed, change the area of the 3D human model, and change the distance from the reference object image, thus acquiring a synthesis location at which the 3D human model is to be disposed in the street view data. Fig. 7 [0170] The processor 180 may generate a 3D human model that matches the human object image to convert the human object image, which is a 2D image, into a 3D image. [0171] The 3D human model may be a model of which a texture is mapped to the 3D mesh model. [0175] The processor 180 may acquire a 3D human mesh model matching the human information from a 3D mesh model database storing at least one 3D human mesh model classified by age, gender, and body size (S602).)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify Singh’s to include LIM’s 3D human mesh model because LIM teaches representing a human subject using a stored mesh or acquired mesh model, thereby improving visualization and interaction within the user interface.
Regarding dependent claim 6, depends on claim 1, Singh teaches: wherein before acquiring the movement information of the operation hand of the user, the method further comprises: acquiring the attribute information of the operation hand of the user and visual range information of the user, wherein the attribute information of the operation hand of the user comprises: the arm attribute information of the user and the position information of the shoulder joint of the user; (Singh – Fig. 3 [0005] The present disclosure provides methods of user interface control based on elbow-anchored arm gestures. The method includes determining a three-dimensional arm vector based on the spatial location of an elbow of an arm of a user and the spatial location of a wrist of the arm of the user. The determined three-dimensional arm vector is compared and matched to a corresponding elbow-anchored arm gesture. An executable action mapped to the matching elbow-anchored arm gesture is determined and the determined executable action may be performed. The methods are used to control or interact with a user interface including, but not limited to, a visual user interface (VUI) and VUI elements of VUIs.)
constructing a mesh sphere according to the position information of the shoulder joint of the user and the arm attribute information of the user, wherein the mesh sphere is a sphere determined on the basis of the preset wiring method; determining the preset angle according to the visual range information of the user; (Singh − [0014] In some or all examples of the first embodiment of the first aspect, the plurality of VUI elements are arranged in spherical grid. [0055] which are referred to as azimuth and inclination, analogous to the longitude-latitude geographic coordinate system on Earth.)
Singh does not explicitly teach: the preset curved mesh model
However, LIM teaches: and determining the preset curved mesh model according to the mesh sphere and the preset angle. (LIM − [0275] Accordingly, the processor 180 may change the angle at which the 3D human model is viewed, change the area of the 3D human model, and change the distance from the reference object image, thus acquiring a synthesis location at which the 3D human model is to be disposed in the street view data. Fig. 7 [0170] The processor 180 may generate a 3D human model that matches the human object image to convert the human object image, which is a 2D image, into a 3D image. [0171] The 3D human model may be a model of which a texture is mapped to the 3D mesh model. [0175] The processor 180 may acquire a 3D human mesh model matching the human information from a 3D mesh model database storing at least one 3D human mesh model classified by age, gender, and body size (S602).)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify Singh’s to include LIM’s 3D human mesh model because LIM teaches representing a human subject using a stored mesh or acquired mesh model, thereby improving visualization and interaction within the user interface.
Regarding dependent claim 7, depends on claim 6, Singh teaches: wherein the preset wiring method comprises: a method of segmenting and wiring the sphere on the basis of longitude and latitude lines, or a method of segmenting and wiring the sphere on the basis of a polygon. (Singh − [0014] In some or all examples of the first embodiment of the first aspect, the plurality of VUI elements are arranged in spherical grid. [0055] which are referred to as azimuth and inclination, analogous to the longitude-latitude geographic coordinate system on Earth.)
Regarding dependent claim 8, depends on claim 1, Singh teaches: wherein the operation interface comprises: at least one operation and control area; and the operation and control area is used to display a plurality of operation and control elements that can be operated and controlled by the user. (Singh − [0049] Operating system software 150 executable by the processing system, including the processor 104 is stored in the persistent memory 112 but may be stored in other types of memory devices, such as ROM 108 or similar storage element. The operating system software 150 renders a VUI for user interaction on the display 138 of the computing device 102. A user may interact with the VUI elements rendered on the display 138 via elbow-anchored gestures and/or input devices 142 as described in further detail below. A number of application programs 152 executable by the processing system, including the processor 104 are also stored in the persistent memory 112. The application programs 152 comprises a gesture control application 170 and a computer vision application 172. Alternatively, the gesture control application 170 and computer vision application 172 may be part of the operating system software 150, such as part of the VUI, or an application programming interface (API).)
