DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kanda (JP 2012212035 A).
As to claim 1, Kanda discloses in figures 1-3, a screen, comprising: a light-receiving surface at which the screen is configured to receive and reflect projected light in a state in which the screen is placed upright, the light-receiving surface including a mirror array A in which multiple mirrors A are arranged in a first direction, and a mirror array B that is positioned in a second direction crossing the first direction and in which multiple mirrors B are arranged in the first direction, and the mirrors A and the mirrors B are tilted in a same direction at the light-receiving surface. See paragraphs [0011] and [0021].
As to claim 2, Kanda discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 1. Kanda further discloses in figures 1A and 2A, wherein the mirror array A, the mirror array B, or both are extended to vicinities of both ends of the light-receiving surface in the first direction. See paragraph [0011].
As to claim 3, Kanda discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 1. Kanda further discloses wherein in a state in which the mirror array A is positioned at one end in the second direction, and the mirror array B is positioned at another end in the second direction, the another end being opposite to the one end, a tilt of the mirrors B in the mirror array B is greater than that of the mirrors A in the mirror array A. See paragraphs [0014] and [0027].
As to claim 4, Kanda discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 1. Kanda further discloses in figure 2B, wherein the mirrors A, the mirrors B, or both include a mirror surface disposed at a surface of a support, and the support is visible in a state in which the light-receiving surface is seen from another end in the second direction, the another end being opposite to one end in the second direction. See paragraphs [0011] and [0015].
As to claim 5, Kanda discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 4. Kanda further discloses in figure 2B, wherein the mirrors positioned at both ends, in the first direction, of the mirror array A, the mirror array B, or both are tilted toward the ends, and the support is visible in a state in which the light-receiving surface is seen from one end in the first direction. See paragraphs [0011] and [0015].
As to claim 6, Kanda discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 1. Kanda further discloses wherein the mirrors A, the mirrors B, or both are rectangular. See paragraph [0020].
As to claim 7, Kanda discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 1. Kanda further discloses in figures 1-3 and 8, wherein the mirrors A and the mirrors B are arranged in a lattice form. See paragraphs [0011], [0021], and [0024].
As to claim 8, Kanda discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 1. Kanda further discloses in figure 4, wherein the mirrors A, the mirrors B, or both are a plane mirror, a concave mirror, or a convex mirror. See paragraph [0014].
As to claim 9, Kanda discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 1. Kanda further discloses wherein surface areas of the mirrors A, the mirrors B, or both are 300 µm2 or more and 4 mm2 or less. See paragraph [0029].
As to claim 10, Kanda discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 1. Kanda further discloses in figure 1, wherein the screen is for a short-throw projector. See paragraphs [0009] and [0016].
As to claim 11, Kanda discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 1. Kanda further discloses a mold for manufacturing the screen set forth in claim 1. See paragraph [0017].
As to claim 12, Kanda discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 11. Kanda further discloses wherein the mold has a roll shape. See paragraph [0019].
As to claim 13, Kanda discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 11. Kanda further discloses the screen manufacturing method set for in claim 13. See paragraphs [0017]-[0019].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hiromitsu (JP 2013195914 A) discloses in figure 7, a projection screen comprising an array of tilted mirrors.
/DAVID Y CHUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871