Regarding dependent claim 9, depends on claim 1, Singh teaches: A method for controlling an operation interface, the operation interface being generated on the basis of the method for generating an operation interface according to claim 1, and the method comprises: acquiring operation information of a user in the operation interface; and determining a control method of the user for a virtual object according to the operation information. (Singh – [0078] [0092] The designated hand gesture may be, for example, a pinch gesture in the form of a pinching action with the user's fingers, a closing of the user's palm or a “dwell” gesture in the form of maintaining the arm position at a given position (within tolerance) for a duration of time equal to, or greater than, a threshold duration. [0021] detecting a direction for a lateral displacement of the wrist and based on the direction, detecting selection of the particular menu item user interface element, where the particular menu item user interface element is associated with the direction and the current level user interface element.)
Regarding independent claim 10, is directed to an apparatus. Claim 10 have similar/same technical features/limitation as claim 1 and claim 10 is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding dependent claim 11, depends on claim 10, Singh teaches: and the apparatus comprises: a second acquiring module, configured to acquire operation information of a user in the operation interface; and a control module, configured to determine a control method of the user for a virtual object according to the operation information. (Singh – [0078] [0092] The designated hand gesture may be, for example, a pinch gesture in the form of a pinching action with the user's fingers, a closing of the user's palm or a “dwell” gesture in the form of maintaining the arm position at a given position (within tolerance) for a duration of time equal to, or greater than, a threshold duration. [0021] detecting a direction for a lateral displacement of the wrist and based on the direction, detecting selection of the particular menu item user interface element, where the particular menu item user interface element is associated with the direction and the current level user interface element.)
Regarding independent claim 12, is directed to an electronic device. Claim 12 have similar/same technical features/limitation as claim 1 and claim 12 is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding dependent claim 13, depends on claim 1, Singh teaches: A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing a computer program which, when executed by a processor, implements the method for generating an operation interface according to claim 1. (Singh – [0022] In accordance with a second aspect of the present disclosure, there is provided a computing device comprising a memory and a processor system comprising at least one processor coupled to the memory. The non-transitory machine-readable medium has tangibly stored thereon executable instructions for execution by the processor system of the computing device. The executable instructions, in response to execution by the processor system, cause the processor system to perform the methods described above and herein.)
Regarding dependent claim 14, depends on claim 12, Singh teaches: the one or more programs are further configured to cause the one or more processors to: determine boundary displacement information and boundary angle information according to the movement information of the operation hand; (Singh − [0010] In some or all examples of the first embodiment of the first aspect, determining the VUI element in the VUI screen corresponding to the 3D arm vector comprises determining a forward inclination angle formed between the 3D arm vector and a horizontal reference plane, and determining a lateral inclination angle formed between the 3D arm vector and a vertical reference plane, and determining a VUI element in the VUI screen based on the forward inclination angle and the lateral inclination angle.)
and determine the three-dimensional movement path of the operation hand according to the boundary displacement information and the boundary angle information. (Singh − [0021] detecting a direction for a lateral displacement of the wrist and based on the direction, detecting selection of the particular menu item user interface element, where the particular menu item user interface element is associated with the direction and the current level user interface element.)
Regarding dependent claim 15, depends on claim 14, Singh teaches: wherein the movement information of the operation hand comprises: displacement information of a palm based on a closed route, and/or displacement information of the palm based on the preset number of swings. (Singh – [0078] [0092] The designated hand gesture may be, for example, a pinch gesture in the form of a pinching action with the user's fingers, a closing of the user's palm or a “dwell” gesture in the form of maintaining the arm position at a given position (within tolerance) for a duration of time equal to, or greater than, a threshold duration. [0021] detecting a direction for a lateral displacement of the wrist and based on the direction, detecting selection of the particular menu item user interface element, where the particular menu item user interface element is associated with the direction and the current level user interface element.)
Regarding dependent claim 16, depends on claim 1, Singh teaches: wherein the operation interface comprises at least one operation and control area, the operation and control area being used for displaying a plurality of operation and control elements that can be operated and controlled by a user. (Singh − [0049] Operating system software 150 executable by the processing system, including the processor 104 is stored in the persistent memory 112 but may be stored in other types of memory devices, such as ROM 108 or similar storage element. The operating system software 150 renders a VUI for user interaction on the display 138 of the computing device 102. A user may interact with the VUI elements rendered on the display 138 via elbow-anchored gestures and/or input devices 142 as described in further detail below. A number of application programs 152 executable by the processing system, including the processor 104 are also stored in the persistent memory 112. The application programs 152 comprises a gesture control application 170 and a computer vision application 172. Alternatively, the gesture control application 170 and computer vision application 172 may be part of the operating system software 150, such as part of the VUI, or an application programming interface (API).)
Regarding dependent claim 17, depends on claim 16, Singh teaches: wherein the operation and control elements comprise at least one of the following: an operation button, an operation keyboard, a letter button, and an emoticon button. (Singh − [0045] The computing device 102 may also comprise one or more other input devices 142 such as a touchscreen, keyboard, keypad, navigation tool, buttons, switches or dials depending on the type of the computing device 102. A touchscreen may be provided as the display 138.)
Regarding dependent claim 18, depends on claim 16, Singh teaches: wherein constructing a mesh sphere according to the position information of the shoulder joint of the user and the arm attribute information of the user, comprising: constructing the mesh sphere by using the position information of the shoulder joint of the user as the center of circle and using the length of the upper arm and/or the length of the forearm as the radius. (Singh − [0009] A three-dimensional (3D) arm vector extending from the spatial location of the elbow to the spatial location of the wrist is then determined. A VUI element in the VUI screen corresponding to the 3D arm vector is then determined based on a predetermined 3D spatial mapping between 3D arm vectors and VUI elements for the VUI screen. [0014] In some or all examples of the first embodiment of the first aspect, the plurality of VUI elements are arranged in spherical grid. [0055] which are referred to as azimuth and inclination, analogous to the longitude-latitude geographic coordinate system on Earth [0047] he computer vision system receives images of the user's arm and hand and processes the images using known image processing techniques to detect the location of the elbow and wrist, and determine the three-dimensional arm vector and track the three-dimensional arm vector across frames to determine that an elbow-anchored gesture was performed. [0054] the hand motion may be defined by a sphere centered at the elbow joint O with radius the length of the forearm shown in FIG. 4)
Regarding dependent claim 19, depends on claim 1, Singh teaches: wherein determining a three-dimensional movement path of the operation hand according to the movement information of the operation hand, comprising: determining at least one range of motion according to the movement information of the operation hand; determining the boundary displacement information and the boundary angle information according to the at least one range of motion. (Singh – [0078] [0092] The designated hand gesture may be, for example, a pinch gesture in the form of a pinching action with the user's fingers, a closing of the user's palm or a “dwell” gesture in the form of maintaining the arm position at a given position (within tolerance) for a duration of time equal to, or greater than, a threshold duration. [0021] detecting a direction for a lateral displacement of the wrist and based on the direction, detecting selection of the particular menu item user interface element, where the particular menu item user interface element is associated with the direction and the current level user interface element.)
Regarding dependent claim 20, depends on claim 19, Singh teaches: a first range of motion determined by displacement information of a palm based on a closed route, and/or a second range of motion determined by displacement information of the palm based on the preset number of swings. (Singh – [0078] [0092] The designated hand gesture may be, for example, a pinch gesture in the form of a pinching action with the user's fingers, a closing of the user's palm or a “dwell” gesture in the form of maintaining the arm position at a given position (within tolerance) for a duration of time equal to, or greater than, a threshold duration. [0021] detecting a direction for a lateral displacement of the wrist and based on the direction, detecting selection of the particular menu item user interface element, where the particular menu item user interface element is associated with the direction and the current level user interface element.)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Vassigh, US 20110193939 A1 Gesture Base interaction with mesh model.
NODA, US 20120047465 A1 User Interface of Mesh Modeling.
/CARL E BARNES JR/Examiner, Art Unit 2178
/STEPHEN S HONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2178